Archived — Occasional Papers

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

No. 28: Electronic Commerce and Productivity Growth: Defining and Assessing the Linkages

by Steven Globerman, Western Washington University, April 2001


Introduction

"In general, it is thought that electronic commerce can significantly improve the efficiency of economies, enhance their competitiveness, improve the allocation of resources and increase long-term growth." (OECD, 2000, page 55)

While there is substantial disagreement about how quickly and dramatically electronic commerce (henceforth, e-commerce) will affect real income levels, there is little doubt that the emergence and growth of e-commerce promises to have substantial beneficial effects on worldwide standards of living. Since e-commerce is still in its very early stages of adoption, it is arguably foolhardy to attempt to predict the impacts it will ultimately have on real income levels, let alone the timing of these impacts. Nevertheless, policymakers must come to grips with issues such as whether and how the adoption path of e-commerce should be stimulated by government policies. As well, forecasts of future real economic growth rates may need to be modified in light of the e-commerce phenomenon, especially if e-commerce results in major improvements in economic efficiency as some experts predict.

Notwithstanding the enormous literature on e-commerce that has accumulated in both academic and trade journals, to our knowledge no systematic attempts have been made to classify and assess, even on a very preliminary basis, the linkages between e-commerce and productivity levels and growth rates. Since productivity growth is ultimately the source of higher real standards of living in society, the linkages between e-commerce and productivity should be of particular interest to policymakers. In particular, a comprehensive identification of these potential linkages could help policymakers better formulate and implement policies that might leverage larger productivity benefits from private sector investments in e-commerce activities.

Hence, the broad purpose of this study is to identify and evaluate the potential linkages between e-commerce and the productivity performance of the Canadian economy. A related purpose is to identify important public policy issues conditioning the linkages identified, and, as a related consequence, identify topics for future research consideration.

The study consists of the following sections. In the section entitled "Defining the Concepts," we set out some definitions of e-commerce and productivity, as well as some historical data on the two phenomena, by way of background. The section entitled "Linking e-commerce to Productivity Growth" describes a conceptual framework within which the major linkages between e-commerce and productivity performance might be identified and evaluated. The section entitled "Assessing the Linkages" discusses some preliminary evidence bearing upon the nature and magnitude of the linkages identified in the preceding section. The last section, entitled "Policy Issues", identifies and briefly discusses several prominent policy issues.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Document hors-série No 28 : Définition et évaluation des liens entre commerce électronique et croissance de la productivité

par Steven Globerman, Université Western Washington, avril 2001


Introduction

En général, on considère que le commerce électronique peut accroître sensiblement l'efficience des économies, hausser leur compétitivité, améliorer l'affectation des ressources et accélérer la croissance à long terme. (OCDE, 2000, page 55)

On est loin de s'entendre sur l'ampleur et la rapidité de l'impact du commerce électronique sur les revenus réels, mais il est fort probable que l'émergence et l'expansion du commerce électronique auront d'importants effets bénéfiques sur le niveau de vie dans le monde. Nous en sommes encore aux premières étapes de l'adoption du commerce électronique et il serait téméraire de tenter de prédire les effets qu'il aura éventuellement sur les revenus réels et, à plus forte raison, l'horizon temporel de ces effets. Néanmoins, les responsables des politiques doivent déterminer si, et comment, l'adoption du commerce électronique devrait être encouragée par des mesures gouvernementales. De même, il faudra peut-être revoir les prédictions au sujet des taux réels de croissance économique devant le phénomène du commerce électronique, notamment s'il suscite des améliorations importantes au niveau de l'efficience économique, comme certains spécialistes le pensent.

Nonobstant la volumineuse documentation sur le commerce électronique accumulée dans les périodiques universitaires et d'affaires, il n'y a eu aucune tentative systématique, à notre connaissance, pour classer et évaluer, même de façon très préliminaire, les liens existant entre le commerce électronique, d'une part, et les niveaux et les taux de croissance de la productivité, de l'autre. Puisqu'en définitive, la croissance de la productivité est la source de toute hausse du niveau de vie réel dans la société, les liens entre commerce électronique et productivité devraient présenter un intérêt tout particulier pour les responsables des politiques. Notamment, un relevé complet des liens possibles pourrait aider les décideurs à formuler et à mettre en oeuvre de meilleures politiques pour retirer des avantages plus importants, sur le plan de la productivité, des investissements du secteur privé dans les activités liées au commerce électronique.

Par conséquent, l'objectif général de cette étude est de repérer et d'évaluer les liens éventuels entre le commerce électronique et la performance de l'économie canadienne au chapitre de la productivité. En guise d'objectif secondaire, l'étude vise aussi à définir les grands enjeux de politique publique qui façonnent les liens identifiés et, en corollaire, à signaler les questions qui devraient faire l'objet de recherches futures.

L'étude est structurée comme suit. Dans le chapitre intitulé « Définition des concepts », nous présentons, en toile de fond, quelques définitions du commerce électronique et de la productivité ainsi que des données historiques sur les deux phénomènes. Dans le chapitre intitulé « Liens entre le commerce électronique et la croissance de la productivité », nous décrivons un cadre conceptuel qui pourrait permettre d'identifier et d'évaluer les principaux liens entre le commerce électronique et la performance au chapitre de la productivité. Dans le chapitre intitulé « Évaluation des liens », nous examinons certaines données préliminaires sur la nature et l'ampleur des liens répertoriés au chapitre précédent. Enfin, dans le dernier chapitre, intitulé « Questions de politique », nous énumérons et analysons brièvement quelques enjeux majeurs sur le plan de la politique gouvernementale.

Date de modification :