Archived — Project Highlights

Canadian Technology Propels the World's First Commercial Passenger Spaceship

The sky is no longer the limit for innovative technologies produced by Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC).

PW308, a P&WC engine, is an integral part of the world's first commercial flight to space. This turbofan engine will propel the launch aircraft, WhiteKnightTwo, for the world's first commercial passenger suborbital spaceship, SpaceShipTwo (SS2).

The PW308 benefited from Technology Partnerships Canada (TPC), which made a $99.4 million repayable contribution in the engine's research and development in 1999. The PW308 turbofan engine was originally developed over several years for use in civilian aircraft. It has been used in business jets, including the Hawker 4000 and the Dassault Falcon 2000EX.

Led by The Spaceship Company (TSC) — a company jointly owned by Virgin Galactic and Scaled Composites — the flight of SS2 and its voyage to space is the first venture of its kind.

The WhiteKnightTwo is a massive carrier craft powered by the PW308 which takes off like an airplane with the manned SS2 attached underneath. It will be launched into suborbital space once the airplane reaches approximately 50,000 feet.

The air-launched SS2 is designed to seat eight people—six passengers and two pilots—and be hauled into launch position by WhiteKnightTwo.

Flights cost US$200,000 each, and TSC has already received US$35 million in deposits from future passengers. Virgin Galactic is also planning other applications for WhiteKnightTwo, including unmanned satellite launch vehicle deployment, high altitude and space science applications and other payload deployment roles.

The PW308's cruise thrust, fuel consumption, and power-to-weight ratio is considered the best in its class. In addition, P&WC, in collaboration with TSC and Virgin Fuels, is investigating the possibility of using advanced biofuels in WhiteKnightTwo. This will further reduce the engine emissions of the most environmentally-friendly launch system ever created.

TPC investments were directed at increasing the knowledge base of the company in both engineering and manufacturing technologies, allowing it to advance these technologies and develop more reliable and efficient engines.

Since 1928, P&WC has become one of the most significant players in the A&D sector in Canada. With facilities in Quebec, Ontario, Nova Scotia and Alberta, P&WC employs over 7,300 people across the country.

For more information about Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp., visit the company's website at www.pwc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Points saillants

La technologie canadienne à la base de la propulsion du premier vaisseau spatial de transport commercial de passagers au monde

Décidément, les technologies innovatrices proposées par Pratt & Whitney Canada (P&WC) ne connaissent plus de limites.

Le PW308, un moteur produit par P&WC, occupera une place de choix au cours du premier vol commercial dans l'espace jamais effectué au monde. C'est en effet ce turboréacteur à double flux qui va servir à propulser le lanceur WhiteKnightTwo du premier vaisseau spatial suborbital servant au transport commercial de passagers baptisé SpaceShipTwo (SS2).

Le PW308 a bénéficié de l'appui de Partenariat technologique du Canada (PTC) sous la forme d'une contribution remboursable de 99,4 millions de dollars octroyée en 1999 à des fins de recherche et de développement entourant ce moteur. À l'origine, le turboréacteur à double flux PW308 a été développé sur plusieurs années pour servir sur des avions civils, et il motorise des avions d'affaires à réaction comme le Hawker 4000 et le Falcon 2000EX de Dassault.

Préparé sous la direction de The Spaceship Company (TSC) — une entreprise appartenant conjointement à Virgin Galactic et à Scaled Composites — le vol de SS2, avec son voyage dans l'espace, constitue une première en son genre.

WhiteKnightTwo est un imposant vaisseau de transport propulsé par des moteurs PW308 qui décolle comme un avion, le SS2 habité étant fixé sous le vaisseau comme tel. Le lancement de SS2 vers l'espace suborbital se produira une fois que le vaisseau aura atteint une altitude d'environ 50 000 pieds.

Le SS2 lancé depuis les airs est conçu pour recevoir huit personnes — six passagers et deux pilotes — et il sera amené en position de lancement par WhiteKnightTwo.

Le coût unitaire d'un vol est de 200 000 $US, et TSC a déjà reçu 35 millions $US en dépôts provenant de futurs passagers. Virgin Galactic envisage également d'autres applications pour WhiteKnightTwo, comme l'envoi de véhicules servant au lancement de satellites non habités, des missions scientifiques à haute altitude et dans l'espace ainsi que d'autres opérations d'envoi de charges marchandes.

Le PW308 est connu pour avoir la meilleure consommation de carburant en régime de croisière de sa classe, ainsi que le meilleur rapport puissance-poids. De plus, P&WC, en collaboration avec TSC et Virgin Fuels, étudie la possibilité d'utiliser des biocarburants de dernière génération pour alimenter WhiteKnightTwo. Il sera alors possible de réduire encore davantage les émissions des moteurs du lanceur le plus écologique jamais créé.

Les investissements consentis par PTC étaient destinés à augmenter la base de connaissances de l'entreprise dans les domaines des technologies du génie et de la fabrication, permettant à l'entreprise de faire évoluer ces technologies et de développer des moteurs plus fiables ayant un meilleur rendement.

Présente depuis 1928, P&WC est aujourd'hui l'une des entreprises les plus importantes dans le secteur A-D au Canada. Au pays, l'entreprise emploie plus de 7 300 personnes dans ses installations du Québec, de l'Ontario, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'Alberta.

Pour en savoir plus sur Pratt & Whitney Canada Corp., veuillez consulter le site web de l'entreprise à l'adresse www.pwc.ca.

Date de modification :