Medical devices industry profile

1. Background

In Canada, medical devices are regulated under the Food and Drugs Act as a Class I, II, III or IV with Class I representing devices that present the lowest risk and Class IV the highest. The Food and Drugs Act provides a definition of a regulated medical device.

Examples of medical devices include pacemakers, artificial heart valves, diagnostic and imaging equipment, in vitro diagnostics, dialysis equipment, hip and knee implants, synthetic skin, surgical tools, infusion pumps, life support machines, catheters, bandages, as well as some information and communications technologies.

The complexity of medical device products continues to increase with the inclusion of multiple technologies into a given product. Technologies such as advanced materials, microelectronics, biotechnology, and software and informatics are now routine technologies featured in medical devices. Canadian and international companies continue to innovate further to develop new products and enhance the features of existing medical devices.

Firms in the medical device sector are highly R&D intensive and technology based.

2. Global medical device industry

The global medical device industry traditionally has a low level of industry concentration, with no one firm dominating. Small companies are common and typically specialize in developing niche technology, while larger players frequently seek to acquire smaller firms to expand their product range or gain access to a particular technology or market. However, during the past five years, consolidation has swept the industry, with the number of companies decreasing. Meanwhile, emerging markets such as China and Brazil are attracting medical device manufacturers, as well as developing their domestic industries.

In 2016, the key business segments of the global medical device market wereFootnote 1:

  • diagnostic imaging, such as MRI and CT-scan (25% of world market)
  • consumables (16%)
  • patient aids (such as hearing aids and pacemakers) (12%)
  • orthopaedic products (12%)
  • dental products (7%), and
  • other medical equipment (27%).

Medical device companies are expected to realign their business structures and strategies to compete in the changing global environment (characterized by growth of emerging markets, health care reform and cost containment). Anticipated changes include company restructuring as well as an increased reliance on strategic alliances and outsourcing for marketing, distribution, research and manufacturing activities.

3. Medical device industry in Canada

Canada’s medical device sector is a highly diversified and export-oriented industry that manufactures equipment and supplies. Purchasers include Canadian and international hospitals, physician’s offices, laboratories, clinics, as well as patients (through direct purchases).

The sector is populated with companies driven by product innovation. The industry is able to draw on world-class innovative research being conducted in Canadian universities, research institutes and hospitals, some of which has been spun-off into Canadian medical device companies. Approximately 10% of Canada’s medical device companies have spun off from Canadian research organizations.Footnote 2 Approximately 20% of companies are pre-market.Footnote 3

The sector is dominated by SMEs by number, and foreign-owned global companies by market share.

The industry is primarily based in the three largest provinces, Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia.

4. Canadian and international market for medical devicesFootnote 4

Canada's medical device market

Canada has an estimated US$6.7 billion (2016) medical device market accounting for about 2% of the global market. The following are key expenditure areas, as a percentage of total 2016 medical device sales in Canada:

  • Diagnostic imaging (21%)
  • Consumables (18%)
  • Patient aids (15%)
  • Orthopaedic and prosthetic (12%)
  • Dental products (8%), and
  • Other, including wheelchairs, ophthalmic instruments, anaesthesia apparatus, dialysis apparatus, blood pressure monitors, endoscopy apparatus, hospital furniture (27%)

International medical device markets

In 2016, the global market for medical devices was valued at US$336 billion, excluding in vitro diagnostics. With a market of US$146 billion (43% of the global market) the United States is the world’s largest and most developed market, as well as the leading supplier of medical devices.

5. TradeFootnote 5

From 2011 to 2016, Canadian medical device exports increased from $1.8 billion to $3.1 billion and imports increased from $6.5 billion to $8.6 billion. The trade gap increased from $4.7 billion (2011) to $5.5 billion (2016), an increase of 17%.

Canada’s largest trading partner for medical devices is the United States. In 2016, medical device imports from the United States were $3.9 billion, representing 46% of Canada’s total medical device imports. In 2016, Canada’s medical device exports to the United States were $2.1 billion, or 67% of Canada’s total medical device exports. In 2016, Netherlands (4%), Germany (4%), and China (3%) constituted the next three leading destinations for Canada’s medical device exports. In 2016, China (9%), Germany (7%) and Mexico (6%t) constituted the next three leading sources of Canada’s medical device imports after the United States.

6. Global trendsFootnote 6

  • Market growth will vary as to region. Asian markets are expected to experience significant growth relative to the Americas and Western Europe.
  • Factors such as emerging markets and the aging population will play a major role in industry growth.
  • Knowledge and expertise will be shared across geographic borders.
  • New device technologies will grow at a fast rate.
  • Big data and connectivity are expected to support innovation development (such as wearable technology).
  • Regulators will continue to face challenges from the growth in innovative technologies.

7. Network of industry associations in Canada

Companies in Canada’s medical device industry are represented by a number of national and regional associations, including:

National:

  • MEDEC: Canada's Medical Technology Companies

Regional:

  • Alberta Health Industry Association
  • BioAlberta
  • BioNova
  • Life Science Association of Manitoba
  • LifeSciences British Columbia
  • Life Sciences Ontario
  • Ontario Bioscience Innovation Organization
  • PEI Bio Alliance

8. Federally-funded research support and tax incentive programs

Several federally funded research programs and councils support health-related research in Canada: the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR); Networks of Centres of Excellence; National Research Council (NRC); and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC). The NRC delivers the Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) which helps firms develop and commercialize technologies though funding and advisory services.

The Canadian Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax incentive program, administered by the Canada Revenue Agency, encourages Canadian businesses of all sizes, and in all sectors to conduct R&D in Canada. It is the largest single source of federal government support for industrial R&D. It provides claimants cash refunds and/or tax credits for their expenditures on eligible R&D work done in Canada.

9. Commercialization

Centres of Excellence for Commercialization and Research (CECRs) with focused specialties in medical device research are located in Canada. Each CECR is a not-for-profit corporation created by organizations such as companies, universities and research institutions to match research expertise with business needs for the purpose of stimulating commercialization. Some of these CECRs are:

  • Centre for Drug Research and Development (Vancouver, BC)
  • Centre for Imaging Technology Commercialization (London, ON)
  • Centre for Probe Development and Commercialization (Hamilton, ON)
  • Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation (Hamilton, ON)

Examples of Canadian translational centres:

  • Medical and Related Sciences (MaRS) Innovation (Toronto, ON)
  • Ontario Brain Institute (Toronto, ON)
  • Princess Margaret Hospital Global Cancer Centre (Toronto, ON)
  • McEwen Centre for Regenerative Medicine (Toronto, ON)
  • Montreal Heart Institute (Montreal, QC)
  • Quebec Consortium for Industrial Research and Innovation in Medical Technology (MEDTEQ) (Montreal, QC)
  • Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa, ON)
  • Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (Toronto, ON)
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto, ON)
  • Lawson Health Research Institute (London, ON)

10. Export Development Canada and Business Development Bank of Canada

Export Development Canada is an export credit agency which offers a range of trade finance, credit insurance and other risk management services to Canadian exporters.

Business Development Bank of Canada operates out of over 100 offices across Canada, providing tailored financing, venture capital and consulting services to entrepreneurs. Its focus is on SMEs in manufacturing, exporting, innovation and knowledge-based industries.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Espicom, World Medical Markets Factbook 2016

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, December 2015

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, December 2015

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Espicom, World Medical Markets Factbook 2016

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Global Trade Atlas

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Stacy Lawrence, The top 5 trends for med tech in 2016, Fiercemedicaldevices.com (December 25, 2015)

Return to footnote 6 referrer

top of page

Date modified:

Profil des instruments médicaux de l'industrie

1. Contexte

Au Canada, les instruments médicaux sont régis par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, laquelle les répartit en quatre classes selon le risque qui leur est associé (I, II, III ou IV), la classe I présentant les risques les plus faibles, et la classe IV, les risques les plus élevés. La Loi sur les aliments et drogues définit ce en quoi consiste un instrument médical réglementé.

Les instruments médicaux sont notamment les stimulateurs cardiaques, les valves cardiaques artificielles, le matériel de diagnostic et d’imagerie, le matériel de diagnostic in vitro, le matériel de dialyse, les prothèses de hanche et de genou, la peau synthétique, les instruments chirurgicaux, les pompes à perfusion, les appareils de maintien des fonctions vitales, les cathéters, les pansements, de même que certaines techniques d’information et de communications.

La complexité des instruments médicaux continue de croître, et de multiples technologies sont intégrées dans un produit donné. Des technologies comme celles des matériaux de pointe, de la microélectronique, de la biotechnologie, des logiciels et de l’informatique sont maintenant couramment utilisées dans les instruments médicaux. Les entreprises canadiennes et étrangères continuent à innover afin de mettre au point de nouveaux produits et d’améliorer les fonctions des instruments médicaux existants.

Les entreprises du secteur des instruments médicaux sont hautement axées sur la recherche-développement (R-D) et la technologie.

2. Industrie mondiale des instruments médicaux

L’industrie des instruments médicaux est généralement peu concentrée à l’échelle mondiale; aucune entreprise n’est dominante. On y trouve un grand nombre de petites entreprises qui se spécialisent habituellement dans le développement de technologies de créneau, alors que les intervenants de plus grande taille cherchent souvent à acquérir de petites entreprises en vue d’élargir leur gamme de produits ou d’accéder à des technologies ou à des marchés particuliers. Toutefois, au cours des cinq dernières années, un vent de regroupement a balayé l’industrie, et le nombre d’entreprises a diminué. Pour leur part, des marchés émergents comme la Chine et le Brésil attirent les fabricants d’instruments médicaux et développent leurs industries nationales.

En 2016, les principaux secteurs d’activité sur le marché mondial des instruments médicaux étaient les suivantsNote de bas de page 1 :

  • L'imagerie de diagnostic (tel que l'imagerie à résonance magnétique, et la tomographie) (25 % du marché mondial)
  • Produits non durables (16 %)
  • Prothèses (appareils auditifs, stimulateurs cardiaques, etc.) (12 %)
  • Appareils orthopédiques (12 %)
  • Produits dentaires (7 %), et
  • Autres instruments médicaux (27 %).

On s’attend à ce que les entreprises de fabrication d’instruments médicaux adaptent leurs structures et leurs stratégies à l’évolution des conditions dans le monde (qui se caractérise par la croissance des marchés émergents, la réforme des services de santé et les mesures de limitation des coûts). Les changements prévus comprennent la restructuration d’entreprises et un recours accru aux alliances stratégiques et à la sous-traitance en matière de commercialisation, de distribution, de recherche et de fabrication.

3. Industrie canadienne des instruments médicaux

Le secteur canadien des instruments médicaux est une industrie fortement diversifiée et axée sur les exportations qui fabrique du matériel et des fournitures. Sa clientèle comprend des hôpitaux canadiens et étrangers, des cabinets de médecins, des laboratoires, des cliniques et des patients (avec des achats directs).

Les entreprises du secteur misent sur l’innovation en produits. L’industrie peut profiter des recherches novatrices de classe mondiale effectuées dans les universités, les établissements de recherche et les hôpitaux canadiens, lesquelles ont débouché, dans certains cas, sur la création d’entreprises canadiennes d’instruments médicaux. Environ 10 % des entreprises de fabrication d’instruments médicaux du Canada sont issues d’organismes de rechercheNote de bas de page 2 et environ 20 % sont en phase de précommercialisationNote de bas de page 3.

En nombre absolu, les PME dominent l’industrie, alors qu’en part de marché, les multinationales étrangères sont les plus importantes.

L’industrie se situe principalement dans les trois plus grandes provinces du pays, à savoir l’Ontario, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique.

4. Marchés canadien et mondial des instruments médicauxNote de bas de page 4

Marché canadien des instruments médicaux

Le marché canadien des instruments médicaux est estimé à 6,7 milliards de dollars américains (2016), ce qui représente environ 2 % du marché mondial. Voici les principaux domaines de dépenses en pourcentage de toutes les ventes d’instruments médicaux au Canada en 2016 :

  • Matériel de diagnostic et d’imagerie (21 %)
  • Produits non durables (18 %)
  • Prothèses (15 %)
  • Prothèses et appareils orthopédiques (12 %)
  • Produits dentaires (8 %), et
  • Autres, notamment les fauteuils roulants, les instruments ophtalmologiques, les appareils d’anesthésie, les appareils de dialyse, les tensiomètres, les appareils endoscopiques et les meubles hospitaliers (27 %)

Marché mondial des instruments médicaux

En 2016, le marché mondial des instruments médicaux était estimé à 336 milliards de dollars américains, abstraction faite du matériel de diagnostic in vitro. Les États-Unis ont le marché le plus important et le plus développé avec 146 milliards de dollars américains (43 % du marché mondial), et sont aussi le premier fournisseur mondial d’instruments médicaux.

5. CommerceNote de bas de page 5

De 2011 à 2016, les exportations canadiennes d’instruments médicaux ont monté de 1,8 à 3,1 milliards de dollars et les importations, de 6,5 à 8,6 milliards de dollars.Le déficit commercial a augmenté de 4,7 à 5,5 milliards de dollars de 2011 à 2016, une hausse de 17 %.

Les États-Unis sont le premier partenaire commercial du Canada au chapitre des instruments médicaux. En 2016, les importations canadiennes en provenance du voisin du sud ont été de 3,9 milliards de dollars, soit 46 % de toutes les importations canadiennes d’instruments médicaux. Toujours en 2016, le Canada a exporté pour 2,1 milliards d’instruments médicaux aux États-Unis, soit 67 % de l’ensemble des exportations canadiennes d’instruments médicaux. La même année, les trois autres destinations les plus importantes des exportations canadiennes d’instruments médicaux ont été les Pays-Bas (4 %), l’Allemagne (4 %) et la Chine (3 %). Les trois premières sources des importations canadiennes en 2016 après les États-Unis ont été la Chine (9 %), l’Allemagne (7 %) et le Mexique (6 %).

6. Tendances mondialesNote de bas de page 6

  • La croissance du marché variera selon la région. On s’attend à ce que les marchés de l’Asie connaissent une croissance importante par rapport à ceux des Amériques et de l’Europe de l’Ouest.
  • Des facteurs comme les marchés émergents et le vieillissement de la population joueront un grand rôle dans la croissance de l’industrie.
  • Les connaissances et l’expertise seront échangées par-delà les frontières.
  • Les nouvelles technologies d’instruments médicaux seront en croissance rapide.
  • On s’attend à ce que les mégadonnées et la connectivité contribuent au développement du courant d’innovation (par la technologie du prêt-à-porter connecté).
  • Les organismes de réglementation continueront à affronter les difficultés qu’engendre la progression des technologies innovantes.

7. Réseau d’associations industrielles au Canada

Les entreprises canadiennes de l’industrie des instruments médicaux sont représentées par un certain nombre d’associations nationales et régionales :

Associations nationales :

  • MEDEC — Sociétés canadiennes de technologies médicales

Associations régionales :

  • Alberta Health Industry Association
  • BioAlberta
  • BioNova
  • Life Science Association of Manitoba
  • LifeSciences British Columbia
  • Life Sciences Ontario
  • Ontario Bioscience Innovation Organization
  • PEI Bio Alliance

8. Programmes fédéraux d’appui à la recherche et d’incitatifs fiscaux

Plusieurs programmes et conseils financés par le gouvernement fédéral appuient la recherche en santé au Canada : Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), Réseaux de centres d’excellence, Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) et Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG). Le CNRC administre le Programme d’aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI), qui aide les entreprises à développer et à commercialiser des technologies par des activités de financement et des services-conseils.

Le Programme d’encouragements fiscaux à la recherche scientifique et au développement expérimental (RS-DE), administré par l’Agence du revenu du Canada, encourage les entreprises canadiennes de toute taille et de tous les secteurs à effectuer des travaux de R-D au Canada. Il s’agit de la plus grande source de soutien prêté par le gouvernement fédéral à la R-D de l’industrie. Le programme fournit aux demandeurs des remises en espèces ou des crédits d’impôt à l’égard des dépenses de R-D admissibles qui se font au Canada.

9. Commercialisation

Au Canada, les Centres d’excellence en commercialisation et en recherche (CECR) sont notamment spécialisés en recherche sur les instruments médicaux. Chaque CECR est une société sans but lucratif créée par une organisation comme une entreprise, une université ou un institut de recherche en vue d’établir un lien entre les compétences en recherche et les besoins des entreprises et de manière à stimuler les activités de commercialisation. Voici quelques exemples de CECR :

  • Centre for Drug Research and Development (Vancouver, C.-B.)
  • Centre de commercialisation pour la technologie de l’image (London, Ont.)
  • Centre for Probe Development and Commercialization (Hamilton, Ont.)
  • Centre pour l’invention et l’innovation en chirurgie (Hamilton, Ont.)

Exemples de centres translationnels canadiens :

  • Medical and Related Sciences (MaRS) Innovation (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Institut ontarien du cerveau (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Princess Margaret Hospital Global Cancer Centre (Toronto, Ont.)
  • McEwen Centre for Regenerative Medicine (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (Montréal, Qc)
  • Consortium de recherche industrielle et d’innovation en technologies médicales du Québec (MEDTEQ) (Montréal, Qc)
  • Institut de cardiologie d’Ottawa (Ottawa, Ont.)
  • Institut de réadaptation de Toronto (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Centre des sciences de la santé Sunnybrook (Toronto, Ont.)
  • Lawson Health Research Institute (London, Ont.)

10. Exportation et développement Canada et Banque de développement du Canada

Exportation et développement Canada est un organisme de crédit à l’exportation qui offre aux exportateurs canadiens une diversité de solutions de financement, d’assurance-crédit et autres services de gestion des risques.

Dans plus de 100 bureaux disséminés sur le territoire canadien, la Banque de développement du Canada fournit des services de financement, de capital de risque et de consultation sur mesure aux entreprises. Elle prête une attention particulière aux PME et aux entreprises axées sur la fabrication, l’exportation, l’innovation et les activités de savoir.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Espicom, World Medical Markets Factbook 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Notes de bas de page 2

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, décembre 2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Notes de bas de page 3

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, décembre 2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Notes de bas de page 4

Espicom, World Medical Markets Factbook 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Notes de bas de page 5

Global Trade Atlas

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Notes de bas de page 6

Stacy Lawrence, The top 5 trends for med tech in 2016, Fiercemedicaldevices.com, (25 décembre 2015)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

haut de la page

Date de modification :