Archived — Working Paper Number 37: National Political Infrastructure and Foreign Direct Investment

by Steven Globerman, Western Washington University and Daniel Shapiro, Simon Fraser University, December 2002


Introduction

It is widely argued that a country's economic performance over time is determined to a great extent by its political, institutional, and legal environment (OECD, 2001). We refer to these public institutions and policies as the national political infrastructure (NPI) of a country. The NPI thus comprises investments in effective political, economic and legal governance, which in most countries is the exclusive responsibility of the government.1

The national political infrastructure of a country helps to define its investment environment and thus creates favourable conditions for economic growth. Recent empirical evidence does in fact indicate that cross-country differences in growth and productivity are related to differences in political, institutional and legal environments (OECD, 2001; Hall and Jones, 1999; Keefer and Knack, 1997; Knack and Keefer, 1995; Kaufman et al. 1999b). Because the investment environment of a country affects both domestic and foreign investors, and because foreign direct investment (FDI) has been shown to promote host-country efficiency, it is a natural extension of the literature to consider the impact of NPI on cross-country differences in FDI flows. This report therefore focuses on the linkage between measures of national political infrastructure and FDI flows.

Specifically, we test the hypothesis that FDI will be attracted to regions characterized by more favourable NPIs, all other things constant. We also argue that countries with more favourable national political infrastructures will create more domestic multinational enterprises (MNEs), and they will therefore see more capital outflows, so that the net effect on capital flows may be uncertain.

We base our hypotheses on the "eclectic" theory of FDI (Dunning, 1980), which holds that multinational enterprises invest abroad in attractive locations by internalizing firm-specific (ownership) advantages. We suggest that one factor contributing to a location's attractiveness is its national political infrastructure. At the same time, a domestic environment that protects property rights and promotes economic transparency is likely to foster domestic innovation and thus firm-specific advantages which, in turn, result in capital outflows.

There is a relatively extensive empirical literature focusing on the characteristics of locations that seem to either attract or repel foreign investors.2 While it seems plausible that FDI will be attracted to regions characterized by more favourable political infrastructures, all other things constant, most of the relevant literature has focused on economic determinants of FDI inflows, and there is very little discussion of the determinants of capital outflows. It is, of course, true that the international business literature has acknowledged the importance of country-specific political risk (Kobrin, 1976). As a consequence, empirical analyses of FDI now routinely include some kind of variable to control for intercountry differences in the broad political environment (Tuman and Emmert, 1999; Mody and Srinivasan, 1998; Stevens, 2000; Bevan and Estrin, 2000; Morisset, 2000; Altomonte, 2000), albeit with somewhat mixed results (Dawson, 1998).3

It is difficult to generalize about the statistical impact of political governance attributes, in part because these attributes are measured in different ways in different studies. Moreover, although many previous studies adopt measures that are closely related to the notion of national political infrastructure, there has as yet been no systematic attempt to directly relate NPI measures to FDI flows for a wide cross-section of countries. Nor has there been much discussion regarding the specific infrastructure elements that are especially robust determinants of FDI.

In this study, we use newly developed indices to examine the effects of NPI on both FDI inflows and outflows for a broad sample of (at most) 144 developed and developing countries over the period 1995 to 1997. Specifically, we use the six governance indices developed by Kaufman et al. (1999a) to measure national political infrastructure. These six indices, described below, cover a broad range of institutional and policy outcomes and are available for a large sample of countries. In particular, they include factors not commonly found in the FDI literature, notably measures of the rule of law, the regulatory environment, and graft.

National political infrastructure is not the only infrastructure that can contribute to economic well-being and create a favourable climate for FDI. Investments in human capital, physical infrastructure and the environment may also be important. In the context of FDI, the absence of educated and healthy workers can be a significant deterrent to foreign entry. As increasing amounts of FDI becomes skill- and efficiency-seeking, access to an educated and skilled workforce becomes essential.4 There is evidence that a more highly educated populace does in fact attract FDI (Mody and Srinivasan, 1998), but the role of health has not been explored to our knowledge. Similarly, environmental regulation may increase the costs of doing business and thus deter FDI. On the other hand, a clean environment may be associated with a higher quality of life, and thereby attract FDI. To date, there are only a limited number of studies linking environmental policies to FDI (List, 2001; Smarzynska and Wei, 2001; and Wheeler, 2001), with no consistent evidence of a race to the bottom with respect to environmental policies. That is, there is no consistent evidence of a negative relationship between FDI inflows and higher environmental standards.

In this study, we account for aspects of human capital development and the environmental regime using the Human Development Index (HDI) developed by the United Nations, and the Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) developed jointly at Columbia University, Yale University and the World Economic Forum. The HDI is a composite index created by combining GDP per capita, an education outcome index and a health status index. The ESI measures environmental sustainability using a variety of measures.

