Information bulletin—Measurement Canada publishes general requirements in support of lengthened initial reverification periods for natural gas and electricity meters

Background

In June of 2007, Measurement Canada implemented changes to Provisional Specification PS-E-11 and Bulletin E-26 which provided for the granting of a lengthened initial reverification period of 10 years to certain electronic electricity meters. These changes supported what was considered to be, at the time, a temporary program that would allow for the initial reverification period on certain electronic electricity meters to be addressed, while a joint working group (JWG) of industry and government representatives reviewed and considered future program options. In this regard, the future program design elements and requirements would not be specific to electronic electricity meters, but would instead be technology neutral such that the scope of application would encompass both natural gas and electricity meters.

The JWG, formed in January of this year, reviewed different options with regard to the establishment of a meter's initial reverification period and concluded that the prototypic program principles, utilized in support of the lengthening of an electronic electricity meter's initial reverification period, were principles which were appropriate on a go forward basis. As such, the JWG recommended that the principles and structure of the temporary program be adopted and formalized for future application to both natural gas and electricity meters in general.

Program responsibilities

The program elements which will form part of the new process for achieving lengthened initial reverification periods on natural gas or electricity meters, include the following:

  1. Meter Pattern Approval: Meter approval applicants will assume primary responsibility for pursuing, qualifying, administrating, and demonstrating compliance with all program requirements in support of obtaining and maintaining a meter's lengthened initial reverification period. In this regard, where a lengthened initial reverification period is being sought relative to a specific meter type or types that are included within a particular Notice of Approval (NOA), pattern approval applicants (meter manufacturers) will be responsible for attesting to the meter's performance accuracy during the lengthened period and demonstrating that meters are designed and produced under an acceptable quality assurance program. Meter performance attestations made by pattern approval applicants will be further validated through one of two means: A) through a national meter performance sampling initiative which will occur at an interim point during a meter's initial in-service period and prior to the lengthened reverification period's expiration; or B) through the assessment of historic in-service meter performance records that have been compiled for a specific meter class or type.
  2. Interim Meter Performance Testing: In cooperation with the meter approval applicant and Measurement Canada representatives, meter owners will have general responsibility for the removal, performance testing, documentation and provision of test results with regard to any meter that has been identified as one to which the program's interim sampling requirements apply.
  3. Program Governance: Measurement Canada shall be responsible for: reviewing and processing applications for lengthened initial reverification periods in accordance with specified program requirements; for identifying, maintaining, and communicating the meter makes and models to which a lengthened period applies; for selecting and overseeing the testing of sample meters as part of any interim sampling requirements; and for reviewing meter performance data and concluding on meter compliance.

Program application

Present

On the basis of the program design elements and responsibilities which have been established by the JWG, Measurement Canada has started to amend and issue the Specifications, Bulletins, and Communication documents needed to support the initial reverification period program. In this regard, the following documents have been recently issued or amended:

Electricity and Gas Specification, S-EG-01, "Electricity and Gas Meter Pattern Approval Applications - Quality and Measurement Reliability Information Requirements in Support of a Lengthened Initial Reverification Period". This specification establishes the quality and measurement reliability information requirements for electricity and natural gas meter pattern approval in support of the lengthening of a meter's initial reverification period. This specification also identifies the meter types or classes that are currently considered as eligible for application. The document's requirements are effective upon posting and are new in application to gas meters but replace electricity meter Provisional Specification PS-E-11.

Electricity and Gas Bulletins, G-18 (rev.2) "Reverification Periods for Gas Meters, Ancillary Devices and Metering Installations" and E-26 (rev.4) "Reverification Periods for Electricity Meters and Metering Installations". These Bulletins have been amended to ensure the uniformity of reverification period requirements that are applicable to either electricity or gas meters. The amendments also introduce limits to the subsequent verification periods provided to meters which have not been renewed. Specifically, the subsequent reverification period limits presented in the G-18 and E-26 revisions, align with the maximum extension period ratios currently being provided to meters that are reverified as part of the Agency's compliance sampling program. The effective date of the revisions to both G-18 and E-26 is January 01, 2009. (Note that the ratio limits and subsequent reverification periods granted may be subject to further amendment as a result of the Compliance Sampling JWG's current undertaking which is reviewing all aspects of the Compliance Sampling program).

Gas Bulletin G-03, "Natural Gas Meters and Ancillary devices Qualified for a Lengthened Initial Reverification Period". This Bulletin is equivalent to electricity Bulletin E-28 and has been issued as the communication vehicle which will list the gas meters which have qualified for a lengthened or conditionally lengthened initial reverification period. The effective date of this Bulletin is January 01, 2009.

Future

With conclusions having been reached by the JWG on the basic program design for the lengthening of both gas and electricity initial reverification periods and the subsequent issuance of the necessary requirement and communication documents, Measurement Canada has also completed its review and audit of the historic compliance sampling data with regard to the 200 series of diaphragm meters. This review exercise has resulted in: A) the establishment of generic meter performance criteria which will be used to assess the in-service meter performance levels that will be required in support of the lengthening of a meter's initial reverification period, and B) the recognition of the 200 series of diaphragm meters as qualifying for an initial reverification period of 10 years upon application in accordance with S-EG-01.

In the coming months, a new sampling specification will be issued by Measurement Canada which will formally establish the requirements for the interim inspection by sampling of electricity and natural gas meters that have been granted a conditionally lengthened initial verification period. Additionally, criteria will also be published to support the immediate granting of a lengthened initial reverification period on the basis of historic compliance sampling meter performance data (where available).

Any enquiries with respect to this Information notice should be directed to a Program Officer responsible for either electricity or natural gas measurement.

Guy Dacquay
Manager, Utility Metering Division
Program Development Directorate

Questions and Answers—General requirements in support of lengthened initial reverification periods for natural gas and electricity meters

Q. Are all electricity and natural gas meters immediately eligible for a lengthened initial reverification period?

A. Meter eligibility will be reviewed and established on a class-by-class or meter type basis. The meter classes or types that are currently eligible for consideration under the lengthened initial reverification period requirements are identified in Specification S-EG-01.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q1

Q. If a meter class is identified as being eligible for a lengthened initial reverification period, who can apply to have a specific make or model of meter recognized?

A. Only the approval applicant identified in the meter's Notice of Approval (as issued by Measurement Canada) is authorized to make the request in accordance with the requirements of S-EG-01.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q2

Q. Where a request is to be made in accordance with the requirements of S-EG-01, what happens if the approval applicant identified in a meter's notice of approval is not the manufacturer of the meter?

A. The approval applicant identified in the meter's notice of approval is recognized as the responsible party for obtaining and submitting the information required by S-EG-01. The approval applicant is also responsible for all in-service metering obligations or testing that may be associated with obtaining or maintaining a meter's lengthened initial reverification period.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q3

Q. How do approval applicants qualify meters for recognition under S-EG-01's requirements?

A. Approval applicants seeking to have eligible meters recognized for a lengthened initial reverification period should submit their written request to:

Electricity meters:

Dave Flieler
Senior Program officer, Electricity Measurement
Program Development Directorate, Measurement Canada

328 Sidney Street
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
K8P 3Z3

Natural gas meters:

Christian Bonneau
Senior Program officer, Gas Measurement
Program Development Directorate, Measurement Canada

151 Tunney's Pasture Driveway
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1A 0C9

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q4

Q. How will inspectors and accredited organizations know which meters have qualified and, as a result, are eligible to receive a lengthened initial reverification period?

A. The make, model and approval number of meters qualifying under the requirements of S-EG-01, will be identified in annexes to Bulletins G-03 and E-28 and publicly communicated via Measurement Canada's website.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q5

Q. Can the records for eligible in-service meters be amended to reflect the lengthened initial reverification period, where applicable?

A. Once a meter make/model is identified in Bulletin G-03 or E-28 as having qualified for a lengthened reverification period, the lengthened period may be retroactively applied, subject to any application restrictions, as identified in the noted Bulletins. Inspection certificates are not required to be amended, however, meter owners are responsible for updating their metering records accordingly.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q6

Q. Will qualified meters inspected under a compliance sampling program be eligible for seal extensions based on a lengthened initial reverification period?

A. Bulletin G-18 for natural gas meters and Bulletin E-26 for electricity meters, prescribe the subsequent reverification periods that are applicable.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/eng/lm00515.html#q7
Date modified:

Bulletin d'information — Mesures Canada publie des exigences générales relatives au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification des compteurs d’électricité et de gaz naturel

Contexte

En juin 2007, Mesures Canada a apporté des changements à la norme provisoire PS-E-11 et au bulletin E-26 qui prévoient le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification de 10 ans pour certains compteurs d'électricité électroniques. Ces changements appuyaient, ce que l'on considérait alors, comme un programme temporaire qui permettait de traiter la période initiale de revérification pour certains compteurs d'électricité électroniques, pendant qu'un groupe de travail mixte (GTM), constitué d'employés du gouvernement et de représentants de l'industrie, étudiait d'autres programmes en vue de les adopter. À cet égard, les éléments de conception et les exigences des prochains programmes ne seraient pas exclusifs aux compteurs d'électricité électroniques ni liés à la technologie. De cette façon, le domaine d'application couvrirait tout autant les compteurs de gaz naturel que les compteurs d'électricité.

Constitué en janvier de cette année, le GTM a examiné différentes options quant à l'établissement d'une période initiale de revérification et conclut que les principes du programme prototypes, utilisés pour appuyer le prolongement de la période de revérification initiale, étaient des principes appropriés pour aller de l'avant. Pour cette raison, le GTM recommande que les principes et la structure du programme temporaire soit adoptés et officialisés pour être appliqués à l'ensemble des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel.

Responsabilités du programme

Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques-uns des éléments du programme qui feront partie du nouveau processus visant à prolonger les périodes initiales de revérification des compteurs de gaz naturel et d'électricité.

  1. Approbation de modèles de compteurs : il incombe aux demandeurs d'approbation de modèles de compteurs de faire les démarches nécessaires pour se qualifier dans le cadre du programme, de respecter les exigences qui y sont liées et de démontrer la conformité de leurs appareils en vue d'obtenir et de maintenir le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification. À cet égard, dans l'éventualité où le demandeur d'approbation de modèles de compteurs tente d'obtenir le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification pour un type ou des types particuliers de compteurs visés par un avis d'approbation, il (le fabricant de compteurs) doit attester de la précision des compteurs durant la période de prolongement et démontrer que les compteurs sont conçus et produits dans le cadre d'un programme d'assurance de la qualité acceptable. Les attestations liées au rendement du compteur seront validées ultérieurement de l'une des deux façons suivantes : A) au moyen d'une initiative nationale d'échantillonnage des compteurs pour établir leur rendement qui aura lieu à un moment donné entre la période initiale de mise en service du compteur et l'expiration de la période prolongée de revérification; B) au moyen de l'évaluation des données historiques sur le rendement des compteur en service qui ont été compilées pour un type ou une catégorie spécifique de compteurs.
  2. Essais intérimaires sur le rendement des compteurs : en collaboration avec les représentants de Mesures Canada et les demandeurs d'approbation de compteurs, les propriétaires de compteurs seront responsables de l'enlèvement et des essais sur le rendement des compteurs, de la documentation et de la fourniture des résultats d'essais pour n'importe quel compteur auquel s'applique les exigences d'échantillonnage provisoires du programme.
  3. Régie du programme : il incombe à Mesures Canada d'examiner et de traiter les demandes de prolongement des périodes initiales de revérification en conformité avec les exigences du programme; de préciser, de mettre à jour et de communiquer les renseignements relatifs à la marque et au modèle du compteur pour lequel la période de prolongement s'applique; de sélectionner et de superviser les essais de l'échantillon de compteurs dans le cadre des exigences d'échantillonnage provisoires; d'examiner les données sur le rendement du compteur et de se prononcer sur la conformité du compteur.

Application du programme

Présent

En s'appuyant sur les éléments de conception du programme et les responsabilités établies par le GTM, Mesures Canada a commencé la modification et la publication des normes, des bulletins et des documents sur la communication nécessaires au soutien du programme sur la période initiale de revérification. À cet effet, les documents suivants ont été récemment publiés ou modifiés :

Norme sur l'électricité et le gaz, S-EG-01, « Demandes d'approbation de modèles de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz - Données de qualité et de fiabilité requises en vue de prolonger la période initiale de revérification ». Cette norme établit les données de qualité et de fiabilité requises lors d'une demande d'approbation de modèles de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel visant à prolonger la période initiale de revérification des compteurs. Cette norme détermine aussi les types ou les catégories de compteurs qui sont actuellement considérés comme étant admissibles à une demande d'approbation. Les exigences de la norme entrent en vigueur dès leur publication. Cette norme s'applique pour la première fois aux compteurs de gaz, mais elle remplace la norme provisoire PS-E-11 pour les compteurs d'électricité.

Bulletins en gaz et en électricité, G-18 (rév.2), « Périodes de revérification pour les compteurs de gaz, les appareils auxiliaires et les installations de mesure » et le bulletin E-26 (rév.4), « Périodes de revérification des compteurs d'électricité et des installations de mesurage ». Ces bulletins ont été modifiés pour assurer l'uniformité des exigences relatives à la période de revérification et applicables tant aux compteurs de gaz qu'aux compteurs d'électricité. Les modifications ont aussi imposé des limites aux périodes de revérification subséquentes fournies aux compteurs qui n'ont pas été renouvelés. Plus précisément, les limites des périodes de revérification subséquentes présentées aux bulletins G-18 et E-26 s'alignent sur les ratios maximums prévus des compteurs admissibles à la période de prolongement, qui sont revérifiés dans le cadre du Programme d'échantillonnage de Mesures Canada. La date d'entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées aux bulletins G-18 et E-26 est le 1er janvier 2009. (Remarque : les limites des ratios et des périodes subséquentes de revérification accordées pourraient être modifiées ultérieurement en raison de l'échantillonnage de conformité actuellement effectué par le GTM et qui porte sur l'examen de tous les aspects du programme d'échantillonnage de conformité).

Bulletin pour les compteurs de gaz naturel G-03, « Périodes de revérification pour les compteurs de gaz, les appareils auxiliaires et les installations de mesure ». Le présent bulletin est équivalent au bulletin E-28. Il a été publié pour faire connaître la liste des compteurs de gaz admissibles à une période initiale de revérification prolongée. La date d'entrée en vigueur du bulletin est le 1er janvier 2009.

À l'avenir

Le GTM est arrivé à des conclusions sur les principes de base du programme visant le prolongement des périodes initiales de revérification des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel et la publication subséquente des exigences et des documents de communication nécessaires, Mesures Canada a également terminé l'examen et l'audit des données historiques d'échantillonnage de conformité en ce qui a trait aux compteurs de gaz à parois déformables de la série 200. Cet exercice a permis : A) l'établissement de critères de rendement génériques des compteurs qui serviront à évaluer les niveaux de rendement des compteurs en service, qui seront requis pour appuyer le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification; B) la reconnaissance des compteurs de gaz à parois déformables de la série 200, comme étant admissibles sur demande à une période initiale de revérification de 10 ans conformément à la norme S-EG-01.

Au cours des prochains mois, une nouvelle norme sur l'échantillonnage sera publiée par Mesures Canada qui établira officiellement les exigences pour un contrôle provisoire par échantillonnage des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel auxquels on a accordé le prolongement conditionnel de la période initiale de revérification. De plus, des critères seront également publiés pour appuyer l'octroi immédiat du prolongement de la période initiale de revérification fondé sur les données historiques du rendement du compteur obtenues par échantillonnage de conformité (s'il y a lieu).

Toute question au sujet de cet avis doit être soumise à l'agent de programmes responsable de la mesure de l'électricité ou du gaz naturel.

Guy Dacquay
Gérant, Division des compteurs de services publics
Direction du développement des programmes

Questions et réponses — Exigences générales relatives au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel

Q. Les compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel sont-ils tous immédiatement admissibles au prolongement de leur période initiale de revérification?

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q1

R. L'admissibilité des compteurs sera étudiée et établie selon la classe ou le type de compteurs. Les classes ou les types de compteurs qui sont actuellement admissibles et qui satisfont aux exigences relatives au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification sont précisés dans la norme S-EG-01.

Q. Advenant qu'une classe de compteurs soit admissible au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification, qui peut demander qu'un modèle ou une marque spécifique de compteur soit reconnu?

R. Seul le demandeur de l'approbation identifié dans l'avis d'approbation du compteur (publié par Mesures Canada) est autorisé à faire une demande conformément aux exigences de la norme S-EG-01.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q2

Q. Dans le cas où une demande est effectuée conformément aux exigences de la norme S-EG-01, qu'arrive-t-il si le demandeur de l'approbation identifié dans l'avis d'approbation n'est pas le fabricant du compteur?

R. Le demandeur de l'approbation identifié dans l'avis d'approbation du compteur est reconnu comme étant le responsable chargé d'obtenir et de présenter l'information requise, conformément aux exigences de la norme S-EG-01. Le demandeur de l'approbation est aussi responsable de tous les compteurs en service ou des essais nécessaires à l'obtention ou au maintien du prolongement de la période initiale de revérification.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q3

Q. Comment les demandeurs d'approbation peuvent-ils qualifier leurs compteurs conformément aux exigences de la norme S-EG-01?

R. Les demandeurs d'approbation qui veulent rendre leurs compteurs admissibles au prolongement de la période initiale de revérification doivent soumettre une demande écrite à :

Compteurs d'électricité :

Dave Flieler
Agent principal de programmes, mesure de l'électricité
Direction du développement de programmes, MC

328, rue Sidney
Belleville (Ontario) Canada
K8P 3Z3

Compteurs de gaz naturel :

Christian Bonneau
Agent principal de programmes, mesure du gaz
Direction du développement de programmes, MC

151 Tunney's Pasture Driveway
Ottawa (Ontario) Canada
K1A 0C9

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q4

Q. Comment les inspecteurs et les organismes accrédités sauront-ils si un compteur est qualifié et admissible au prolongement de sa période initiale de revérification?

R. La marque, le modèle et le numéro d'approbation des compteurs, qui satisfont aux exigences de la norme S-EG-01, seront précisés dans les annexes des bulletins G-03 et E-28, et communiqués publiquement dans le site Internet de Mesures Canada.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q5

Q. Le cas échéant, les dossiers des compteurs en service admissibles peuvent-ils être modifiés pour tenir compte du prolongement de la période initiale de revérification?

R. Dès que la marque ou le modèle d'un compteur, précisé dans le bulletin G-03 ou E-28, est qualifié pour le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification, le prolongement de la période s'applique rétroactivement à tous les compteurs qualifiés et est assujetti à toute restriction applicable conformément aux bulletins susmentionnés. Les certificats d'inspection n'ont pas besoin d'être modifiés, cependant les propriétaires de compteurs doivent mettre à jour leurs dossiers en conséquence.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q6

Q. Les compteurs qualifiés et inspectés dans le cadre d'un programme d'échantillonnage de la conformité sont-ils admissibles à une prolongation de la période de validité du sceau fondée sur le prolongement de la période initiale de revérification?

R. Le bulletin G-18 pour les compteurs de gaz naturel et le bulletin E-26 pour les compteurs d'électricité prévoient des périodes subséquentes de revérification qui sont applicables.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mc-mc.nsf/fra/lm00515.html#q7
Date de modification :