Language selection

Search

Guidelines on the National Security Review of Investments

March 24, 2021 – Ottawa, Ontario

  1. The following Guidelines are issued under section 38 of the Investment Canada Act ('the Act') by the Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry ('the Minister'), who is the Minister responsible for the administration of the Act. These Guidelines inform investors of procedures that will be followed in the administration of the national security review process set out in Part IV.1 of the Act and in the National Security Review of Investments Regulations ('the Regulations'). It is recommended that investors and Canadian businesses take account of the national security review provisions, the Regulations and these Guidelines in their business planning and communications. The national security review process is separate from the net benefit review process conducted by the Minister or Minister of Canadian Heritage under Part IV of the Act.
  2. Section 25.1 of the Act identifies the scope of investments by non-Canadians, whether implemented or proposed, that may be subject to national security review under Part IV.1. These are: the establishment of a new Canadian business or an entity carrying on operations in Canada; acquisitions of control of a Canadian business of any dollar value; and acquisitions of all or part of an entity carrying on operations in Canada.
  3. The Minister, in consultation with the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, is responsible for referring investments that could be injurious to national security to the Governor in Council, who may order a review. The Investment Review Division of Innovation, Science and Economic Development is the interface with investors and other parties to the investment before a national security review is ordered and throughout the review process. The national security review process is supported by Public Safety Canada and Canada's security and intelligence agencies and other investigative bodies prescribed in the Regulations. Information obtained in administering the Act is shared with these bodies and protected by them as required by the Act and other applicable laws.
  4. Under Part IV.1 of the Act, proposed or implemented investments are evaluated on the basis of the facts related to the investment, which may include sensitive information, including as defined in section 38 of the Canada Evidence Act. Investors and the other parties involved in an investment that is, or may be, subject to a national security review under section 25.3 are notified in a timely manner as required by the Act and the Regulations. If an order for review of an investment is made by the Governor in Council, the Act provides the opportunity for the non-Canadian or other parties to make representations to the Minister. Throughout this process, commercial information is protected by the strict confidentiality provisions contained in the Act. Sensitive information is protected under the Canada Evidence Act and other applicable laws. National security considerations may restrict the degree to which the Government can share information with the investor and others in this context.
  5. Following a review, and within the time period set out in the Regulations, the Minister, after consultation with the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, will either refer the investment to the Governor in Council, along with a report on the review and recommendations, or, if satisfied that the investment would not be injurious to national security, notify the non-Canadian that no further action will be taken. On referral of an investment, the Governor in Council has the authority to take any measures with respect to the investment that he or she considers advisable to protect national security, including to:
    • authorize the investment on condition that the non-Canadian: give any written undertakings considered necessary; or, implement specified terms and conditions;
    • disallow the investment; or,
    • require the investor to divest control of the Canadian business or its investments in an entity.
  6. In assessing proposed or implemented investments under the national security provisions of the Act, the nature of the assets (including intangible assets) or business activities and the parties involved in the transaction, including the ultimate controller and potential for third party influence, are considered.
  7. In particular, some investments into Canada by state-owned enterprises may be motivated by non-commercial imperatives that could harm Canada's national security. The Government will subject all foreign investments by state-owned investors, or private investors assessed as being closely tied to or subject to direction from foreign governments, to enhanced scrutiny under Part IV.1, regardless of the value of the investment.
  8. For the purposes of making determinations under Part IV.1 of the Act, the Minister or Governor in Council may take into account factors including but not limited to the following as they relate to national security:
    1. The potential effects of the investment on Canada's defence capabilities and interests, including but not limited to the defence industrial base and defence establishments;
