Archived — Perspectives on North America Free Trade Series

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 6: The Long and Short of the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

by Daniel Trefler, University of Toronto and Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, December 1999


Executive Summary

This paper assesses the impact of the Canada–U.S. Free Trade Agreement (FTA) on Canadian manufacturing during the 1989–1996 period. The estimated effects of the tariff concessions are calculated for manufacturing as a whole as well as for the most impacted industries (those industries faced with the largest tariff cuts).

  1. For the most impacted industries, the tariff cuts reduced employment by 18 percent, output by 12 percent, and the number of establishments by 12 percent. For manufacturing as a whole, the numbers are 4 percent, 2 percent, and 4 percent, respectively. These numbers capture the large adjustment costs associated with reallocating resources out of protected, inefficient, low-end manufacturing. The fact that manufacturing employment and output have largely rebounded since 1996 suggests that some and perhaps most of the reallocation has been to high-end manufacturing.
  2. The tariff cuts raised labour productivity at a compounded rate of 3.2 percent per year for the most impacted industries and at 0.6 percent per year for manufacturing as a whole. Dramatically higher productivity in low-end manufactures and resource re-allocation to high-end manufactures are the key gains from the FTA.
  3. Surprisingly, the tariff cuts slightly increased annual earnings, primarily by raising production worker wages by 0.8 percent per year for the most impacted industries and by 0.2 percent per year for manufacturing as a whole. It thus minimally mitigated rising earnings inequality. The tariff cuts did not affect earnings of non-production workers or weekly hours of production workers.
  4. For the most impacted industries, the tariff cuts explain almost all of the increased trade with the United States and the increased U.S. share of Canadian trade. However, most of Canada's increased trade was in industries that had no tariffs in 1988.

The effects of the FTA tariff concessions are smaller than one would imagine from the heat generated by the debate. The controversy stems from the conflict between those who bore the short run adjustment costs (displaced workers and stakeholders of closed establishments) and those who are garnering the long run efficiency gains (stakeholders of efficient establishments).

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Perspectives sur le libre-échange nord-américain : Document No 6 : L'essentiel sur l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-États-Unis

par Daniel Trefler, décembre 1999


Sommaire

Ce document renferme une évaluation de l'impact de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-États-Unis (ALE) sur le secteur manufacturier au Canada au cours de la période 1989–1996. Les effets estimatifs des concessions tarifaires ont été calculés pour l'ensemble du secteur manufacturier ainsi que pour la plupart des industries touchées (les industries visées par les réductions tarifaires les plus importantes).

  1. Pour la plupart des industries touchées par l'ALE, les réductions tarifaires ont entraîné une diminution de 18 pour cent de l'emploi, de 12 pour cent de la production et de 12 pour cent du nombre d'établissements. Pour l'ensemble du secteur manufacturier, les chiffres correspondants sont, respectivement, 4,2 et 4 pour cent. Ces chiffres saisissent les coûts d'ajustement importants liés à la réaffectation des ressources hors des activités manufacturières protégées, inefficientes et peu spécialisées. Le fait que l'emploi et la production dans le secteur manufacturier aient essentiellement rattrapé leur niveau antérieur depuis 1996 indique qu'une partie et peut-être même la plus grande partie de cette réaffection s'est faite au profit d'activités manufacturières de haut de gamme.
  2. Les réductions tarifaires ont haussé la productivité de la main-d'oeuvre à un taux annuel composé de 3,2 pour cent dans la plupart des industries touchées et à un taux annuel de 0,6 pour cent dans l'ensemble du secteur manufacturier. Une productivité beaucoup plus élevée dans les activités manufacturières de bas de gamme et une réaffectation des ressources vers les activités manufacturières de haut de gamme sont les principaux gains récoltés de l'ALE.
  3. Ce qui étonne un peu est que les réductions tarifaires ont contribué à une légère hausse des gains annuels, principalement en relevant les salaires des travailleurs de la production - de 0,8 pour cent par année dans la plupart des industries touchées et de 0,2 pour cent par année dans l'ensemble du secteur manufacturier. Ainsi, cet effet a contribué de façon modeste à réduire l'inégalité des gains. Les réductions tarifaires n'ont pas eu d'effet notable sur les gains des travailleurs non affectés à la production ou sur la rémunération hebdomadaire des travailleurs de la production.
  4. Pour la plupart des industries touchées, les réductions tarifaires expliquent la presque totalité de l'accroissement des échanges avec les États-Unis et de la hausse de la part de commerce du Canada détenue par les États-Unis. Cependant, la plus grande partie de la hausse des échanges commerciaux du Canada s'est faite dans des industries où aucun tarif ne s'appliquait en 1988.

Les effets des concessions tarifaires de l'ALE sont moins importants qu'on aurait pu l'imaginer à suivre le débat animé que cet accord a suscité. La controverse provient du conflit opposant ceux qui ont dû absorber les coûts de rajustement à court terme (les travailleurs déplacés ou touchés par la fermeture de certains établissements) et ceux qui ont recueilli les gains d'efficience à long terme (les établissements plus efficients).

Date de modification :