Language selection

Search

Joint statement: Canada's Cement Industry and the Government of Canada announce a partnership to establish Canada as a global leader in low-carbon cement and to achieve net-zero carbon concrete

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, Cement Association of Canada (CAC) Chair, Marie Glenn and Michael McSweeney, President and CEO, affirm the partnership between the Government of Canada and Canada's cement sector to support the development and implementation of a 'Roadmap to Net-Zero-Carbon Concrete'. This work will provide Canadian cement and concrete industry with the technologies, tools and policy needed to achieve net-zero carbon concrete by 2050.

This roadmap, when complete in December 2021, is consistent with goals of Canada's strengthened climate plan, A Healthy Environment and Healthy Economy, as well as Budget 2021, which identify the cement sector as a key contributor to Canada's net-zero future.

With a potential to reduce over 15 megatonnes of GHGs cumulatively by 2030, and then ongoing reductions of over 4 megatonnes annually, the objectives of this partnership are to position Canada's cement and concrete industry as a competitive global leader in the production of, and technologies related to low-carbon cement and concrete. This partnership could become a catalyst for change by:

The Government, through its Greening Government Strategy, is also committed to buying lower carbon building materials, including concrete, and enhancing Canada's capacity to deliver low-carbon cement and concrete solutions to market.

Industry-Government Working Group

This partnership will establish an Industry-Government Working Group, led by the Cement Association of Canada (CAC), the National Research Council (NRC), and the Standards Council of Canada (SCC), in collaboration with Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED). The partnership provides the Government of Canada an opportunity to champion the decarbonization of the cement and concrete sector as well as demonstrates its commitment to removing GHG emissions from the environment and explore and action new and innovative economic opportunities across the value chain. The working group will be asked to:

It is expected that the NRC will lead the collaborative technical activities with other government departments (OGDs).

Planned Activities

The efforts of the working group will be directed towards a set of defined activities with measurable outcomes. The initial set of planned activities include the following:

Priority Outcomes

With a potential to reduce 15 megatonnes of GHGs cumulatively by 2030, and then ongoing reductions of over 4 megatonnes annually, together the Government of Canada and the CAC will pursue these stated objectives, work program and desired outcomes. Reports to Canadians will be posted regularly, including annual GHG reduction reports, to inform Canadians of progress made towards key milestones.

Given the urgency of demonstrating measurable reductions in GHGs across the Canadian economy, the working group will report to the Minister regularly on progress in the implementation of the work program and yearly on progress toward GHG reduction milestones, subject to the collection of data as described above.

Initial priorities:

Background Information

Background Information
Building Material Category Number of Operating Plants Employment Annual Production Economic Contribution
Cement 14 158,000 (direct and indirect jobs) 13 million tonnes (2014) $1.64 billion (2014 value)

Concrete is an indispensable construction material used in the building sector. It is essentially composed of a cementitious material, aggregates, and water, to which admixtures can be sometimes added to confer specific properties to the concrete. Cement is one of the main binders used for concrete production. Concrete is obtained by mixing cement (and possibly supplementary cementitious materials), fine and coarse aggregates (e.g.: sand, gravel and recycled concrete) and water. There are three principal concrete product categories: ready-mix concrete, precast concrete products, and concrete masonry units (cement blocks).

In Canada, concrete is one the most widely used construction materials with annual production rate of 60 million tonnes while cement, one of the main concrete components, has a production rate of 14 million tonnes respectively. In 2017, 1.5% (10.8MT) of Canada's GHG emissions was from concrete alone. It is estimated that the cement/concrete industry provides around 158,000 direct and indirect jobs in Canada. The value of Canada's cement production is around $1.64 billion (2014 value).

Cement is one of the two largest sources of industrial sector emissions in the world with 26% of all industrial CO2 emissions in 2019. The production of Canadian cement and concrete products resulted in the emission of 11,689 kilo tones of GHGs in 2008. Cement production is identified worldwide as a major GHG source (1.5% annually in Canada and 7% worldwide).

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Déclaration commune : L’industrie canadienne du ciment et le gouvernement du Canada annoncent un partenariat visant à faire du Canada un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la production du ciment à faibles émissions de carbone et à obtenir un béton à zéro émission nette de carbone

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

L'honorable François-Philippe Champagne, ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie, la présidente du conseil de l'Association canadienne du ciment, Marie Glenn, et Michael McSweeney, président et chef de la direction de l'Association canadienne du ciment, affirment le partenariat entre le gouvernement du Canada et le secteur canadien du ciment pour soutenir l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'un «  plan de travail vers un béton carboneutre  ». Ces travaux fourniront à l'industrie canadienne du ciment et du béton les technologies, les outils et les politiques nécessaires pour parvenir à la carboneutralité du béton d'ici 2050.

Ce plan de travail, qui sera achevé en décembre 2021, est conforme aux objectifs du plan climatique renforcé du gouvernement du Canada, Un environnement sain et une économie saine, ainsi qu'avec budget de 2021, selon lesquels le secteur du ciment sera un contributeur clé à l'avenir carboneutre du Canada.

Avec un potentiel de réduction de plus de 15 mégatonnes de GES cumulatives d'ici 2030, puis des réductions continues de plus de 4 mégatonnes par an, les objectifs de ce partenariat visent à positionner l'industrie canadienne du ciment et du béton comme un chef de file mondial compétitif dans la production de ciment et de béton à faibles émissions de carbone, et les technologies qui y sont liées. Ce partenariat pourrait devenir un catalyseur du changement en:

Le gouvernement, dans le cadre de sa stratégie pour un gouvernement vert, s'est également engagé à acheter des matériaux de construction dont la production donne lieu à de faibles émissions de carbone, y compris du béton, et à améliorer la capacité du Canada à mettre sur le marché des solutions de ciment à faibles émissions de carbone.

Groupe de travail industrie-gouvernement

Ce partenariat établira un groupe de travail industrie-gouvernement, dirigé par l'Association canadienne du ciment (ACC), le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) et le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN), en collaboration avec Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE). Ce partenariat permet au gouvernement du Canada de se faire le champion de la décarbonisation du secteur du ciment et du béton, de démontrer son engagement à éliminer les émissions de GES de l'environnement et d'explorer et d'exploiter de nouvelles possibilités économiques d'innovation dans toute la chaîne de valeur. Le Groupe de travail sera chargé des éléments ci-dessous :

Il est prévu que le CNRC dirige les activités techniques de collaboration avec d'autres ministères gouvernementaux.

Activités prévues

Les efforts du groupe de travail seront orientés vers un ensemble d'activités définies avec des résultats mesurables. La série initiale d'activités prévues comprend les éléments suivants :

Résultats prioritaires

Avec un potentiel de réduction de 15 mégatonnes de GES cumulatives d'ici 2030, puis des réductions continues de plus de 4 mégatonnes par an, le gouvernement du Canada et l'ACC chercheront ensemble à atteindre les objectifs annoncés, le programme de travail et les résultats souhaités. Des rapports à l'intention des Canadiens seront affichés régulièrement, y compris les rapports annuels de réduction des GES, afin de tenir les Canadiens informés des progrès réalisés par rapport aux principaux jalons.

Compte tenu de l'urgence de démontrer des réductions mesurables des GES dans l'ensemble de l'économie canadienne, le groupe de travail fera rapport au ministre tous les trimestres sur les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre du programme de travail et tous les ans sur les progrès réalisés par rapport aux jalons de réduction des GES, sous réserve de la collecte des données décrites ci-dessus.

Priorités initiales :

Renseignements généraux

Renseignements généraux
Catégorie de matériaux de construction Nombre d'usines en activité Emploi Production annuelle Contribution économique
Ciment 14 158 000 emplois directs et indirects 13 millions de tonnes (2014) 1,64 milliard $ (de 2014)

Le béton est un matériel de construction indispensable utilisé dans le secteur de la construction. Il se compose principalement d'un matériau cimentaire, de granulats et d'eau, auxquels on peut parfois ajouter des adjuvants pour conférer des propriétés particulières au béton. Le ciment est l'un des principaux liants utilisés pour la production de béton. Le béton est obtenu par le mélange de ciment (et éventuellement de matériaux cimentaires supplémentaires), de granulats fins et grossiers (p. ex. : sable, gravier et béton recyclé) et d'eau. Il existe trois grandes catégories de produits en béton : le béton prêt à l'emploi, les produits préfabriqués en béton et la maçonnerie en béton (blocs de ciment)Note de bas de page 4.

Au Canada, le béton est l'un des matériaux de construction les plus utilisés, avec un taux de production annuel de 60 millions de tonnes, tandis que le ciment, l'un des principaux composants du béton, a un taux de production de 14 millions de tonnes. En 2017, 1,5 % (10,8 mégatonnes) des émissions de GES du Canada provenaient du béton.Note de bas de page 5 On estime que l'industrie du ciment et du béton représente environ 158 000 emplois directs et indirects au Canada. La valeur de la production de ciment au Canada est d'environ 1,64 milliard de dollars (valeur en 2014).

Le ciment est l'une des deux plus grandes sources d'émissions du secteur industriel dans le monde, représentant 26 % de toutes les émissions industrielles de CO2 en 2019. La production de ciment et de produits en béton canadiens a entraîné l'émission de 11 689 kilotonnes de GES en 2008. La production de ciment est déterminée dans le monde entier comme une source importante de GES (1,5 % par an au Canada et 7 % dans le monde).

Date de modification :