Language selection

Search

Member biographies

Jean-François Gagné

Co-chair, COVID-19 Exposure Notification App Advisory Council
Chief Executive Officer and founder of Element AI

Jean-François (JF) Gagné is a serial entrepreneur in the software industry and currently, Chief Executive Officer and founder of Element AI in Montreal. He has previously built and sold two AI companies, Logiweb and Planora, and spent three years as a VP and then Chief Innovation and Products Officer of JDA. After three years at JDA, he went back to entrepreneurship and soon founded Element AI to transform traditional organizations that are not yet engaged in "big tech".

Jean-François Gagne

Carole Piovesan

Co-chair, COVID-19 Exposure Notification App Advisory Council
Partner and co-founder, INQ Data Law

Carole Piovesan brings a wealth of experience gained at the forefront of the intersection between technology and law, with expertise in privacy, cyber readiness, data governance and artificial intelligence. She is the co-chair of the data governance working group for the Data Governance Standardization Collaborative at the Standards Council of Canada and a member of the Taskforce on AI for Health at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. She was previously appointed by the Government of Canada to serve as a digital leader for the 2018 national Data and Digital Transformation consultations.

Carole Piovesan

Simone Atungo

Chief Executive Officer, Vibrant Healthcare Alliance

Simone Atungo is Chief Executive Officer of Vibrant Healthcare Alliance. Prior to that, she served as Vice-President, Resident and Community Services at Toronto Community Housing Corporation, the second largest housing provider in North America. She is also the former director of Community Development and Integration at Mount Sinai Hospital and the former executive director of the Parkdale Community Health Centre. She holds a masters degree in Environmental Studies and a Non-profit Management Certificate, both from York University, and an Executive Leadership Program Certificate from the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto.

 

Dr. Jonathan Dewar

Chief Executive Officer, First Nations Information Governance Centre

Dr. Jonathan Dewar is the Chief Executive Director at the First Nations Information Governance Centre. He has been recognized as a leader in healing and reconciliation, and Indigenous health and well-being education, policy, and research. He has published extensively on these subjects and has lectured nationally and internationally. He completed a doctorate in the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies at Carleton University, and he holds an appointment as Adjunct Research Professor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology. From 2012-2016, Jonathan served as the first Director of the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre and Special Advisor to the President at Algoma University. From 2007-2012, Jonathan served as Director of Research at the Aboriginal Healing Foundation.

Jonathan Dewar

Dr. Bunmi Fatoye

Medical Officer of Health, Winnipeg Region

Dr. Bunmi Fatoye is a medical officer of health with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority and an expert in charge of COVID-19 contact tracing efforts in the region. She specializes in public health practice in the areas of communicable disease prevention and control and immunization.

Bunmi Fatoye

Dr. Éloïse Gratton

Partner, Cybersecurity Privacy Data Protection, Borden Ladner Gervais

Dr. Éloïse Gratton is recognized internationally as a pioneer in the field of privacy and she co-leads the Borden Ladner Gervais's national privacy and data protection practice. She offers strategic advice relating to privacy compliance, risk management as well as best business practices relevant to the monetization of big data and the use of artificial intelligence. She also provides support nationally and internationally in crisis management situations, such as security breaches, privacy commissioners' investigations, class actions.

Éloïse Gratton

Andrew Harrison

Head of Business and Corporate Development, Verily Life Sciences

As the Head of Business and Corporate Development at Verily, Andrew Harrison focuses on partnerships, collaborations, go-to-market activities, acquisitions, and venture capital activities. He started his career at RBC Ventures. Prior to Verily, he was a founding institutional investor and the Chief Operating Officer of Lapis Advisers, a healthcare-oriented investment firm. Prior to that, he was a senior partner at Fintan Partners, a firm originally capitalized by Stanford University's endowment which was acquired by Cantor Fitzgerald. He has degrees in bio-chemical and bio-medical engineering from McGill and Cornell University. He is a named inventor on medical device patents and is a CFA Charterholder. He currently represents Verily on a number of domestic and international boards.

Andrew Harrison

Dr. Brenda McPhail

Director, Canadian Civil Liberties Association's Privacy, Surveillance and Technology Project

Dr. Brenda McPhail is the Director of the Canadian Civil Liberties Association's (CCLA) Privacy, Surveillance and Technology Project. Her work supports CCLA's litigation, advocacy and public education efforts. This includes guiding interventions in key court cases that raise privacy issues, such as the recent Supreme Court of Canada cases R. v. Marakah and R v. Jones, which confirmed privacy rights in electronic communications. Her research agenda focuses on the social implications of technology, including, most recently, government information sharing, digital surveillance, video surveillance and facial recognition, artificial intelligence and human rights, and data trusts. She's written articles on the risks of contact tracing for civil liberties in Canada.

Brenda McPhail

Dr. Derek Ruths

Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, McGill University

Dr. Derek Ruths is an Associate Professor of Computer Science at McGill University, where he leads the Network Dynamics Lab and co-leads the Media Ecosystem Observatory and Tech Informed Policy initiative. In his research, he investigates and advances techniques for the responsible use of machine learning and data science, particularly as applied to social systems. He actively collaborates with colleagues in the social sciences and humanities and in industry.

headshot of Dr. Derek Ruths

Dr. Margo Seltzer

Professor, Canada 150 Research Chair in Computer Science and Cheriton Family Chair in Computer Science, University of British Columbia

Professor Margo Seltzer's research interests are in systems, construed quite broadly: systems for capturing and accessing data provenance, file systems, databases, transaction processing systems, storage and analysis of graph-structured data, new architectures for parallelizing execution, and systems that apply technology to problems in health care. Professor Seltzer received an A.B. (baccalaureate) degree in Applied Mathematics from Harvard/Radcliffe College and a PhD in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Seltzer is the author of several widely used software packages, including database and transaction libraries and the 4.4BSD log-structured file system. She was a co-founder and Chief Technology Officer of Sleepycat Software and is now an architect for Oracle Corporation. She serves on the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board of the (U.S.) National Academies and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Information Science and Technology Study Group. She is a past president of the USENIX Association. She is a Sloan Foundation Fellow in Computer Science, an ACM Fellow and a Bunting Fellow, and was the recipient of the 1996 Radcliffe Junior Faculty Fellowship.

Margo Seltzer

Dr. Gaynor Watson-Creed

Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health, Nova Scotia Public Health

Dr. Gaynor Watson-Creed is the Deputy Chief Medical Office of Health for the Province of Nova Scotia. She has been with the Nova Scotia Health Authority since 2005. Dr. Watson-Creed has an MD from Dalhousie University, an MSc from the University of Guelph and a BSc from the University of Prince Edward Island. In addition to her role as Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health for Nova Scotia, she is the Assistant Dean of Serving and Engaging Society for Dalhousie University's Faculty of Medicine. She also sits as chair or member of several national population health councils and boards and is a passionate advocate for high-quality public health services in Canada.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Biographies des membres

Jean-François Gagné

Coprésident du Conseil consultatif de l'application d'avis d'exposition à la COVID-19
Directeur général et fondateur de l'entreprise Element AI

Jean-Francois (JF) Gagné est un entrepreneur d'expérience dans l'industrie du logiciel et est actuellement directeur général et fondateur de l'entreprise Element AI, située à Montréal. Par le passé, il a bâti et vendu deux entreprises en intelligence artificielle, Logiweb et Planora, puis il a passé trois ans chez JDA, d'abord comme vice-président, puis comme directeur de l'innovation et des produits. Après trois ans chez JDA, M. Gagné est retourné à l'entrepreneuriat et a rapidement fondé Element AI pour transformer les organisations traditionnelles qui n'ont pas encore adopté des « technologies avancées ».

Jean-François Gagne

Carole Piovesan

Coprésidente du Conseil consultatif de l'application d'avis d'exposition à la COVID-19
Associée et cofondatrice d'INQ Data Law

Carole Piovesan est une spécialiste chevronnée du droit en lien avec les technologies, et son expertise porte notamment sur la protection de la vie privée, la cyberpréparation et l'intelligence artificielle. Elle est coprésidente du Groupe de travail sur la gouvernance des données du Collectif canadien de normalisation en matière de gouvernance des données du Conseil canadien des normes. Elle est aussi membre du Groupe de travail de l'IA pour la santé à l'Institut canadien de recherches avancées. Le gouvernement du Canada l'a nommée en 2018 comme l'un des leaders des consultations nationales sur la transformation numérique et les données.

Carole Piovesan

Simone Atungo

Dirigeante principale, Vibrant Healthcare Alliance

Mme Simone Atungo est dirigeante principale de la Vibrant Healthcare Alliance. Antérieurement, elle a été vice-présidente des Services aux résidents et aux communautés de la Toronto Community Housing Corporation, le deuxième fournisseur de logements en Amérique du Nord. Elle est aussi l'ancienne directrice du Développement communautaire et de l'intégration à l'Hôpital Mount Sinai et l'ancienne directrice principale du Centre de santé communautaire Parkdale. Elle possède une maîtrise en études environnementales et un certificat en gestion d'organismes à but non lucratif de l'Université York, ainsi qu'un certificat en leadership pour les cadres de direction de l'École de gestion Rotman de l'Université de Toronto.

 

Jonathan Dewar

Directeur général, Centre de gouvernance de l'information des Premières Nations

Jonathan Dewar est directeur général du Centre de gouvernance de l'information des Premières Nations. Il est reconnu comme un chef de file en matière de guérison et de réconciliation, ainsi que d'éducation, de politiques et de recherche concernant la santé et le bien-être autochtones. Il a publié de nombreux articles et s'exprime fréquemment sur ces sujets et il a donné plusieurs conférences au pays et à l'étranger. Titulaire d'un doctorat de l'École d'études autochtones et canadiennes de l'Université Carleton, il est professeur auxiliaire de recherche au Département de sociologie et d'anthropologie. De 2012 à 2016, M. Dewar a dirigé le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre et a servi de conseiller spécial du président de l'Université Algoma. De 2007 à 2012, M. Dewar a dirigé, en sa qualité de directeur de la recherche à la Fondation autochtone de guérison, les travaux de recherche, d'évaluation et d'application des connaissances de la Fondation.

Jonathan Dewar

Dre Bunmi Fatoye

Médecin-hygiéniste, région de Winnipeg

Dre Bunmi Fatoye est médecin-hygiéniste à l'Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg et responsable de la recherche de contacts pour ce qui est des cas de COVID-19 dans la région. Spécialiste en santé publique, elle travaille dans les domaines de la prévention, du contrôle et de l'immunisation des maladies transmissibles.

Bunmi Fatoye

Éloïse Gratton

Associée, cybersécurité, respect de la vie privée et protection des renseignements personnels, Borden Ladner Gervais

Éloïse Gratton est reconnue dans le monde entier comme une pionnière du domaine du respect de la vie privée et elle codirige le groupe de pratique national Protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels du cabinet. Elle offre des conseils stratégiques en matière de conformité et gestion du risque découlant des enjeux de vie privée ainsi que sur les pratiques commerciales optimales en lien avec la monétisation des mégadonnées et l'utilisation de l'intelligence artificielle. Elle fournit également du soutien en gestion de crise à l'échelle nationale et internationale, notamment lors d'atteintes à la sécurité, d'enquêtes des commissaires à la protection de la vie privée et d'actions collectives.

Éloïse Gratton

Andrew Harrison

Chef des opérations et du développement d'entreprise, Verily Life Sciences

En tant que chef des opérations et du développement d'entreprise, Andrew Harrison mise surtout sur les partenariats, les collaborations, les activités d'implantation sur le marché, les acquisitions et les activités de capital de risque. Il a commencé sa carrière à RBC Ventures. Avant Verily, il était un investisseur institutionnel fondateur et le chef de l'exploitation de Lapis Advisers, une entreprise d'investissement axée sur les soins de santé. Auparavant, il était associé principal chez Fintan Partners, une société initialement capitalisée par la dotation de l'Université Stanford, acquise par Cantor Fitzgerald. M. Harrison est titulaire d'un diplôme en ingénierie biochimique et biomédicale de l'Université McGill et de l'Université Cornell. Il est un inventeur nommé sur des brevets d'instruments médicaux et il détient le titre d'analyste financier agréé (AFA). Il représente actuellement Verily dans un certain nombre de comités nationaux et internationaux.

