Dual Filing Requirements – Guidelines

Department of Industry
Department of Canadian Heritage

Investment Canada Act

Guidelines — Filing Requirements for Investments Involving Businesses Engaged in Both Cultural and Non-cultural Business Activities

The following guidelines are issued by the Minister of Canadian Heritage and the Minister of Industry. The Minister of Canadian Heritage is responsible for the administration of Parts II to VI, except for Part IV.1, of the Act relating to the business activities prescribed by the Governor in Council under paragraph 15(a) of the Act. The Minister of Industry is responsible for the administration of the Investment Canada Act (the "Act") for all matters not transferred to the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

The prescribed business activities for which the Minister of Canadian Heritage is responsible are set out in Schedule IV to the Investment Canada Regulations (the "Regulations") and, for the purposes of the present guidelines, will be referred to as "cultural business" while all other business activities will be referred to as "non-cultural business".

These guidelines are made under the authority of section 38 of the Act, to assist a non-Canadian in complying with filing requirements under the Act where the investment includes both a cultural business and a non-cultural business.

The filing requirements described in these guidelines apply irrespective of the proportions of the non-cultural business and cultural business included in an investment. The dollar values indicated are the total value or enterprise value, as the case may be, of the assets of the Canadian business, calculated as prescribed in the Regulations.

In all cases requiring notification to Canadian Heritage, the investment may become subject to review should the Governor in Council so order, pursuant to section 15 of the Act.

The words, expressions or terms used in the present guidelines shall have the meaning ascribed to them in the Act, unless otherwise indicated.

Investment to Establish a New Canadian Business

1. Where a non-Canadian establishes a new Canadian business, the non-Canadian shall file notifications with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage.

Direct Acquisitions of Control of a Canadian Business

2. Where a non-Canadian acquires control of a Canadian business pursuant to paragraphs 28(1)(a), 28(1)(b), 28(1)(c) and subparagraph 28(1)(d)(i) of the Act, the filing requirements are as follows:

(1) Where the non-Canadian is not a state-owned enterprise and: (i) is a World Trade Organization ("WTO") investor; or (ii) is a non-Canadian, other than a WTO investor ("non-WTO investor"), acquiring a Canadian business controlled by a WTO investor immediately prior to the implementation of an investment, and

(a) where the value of the assets of the entity carrying on the Canadian business calculated in the manner set out in section 3.1 of the Regulations ("total asset value of the Canadian business") is less than $5 million and the enterprise value of the assets of the entity carrying on the Canadian business calculated in the manner set out in sections 3.4, 3.5 or 3.6 of the Regulations, as the case may be, ("enterprise value of the Canadian business") is less than the amount determined pursuant to subsection 14.1(2) of the Act for the purpose of paragraph 14.1(1)(e) of the Act ("the annual non-SOE WTO threshold value"), the non-Canadian shall file a notification with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage;

(b) where the "total asset value of the Canadian business" is $5 million or more and the enterprise value of the Canadian business is less than the value of "the annual non-SOE WTO threshold value", the non-Canadian shall file a notification with Industry Canada and an application for review with Canadian Heritage;

(c) where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $5 million or more and the enterprise value of the Canadian business is equal to or greater than the value of the annual non-SOE WTO threshold value, the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage; or

(d) where the "total asset value of the Canadian business" is less than $5 million and the enterprise value of the Canadian business is equal to or greater than the value of "the annual non-SOE WTO threshold value", the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with Industry Canada and a notification with Canadian Heritage.

2) Where the non-Canadian is a WTO investor that is a state-owned enterprise, or is a non-WTO investor that is a state-owned enterprise and acquiring a Canadian business controlled by a WTO investor immediately prior to the implementation of an investment, and

(a) where the value of the assets of the entity carrying on the Canadian business calculated in the manner set out in section 3.1 of the Regulations ("total asset value of the Canadian business") is less than $5 million, the non-Canadian shall file a notification with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage;

(b) where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $5 million or more but is less than the value calculated pursuant to subsection 14.1(2) of the Act for the purpose of subsection14.1(1.1) ("annual SOE WTO threshold value"), the non-Canadian shall file a notification with Industry Canada and an application for review with Canadian Heritage; or

(c) where the total asset value of the Canadian business is equal to or greater than the value of "the annual SOE WTO threshold value", the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage.

(3) Where a non-Canadian is a non-WTO investor acquiring a Canadian business other than one controlled by a WTO investor immediately prior to the implementation of an investment, and

(a) where the total asset value of the Canadian business is less than $5 million, the non-Canadian shall file a notifications with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage; and

(b) where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $5 million or more, the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage.