The primary purpose of this study is therefore to assess the contribution of national political infrastructure characteristics to the determination of inward and outward FDI flows, and to compare their impact with other measures of non-physical infrastructure such as health, education and the environment. Our report is thus concerned with assessing the importance of "non-traditional" variables in a relatively traditional model of FDI behaviour. Globally, these measures are often associated (directly or indirectly) with the broad notion of a location's quality of life. Policies influencing quality of life in a region are attracting increasing attention from public officials seeking to make their region attractive to foreign investors.5

In order to examine these issues, we employ two sets of FDI data, both covering the period 1995-97. The first set measures total FDI inflows and outflows to/from a sample of 144 developed and developing countries (UNCTAD, 2000). The second set uses U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis data to measure the inflows of U.S. FDI to these same countries (not all of which were recipients). We refer to the former as the global model, and the latter as the U.S. model.

For the global model, we employ relatively standard techniques to estimate the impact of NPI on the amount of capital inflows and outflows, holding constant other factors, including those discussed above. For the global model, all countries in the sample are FDI recipients. For the U.S. model, however, there are a large number of countries where no positive FDI inflows from the United States were recorded over our sample period. We therefore employ a two-stage estimation procedure to account for the possibility of sample selection bias (Heckman, 1979). We first estimate the likelihood of a country enjoying positive FDI inflows from the United States, and then we estimate the determinants of the magnitude of the positive inflows. In the first stage, the probit method is used to estimate the probability that the United States invests in a particular country. In the second stage, ordinary least squares (OLS) estimates of the determinants of the amount of FDI (given that it is positive) are provided.

For both models, we provide separate estimates of our equations for samples including both developing and developed countries, as well as for developed countries alone. In addition, for the U.S. sample, we investigate the possibility that the determinants of FDI, in particular the importance of NPI, differ across industries. We thus provide separate estimates for U.S. FDI flows in high-technology industries.

For the global model, our results clearly indicate that NPI is an important determinant of both FDI inflows and outflows. The results suggest that investments in governance infrastructure not only attract capital, but also create the conditions under which domestic MNEs emerge and invest abroad. It would appear that investments in governance infrastructure are subject to diminishing returns, so that the benefits, in terms of inflows, are most pronounced for smaller and developing economies. For the U.S. model, the results also point to the importance of NPI, but in a somewhat different way. National political infrastructure is an important determinant of whether a country receives U.S. FDI, but it is less important in determining the amount, given that the country is a recipient.

The study proceeds as follows. In the next section we survey the relevant FDI literature. In the third section we define national political infrastructure, and compare and contrast our definition to other related concepts. In the fourth section, we discuss our measure of NPI, as well as other measures we employ, notably measures of human development and environmental sustainability. Sections where we describe the global FDI model, its estimation technique and results, and then the U.S. FDI model and its estimation and results follow, respectively. A summary and conclusions are provided in the final section.

Date modified:

Archivé — Document de travail No 37 : Infrastructure politique nationale et investissement étranger direct

par Steven Globerman, Université Western Washington, et Daniel Shapiro, Université Simon-Fraser, décembre 2002


Introduction

On affirme couramment que la performance économique d'un pays est déterminée, dans une large mesure, par son cadre politique, institutionnel et juridique (OCDE, 2001). Nous appelons ces institutions et politiques publiques l'infrastructure politique nationale (IPN) d'un pays. L'IPN est donc constituée des investissements axés sur un régime efficace de gouvernance politique, économique et juridique, lequel relève exclusivement de la responsabilité de l'État dans la plupart des pays1.

L'infrastructure politique nationale d'un pays aide à définir son climat d'investissement et, ainsi, contribue à créer des conditions propices à la croissance économique. Des données empiriques récentes révèlent en effet que les écarts de croissance et de productivité entre pays sont liés aux différences observées dans leurs contextes politiques, institutionnels et juridiques (OCDE, 2001; Hall et Jones, 1999; Keefer et Knack, 1997; Knack et Keefer, 1995; Kaufman et coll., 1999b). Étant donné que le contexte d'investissement d'un pays influe à la fois sur les investisseurs nationaux et étrangers et qu'il a été démontré que l'investissement étranger direct (IED) favorise l'efficience dans le pays d'accueil, l'examen de l'incidence de l'IPN sur les écarts de flux d'IED entre pays représente un prolongement naturel de ces travaux. La présente étude porte donc sur le lien entre les mesures de l'infrastructure politique nationale et les flux d'IED.

Plus précisément, nous tentons de vérifier l'hypothèse selon laquelle l'IED sera attiré vers les régions qui offrent des IPN plus favorables, toutes choses égales par ailleurs. Nous faisons aussi valoir que les pays qui possèdent une infrastructure politique nationale plus favorable donneront naissance à un plus grand nombre d'entreprises multinationales (EM) et, par conséquent, enregistreront des sorties de capitaux plus importantes, de sorte que l'effet net sur les flux de capitaux pourra être incertain.

Nous appuyons nos hypothèses sur la théorie « éclectique » de l'IED (Dunning, 1980), qui énonce que les entreprises multinationales investissent dans des endroits attrayants à l'étranger en internalisant certains avantages propres à l'entreprise. Selon nous, l'un des facteurs qui contribuent à l'attrait d'un endroit est son infrastructure politique nationale. De même, un contexte intérieur qui protège les droits de propriété et favorise la transparence économique a plus de chance de promouvoir l'innovation et, partant, l'émergence d'avantages propres aux entreprises, lesquels susciteront des sorties de capitaux.

Il existe une documentation empirique relativement abondante sur les caractéristiques des endroits qui semblent soit attirer soit repousser les investisseurs étrangers2. Même s'il est plausible que, toutes choses égales par ailleurs, l'IED soit attiré vers les régions ayant une infrastructure politique plus favorable, la plupart des travaux publiés sur la question se sont intéressés aux déterminants économiques des flux d'IED entrant et il n'y a eu que peu d'études sur les flux de capitaux sortants. Il est vrai que la documentation consacrée aux affaires internationales a reconnu l'importance du risque politique inhérent à un pays (Kobrin, 1976). En conséquence, les analyses empiriques de l'IED incluent habituellement une variable quelconque pour tenir compte des différences de contexte politique entre pays (Tuman et Emmert, 1999; Mody et Srinivasan,  1998; Stevens, 2000; Bevan et Estrin, 2000; Morisset, 2000; Altomonte, 2000), quoique avec des résultats plutôt variables (Dawson, 1998)3.

Il est difficile de faire des généralisations au sujet de l'incidence statistique des attributs de la gouvernance politique, en partie parce que ces attributs sont mesurés différemment dans différentes études. En outre, bien que de nombreuses études aient adopté des mesures étroitement liées à la notion d'infrastructure politique nationale, il n'y a pas encore eu de tentative systématique pour lier directement les mesures de l'IPN aux flux d'IED pour un large échantillon de pays. Il n'y a pas eu non plus beaucoup de travaux consacrés à l'examen des éléments de l'infrastructure qui constituent des déterminants particulièrement robustes de l'IED.

Dans cette étude, nous utilisons des indices récemment élaborés pour examiner les effets de l'IPN sur les flux d'IED entrant et sortant, pour un vaste échantillon de 144 (maximum) pays développés ou en développement sur la période 1995–1997. Plus précisément, nous utilisons les six indices de gouvernance mis au point par Kaufman et coll. (1999a) pour mesurer l'infrastructure politique nationale. Ces six indices, décrits ci-dessous, recouvrent une gamme étendue de mesures institutionnelles et politiques et sont disponibles pour un grand nombre de pays. Ils englobent des mesures de certains facteurs que l'on retrouve rarement dans les travaux publiés sur l'IED, notamment la règle de droit, le cadre réglementaire et la corruption.

L'infrastructure politique nationale n'est pas la seule infrastructure qui puisse contribuer au bienêtre économique et engendrer un climat favorable à l'IED. Les investissements axés sur le capital humain, l'infrastructure matérielle et l'environnement peuvent aussi jouer un rôle important. Dans le contexte de l'IED, l'absence d'une main-d'œuvre scolarisée et en santé peut constituer une importante cause de dissuasion à l'entrée d'investissements étrangers. De plus en plus, l'IED est à la recherche de compétences et d'efficience, et l'accès à une main-d'œuvre scolarisée et compétente devient essentiel4. Les données montrent qu'une population plus scolarisée contribue à attirer l'IED (Mody et Srinivasan, 1998) mais, à notre connaissance, le rôle de la santé n'a pas encore été exploré. De même, la réglementation environnementale peut accroître les coûts des entreprises et, ainsi, défavoriser l'IED. Par contre, un environnement propre peut signifier une meilleure qualité de vie et attirer l'IED. Jusqu'à maintenant, quelques études seulement ont lié les politiques de protection de l'environnement à l'IED (List, 2001; Smarzynska et Wei, 2001; Wheeler, 2001), mais elles ne révèlent pas une émulation systématique vers le bas en matière de politiques environnementales. Autrement dit, il n'y a pas de preuves concluantes de l'existence d'un lien négatif entre les flux d'IED entrant et des normes plus rigoureuses en matière d'environnement.

