Seizing Canada's Moment: Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation 2014 – Summary

Seizing Canada's Moment:

Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation 2014 – Summary

This publication is available online in html at

This publication is also available in accessible formats (Braille, large print, etc.) upon request. Contact the Industry Canada Web Services Centre:

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1-800-328-6189
Telephone (Ottawa): 613-954-5031
Fax: 613-954-2340
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1-866-694-8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)

Permission to Reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from Industry Canada, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that Industry Canada is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, Industry Canada.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial redistribution, also contact the Industry Canada Web Services Centre mentioned above.

Cat. No. Iu37-4/2-2014E-PDF
ISBN 978-1-100-25475-3

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Industry, 2014.

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Un moment à saisir pour le Canada : Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation 2014 – Sommaire.

PDF version


Prime Minister's Message

Photo of the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada

Prime Minister of Canada

Stephen Harper

The success of our economy, the prosperity of our communities and the well-being of our families depend on advancing cutting-edge science, technology and innovation in Canada.

While our Government has already significantly ramped up support for Canada's quest for knowledge, we recognize that remaining competitive in the global marketplace of ideas demands a long-term commitment and strategy.

That is why we are launching Seizing Canada's Moment: Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation, a new strategy that leverages the expertise and resources of post-secondary institutions, industry and government to translate brilliant theories and ideas into applications that will improve the day-to-day lives of Canadians and generate economic growth and jobs across the country.

For years Canadian researchers, inventors and entrepreneurs have expanded the boundaries of knowledge and experience, building a proud, progressive and strong country. As Canada approaches the 150th anniversary of Confederation, our Government is proud to build on that remarkable foundation through new investments in science, technology and innovation that will be of benefit to this generation and an invaluable inheritance for generations to come.

Minister of State's Message

Photo of the Honourable Ed Holder, Minister of State (Science and Technology)

Minister of State (Science and Technology)

Ed Holder

Today, science, technology and innovation drive the prosperity of nations. Canada has great strengths in this regard including many of the world's brightest minds; as a result, Canada is well-positioned to seize its moment on the world stage, ensuring long-term jobs, opportunities and prosperity for Canadians.

Our Government, under the leadership of Prime Minister Stephen Harper, has made record investments in science, technology and innovation to push the boundaries of knowledge, create jobs and opportunities, and improve the quality of life of Canadians.

While the global economy remains fragile, Canada has come a long way. We boast a welcoming and predictable business environment thanks to low taxes, a sound banking sector and a modern regulatory framework.

In Seizing Canada's Moment: Moving Forward in Science, Technology and Innovation, our government is delivering on our commitment to renew Canada's science and technology strategy with a vision to strengthen Canada's position as a global leader in scientific research and innovation.

The renewed strategy builds on two existing pillars, People and Knowledge, and introduces a third pillar, Innovation.

People Pillar: We will inspire, develop, attract and retain the highly talented researchers needed to meet the demands of the modern global economy both in the lab and in the boardroom while encouraging young Canadians to seek rewarding careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Knowledge Pillar: We will tackle national and global challenges by supporting world-leading research through legacy investments like the Canada First Research Excellence Fund for the long-term economic benefit of Canada.

Innovation Pillar: We will encourage greater partnerships among Canadian businesses, universities and colleges to drive innovation and encourage the adoption of new processes and technologies that help Canadian businesses prepare to compete and win in the global marketplace.

Our government's renewed science, technology and innovation strategy will strengthen Canadian science and business to ensure they remain world-leading. I look forward to sharing the excitement of new Canadian discoveries, breakthroughs and innovations along with the boundless promise they hold for Canadians.

Canada's future in science, technology and innovation is bright. Canada and Canadians must be prepared to lead and to remain at the frontier of discovery. Together, we will seize Canada's moment.

Moving Canada Forward

As we approach our 150th anniversary, Canada stands at the threshold of a new era of opportunity and achievements as a nation that has established a quality of life envied around the globe. In a fast-changing world driven by science, technology and innovation, we aspire to lead with our people, knowledge and innovation:

People: Canada will be a place where curiosity is encouraged, our youth are inspired by science, technology and innovation, and where the best and brightest minds from around the world come to share in our aspirations of pushing the frontiers of knowledge and making ground-breaking technology advancements to help Canada succeed in the global economy.

Knowledge: Canada will continue to be recognized world-wide for its research excellence and knowledge infrastructure. We will be a nation where our talented researchers and entrepreneurs can pursue their aspirations and ideas for the benefit of Canadians and people around the world.

Innovation: Drawing on the skills and knowledge of Canadians as well as our strong research capacity, Canada will be a place where businesses embrace innovation and successfully compete on the world's stage. Businesses will adopt the latest technological advancements and foster partnerships within the science and technology community to bring ideas from the lab to the global marketplace.

Image representing the People Pillar, the Knowledge Pillar and the Innovation Pillar

Canada's new science, technology and innovation strategy, Seizing Canada's Moment, provides a road map for how Canada will build on its world-leading strengths and begin its next 150 years of scientific achievement, discovery and economic success. It is based on four principles:

Icon representing the People Pillar

Moving People Forward: Growing Canada's Talent

Canada has a legacy of innovative people who, decade after decade, have contributed their ideas, curiosity and know-how to create products, knowledge and services that have benefited the world. People are at the heart of discovery and innovation, and they will remain our greatest asset and the source of our ability to lead in the knowledge economy.

Building on Strength

What We've Done

What We Will Do

Icon representing the Knowledge Pillar

Moving Knowledge Forward: Maintaining Canada's Leadership in Science and Technology

Science and technology are essential to Canada's prosperity and improving our quality of life. Research and discoveries shed light on the world around us and open doors to new possibilities. Canada's global research excellence, supported by world-class research facilities, pushes the frontiers of science and technology and has helped attract leading researchers to Canada from around the world.

Building on Strength

What We've Done

What We Will Do

Icon representing the Innovation Pillar

Moving Innovation Forward: Strengthening Canada's Business Innovation

Canadians have a strong entrepreneurial spirit and have shown how to bring ideas to life. Supported by a capacity for world-class research, Canadians have become agents of change. Canada must now leverage those strengths and embrace a broader business innovation culture—experimenting with new technologies and processes and exploring new business horizons. We are on the right path to unlocking Canada's potential to become a global leader in innovation.

Building on Strength

What We've Done

What We Will Do

How We Got to Where We Are

In 2006, our government set out to make science, technology and innovation a source of Canadian advantage. In the years since, we have built a legacy of achievement.

Seizing Canada's Moment

In the globally competitive race to advance science, technology and innovation, Canada is well positioned. It has:

A Legacy of Innovation

Throughout our history as a nation, Canadians have been pioneers in scientific and technological achievement. We have turned research and ideas into products, jobs and a healthier, safer world. Here are some of Canada's successes:

Having built on these achievements, Canada now stands at the threshold of a new era. We can leverage the many advantages that stem from a strong, stable and vibrant science, technology and innovation ecosystem. Together, we will seize this moment and build a brighter future for all Canadians.
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Un moment à saisir pour le Canada : Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation 2014 – Sommaire

Un moment à saisir pour le Canada :

Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation 2014 – Sommaire

La présente publication est offerte par voie électronique en version HTML
(http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/icgc.nsf/fra/h_07490.html).

Pour obtenir cette publication sur supports accessibles, sur demande (Braille, gros caractères, etc.), communiquez avec le Centre de service Web d'Industrie Canada :

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1-800-328-6189
Téléphone (Ottawa) : 613-954-5031
Télécopieur : 613-954-2340
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes seulement) : 1-866-694-8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ic.info-info.ic@canada.ca

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission d'Industrie Canada, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, qu'Industrie Canada soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec Industrie Canada ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez vous adresser au Centre de service Web d'Industrie Canada dont les coordonnées se trouvent ci-dessus.

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

No de catalogue Iu37-4/2-2014F-PDF
ISBN 978-0-660-23100-6

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2014.

Also available in English under the title Seizing Canada's Moment: Moving Forward in Science,Technology and Innovation 2014 – Summary.

Version PDF

Table des matières


Message du premier ministre

Photo du très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada

Le premier ministre du Canada

Stephen Harper

Le succès de notre économie, la prospérité de nos collectivités et le bien-être de nos familles sont tributaires des progrès accomplis dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation de pointe au Canada.

Bien que notre gouvernement ait considérablement accru son appui à l'égard de la quête du savoir menée au pays, nous sommes conscients qu'un engagement et une stratégie à long terme sont nécessaires pour que le Canada demeure concurrentiel sur le marché mondial des idées.

