Act and Regulations

The Act:

  • The Investment Canada Act

    Non-Canadians who acquire control of an existing Canadian business or who wish to establish a new unrelated Canadian business are subject to this Act, and they must submit either a Notification or an Application for Review.

Current Regulations:

  • Regulations Respecting Investment in Canada

    The Regulations Respecting Investment in Canada prescribe the information to be submitted by non-Canadians pursuant to the Act, the manner in which it is to be submitted, and provide certain definitions related thereto.

  • National Security Review of Investments Regulations

    The National Security Review of Investments Regulations were registered on September 17, 2009. These regulations prescribe the various time periods within which the Minister of Industry and/or the Governor in Council (GIC) must take actions to trigger a national security review, to conduct the review and, after the review, to order measures to protect national security in respect of the reviewed investments. The Regulations also provide a list of investigative bodies with which confidential information can be shared and which may use that information for the purpose of their own investigations.

Pending Regulations:

  • Regulations Amending the Investment Canada Regulations

    The proposed Regulations Amending the Investment Canada Regulations were published for comment in the Canada Gazette Part I, Vol. 146, No. 22 on June 2, 2012. These regulations have not yet been registered.

Loi et règlement

La Loi :

  • Loi sur Investissement Canada

    Les non-Canadiens qui acquièrent le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne existante ou qui désirent créer une nouvelle entreprise au Canada sont assujettis à cette loi, et sont tenus de déposer soit un avis, soit une demande d'examen.

Règlement actuel :

  • Règlement concernant l'investissement au Canada

    Le Règlement concernant l'Investissement Canada établit quels renseignements doivent êtres déposés par les non-Canadiens en vertu de la Loi et de quelle manière le faire, et contient certaines définitions y étant liées.

  • Règlement sur les investissements susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale

    Le Règlement sur les investissements susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale a été enregistré le 17 septembre 2009. Ce règlement établit divers délais à l'intérieur desquels le ministre de l'Industrie et/ou le gouverneur en conseil doit agir pour déclencher un examen portant sur la sécurité nationale, pour effectuer l'exament et, après l'examen, pour ordonner des mesures visant à protéger la sécurité nationale relativement aux investisseurs examinés. Le Règlement contient aussi une liste des organismes chargés des enquêtes, qui peuvent recevoir de l'information confidentielle et qui peuvent se servir de cette information pour les besoins de leurs propores enquêtes.

Date de modification :