Dans cette étude, nous tenons compte des aspects du développement du capital humain et du régime environnemental à l'aide de l'indice du développement humain (HDI), mis au point par les Nations Unies, et de l'Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) élaboré conjointement par l'Université Columbia, l'Université Yale et le Forum économique mondial. HDI est un indice composite du produit intérieur brut PIB par habitant, d'un indice de la scolarisation et d'un indice de l'état de santé. ESI évalue la durabilité de l'environnement à partir de diverses mesures.

L'objectif premier de l'étude est d'évaluer la contribution des attributs de l'infrastructure politique nationale à la détermination des flux d'IED entrant et sortant, et de comparer leurs effets à d'autres mesures de l'infrastructure non matérielle telles que la santé, l'éducation et l'environnement. Notre étude vise donc à évaluer l'importance de variables « non traditionnelles » dans un modèle relativement traditionnel du comportement de l'IED. Globalement, ces mesures sont souvent associées (directement ou indirectement) au concept plus général de la qualité de vie à un endroit en particulier. Les politiques qui influent sur la qualité de vie dans une région retiennent de plus en plus l'attention des décideurs publics qui souhaitent rendre leur région attrayante pour les investisseurs étrangers5.

Afin d'examiner ces questions, nous employons deux ensembles de données sur l'IED, les deux correspondant à la période 1995-1997. Le premier mesure les flux totaux d'IED entrant et sortant pour un échantillon de 144 pays développés ou en développement (CNUCED, 2000). Le second est constitué de données du Bureau of Economic Analysis des États-Unis qui mesurent les flux d'IED américain entrant dans ces pays (bien que tous n'en aient pas reçu). Nous appelons le premier ensemble de données le modèle global et le second, le modèle américain.

Pour le modèle global, nous employons des techniques relativement familières pour estimer l'incidence de l'IPN sur le volume de capitaux entrants et sortants, en maintenant constants les autres facteurs, y compris ceux mentionnés précédemment. Dans le modèle global, tous les pays de l'échantillon reçoivent de l'IED. Dans le modèle américain, toutefois, plusieurs pays n'ont pas enregistré de flux d'IED en provenance des États-Unis durant la période visée par notre échantillon. Dans ce cas, nous employons donc une procédure d'estimation en deux étapes pour tenir compte de la possibilité que l'échantillon soit biaisé (Heckman, 1979). Nous estimons d'abord la probabilité qu'un pays reçoive des flux d'IED en provenance des États-Unis, puis nous estimons les déterminants du niveau de ces flux entrants. À la première étape, nous utilisons la méthode probit pour estimer la probabilité que les États-Unis investissent dans un pays. À la seconde étape, nous produisons des estimations des déterminants du niveau d'IED à l'aide de la méthode des moindres carrés ordinaires (MCO) (si ces flux sont positifs).

Dans les deux modèles, nous présentons des estimations distinctes de nos équations pour l'échantillon englobant les pays en développement et les pays développés, ainsi que pour l'échantillon englobant les pays développés uniquement. De plus, pour l'échantillon américain, nous examinons la possibilité que les déterminants de l'IED, en particulier l'importance de l'IPN, diffèrent d'une industrie à l'autre. Par conséquent, nous présentons des estimations distinctes pour les flux d'IED américain dans les industries de haute technologie.

En ce qui a trait au modèle global, nos résultats indiquent clairement que l'IPN est un important déterminant des flux d'IED entrant et sortant. Les résultats incitent à penser que les investissements axés sur l'infrastructure de gouvernance non seulement contribuent à attirer du capital, mais créent les conditions dans lesquelles les EM nationales peuvent se développer et investir à l'étranger. Il semblerait que les investissements axés sur l'infrastructure de gouvernance soient caractérisés par des rendements décroissants, de sorte que les avantages, en termes de flux entrants, sont plus marqués pour les petites économies et celles qui sont en développement. Pour ce qui est du modèle américain, les résultats font aussi ressortir l'importance de l'IPN, mais d'une façon un peu différente. L'infrastructure politique nationale est un facteur clé qui détermine si un pays reçoit, ou non, de l'IED en provenance des États-Unis, mais elle joue un rôle moindre pour ce qui est de déterminer le montant d'IED reçu par un pays.

L'étude est structurée comme suit. Dans la prochaine section, nous examinons la documentation pertinente sur l'IED. Dans la troisième section, nous définissons la notion d'infrastructure politique nationale et nous comparons notre définition à d'autres notions apparentées. Dans la quatrième section, nous examinons notre mesure de l'IPN et d'autres mesures que nous avons employées, notamment des mesures du développement humain et de la durabilité de l'environnement. Suivent, respectivement, les sections où nous décrivons le modèle de l'IED global, la technique d'estimation employée dans ce cas et les résultats connexes, puis le modèle de l'IED américain, la méthode d'estimation employée et les résultats obtenus. Enfin, la dernière section renferme un sommaire et des conclusions.

Date de modification :