Voilà pourquoi nous lançons la stratégie Un moment à saisir pour le Canada : Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation. Cette stratégie mise sur le savoir-faire et les ressources des établissements postsecondaires, de l'industrie et du gouvernement pour traduire des théories et des idées brillantes en applications qui contribueront à améliorer la vie quotidienne des Canadiens et généreront de la croissance économique de même que des emplois d'un bout à l'autre du pays.

Depuis des années, les chercheurs, inventeurs et entrepreneurs canadiens repoussent les frontières du savoir et de l'expérience afin de bâtir un pays fier, solide et progressiste. À l'approche du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada, notre gouvernement est fier de s'appuyer sur cette remarquable fondation pour réaliser des investissements dans les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation qui procureront à la génération actuelle des retombées et transmettront aux générations à venir un héritage inestimable.

Message du ministre d'État

Photo de l'honorable Ed Holder, ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie)

Le ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie)

Ed Holder

De nos jours, ce sont les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation qui alimentent la prospérité des nations. Le Canada possède de grandes forces à cet égard, dont un bon nombre d'esprits parmi les plus brillants au monde. Ainsi, il dispose des atouts nécessaires pour saisir sa chance sur la scène mondiale et garantir aux Canadiens des emplois, des possibilités et de la prospérité à long terme.

Sous la direction du premier ministre Stephen Harper, le gouvernement a effectué des investissements sans précédent dans les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation pour repousser les frontières du savoir, soutenir la création d'emplois et de possibilités, et améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens.

Bien que la situation économique mondiale demeure fragile, le Canada a parcouru beaucoup de chemin. Nous offrons un climat d'affaires accueillant et prévisible grâce aux faibles impôts, à un secteur bancaire solide et à un cadre réglementaire moderne.

Dans la stratégie Un moment à saisir pour le Canada : Aller de l'avant dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation, notre gouvernement donne suite à son engagement de renouveler la stratégie des sciences et de la technologie du Canada de manière à renforcer la position du Canada en tant que chef de file mondial de la recherche scientifique et de l'innovation.

La stratégie renouvelée fait fond sur deux piliers existants, soit les piliers « Humain » et « Savoir », et présente un troisième pilier, intitulé « Innovation ».

Pilier « Humain » : Nous inspirerons, formerons, attirerons et retiendrons au pays les chercheurs hautement talentueux dont nous avons besoin pour répondre aux demandes d'une économie mondiale moderne tant dans les laboratoires que dans les salles de conférence. Nous inciterons également les jeunes Canadiens à faire carrière dans les domaines enrichissants que sont les sciences, la technologie, le génie et les mathématiques.

Pilier « Savoir » : Nous nous attaquerons à des problèmes nationaux et internationaux en appuyant la recherche de calibre mondial par l'entremise d'investissements au profit des générations futures, comme le fonds « Apogée Canada » pour l'excellence en recherche, qui procureront au Canada des retombées économiques à long terme.

Pilier « Innovation » : Nous favoriserons l'établissement de plus de partenariats entre les entreprises, universités et collèges canadiens en vue de stimuler l'innovation et de promouvoir l'adoption de nouveaux processus et de nouvelles technologies qui aideront les entreprises canadiennes à se préparer à soutenir la concurrence et à se démarquer sur les marchés mondiaux.

La stratégie des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation renouvelée du gouvernement renforcera le secteur des sciences ainsi que le milieu des affaires au Canada, et fera en sorte qu'ils demeurent à l'avant-scène mondiale. Je suis impatient de partager avec vous l'enthousiasme que susciteront les nouvelles découvertes, percées et innovations canadiennes ainsi que les perspectives infinies qu'elles présenteront pour les Canadiens.

L'avenir du Canada en matière de sciences, de technologie et d'innovation est rayonnant. Le Canada et la population canadienne doivent être en mesure d'agir comme chefs de file et de rester à la fine pointe des découvertes. Ensemble, nous allons saisir l'occasion pour le Canada.

Pour l'avenir du Canada

À l'approche de son 150e anniversaire, le Canada, qui a réussi à établir une qualité de vie enviée sur toute la planète, s'apprête à entrer dans une nouvelle ère de possibilités et de réalisations. Dans un monde en pleine évolution, où les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation jouent un rôle primordial, le Canada aspire au statut de chef de file, fort des atouts suivants :

Les gens : Le Canada sera un endroit où l'on encourage la curiosité, où les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation inspirent les jeunes et où les plus brillants esprits du monde se rencontrent pour repousser les frontières du savoir et pour faire des percées technologiques sans précédent en vue d'aider le Canada à prospérer dans l'économie mondiale.

