Archived — Annual Report 2013–14

Message from the Director of Investments to the Minister of Industry

Dear Minister:

I am pleased to present this annual report on the Investment Canada Act for fiscal year 2013–14. As Director of Investments, I am required to submit to you annual reports on the administration of the Act.

Over the course of 2013–14, 11 applications were approved and 655 notifications were filed under the Act. Taken together, the Canadian businesses acquired in these transactions represented $53.98 billion in total assets.Footnote 1 Of this, applications reviewed by the Minister accounted for $15.42 billion and transactions requiring notification represented $38.56 billion.

The resource sector attracted the largest share of investment: 97 investments involving companies with combined assets of $31.54 billion. The business sector continued to attract the greatest number of investments: 230 investments totalling $4.75 billion.

The United States continued to lead in terms of the highest level of investment: 350 investments, representing over half of the total number of investments, worth over $18 billion. The European Union had the second-highest share with 194 investments totalling nearly $6 billion in asset value.

During 2013–14, the Government of Canada modernized the Act, introducing amendments to implement the measures announced in December 2012. These measures clarify how proposed investments in Canada by foreign state-owned enterprises and other World Trade Organization investors are assessed.

I trust that this annual report provides a useful overview of the administration of the Act. The data show that Canada has a globally connected, sophisticated economy and a proven track record of welcoming investors from all over the world.

I look forward to continuing to support you in administering the Investment Canada Act.

Yours sincerely,

John Knubley
Director of Investments

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Acquisitions are recorded by the asset value of the Canadian business to be acquired, based on its most recent audited financial statements.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Archivé — Rapport annuel 2013-2014

Message du directeur des investissements au ministre de l'Industrie

Monsieur le Ministre,

Je suis heureux de vous présenter ce rapport annuel au sujet de la Loi sur Investissement Canada pour l'exercice 2013-2014. En tant que directeur des investissements, je suis tenu de vous soumettre des rapports annuels sur l'application de la Loi.

Au cours de l'exercice 2013-2014, 11 demandes ont été approuvées et 655 avis ont été déposés en vertu de la Loi. Globalement, les entreprises canadiennes acquises dans le cadre ces transactions représentaient des actifs totaux de 53,98 milliards de dollarsNote de bas de page 1. De ce montant, les demandes examinées par le ministre représentaient 15,42 milliards de dollars et les transactions qui exigeaient un avis comptaient pour 38,56 milliards de dollars.

Le secteur des ressources représentait la part la plus importante des investissements, soit 97 investissements touchant des entreprises dont les actifs combinés totalisaient 31,54 milliards de dollars. Le secteur des entreprises a continué d'attirer le plus grand nombre d'investissements, soit 230 investissements totalisant 4,75 milliards de dollars.

Les États-Unis ont continué d'afficher le niveau d'investissement le plus élevé, soit 350 investissements représentant plus de la moitié du nombre total d'investissements pour une valeur de plus de 18 milliards de dollars. L'Union européenne est arrivée au deuxième rang au titre de la part des investissements, avec 194 investissements représentant une valeur d'actifs totalisant près de 6 milliards de dollars.

Pendant l'exercice 2013-2014, le gouvernement du Canada a modernisé la Loi en apportant des modifications qui prévoient la mise en œuvre des mesures annoncées en décembre 2012. Ces mesures précisent la manière dont on évalue les investissements proposés par des sociétés d'État étrangères et par d'autres investisseurs de pays membres de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce au Canada.

J'ai confiance que ce rapport annuel offre un aperçu utile de l'application de la Loi. Les données montrent que le Canada possède une économie évoluée et branchée sur l'échelle mondiale, et qu'il a fait ses preuves sur le plan de l'accueil d'investisseurs de partout dans le monde.

Je serai heureux de continuer à vous soutenir dans l'application de la Loi sur Investissement Canada.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Le directeur des investissements,

John Knubley

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les acquisitions sont enregistrées selon la valeur des actifs de l'entreprise canadienne visée par l'acquisition, d'après les derniers états financiers vérifiés de la société.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :