Archived—Appendix 1: SADI project costs principles

1. General principle

Eligible costs are the direct and indirect costs that, in the opinion of the Minister, are reasonably and properly incurred or allocated, to the performance of the project, less any applicable credits. These costs will be determined in accordance with the company's cost accounting system, as accepted by the Minister, and applied consistently over time. The cost accounting system should clearly establish an audit trail that supports all cost claims, in particular, the direct labour costs, as described below, clearly indicating the allocation of each employee's hours on the project.

2. Reasonable costs

A cost is reasonable if, in nature and amount, it does not exceed that which would be incurred by an ordinary prudent person in the conduct of a competitive business.

When determining the reasonableness of a particular cost, consideration must be given to the following:

  • whether the cost is of a type generally recognized as normal and necessary for the conduct of the company's business or performance of the project
  • the restraints and requirements by such factors as generally accepted sound business practices; arm's-length bargaining; federal, provincial and local laws and regulations; and the terms of the contribution agreement
  • the action that prudent business persons would take in the circumstances, considering their responsibilities to the owners of the business, their employees and customers, the Government of Canada, and the public at large
  • significant deviations from the established practices of the company that may unjustifiably increase the eligible costs
  • the specifications, delivery schedule and quality requirements of the particular project as they affect costs.

Affiliated persons

In the case of eligible costs incurred with an affiliated person, the amount of the costs incurred will be adjusted as follows:

  • The cost of those goods or services must not exceed their fair market value.
  • When there is no fair market value for the applicable goods or services, the fair market value of similar goods will be used.
  • When there is no similar good, the cost-plus method (see below) will be used to determine the cost.

The cost-plus method determines the total costs plus profit, as follows:

  • Using the cost-plus method, total costs are the sum of the applicable direct and indirect costs, as described in sections 4 and 5, below, that were reasonably incurred or allocated in the performance of the statement of work, as determined and measured consistently in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.
  • Profit is calculated as follows, provided that the profit does not exceed 5 percent of the total costs: profit = total cost x (1.7 x 3-year Canadian Saving Bond rate, as of the date of the execution of the contribution agreement).

3. Methodologies to determine the direct and overhead costs

For claim purposes, companies are to choose one of the following two methodologies for the submission of eligible costs:

  • the Canada Revenue Agency's Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Expenditures Claim (Guide to Form T661) costing methodology; or
  • the Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) methodology whereby direct costs are calculated in accordance with the SADI Costs Principles, and indirect costing rates are determined using the applicable PWGSC costing rates negotiated with the company in accordance with PWGSC 1031-2 Contract Cost Principles. For any period for which the PWGSC rate negotiations have not been completed at the time of claim preparation, the previous year's negotiated PWGSC costing rates will be used in the interim. In the event that no previous PWGSC rate exists for the project, an interim overhead rate of 65 percent of direct labour will apply.

4. Direct costs
(applicable only if PWGSC rates are to be used)

There are three categories of direct costs:

  • Direct material costs: the cost of materials that can be specifically identified and measured as having been used or to be used for the performance of the project and that are so identified and measured consistently by the company's cost accounting system as accepted by the Minister. These materials may include, in addition to materials purchased solely for the project and processed by the company, or obtained from subcontractors, any other materials issued from the company's general stocks. Materials purchased solely for the project or subcontracts shall be charged to the project at the net laid-down cost to the company, net of any taxes and before any discounts for prompt payment. Materials issued from the company's general stocks shall be charged to the project in accordance with the method as used consistently by the company in pricing material inventories.
  • Direct labour costs: that portion of gross wages or salaries incurred for activities that can be specifically identified and measured as having been performed or to be performed on the project and that is so identified and measured consistently by the company's cost accounting system, as accepted by the Minister.
  • Other direct costs: those applicable costs, not falling within the categories of direct material or direct labour, but that can be specifically identified and measured as having been incurred or to be incurred in performance of project activities and that are so identified and measured consistently by the company's costing system, as accepted by the Minister.

Direct costs do not include any allocation for profit or any allocation of general and administrative expenses.

5. Indirect costs
(applicable only if PWGSC rates are to be used)

Indirect costs (overhead) are those costs that, though necessarily having been incurred during the period of the performance of the project activities for the conduct of the company's business in general, cannot be identified and measured as directly applicable to the project.

