Apply for device approvals under an international agreement

You can apply for device approvals under the United States/Canada Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) or the International Organization of Legal Metrology Certification System (OIML-CS) to reduce overlap in the device approval process.

Note that applications can be submitted under either the United States/Canada MRA or the OIML-CS, not both.

United States/Canada Mutual Recognition Arrangement

Submit the appropriate application to both Measurement Canada and the National Conference on Weights and Measures at the same time to have your device approved in both countries. The device will be tested in the country of your choice, and the test results will be sent to the other country for review. However, if you want to have a dispenser or an electronic register for a dispenser approved in both countries, the device must be tested in Canada.

Eligibility

The following devices can be approved under the arrangement:

Note: See section 5.5.2 of OIML R 76-1 (2006) for examples of software-based devices.

Apply

Submit a type approval application to both Measurement Canada and the National Conference on Weights and Measures.

Approval of scales

Approval of dispensers and electronic registers for dispensers

International Organization of Legal Metrology Certification System

In 2018, the OIML replaced its mutual acceptance arrangement (OIML-MAA) with the OIML-CS. If your device has been approved under the OIML-MAA or OIML-CS, it can be approved in Canada with reduced testing requirements. When you submit your application, you must indicate that you wish to follow one of these systems and submit your OIML certificate.

Eligibility

You are eligible to apply if you have a valid OIML-MAA certificate or an OIML-CS certificate.

For the test results to be accepted under the OIML-MAA, the device must:

For the test results to be accepted under the OIML-CS, the device must:

The conditions for acceptance are listed on the OIML website.

Apply

Check the appropriate program box on the application form and submit your valid OIML-MAA or OIML-CS certificate with your application for type approval. (Because the form has not yet been updated, you will have to select the OIML-MAA box if you wish to apply under the OIML-CS.)

We may still ask you to submit your device to us for evaluation of metrological features and functions after we have received your application for type approval.

Date modified:

Soumettez une demande d’approbation d’appareils en vertu d’un accord international

Vous pouvez soumettre une demande d'approbation d'appareils en vertu de l'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle États-Unis–Canada ou du Système de certification de l'Organisation internationale de métrologie légale (OIML-CS) afin de diminuer les chevauchements dans le processus d'approbation d'appareils.

Veuillez noter que les demandes peuvent être soumises en vertu de soit l'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle États-Unis–Canada ou de soit l'OIML-CS, et non des deux.

Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle États-Unis–Canada

Soumettez la demande appropriée à Mesures Canada et à la National Conference of Weights and Measures en même temps pour faire reconnaître votre appareil dans les deux pays. L'appareil sera mis à l'essai dans le pays de votre choix et les résultats d'essai seront envoyés à l'autre pays pour examen. Toutefois, si vous voulez qu'un distributeur ou un enregistreur électronique d'un distributeur soit approuvé dans les deux pays, l'appareil doit être mis à l'essai au Canada.

Admissibilité

Les appareils suivants peuvent être approuvés dans le cadre de l'accord :

Remarque : Voir l'article 5.5.2 de la recommandation R 76-1 (2006) pour des exemples d'appareils pilotés par logiciel.

Soumettez une demande

Soumettez une demande d'approbation à Mesures Canada et à la National Conference on Weights and Measures.

Approbation de balances

Approbation de distributeurs de carburant au détail

Système de certification de l'Organisation internationale de métrologie légale

En 2018, l'OIML a remplacé son arrangement d'acceptation mutuelle (AAM) par l'OIML-CS. Si votre appareil a déjà été approuvé en vertu de l'AAM de l'OIML ou de l'OIML-CS, il peut être approuvé au Canada avec des exigences d'essai réduites. Lorsque vous soumettez votre demande, vous devez indiquer que vous voulez suivre l'un de ces systèmes et soumettre votre certificat de l'OIML.

Admissibilité

Vous pouvez présenter une demande si vous détenez un certificat d'AAM valide de l'OIML ou un certificat de l'OIML-CS.

Pour que les résultats d'essai soient acceptés dans le cadre de l'AAM de l'OIML, l'appareil :

Pour que les résultats d'essai soient acceptés dans le cadre de l'OIML-CS, l'appareil doit :

Les conditions d'acceptation figurent dans le site Web de l'OIML (disponible en anglais seulement).

Soumettez une demande

Cochez la case appropriée du programme dans le formulaire de demande et soumettez le certificat valide d'AAM de l'OIML ou d'OIML-CS avec la demande d'approbation de type. (Étant donné que le formulaire n'a pas encore été mis à jour, vous devrez cocher la case de l'AAM de l'OIML si vous souhaitez présenter une demande dans le cadre de l'OIML-CS.)

À la réception d'une demande d'approbation, il est possible que nous vous demandions de nous faire parvenir votre appareil à des fins d'évaluation des caractéristiques et des fonctions métrologiques.

Date de modification :