    2. The potential effects of the investment on the transfer of sensitive technology or know-how outside of Canada, including consideration of whether the investment provides access to information not in the public domain related to the research, design or manufacture of sensitive technologies. Sensitive technology areas include those that have military, intelligence or dual military/civilian applications. Such technologies may be developed in multiple fields, including, but not limited to those listed at Annex A. The list at Annex A may be updated periodically in accordance with the evolution of technologies, the military and intelligence applications of technology, and national security imperatives;
    3. Involvement in the research, manufacture or sale of goods/technology identified in Section 35 of the Defence Production Act;
    4. The potential impact of the investment on the supply of critical goods and services to Canadians, or the supply of goods and services to the Government of Canada;
    5. The potential impact of the investment on critical minerals and critical mineral supply chains. For more information, please consult the Government of Canada’s Critical Minerals List;
    6. The potential impact of the investment on the security of Canada's critical infrastructure. Critical infrastructure refers to processes, systems, facilities, technologies, networks, assets and services essential to the health, safety, security or economic well-being of Canadians and the effective functioning of government. For more information on Canada's critical infrastructure, see National Strategy for Critical Infrastructure and Action Plan for Critical Infrastructure;
    7. The potential of the investment to enable foreign surveillance or espionage;
    8. The potential of the investment to hinder current or future intelligence or law enforcement operations;
    9. The potential impact of the investment on Canada's international interests, including foreign relationships;
    10. The potential of the investment to involve or facilitate the activities of illicit actors, such as terrorists, terrorist organizations, organized crime or corrupt foreign officials; and,
    11. The potential of the investment to enable access to sensitive personal data that could be leveraged to harm Canadian national security through its exploitation, including, but not limited to:
      1. personally identifiable health or genetic (e.g., health conditions or genetic test results);
      2. biometric (e.g., fingerprints);
      3. financial (e.g., confidential account information, including expenditures and debt);
      4. communications (e.g., private communications);
      5. geolocation; or,
      6. personal data concerning government officials; including members of the military or intelligence community.
  9. Investments that do not possess any of the above-listed characteristics may nevertheless present national security concerns where the investment would be injurious to Canada’s national security.
  10. The Act requires non-Canadian investors to file an application for net benefit review for investments subject to section 14 of the Act prior to their implementation. For investments described in section 25.1 (a) or (b), non-Canadian investors are required to notify the Minister, either before or within the 30 days following, the implementation of the investment. Notification is not required for investments described in section 25.1 (c) though they are nonetheless subject to national security review. The Minister has 45 days (which can be extended by up to an additional 45 days) after an application or notification has been certified, or after the implementation of an investment that does not require a notification, to refer an investment to the Governor in Council for an order for national security review.
  11. An investment subject to a national security review after it has been implemented can be unwound if the Governor in Council makes an Order directing the non-Canadian to divest itself of its investment or conditions could be imposed on it by Order of the Governor in Council.
  12. Investors are strongly encouraged, particularly where they are state-owned or subject to state-influence, or in cases where the factors listed in paragraph 8 of these Guidelines may be present, to contact the Investment Review Division at the earliest stages of the development of their investment projects to discuss their investment and, where applicable, to file a notification or an application for net benefit review at least 45 days prior to planned implementation.
  13. If the Investment Review Division becomes aware of a situation where it believes an application for net benefit review or a notification has not been properly filed, pursuant to sections 17 and 12 of the Act respectively, it may contact the non-Canadian to advise them of their obligations under the Act. The Act provides the Minister the authority to require that this information be provided. The Act also provides the Minister the authority to require that information be provided in order to determine whether there are reasonable grounds to believe an investment could be injurious to national security. In some cases, the Investment Review Division may, pursuant to subsection 25.2(3) of the Act, request information from non-Canadians and/or parties involved in proposed or implemented investments by a non-Canadian for this purpose. Investors are encouraged to respond to such information requests without delay.
  14. In all cases, Investment Review Division officials are ready to meet with investors about their investment projects. Such consultations may facilitate assessments under Part IV.1 and clarify information requirements that might be useful in the course of assessments.