These indirect costs may include, but are not necessarily restricted to, such items as the following:

  • indirect materials and supplies (Supplies of similar low-value, high-usage items, the costs of which meet the above definition of direct material costs but for which it is economically expensive to account in the manner prescribed for direct costs, may be deemed to be indirect costs for the purposes of the project.)
  • indirect labour
  • fringe benefits (the company's contribution only)
  • service expenses: expenses of a general nature, such as power, heat, light, operation and maintenance of general assets and facilities
  • fixed and period charges: recurring charges such as property taxes, rentals and reasonable provision for depreciation
  • general and administrative expenses: including remuneration of executive and corporate officers, office wages and salaries, and expenses such as stationery, office supplies, postage, and other necessary administration and management expenses
  • selling and marketing expenses associated with the products or services being acquired under the contribution agreement.

6. Allocation of indirect costs
(applicable only when PWGSC rates are to be used; see Form 2A: Breakdown of eligible costs

Indirect costs must be accumulated in appropriate indirect cost pools, reflecting the company's organizational or operational lines, and these pools subsequently allocated to the project or contracts, in accordance with the following principle:

  • The costs included in a particular indirect cost pool should have a similarity of relationship with the project or contracts, as applicable, to which that indirect cost pool is subsequently distributed; further, the costs included in an indirect cost pool should be similar enough in their relationship to each other that the allocation of the total costs in the pool provides a result that would be similar to that achieved if each cost within that pool were separately distributed.

7. Non-eligible costs

Notwithstanding that the following costs may have been or may be reasonably and properly incurred by the company during the performance of project activities, they are considered non-eligible costs:

  • allowance for interest on invested capital, bonds, debentures, bank or other loans together with related bond discounts and finance charges
  • legal, accounting and consulting fees in connection with financial reorganization, security issues, capital stock issues, obtaining of licences and prosecution of claims against the Minister
  • losses on investments, bad debts and expenses for the collection thereof
  • losses on other projects or contracts
  • federal and provincial income taxes, goods and services taxes, excess profit taxes or surtaxes and/or special expenses in connection therewith
  • provisions for contingencies
  • premiums for life insurance on the lives of officers and/or directors when proceeds accrue to the company
  • amortization of unrealized appreciation of assets
  • depreciation of assets paid for by the Minister
  • fines and penalties
  • expenses and depreciation of excess facilities
  • unreasonable compensation for officers and employees
  • product development or improvement expenses not associated with the product being acquired under the project
  • advertising, except reasonable advertising of an industrial or institutional character placed in trade, technical or professional journals for the dissemination of information for the industry or institution
  • entertainment expenses
  • donations
  • dues and other memberships other than for regular trade and professional associations
  • fees, extraordinary or abnormal for professional advice in regard to technical, administrative or accounting matters, unless approval from the Minister is obtained
  • any cost relating to land or buildings.

Notwithstanding the above, legal, accounting and consulting fees in connection with the obtaining of patents and statutory protection of other elements of the intellectual property are eligible costs.

Date modified:

Archivé — Annexe I : Principes relatifs aux coûts de l'ISAD

1. Principes généraux

Les coûts admissibles correspondent aux coûts directs et indirects qui, de l'avis du ministre, sont raisonnables et ont été engagés ou alloués à juste titre à la réalisation du projet, moins tout crédit applicable. Ces coûts seront déterminés conformément au système de comptabilité des coûts de l'entreprise accepté par le ministre et appliqué de façon uniforme tout au long du projet. Le système de comptabilité des coûts devrait établir clairement la piste de vérification à l'appui de l'ensemble des demandes de remboursement, en particulier les coûts directs de la main-d'œuvre, décrits ci-après, indiquant clairement la répartition des heures effectuées par chaque employé dans le cadre du projet.

2. Coût raisonnable

On entend par coût raisonnable un coût dont la nature et le montant sont conformes à ce qu'une personne prudente, dans une entreprise concurrentielle, aurait jugé convenable d'engager en pareil cas.

Lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer si un coût donné est raisonnable, il faut prendre en compte les facteurs suivants :

  • si le coût est d'un type généralement admis comme normal et nécessaire dans le cadre de l'exploitation de l'entreprise ou de l'exécution du projet;
  • les limitations et les exigences imposées par des éléments comme les pratiques commerciales généralement admises et reconnues, les négociations sans lien de dépendance, les lois ou règlements fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou municipaux, ainsi que les modalités de l'entente;
  • les mesures que prendraient des gens d'affaires prudents, compte tenu des circonstances et de leurs responsabilités à l'égard des propriétaires de l'entreprise, de leurs employés, de leurs clients, du gouvernement du Canada et du grand public;
  • les écarts importants par rapport aux pratiques établies de l'entreprise, qui pourraient entraîner une augmentation indue des coûts admissibles;
  • les spécifications, le calendrier d'exécution et la qualité exigée pour un projet donné, dans la mesure où ces facteurs influent sur les coûts.

Personnes affiliées

Dans le cas des dépenses engagées au titre des coûts admissibles avec une personne affiliée, le montant engagé doit être rajusté comme suit :

  • le coût des biens ou services visés ne doit pas dépasser la juste valeur marchande;
  • s'il n'existe pas de juste valeur marchande pour les biens ou services applicables, il faut utiliser la juste valeur marchande de biens semblables;
  • s'il n'y a pas de biens semblables, il faut utiliser la méthode du coût d'achat majoré (décrite ci-après) pour déterminer le coût.

La méthode du coût d'achat majoré détermine le coût total, auquel on ajoute le profit calculé de manière suivante :

  • Selon la méthode du coût d'achat majoré, le coût total est la somme des coûts directs et indirects applicables, décrits ci-après aux sections 4 et 5, établis et calculés conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus et qui ont été engagés ou alloués raisonnablement au cours du déroulement des travaux figurant dans l'énoncé des travaux.
  • Le profit est calculé comme indiqué ci-après, mais ne doit pas dépasser 5 p. 100 du coût total selon la formule : profit = coût total x (1,7 x taux de rendement sur 3 ans des obligations d'épargne du Canada en date de la signature de l'entente de contribution).

3. Méthodes à utiliser pour calculer les coûts directs et les frais généraux

Pour ce qui est des demandes de remboursement des coûts admissibles, l'entreprise doit choisir l'une des deux méthodes suivantes :

  • la méthode d'évaluation des coûts de l'Agence du revenu du Canada, intitulée Demande pour les dépenses de recherche scientifique et de développement expérimental (RS&DE) – un guide pour compléter le formulaire T661; ou
  • la méthode de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC), selon laquelle les coûts directs sont calculés conformément aux Principes relatifs aux coûts de l'ISAD tandis que les coûts indirects sont déterminés à l'aide des taux d'établissement des coûts de TPSGC qui sont en vigueur et ont été négociés avec l'entreprise, et ce, conformément aux principes des coûts contractuels (TPSGC 1031-2). Pour toute période où les négociations des taux de TPSGC n'avaient pas encore abouti au moment de la demande de remboursement, les taux d'établissement des coûts négociés de TPSGC de l'exercice précédent seront provisoirement utilisés. Dans le cas où il n'existe pas de taux de TPSGC antérieur pour le projet, des frais généraux de 65 p. 100 des coûts directs de la main-d'œuvre seront provisoirement appliqués.

4. Coûts directs
(ne s'appliquent que si les taux de TPSGC sont utilisés)

Il existe trois catégories de coûts directs :

  • Coûts directs des matériaux – Les coûts des matériaux qui peuvent être expressément répertoriés et calculés par l'entreprise comme ayant été ou devant être utilisés pour la réalisation du projet, et ce, par l'application uniforme du système de comptabilité des coûts de l'entreprise accepté par le ministre. En plus des matériaux achetés uniquement en vue de l'exécution du projet et traités par l'entreprise ou des matériaux obtenus auprès de sous-traitants, ces coûts directs peuvent inclure tous les autres matériaux provenant des stocks courants de l'entreprise. Les matériaux achetés uniquement en vue de l'exécution du projet ou de contrats en sous-traitance doivent être imputés au projet comme coût en magasin net facturé à l'entreprise, impôts déduits, et avant que les escomptes de caisse pour règlement rapide ne lui soient consentis. Les matériaux provenant des stocks courants de l'entreprise doivent être imputés au projet conformément à la méthode uniformément utilisée par l'entreprise pour établir le coût des matériaux en stock.
  • Coûts directs de la main-d'œuvre – La partie des salaires bruts correspondant aux activités qui peuvent être spécifiquement répertoriées et calculées comme ayant été exécutées ou à exécuter dans le cadre du projet, et qui sont ainsi répertoriées et calculées régulièrement au moyen du système comptable de l'entreprise accepté par le ministre.
  • Autres coûts directs – Tous les coûts applicables qui n'entrent pas dans les catégories des coûts direct des matériaux ou de la main-d'œuvre, mais qui peuvent être clairement répertoriés et calculés comme ayant été ou devant être engagés au cours de l'exécution du projet, et qui sont ainsi répertoriés et calculés régulièrement au moyen du système de contrôle des coûts de l'entreprise accepté par le ministre.

Les coûts directs ne tiennent pas compte des profits éventuels ni des frais généraux ou administratifs.

5. Coûts indirects
(ne s'appliquent que si les taux de TPSGC sont utilisés)

Les coûts indirects (frais généraux) sont des coûts qui ont été nécessairement engagés au cours de l'exécution du projet pour l'exploitation générale de l'entreprise, mais qui ne peuvent pas être clairement répertoriés et calculés directement en rapport avec la réalisation du projet.

Ces coûts indirects peuvent comprendre, sans pour autant s'y limiter, des articles comme les suivants :

  • les fournitures et les matériaux indirects (les articles similaires de faible valeur et d'utilisation élevée, dont les coûts correspondent à la définition des coûts directs des matériaux susmentionnée, mais dont il n'est pas rentable de rendre compte de la façon prescrite pour les coûts directs, peuvent être comptabilisés comme des coûts indirects aux fins du projet);
  • la main-d'œuvre indirecte;
  • les avantages sociaux (la part de l'entreprise uniquement);
  • les services publics – comme l'électricité, le chauffage, l'éclairage ainsi que les frais d'exploitation et d'entretien des installations et des biens de nature générale;
  • les frais fixes ou périodiques – dépenses récurrentes telles que les impôts fonciers, les charges locatives et les coûts d'amortissement raisonnables;
  • les frais administratifs et généraux – y compris la rémunération des cadres et des dirigeants de l'entreprise et du personnel de bureau, ainsi que des dépenses telles que la papeterie et les fournitures de bureau, les frais d'affranchissement et les autres dépenses nécessaires à l'administration et à la gestion;
  • les frais de représentation et de commercialisation relatifs aux produits ou aux services acquis en vertu de l'entente de contribution.

6. Répartition des coûts indirects
(ne s'applique que si les taux de TPSGC sont utilisés; voir le formulaire 2A : Ventilation des coûts admissibles).

Les coûts indirects doivent être totalisés par groupes de coûts indirects établis en fonction de la structure organisationnelle ou opérationnelle de l'entreprise pour être ensuite imputés au projet ou à des contrats, conformément au principe suivant :

  • les coûts inclus dans un groupe de coûts indirects donné devraient avoir un lien de similarité avec le projet ou les contrats, le cas échéant, auxquels sera affecté ce groupe de coûts par la suite; de plus, les coûts inclus dans un groupe de coûts indirects devraient être suffisamment semblables les uns aux autres pour que l'affectation de la totalité des coûts faisant partie d'un groupe donne le même résultat que si chaque coût était imputé séparément.

7. Coûts non admissibles

Même s'ils ont été engagés ou sont engagés de manière raisonnable et à juste titre par l'entreprise dans le cadre de l'exécution des activités du projet, les coûts suivants sont considérés comme des coûts non admissibles :

  • les provisions pour les intérêts sur le capital investi, les obligations, les obligations non garanties, les emprunts bancaires ou autres, ainsi que les escomptes à l'émission d'obligations et les frais de crédit;
  • les frais de services juridiques et comptables ainsi que les honoraires de consultants liés à une réorganisation financière, à l'émission de garanties et de capital-actions, à l'obtention de permis ainsi qu'aux actions en réclamation intentées contre le ministre;
  • les pertes subies en raison de mauvais placements et de mauvaises créances, ainsi que les frais de recouvrement desdites pertes;
  • les pertes subies dans le cadre d'autres projets ou contrats;
  • les impôts fédéraux et provinciaux ou territoriaux sur le revenu, les taxes sur les produits et services, la taxe de vente harmonisée, les impôts ou surtaxes sur les profits excédentaires, ou les dépenses spéciales y afférentes;
  • les provisions pour risques;
  • les primes d'assurance-vie des dirigeants ou des administrateurs lorsque le bénéficiaire est l'entreprise;
  • l'amortissement d'une plus-value qui ne s'est pas matérialisée;
  • la dépréciation des biens payés par le ministre;
  • les amendes et les pénalités;
  • le coût et l'amortissement des installations excédentaires;
  • la rémunération déraisonnable versée aux dirigeants et aux employés;
  • les frais d'élaboration et d'amélioration de produits qui n'ont pas été engagés relativement au produit visé par le projet;
  • les frais de publicité, sauf les frais raisonnables de publicité de nature industrielle ou institutionnelle, versés pour les annonces placées dans les publications spécialisées, techniques ou professionnelles, en vue de fournir de l'information à l'industrie ou à l'institution;
  • les frais de représentation;
  • les dons;
  • les cotisations et autres frais d'adhésion à des mouvements qui ne sont pas des associations professionnelles reconnues;
  • les honoraires extraordinaires ou hors normes versés à des experts pour obtenir des avis techniques, administratifs ou comptables, à moins qu'ils ne soient autorisés par le ministre;
  • tous les coûts relatifs à des biens fonciers ou immobiliers.

Nonobstant la section ci-dessus, les frais de services juridiques et comptables ainsi que les honoraires de consultants relatifs à l'obtention de brevets et d'une protection légale pour d'autres éléments de la propriété intellectuelle constituent des coûts admissibles.

Date de modification :