Mandate

Mission

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's mission is to foster a growing, competitive, knowledge-based Canadian economy.

The Department works with Canadians throughout the economy, and in all parts of the country, to improve conditions for investment, improve Canada's innovation performance, increase Canada's share of global trade, and build an efficient and competitive marketplace.

Mandate

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's mandate is to help make Canadian industry more productive and competitive in the global economy, thus improving the economic and social well-being of Canadians.

The many and varied activities Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada carries out to deliver on its mandate are organized around three interdependent and mutually reinforcing strategic outcomes, each linked to a separate key strategy. The key strategies are shown in the illustration below.

Mandate

3 Key Strategies (the long description is located after the image)
Long Description

This chart illustrates that Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's three strategic outcomes — the Canadian marketplace is efficient and competitive; science and technology, knowledge, and innovation are effective drivers of a strong Canadian economy; and competitive businesses are drivers of sustainable wealth creation — are driven by and contribute to the Government of Canada's desired outcomes: a fair and secure marketplace; an innovative and knowledge-based economy; strong economic growth; and a strong and mutually beneficial North America. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's three strategic outcomes are the result of the Department's three key strategies — advancing the marketplace; fostering the knowledge-based economy; and supporting business — which are delivered through various program activities and supported by strategic enablers such as people management, risk management, management accountability and other corporate functions.

The Canadian marketplace is efficient and competitive

Advancing the marketplace

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada fosters competitiveness by developing and administering economic framework policies that promote competition and innovation; support investment and entrepreneurial activity; and instill consumer, investor and business confidence.

Science and technology, knowledge, and innovation are effective drivers of a strong Canadian economy

Fostering the knowledge-based economy

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada invests in science and technology to generate knowledge and equip Canadians with the skills and training they need to compete and prosper in the global, knowledge-based economy. These investments help ensure that discoveries and breakthroughs take place here in Canada and that Canadians realize the social and economic benefits.

Competitive businesses are drivers of sustainable wealth creation

Supporting business

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada encourages business innovation and productivity because businesses generate jobs and wealth creation. Promoting economic development in communities encourages the development of skills, ideas and opportunities across the country.

Responsibilities

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is the Government of Canada's centre of microeconomic policy expertise. The Department's founding legislation, the Department of Industry Act, established the Ministry to foster a growing, competitive and knowledge-based Canadian economy.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is a department with many entities that have distinct mandates, with program activities that are widely diverse and highly dependent on partnerships. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada works on a broad range of matters related to industry and technology, trade and commerce, science, consumer affairs, corporations and corporate securities, competition and restraint of trade, weights and measures, bankruptcy and insolvency, intellectual property, investment, small business, and tourism.


For more information, please see Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Report on Plans and Priorities and Business Plan.

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Mandat

Mission

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a pour mission de favoriser l'essor d'une économie canadienne concurrentielle et axée sur le savoir.

Pour s'acquitter de cette mission, le Ministère travaille avec les Canadiens de tous les secteurs de l'économie et de toutes les régions du pays à instaurer un climat favorable à l'investissement, à stimuler l'innovation, à accroître la présence canadienne sur les marchés mondiaux et à créer un marché équitable, efficace et concurrentiel.

Mandat

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a pour mandat de contribuer à rendre l'industrie du pays plus productive et plus concurrentielle dans l'économie mondiale, et d'améliorer ainsi le bien-être social et économique des Canadiens.

Les activités, nombreuses et variées, qu'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada entreprend pour s'acquitter de son mandat s'articulent autour de trois résultats stratégiques qui sont interdépendants et qui se renforcent mutuellement, chacun étant lié à une stratégie clé. Ces stratégies sont illustrées ci-dessous.

Mandat

3 Stratégies clés (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description longue

Ce graphique montre que les trois résultats stratégiques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada — le marché canadien est efficace et concurrentiel; les sciences et la technologie, les connaissances et l'innovation sont des moteurs efficaces pour une économie canadienne forte; et les entreprises concurrentielles sont les moteurs de la création de la richesse durable — sont axés sur les résultats que souhaite obtenir le gouvernement du Canada et contribuent à ces résultats, à savoir : un marché équitable et sécurisé; une économie axée sur l'innovation et le savoir; une croissance économique forte; et un partenariat nord-américain fort et mutuellement avantageux. Les trois résultats stratégiques d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada sont appuyés par les trois stratégies clés du Ministère — promouvoir le marché; favoriser une économie axée sur le savoir; et soutien aux entreprises —, qui sont mises en œuvre dans le cadre de diverses activités de programme et appuyées par des instruments stratégiques tels que la gestion axée sur les gens, la gestion du risque, la responsabilité de gestion et d'autres fonctions ministérielles.

Le marché canadien est efficace et concurrentiel

Privilégier le marché

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada favorise la compétitivité en élaborant et en administrant des politiques-cadres économiques propices à la concurrence, à l'innovation, à l'investissement et à l'entrepreneuriat et qui suscitent la confiance des consommateurs, des investisseurs et des entreprises.

Les sciences et la technologie, les connaissances et l'innovation sont des moteurs efficaces pour une économie canadienne forte

Promouvoir l'économie du savoir

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada investit dans les sciences et la technologie pour créer des connaissances et permettre aux Canadiens d'acquérir les compétences et la formation dont ils ont besoin pour être concurrentiels et prospères dans une économie mondiale axée sur le savoir. Ces investissements font en sorte que les découvertes et les percées décisives aient lieu ici, au Canada, et que les Canadiens profitent des avantages sociaux et économiques qu'elles entraînent.

Les entreprises concurrentielles sont les moteurs de la création de la richesse durable

Appuyer les entreprises

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada encourage l'innovation et la productivité des entreprises, car celles-ci créent des emplois et de la richesse. Favoriser le développement économique dans les collectivités stimule le développement des compétences et permet d'approfondir les idées et de saisir les occasions dans tout le pays.

Responsabilités

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada joue au sein du gouvernement du Canada le rôle de centre d'expertise microéconomique en matière de politiques. La Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, loi constituant Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, vise à promouvoir une économie canadienne en croissance, concurrentielle et axée sur le savoir.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est un ministère composé de nombreuses entités ayant des mandats distincts et des activités de programme très variées, fondées en grande partie sur des partenariats. Le Ministère intervient dans une vaste gamme de dossiers liés à l'industrie et à la technologie, aux échanges, au commerce, à la science, à la consommation, aux sociétés par actions et aux valeurs mobilières, à la concurrence et aux restrictions au commerce, aux poids et mesures, à la faillite et à l'insolvabilité, à la propriété intellectuelle, à l'investissement, à la petite entreprise et au tourisme.


Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les renseignements sur la planification et les rapports sur le rendement d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Date de modification :