ANNEX A – Sensitive Technology Areas

The following is a non-exhaustive list of technology areas that may be considered sensitive for the purposes of review under the national security provisions of the Investment Canada Act.

  • Advanced Materials and Manufacturing
  • Advanced Ocean Technologies
  • Advanced Sensing and Surveillance
  • Advanced Weapons
  • Aerospace
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI)
  • Biotechnology
  • Energy Generation, Storage and Transmission
  • Medical Technology
  • Neurotechnology and Human-Machine Integration
  • Next Generation Computing and Digital Infrastructure
  • Position, Navigation and Timing (PNT)
  • Quantum Science
  • Robotics and Autonomous Systems
  • Space Technology

This list may be updated periodically as necessary.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lignes directrices sur l'examen relatif à la sécurité nationale des investissements

24 mars 2021 – Ottawa, Ontario

  1. Les présentes lignes directrices sont présentées en vertu de l’article 38 de la Loi sur Investissement Canada (la Loi) par le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et de l’Industrie (le ministre), qui est responsable de l’application de la Loi. Ces lignes directrices informent les investisseurs des procédures qui seront suivies dans l’application du processus d’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale énoncé à la partie IV.1 de la Loi et dans le Règlement sur les investissements susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale (examen) (le Règlement). Il est recommandé que les investisseurs et les entreprises canadiennes tiennent compte des dispositions sur l’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale, du Règlement et des présentes lignes directrices dans leurs travaux de planification des affaires et leurs communications. Le processus d’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale est distinct du processus d’examen de l’avantage net mené par le ministre ou le ministre du Patrimoine canadien en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi.
  2. L’article 25.1 de la Loi indique la portée des investissements envisagés ou effectués par des non-Canadiens qui peuvent être sujets à l’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale aux termes de la partie IV.1. Il s’agit : de la constitution d’une nouvelle entreprise canadienne ou d’une unité exploitée au Canada; de l’acquisition du contrôle d’une entreprise canadienne de n’importe quelle valeur; de l’acquisition, en tout ou en partie, d’une unité exploitée au Canada.
  3. Le ministre, en consultation avec le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, est tenu de signaler les investissements susceptibles de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale au gouverneur en conseil, qui pourrait ordonner un examen par décret. La Division de l’examen des investissements d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est le point de contact avec les investisseurs et les autres parties prenantes à l’investissement avant qu’un examen relatif à la sécurité nationale soit ordonné et tout au long du processus d’examen. Le processus d’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale est soutenu par Sécurité publique Canada ainsi que par les organismes canadiens responsables de la sécurité et du renseignement et d’autres organismes d’enquête indiqués dans le Règlement. Les renseignements obtenus dans le cadre de l’application de la Loi sont communiqués à ces organismes et protégés par ces derniers, tel que l’exigent la Loi et toute autre loi applicable.
  4. Au titre de la partie IV.1 de la Loi, les investissements envisagés ou effectués sont évalués en fonction des faits propres à chacun, ce qui peut comprendre des renseignements sensibles, incluant ceux définis à l’article 38 de la Loi sur la preuve au Canada. Les investisseurs et les autres parties prenantes à un investissement qui est ou pourrait être sujet à un examen relatif à la sécurité nationale au titre de l’article 25.3 sont avisés en temps opportun comme cela est exigé par la Loi et le Règlement. Si le gouverneur en conseil prend un décret d’examen pour l’investissement en question, la Loi prévoit qu’on doit donner à l’investisseur non canadien ou aux autres parties l’occasion de présenter des observations au ministre. Durant ce processus, les renseignements commerciaux sont protégés par les dispositions rigoureuses sur la confidentialité contenues dans la Loi. Les renseignements sensibles sont protégés conformément à la Loi sur la preuve au Canada et à toute autre loi applicable. Les considérations en lien avec la sécurité nationale pourraient limiter la mesure dans laquelle le gouvernement peut communiquer des renseignements à l’investisseur et d’autres parties dans ce contexte.