Les connaissances : Le Canada continuera d'être reconnu partout dans le monde pour l'excellence de ses recherches et de son infrastructure du savoir. Nous serons un pays où nos chercheurs et nos entrepreneurs de talent pourront réaliser leurs aspirations et concrétiser leurs idées au profit de la population canadienne et des populations de partout dans le monde.

L'innovation : Grâce aux compétences et aux connaissances des Canadiens et à notre solide capacité de recherche, le Canada deviendra un endroit où les entreprises misent sur l'innovation et rivalisent avec succès sur le marché mondial. Les entreprises adopteront les dernières percées technologiques et favoriseront l'établissement de partenariats dans le milieu des sciences et de la technologie afin de faire passer les idées du laboratoire au marché mondial.

Image représentant le pilier « Gens », le pilier « Savoir » et le pilier « Innovation »

La nouvelle stratégie du Canada pour les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation, Un moment à saisir pour le Canada, constitue une feuille de route qui indiquera comment le Canada prendra assise sur ses atouts de calibre mondial afin d'entamer les 150 prochaines années de réalisations scientifiques, de découvertes et de réussites économiques. La stratégie se fonde sur quatre principes :

Icône représentant le pilier « Gens »

Les gens à l'avant-plan : Cultiver le talent du Canada

Le Canada possède un héritage de gens novateurs qui, décennie après décennie, ont contribué, grâce à leurs idées, à leur curiosité et à leur savoir-faire, à créer des produits, des connaissances et des services dont l'ensemble de la planète a pu profiter. Les gens, qui sont au cœur des découvertes et de l'innovation, resteront notre atout le plus précieux et la source de notre capacité à agir comme chefs de file dans l'économie du savoir.

Miser sur nos forces

Ce que nous avons fait

Ce que nous entendons faire

Icône représentant le pilier « Connaissances »

Faire avancer les connaissances : Maintenir le leadership du Canada en sciences et technologie

Les sciences et la technologie sont essentielles à la prospérité du Canada et à l'amélioration de notre qualité de vie. Les recherches et les découvertes jettent de la lumière sur le monde qui nous entoure et laissent entrevoir de nouvelles possibilités. L'excellence internationale du Canada dans le secteur de la recherche, qui est appuyée par des installations de recherche de calibre mondial, repousse les frontières des sciences et de la technologie, et a aidé à attirer au Canada des chercheurs étrangers de premier plan.

Miser sur nos forces

Ce que nous avons fait

Ce que nous entendons faire

Icône représentant le pilier « Innovation »

Faire progresser l'innovation : Renforcer l'innovation au sein des entreprises canadiennes

Les Canadiens, qui possèdent un solide esprit d'entreprise, ont montré qu'ils savent donner vie à des idées. Soutenus par des capacités de recherche de calibre mondial, ils sont devenus des agents de changement. Le Canada doit maintenant tirer parti de ces points forts et privilégier la culture de l'innovation dans les entreprises, en faisant l'essai de technologies et de processus nouveaux et en explorant de nouveaux horizons commerciaux. Nous sommes en voie de libérer le potentiel du Canada afin que ce dernier devienne un chef de file mondial en innovation.

Miser sur nos forces

Ce que nous avons fait

Ce que nous entendons faire

Les réalisations qui ont mené à notre situation actuelle

En 2006, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à faire des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation une source d'avantages pour la population canadienne. Depuis, nous avons constitué un legs de réalisations.

Un moment à saisir pour le Canada

Dans la course compétitive à l'échelle mondiale visant à faire progresser les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation, le Canada est en bonne position. Il possède :

Antécédents en matière d'innovation

Tout au long de leur histoire, les Canadiens ont fait œuvre de pionniers dans les réalisations scientifiques et technologiques. Nous avons transformé la recherche et les idées en produits et en emplois, et avons créé un monde plus sain et plus sécuritaire. Voici quelques-unes de ces réalisations :

Fort de ces réalisations, le Canada est maintenant sur le seuil d'une nouvelle ère. Nous pouvons profiter des nombreux avantages issus d'un écosystème fort, stable et dynamique pour les sciences, la technologie et l'innovation. Ensemble, nous allons saisir ce moment et bâtir un avenir meilleur pour tous les Canadiens.
Date de modification :