Andrew Harrison

Brenda McPhail

Directrice du projet Vie privée, technologie et surveillance de l'Association canadienne des libertés civiles

Brenda McPhail est la directrice du projet Vie privée, technologie et surveillance de l'Association canadienne des libertés civiles (ACLC). Elle appuie les travaux l'ACLC dans les domaines du litige, des revendications et de la sensibilisation publique. Notamment, elle guide les interventions de l'organisme à l'égard des principales affaires judiciaires qui soulèvent des questions liées à la vie privée, comme les affaires récentes R. c. Marakah et R. c. Jones à la Cour suprême du Canada, qui ont confirmé les droits à la vie privée lors de communications électroniques. Son programme de recherche est axé sur les répercussions sociales de la technologie. Récemment, elle s'est penchée sur l'échange de renseignements gouvernementaux, la surveillance numérique, la vidéosurveillance, la reconnaissance faciale, l'intelligence artificielle et les droits de la personne, ainsi que sur les fiducies de données. Elle a écrit des articles concernant les risques de la recherche des contacts pour les libertés civiles au Canada.

Brenda McPhail

Derek Ruths

Professeur agrégé, École d'informatique, Université McGill

Derek Ruths est professeur agrégé à l'École d'informatique de l'Université McGill, où il dirige le Network Dynamics Lab (Laboratoire de dynamique des réseaux) et codirige l'Observatoire de l'écosystème médiatique ainsi que l'initiative Tech Informed Policy (Politiques éclairées par les technologies). Dans le cadre de ses travaux de recherche, il étudie et met de l'avant des techniques visant l'utilisation responsable de l'apprentissage automatique et de la science des données, particulièrement au sein des systèmes sociaux. Il collabore activement avec des collègues des sciences sociales et humaines, ainsi que de l'industrie.

photo de Derek Ruths

Margo Seltzer

Professeure, titulaire d'une chaire de recherche Canada 150 sur les systèmes informatiques et d'une chaire de la famille Cheriton en sciences informatiques, Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Les travaux de recherche de Margo Seltzer portent sur les systèmes, pris de façon très générale : les systèmes qui permettent de détecter la provenance des données et d'y accéder, les systèmes de fichiers, les bases de données, les systèmes de traitement des transactions, l'entreposage et l'analyse des données graphiques, les nouvelles architectures parallèles d'exécution et les systèmes qui appliquent la technologie aux soins de santé. La professeure Seltzer détient un baccalauréat ès arts en mathématiques appliquées du Collège Radcliffe à l'Université Harvard et un doctorat en sciences informatiques de l'Université de la Californie, à Berkeley.

Mme Seltzer a conçu plusieurs ensembles logiciels largement utilisés, dont une base de données et de transactions de bibliothèque, ainsi que le système de fichiers axé sur la structure 4.4BSD. Elle a cofondé Sleepycat Software, où elle a été dirigeante principale de la Technologie, et est maintenant architecte à Oracle Corporation. Elle siège au Conseil des sciences informatiques et des télécommunications des National Academies (aux États-Unis) et est membre du Groupe d'étude sur les sciences et les technologies de l'information de la Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. Elle est ancienne présidente de l'association USENIX. Elle a été boursière de la Fondation Sloan en sciences informatiques, de l'Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) et du programme Bunting du Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Studies à Harvard, et aussi boursière junior à Radcliffe en 1996.

Margaret Seltzer

Dre Gaynor Watson-Creed

Médecin hygiéniste en chef adjointe, Santé publique de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Dre Gaynor Watson-Creed, médecin hygiéniste en chef adjointe de la Nouvelle-Écosse, travaille auprès de Santé publique de la Nouvelle-Écosse depuis 2005. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat en médecine de l'Université Dalhousie, d'une maîtrise en sciences de l'Université de Guelph et d'un baccalauréat en sciences de l'Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle occupe également les fonctions de doyenne adjointe en matière de service à la société et de concertation sociale à la Faculté de médecine de l'Université Dalhousie. De plus, Dre Gaynor Watson-Creed est présidente ou membre de plusieurs conseils nationaux sur la santé de la population. Elle est une ardente défenseure des services de santé publics de qualité au Canada.

Date de modification :