Indirect Acquisitions of Control of a Canadian Business

3. Where a non-Canadian acquires control of a Canadian business pursuant to subparagraph 28(1)(d)(ii) of the Act, the filing requirements are as follows:

(1) Where the non-Canadian is a WTO investor or a non-WTO investor acquiring a Canadian business controlled by a WTO investor immediately prior to the implementation of an investment, and

(a) where the total asset value of the Canadian business,

(i) amounts to more than 50 percent of the value of the assets of all entities the control of which is acquired in a transaction of which the acquisition of control of the Canadian business forms part, as provided under subsection 14(2) of the Act ("worldwide assets") and where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $5 million or more; or

(ii) amounts to 50 percent or less of the value of the worldwide assets, and where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $50 million or more;

the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with Canadian Heritage and a notification with Industry Canada.

(b) where

(i) subparagraph (a)(i) applies except that the total asset value of the Canadian business is less than $5 million; or

(ii) subparagraph (a)(ii) applies except that the total asset value of the Canadian business is less than $50 million,

the non-Canadian shall file a notification with both Canadian Heritage and Industry Canada.

non-Canadian is a non-WTO investor acquiring a Canadian business other than one controlled by a WTO investor immediately prior to the implementation of an investment, and

(a) where the total asset value of the Canadian business

(i) amounts to more than 50 percent of the value of the worldwide assets and where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $5 million or more; or

(ii) amounts to 50 percent or less of the value of the worldwide assets and where the total asset value of the Canadian business is $50 million or more,

the non-Canadian shall file an application for review with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage,

(b) where

(i) subparagraph (a)(i) applies except that the total asset value of the Canadian business is less than $5 million; or

(ii) subparagraph (a)(ii) applies except that the total asset value of the Canadian business is less than $50 million,

the non-Canadian shall file a notification with both Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage.

Date modified:

Exigences en matière de dépôt – Lignes directrices

Ministère de l'Industrie
Ministère du Patrimoine canadien

Loi sur Investissement Canada

Lignes directrices — Exigences en matière de dépôt pour les investissements concernant des entreprises qui exercent des activités commerciales culturelles et non culturelles

Les lignes directrices suivantes sont établies par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien et le ministre de l'Industrie. Le ministre du Patrimoine canadien est chargé de l'application des parties II à VI de la Loi (à l'exception de la partie IV.1), relatives aux activités commerciales désignées par le gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'alinéa 15a) de la Loi. Le ministre de l'Industrie est chargé de l'application de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (la Loi) pour toutes les questions qui ne sont pas transférées au ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

Les activités commerciales désignées dont est responsable le ministre du Patrimoine canadien son énoncées à l'annexe IV du Règlement sur Investissement Canada (le Règlement). Dans les présentes lignes directrices, on les appellera « entreprise culturelle », par opposition à toutes les autres activités commerciales, qu'on appellera « entreprise non culturelle ».

Les présentes lignes directrices, établies en vertu de l'article 38 de la Loi, visent à aider les non-Canadiens à se conformer aux exigences de la Loi en matière de dépôt dans les cas où l'investissement concerne à la fois une entreprise culturelle et une entreprise non culturelle.

Les exigences en matière de dépôt qui sont décrites dans les présentes s'appliquent sans égard à la proportion de l'investissement destinée à une entreprise culturelle et à une entreprise non culturelle. Les valeurs en dollars qui sont indiquées représentent la valeur totale ou la valeur d'affaire, selon le cas, des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne, calculée en conformité avec le Règlement.

Dans tous les cas où un avis doit être transmis à Patrimoine canadien, l'investissement pourrait faire l'objet d'un examen si le gouverneur en conseil le décide, conformément à l'article 15 de la Loi.

Les mots, expressions ou termes utilisés dans les présentes lignes directrices auront la signification que leur donne la Loi, à moins d'indication contraire.

Investissement visant à constituer une nouvelle entreprise canadienne

1. Un non-Canadien qui constitue une nouvelle entreprise canadienne doit déposer des avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien.

Acquisition directe du contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne

2. Lorsqu'un non-Canadien acquiert le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne en vertu des alinéas 28(1)a), b) ou c) ou du sous-alinéa 28(1)d)(i) de la Loi, les exigences suivantes s'appliquent en matière de dépôt :

1) Si le non-Canadien n'est pas une entreprise d'État et est i) un investisseur originaire d'un pays membre de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (« investisseur OMC »), ou ii) un non-Canadien autre qu'un investisseur OMC (un « non-investisseur OMC ») qui acquiert une entreprise canadienne contrôlée par un investisseur OMC avant que l'investissement soit effectué, et :

a) que la valeur des actifs de l'entité exploitant l'entreprise canadienne (la « valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne »), calculée conformément aux dispositions de l'article 3.1 du Règlement, est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, et que la valeur d'affaire des actifs de l'entité exploitant l'entreprise canadienne, calculée conformément aux dispositions de l'article 3.4, 3.5 ou 3.6 du Règlement, selon le cas (« valeur d'affaire de l'entreprise canadienne ») est inférieure au montant déterminé en vertu du paragraphe 14.1(2) du Règlement, pour l'application de l'alinéa 14.1(1)e) de la Loi (« valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une non-SE »), le non-Canadien doit déposer des avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien;

b) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, et que la valeur d'affaire de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à la valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une non-SE, le non-Canadien doit déposer un avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et une demande d'examen auprès de Patrimoine canadien;

c) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, et que la valeur d'affaire de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à la valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une non-SE, le non-Canadien doit déposer des demandes d'examen auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien;

d) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, et que la valeur d'affaire de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à la valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une non-SE, le non-Canadien doit déposer une demande d'examen auprès d'Industrie Canada et un avis auprès de Patrimoine canadien.

2) Lorsque le non-Canadien est un investisseur OMC et une entreprise d'État, ou un non-investisseur OMC et une entreprise d'État qui acquiert une entreprise canadienne contrôlée par un investisseur OMC immédiatement avant que l'investissement soit effectué, et :

a) que la valeur des actifs de l'entité exploitant l'entreprise canadienne (la « valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne »), calculée conformément aux dispositions de l'article 3.1 du Règlement, est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, le non-Canadien doit déposer des avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien;

b) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, mais inférieure à la valeur calculée en vertu du paragraphe 14.1(2) de la Loi pour l'application du paragraphe 14.1(1.1) (« valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une SE »), le non-Canadien doit déposer un avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et une demande d'examen auprès de Patrimoine canadien;

c) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à la valeur du seuil OMC annuel pour une SE, le non-Canadien doit déposer des demandes d'examen auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien.

3) Lorsqu'un non-Canadien est un non-investisseur OMC qui acquiert une entreprise canadienne non contrôlée par un investisseur OMC immédiatement avant que l'investissement soit effectué, et :

a) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, le non-Canadien doit déposer des avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien;

b) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, le non-Canadien doit déposer des demandes d'examen auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien.

Acquisition indirecte du contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne

3. Lorsqu'un non-Canadien acquiert le contrôle d'une entreprise canadienne en vertu du sous-alinéa 28(1)d)(ii) de la Loi, les exigences suivantes s'appliquent en matière de dépôt :

1) Si le non-Canadien est un investisseur OMC ou un non-investisseur OMC qui acquiert une entreprise canadienne contrôlée par un investisseur OMC immédiatement avant que l'investissement soit effectué, et :

a) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne :

i) équivaut à plus de 50 % de la valeur des actifs de toutes les entités dont le contrôle a été acquis lors de l'opération qui donne lieu à l'acquisition du contrôle de l'entreprise canadienne, comme il est prévu au paragraphe 14(2) de la Loi (les « actifs globaux »), et que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, ou

ii) équivaut à 50 % ou moins de la valeur des actifs globaux et que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à 50 millions de dollars,

le non-Canadien doit déposer une demande d'examen auprès de Patrimoine canadien et un avis auprès d'Industrie Canada;

b) que :

i) le sous-alinéa a)(i) s'applique, mais que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, ou

ii) le sous-alinéa a)(ii) s'applique, mais que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à 50 millions de dollars,

le non-Canadien doit déposer des avis auprès de Patrimoine canadien et d'Industrie Canada.

2) Si le non-Canadien est un non-investisseur OMC qui acquiert une entreprise canadienne autre qu'une entreprise contrôlée par un investisseur OMC immédiatement avant que l'investissement soit effectué, et :

a) que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne :

i) équivaut à plus de 50 % de la valeur des actifs globaux et que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à cinq millions de dollars, ou

ii) équivaut à 50 % ou moins de la valeur des actifs globaux et que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est supérieure ou égale à 50 millions de dollars,

le non-Canadien doit déposer des demandes d'examen auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien;

b) que :

i) le sous-alinéa a)(i) s'applique, mais que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à cinq millions de dollars, ou

ii) le sous-alinéa a)(ii) s'applique, mais que la valeur totale des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne est inférieure à 50 millions de dollars,

le non-Canadien doit déposer des avis auprès d'Industrie Canada et de Patrimoine canadien.

Date de modification :