Senior officials

This page provides contact information for senior officials of the main sectors and branches in the Department, the regional offices, and the departments and agencies in the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Portfolio.

The Department

Deputy Minister
John Knubley
Biography (John Knubley)

Associate Deputy Minister
David McGovern
Biography (David McGovern)

Associate Deputy Minister
Paul Thompson

Audit and Evaluation Branch
Director General
Michelle Gravelle

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Chief Executive Officer Commissioner of Patents and Registrar of Trademarks Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Johanne Bélisle

Communications and Marketing Branch
Director General
Kelly Acton

Communications Research Centre Canada
Jean Luc Bérubé

Competition Bureau Canada
Commissioner of Competition
John Pecman

Corporate Management Sector
Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer
Philippe Thompson

Corporations Canada
Director General
Virginie Ethier

Deputy Minister's Office
Chief of Staff

Digital Transformation Service Sector
Assistant Deputy Minister
Aneeta Bains

Industry Sector
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Paul Halucha

Industry Sector
Assistant Deputy Minister
Éric Dagenais

Innovation Canada
Assistant Deputy Minister
Mitch Davies

Legal Services
Senior General Counsel
David Dunbar

Measurement Canada
Alan Johnston

Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy
Superintendent of Bankruptcy
Bill James

Science and Research Sector
Assistant Deputy Minister
Nipun Vats

Small Business, Tourism and Marketplace Services
Assistant Deputy Minister
Frances McRae

Spectrum and Telecommunications Sector
Assistant Deputy Minister
Fiona Gilfillan

Strategy and Innovation Policy Sector
Senior Assistant Deputy Minister
Lisa Setlakwe

top of page

Regional Offices

Atlantic Region
Executive Director
Surita Maddox

Quebec Region
Executive Director
Julie Insley

Ontario Region
Executive Director
Mark Lehman

Prairie and Northern Region
Executive Director
David Migadel

Pacific Region
Executive Director
Doug Kinsey

top of page

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Portfolio

Office of the Corporate Secretary
Corporate Secretary
Shelley Dooher

Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)
Michael Denham
President and Chief Executive Officer
5 Place Ville-Marie, Suite 400
Montreal, Quebec H3B 5E7
Telephone: 514-283-1938

Canadian Space Agency (CSA)
Sylvain Laporte

Destination Canada (formerly known as the Canadian Tourism Commission) (DC)
President & CEO
David Goldstein

Copyright Board Canada (CB)
Vice-Chairman & CEO
Claude Majeau

Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)
James Meddings
101-139 Northfield Drive West, Room 101
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 5A6
Telephone: 613-960-7093

National Research Council Canada (NRC)
Iain Stewart

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
Mario Pinto

Registry of the Competition Tribunal (RCT)
Executive Director
Rachel Boyer

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)
Dr. Ted Hewitt

Standards Council of Canada (SCC)
Chief Executive Officer
John Walter

Statistics Canada (StatCan)
Chief Statistician of Canada
Anil Arora

As well, the following organizations are associated with the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Portfolio:

Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
Dr. Gilles G. Patry
President and CEO
230 Queen Street, Suite 450
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E4
Telephone: 613-947-7260

Council of Canadian Academies (CCA)
Dr. Eric M. Meslin
President and CEO
180 Elgin Street, Suite 1401
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2K3
Telephone: 613-567-5000

Genome Canada
Marc LePage
President and CEO
150 Metcalfe Street, Suite 2100
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1P1
Telephone: 613-751-4460

Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation (PETF)
Morris Rosenberg
President and CEO
1980 Sherbrooke Street West, Suite 600
Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E8
Telephone: 514-938-0001

Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC)
Kenneth Knox
235 Queen Street, 9th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
Telephone: 343-291-2364

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified: