TE-LP-001—Preparation and use of an ice point bath as a reference temperature

The electronic version is the controlled copy. Any printing of this document is for convenience only and considered uncontrolled.

Version: 07

Record of changes
Version Date Description
01 Original release.
02 Added "controlled copy" statement in the document header.
03 Added clarification to the instructions.
04 Added log sheet for ice point check.
05 Introduced forms (QMS 325). General editorial corrections.
06 Clarified the usage of the forms for lab and field.
07 Added information on the availability of the applicable forms in section 2.4.1.
Updated format.

Table of contents

1 Introduction

1.1 Purpose

This laboratory practice describes a method of preparing, maintaining and using an ice point bath as a reference temperature bath.

1.2 Scope

This procedure can be used to realize the ice point (0 °C) as a reference temperature for the purpose of thermometer adjustment or as a check temperature for all thermometer types.

1.3 Applicable documents

Applicable documents
Document number Document title
GN-LP-003 Vocabulary of technical and metrological terms
TE-FM-001 Log sheet for general ice point check
TE-FM-002 Log sheet for 5-probe ice point check
TE-FM-003 Ice point check sheet for high accuracy thermometers

1.4 Abbreviations and symbols

mK

millikelvin (1 mK = 0.001 K, where K = °C + 273.15)

2 Procedure

2.1 Equipment required

2.1.1 Basic equipment

Basic equipment
Equipment description Description and performance requirements
Distilled water 4 L jug
Ice trays 4 × 1/3 L capacity
Blender with ice-crushing capability 1 L capacity
Wide-mouth vacuum-insulated thermal flask 1 L capacity
Plastic gloves non-powdered
Utensils/forceps -
Beaker 0.5 L or larger

2.2 Safety requirements

Refer to applicable Measurement Canada health and safety documentation.

2.3 Set-up

All equipment that will come in contact with the water and ice and will be used in the preparation of an ice-point bath shall be cleaned and rinsed with distilled water before use. Ice trays should be filled with distilled water and put inside a freezer for sufficient supply of ice prior to the preparation process.

2.4 Instructions

Use either clean plastic gloves or cleaned and rinsed utensils to handle the ice and equipment.

Empty a tray of ice (made with distilled water) into the blender's container. Add enough distilled water to have the ice float freely in the blender's container. Put the lid on the container and crush the ice by using the appropriate setting on the blender. Add more water if the crushed ice clings to the wall of the blender's container during the operation. The resulting mixture should be composed of only fine shavings of ice in water (no chunks).

Pour the water from the container into the beaker. Transfer all the shaved ice into the thermal flask making sure no ice pieces are present. When filling the bath with ice shavings, ensure that there are no air bubbles. Repeat the ice crushing until the flask is full. Gently pack the slushy mixture to release any trapped air in the flask and to fill in the voids.

Drain any excess water by tilting the flask until there is no free-flowing water. Ensure that the top layer of the ice remains moist (not white).

Cover the ice-point bath using its lid. Allow the contents and the flask to thermally equilibrate for 15 minutes before use.

Precool the temperature sensors in the beaker filled with any extra ice and cold distilled water obtained from the ice bath. Precooling reduces the time to reach equilibrium at the ice point and helps to preserve the bath at the ice point for prolonged use. Insert the sensor portion of the thermometer, such as the bulb of a liquid-in-glass thermometer or the sensing element of a probe, to a depth of at least 7 cm, or sufficient depth to eliminate immersion errors, below the bath liquid level (this does not apply to full-immersion type liquid-in-glass thermometers). Keep the sensor portion of the thermometer 3 to 4 cm above the bottom of the bath to avoid the zone at the bottom of the flask where the water will accumulate.

The melt water accumulating at the bottom of the flask has a temperature slightly greater than 0 °C and should therefore be drained frequently by tilting the bath. The bath will maintain a temperature of 0 °C for approximately 30 minutes, depending on usage and equipment.

Note: Impurities in ice and water usually lower the bath equilibrium temperature by several millikelvins. As denser melt water settles to the bottom, excessive amounts can reach higher local temperatures. Large chunks of very cold ice (not properly shaved) added to a bath can produce local temperature depressions.

Note: The ice point can be reproduced with an uncertainty of about 10 mK (0.01 °C). When prepared by the rigorous application of this procedure, the uncertainty can be reduced to approximately 2 mK (0.002 °C).

2.4.1 Records

Use applicable forms (TE-FM-001, TE-FM-002 or TE-FM-003) to record the ice point results. A copy of the applicable forms will be provided with every device calibrated. Additional copies may be obtained by contacting the Approval and Calibration Services Laboratory in Ottawa.

Date modified:

TE-LP-001 — Préparation et utilisation du bain au point de glace de l'eau comme température de référence

La version électronique de ce document est la copie contrôlée. Toute version imprimée du présent document n'est produite que pour des raisons pratiques et est considérée comme non contrôlée.

Version : 07

Registre des modifications
Version Date Description
01 Document d'origine
02 Ajout de la déclaration de « copie contrôlée » dans l'entête du document.
03 Ajout de clarification à la section des instructions.
04 Ajout d'une feuille de travail pour la vérification des points de glace.
05 Introduction de formulaires (SMQ 325). Modifications rédactionnelles générales.
06 Clarification des formulaires pour utilisation en laboratoire et sur le terrain.
07 Ajout à l'article 2.4.1 de renseignements sur la disponibilité des formulaires applicables.
Mise à jour de la mise en page.

Table des matières

1 Introduction

1.1 Objectif

La présente pratique de laboratoire décrit une méthode de préparation, de maintien et d'utilisation d'un bain de référence au point de glace de l'eau.

1.2 Domaine d'application

La présente procédure peut être utilisée pour établir le point de glace (0 °C) comme température de référence pour le besoin du réglage de thermomètres ou comme température de vérification pour tous les types de thermomètres.

1.3 Documents applicables

Documents applicables
Numéro du document Titre du document
GN-LP-003 Vocabulaire d'expressions techniques et métrologiques
TE-FM-001 Feuille de travail pour la vérification générale du point de glace
TE-FM-002 Feuille de travail pour la vérification du point de glace (cinq sondes)
TE-FM-003 Vérification de points de glace pour thermomètres de haute précision

1.4 Abréviations et symboles

mK

millikelvin (1 mK = 0,001 K, où K = °C + 273,15)

2 Procédure

2.1 Matériel nécessaire

2.1.1 Matériel de base

Matériel de base
Description du matériel Description et exigences en matière de performance
Eau distillée Bouteille de 4 L
Plateaux à glaçons Capacité : 1/3 L (×4)
Mélangeur avec la capacité de broyer la glace Capacité : 1 L
Flacon isotherme à col large sous vide Capacité : 1 L
Gants de plastique Non poudrés
Ustensiles/pinces -
Bécher 0,5 L ou plus grand

2.2 Exigences en matière de sécurité

Voir la documentation applicable de Mesures Canada en matière de santé et sécurité.

2.3 Préparation

Tous les équipements qui viendront en contact avec l'eau et la glace et qui seront utilisés dans la préparation d'un bain au point de glace doivent être propres et rincés avec de l'eau distillée avant l'utilisation. Les plateaux à glaçons devraient être remplis avec de l'eau distillée et placés dans un congélateur pour approvisionnement suffisant de glace avant le processus de préparation.

2.4 Directives

Utiliser des gants de plastique ou des ustensiles propres et rincés pour manipuler la glace et le matériel.

Vider un plateau à glaçons (formés d'eau distillée) dans le contenant du mélangeur. Ajouter assez d'eau distillée pour que la glace puisse se déplacer librement dans le contenant du mélangeur. Mettre le couvercle sur le contenant et broyer la glace en réglant le mélangeur à un paramètre approprié. Ajouter de l'eau si la glace broyée adhère aux parois du mélangeur durant l'opération. Le mélange obtenu doit seulement être constitué de minces fragments de glace et d'eau (sans morceaux de glace).

Verser l'eau du contenant dans le bécher. Transférer tous les fragments de glace dans le flacon isotherme, en s'assurant qu'il n'y a aucun glaçon présent. S'assurer qu'il n'y a pas de bulles d'air lors du remplissage du bain avec de la glace. Continuer à broyer de la glace jusqu'à ce que le flacon soit bien rempli. Tasser la glace pour en éliminer tout l'air dans le flacon et pour remplir les vides.

Vider toute eau excédentaire en penchant le flacon jusqu'à ce qu'il n'y ait plus d'eau courante et veiller à ce que la couche supérieure de la glace reste humectée (et non blanche).

Couvrir le bain au point de glace avec son couvercle. Attendre 15 minutes pour permettre au flacon et à son contenant d'atteindre un équilibre thermique avant de procéder.

Prérefroidir les sondes thermiques dans le bécher rempli d'eau distillée froide provenant du bain de glace et de toute glace supplémentaire. Le refroidissement préalable permet de réduire le temps nécessaire pour amener l'objet à l'équilibre au point de glace et de garder le bain au point de glace pour un usage prolongé. Insérer l'élément capteur du thermomètre, tel le réservoir à liquide d'un thermomètre en verre à dilatation de liquide ou le capteur d'une sonde, jusqu'à une profondeur d'au moins 7 cm, ou à une profondeur suffisante pour éliminer les erreurs dues à l'immersion (cette étape ne s'applique pas aux thermomètres en verre à dilatation de liquide de type immersion complète). Maintenir l'élément capteur du thermomètre de 3 à 4 cm au-dessus du fond du récipient afin d'éviter l'endroit où l'eau s'accumule.

L'eau de fonte qui s'accumule au fond du flacon a une température légèrement supérieure à 0 °C et devrait donc être éliminée fréquemment en inclinant le bain. Le bain restera à la température de 0 °C pendant environ 30 minutes, selon l'utilisation qui en est faite et le matériel utilisé.

Remarque : Les impuretés dans l'eau et la glace entraînent habituellement une baisse de température de l'équilibre du bain par plusieurs millikelvins. Puisque l'eau de fusion plus dense s'affaisse vers le bas, les quantités excessives peuvent atteindre des températures locales plus élevées. L'ajout de gros morceaux de glace très froide (pas correctement broyée) à un bain peut entraîner des chutes de température localisées.

Remarque : Le point de glace peut être reproduit avec une incertitude d'environ 10 mK (0.01 °C). Lorsque la présente procédure de préparation est rigoureusement appliquée, l'incertitude peut être réduite à environ 2 mK (0.002 °C).

2.4.1 Enregistrements

Utiliser les formulaires applicables (TE-FM-001, TE-FM-002 ou TE-FM-003) pour enregistrer les résultats de point de glace. Une copie des formulaires applicables sera fournie avec chaque appareil étalonné. Des copies supplémentaires peuvent être obtenues auprès du Laboratoire des services d'approbation et d'étalonnage à Ottawa.

Date de modification :