  5. À la suite d’un examen et après consultation du ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, le ministre est tenu, dans le délai réglementaire établi dans le Règlement, de renvoyer la question au gouverneur en conseil et de lui présenter ses conclusions et recommandations, ou de faire parvenir à l’investisseur non canadien un avis l’informant qu’aucune mesure supplémentaire ne sera prise à l’égard de l’investissement, s’il est convaincu que celui-ci ne porterait pas atteinte à la sécurité nationale. S’il est saisi de la question, le gouverneur en conseil a le pouvoir de prendre toute mesure relative à l’investissement qu’il estime indiquée pour préserver la sécurité nationale, notamment :
    • autoriser l’investisseur non canadien à effectuer l’investissement à la condition de : prendre des engagements écrits considérés comme nécessaires; mette en œuvre les modalités précisées;
    • ordonner à l’investisseur de ne pas effectuer l’investissement;
    • exiger que l’investisseur se départisse du contrôle de l’entreprise canadienne ou de son investissement dans l’unité.
  6. Durant l’évaluation des investissements envisagés ou effectués menée au titre des dispositions de la Loi relatives à la sécurité nationale, on tiendra compte de la nature des biens (y compris les biens incorporels) ou des activités commerciales et des parties prenantes à la transaction, notamment le contrôlant ultime et la possibilité d’une influence par un tiers.
  7. Plus particulièrement, certains investissements au Canada par des entreprises d’État peuvent être motivés par des impératifs non commerciaux qui pourraient nuire à la sécurité nationale du Canada. Le gouvernement examinera de plus près, en vertu de la partie IV.1, tous les investissements étrangers effectués par des investisseurs d’État ou des investisseurs privés considérés comme étant étroitement liés à des gouvernements étrangers ou soumis à leurs directives, quelle que soit la valeur de l’investissement.
  8. Aux fins de la prise de décisions en vertu de la partie IV.1 de la Loi, le ministre ou le gouverneur en conseil peut tenir compte des facteurs suivants, entre autres, en ce qui concerne la sécurité nationale :
    1. Les effets potentiels de l’investissement sur les capacités et les intérêts en matière de défense du Canada, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, l’assise industrielle dans le domaine de la défense et les établissements de défense;
    2. Les effets potentiels de l’investissement sur le transfert de technologies ou de savoir-faire sensible à l’extérieur du Canada, y compris la question de savoir si l’investissement donne accès à des renseignements qui ne sont pas du domaine public et qui sont liés à la recherche, à la conception ou à la fabrication de technologies sensibles. Les domaines technologiques sensibles englobent ceux qui ont des applications dans le militaire, le renseignement ou le double usage militaire/civil. Ces technologies peuvent être développées dans de multiples domaines, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, ceux qui sont énumérés à l’annexe A. La liste de l’annexe A peut être mise à jour périodiquement en fonction de l’évolution des technologies, de leurs applications dans le domaine militaire et celui du renseignement, et des impératifs de sécurité nationale;
    3. La participation à la recherche, à la fabrication ou à la vente de biens ou de technologies visés par l’article 35 de la Loi sur la production de défense;
    4. L’incidence possible de l’investissement sur l’approvisionnement de biens et de services essentiels aux Canadiens, ou l’approvisionnement de biens et de services au gouvernement du Canada;
    5. L’incidence possible de l’investissement sur les minéraux critiques et les chaînes d’approvisionnement en minéraux critiques. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Liste des minéraux critiquesdu gouvernement du Canada;
    6. L’incidence possible de l’investissement sur la sécurité des infrastructures essentielles du Canada. On entend par infrastructures essentielles l’ensemble des processus, des systèmes, des installations, des technologies, des réseaux, des biens et des services nécessaires pour assurer la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité ou le bien-être économique des Canadiens et des Canadiennes ainsi que l’efficacité du gouvernement. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les infrastructures essentielles du Canada, veuillez consulter la Stratégie nationale sur les infrastructures essentielles et le Plan d’action sur les infrastructures essentielles;
    7. La mesure dans laquelle l’investissement risque de permettre la surveillance ou l’espionnage par des intervenants étrangers;
    8. La mesure dans laquelle l’investissement pourrait compromettre des activités actuelles ou à venir de représentants du renseignement ou des forces de l’ordre;
    9. La mesure dans laquelle l’investissement pourrait influer sur les intérêts internationaux du Canada, y compris les relations internationales;
    10. La mesure dans laquelle l’investissement pourrait mettre en jeu ou faciliter les activités d’acteurs illicites, tels que des terroristes, des organisations terroristes, le crime organisé ou des représentants étrangers corrompus;
    11. La mesure dans laquelle l’investissement pourrait permettre d’accéder à des données personnelles sensibles qui seraient susceptibles d’être utilisées pour nuire à la sécurité nationale du Canada par leur exploitation, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter :
      1. renseignements de santé ou de génétique qui permettent d’identifier une personne (p. ex. maladies ou résultats de tests génétiques);
      2. données biométriques (p. ex. empreintes digitales);
      3. données financières (p. ex. renseignements confidentiels sur les comptes, comme les dépenses et les dettes);
      4. communications (p. ex. communications privées);
      5. géolocalisation;
      6. données personnelles concernant des représentants gouvernementaux, y compris des membres de l’armée ou du milieu du renseignement.
  9. Les investissements qui ne possèdent aucune des caractéristiques énumérées ci-dessus peuvent néanmoins présenter des problèmes liés à la sécurité nationale lorsque l’investissement porterait atteinte à la sécurité nationale du Canada;
  10. La Loi exige des investisseurs non canadiens qu'ils déposent une demande d'examen de l'avantage net pour les investissements assujettis à l'article 14 de la Loi avant leur réalisation. Pour les investissements décrits aux alinéas 25.1a) ou b), les investisseurs non canadiens sont tenus d'aviser le ministre avant que l'investissement soit effectué ou dans les 30 jours qui suivent. Il n'est pas nécessaire de déposer un avis pour les investissements décrits à l'article 25.1c), même s'ils sont quand même sujets à l'examen relatif à la sécurité nationale. Le ministre dispose d'une période de 45 jours (qui peut être prolongée de 45 jours) après le dépôt d'une demande d'investissement ou la date de réception d'un avis d'investissement, ou après la réalisation d'un investissement qui n'exige pas un avis, pour renvoyer la question au gouverneur en conseil en vue de la prise d'un décret d'examen relatif à la sécurité nationale.
  11. Un investissement sujet à l’examen relatif à la sécurité nationale après sa réalisation peut être liquidé si le gouverneur en conseil prend un décret ordonnant à l’investisseur canadien de se départir de son investissement, ou des conditions peuvent être imposées à l’investisseur par décret du gouverneur en conseil.
  12. Les investisseurs sont fortement encouragés, particulièrement s’ils sont détenus par un État ou soumis à l’influence d’un État, ou dans les cas où les facteurs énumérés au paragraphe 8 des présentes lignes directrices peuvent entrer en ligne de compte, à communiquer avec les représentants de la Division de l’examen des investissements dès le début de l’élaboration de leurs projets d’investissement pour discuter de leur investissement et, le cas échéant, à déposer un avis d’investissement ou une demande d’examen de l’avantage net au moins 45 jours avant la réalisation prévue.
  13. Si la Division de l’examen des investissements constate une situation où elle croit qu’une demande d’examen de l’avantage net ou qu’un avis n’a pas été déposé comme il faut, conformément aux articles 17 et 12 de la Loi respectivement, elle pourrait communiquer avec l’investisseur non canadien pour l’aviser de ses obligations en application de la Loi. La Loi donne au ministre le pouvoir d’exiger que ces renseignements soient fournis. La Loi donne également au ministre le pouvoir d’exiger que des renseignements soient fournis pour déterminer s’il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’un investissement soit susceptible de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale. Dans certains cas, la Division de l’examen des investissements pourrait, en application du paragraphe 25.2(3) de la Loi, demander des renseignements aux investisseurs non canadiens ou aux parties prenantes à des investissements envisagés ou effectués par un non-Canadien à cette fin. Les investisseurs sont incités à répondre aux demandes d’information de ce genre dans les plus brefs délais.
  14. Dans tous les cas, les représentants de la Division de l’examen des investissements sont disposés à rencontrer les investisseurs au sujet de leurs projets d’investissement. Des consultations de ce type peuvent faciliter les évaluations faites au titre de la partie IV.1 et clarifier les exigences en matière de renseignements qui pourraient être utiles durant les évaluations.

ANNEXE A – Domaines technologiques sensibles

Voici une liste non exhaustive des domaines technologiques qui peuvent être considérés comme sensibles aux fins d’un examen aux termes des dispositions relatives à la sécurité nationale de la Loi sur Investissement Canada :

  • Matériaux et fabrication de pointe
  • Technologies océaniques évoluées
  • Détection et surveillance avancées
  • Armement perfectionné
  • Aérospatiale
  • Intelligence artificielle (IA)
  • Biotechnologie
  • Production, stockage et transport d’énergie
  • Technologies médicales
  • Neurotechnologie et intégration homme-machine
  • Informatique de nouvelle génération et infrastructure numérique
  • Positionnement, navigation et synchronisation (PNS)
  • Science quantique
  • Robotique et systèmes autonomes
  • Technologies spatiales

Cette liste peut être mise à jour périodiquement, au besoin.

Date de modification :