Fair Measure For All

PDF version

Almost every Canadian is a consumer whether they are buying electricity to light a home, or gas to heat it, gasoline for an automobile, or meat or produce in a grocery store. When people shop or pay their utility bills, they can feel confident that they have received the amount they are paying for because businesses and retailers are required to measure their products and services accurately.

Our Mission

Measurement Canada ensures equity and accuracy where goods and services are bought and sold on the basis of measurement, in order to contribute to a fair and competitive marketplace for Canadians.

Measurement Canada has sole jurisdiction with respect to the administration and enforcement of the Weights and Measures Act and the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act. In the course of administering these statutes, Measurement Canada provides a wide variety of services — all designed to ensure that the marketplace functions fairly.

Essential To Society

Throughout history, laws have been passed proclaiming that there should be truth and accuracy in weights and measures when goods are traded. Today, all industrialized countries have a government organization responsible for monitoring measurement accuracy, demonstrating the importance societies place on the integrity of measurement to a nation's economic health and prosperity.

Canada is no exception. The Government of Canada has ensured fair measure in the marketplace for more than 120 years. Prior to Confederation, each province had its own system of weights and measures.

With Confederation, this important function came under the exclusive domain of the new Government of Canada, and the first Weights and Measures Act was passed in 1872. This was followed by the Gas Inspection Act of 1873 and the Electric Light Inspection Act of 1894. Together, these three statutes form the foundation for fair and accurate measurement of goods and services in Canada.

Measurement Canada ensures equity and accuracy where goods and services are bought and sold on the basis of measurement.

Keeping Pace With Innovation

Throughout the 20th century, the science of measurement (metrology) and the laws and regulations that govern it (legal metrology) have evolved. So has Measurement Canada, which became a special operating agency of Industry Canada in 1999. This change provides us with greater flexibility to conduct our business and achieve our goal of client-oriented program delivery with an increased emphasis on service, quality and accountability for results.

As well, Measurement Canada now uses Authorized Service Providers to deliver many inspection and certification services on its behalf. It also monitors these organizations to ensure that government standards are met.

Our Business: Trade Measurement

With regional and district offices across Canada, and its headquarters laboratory test facilities in Ottawa, Measurement Canada provides services to ensure that consumers and businesses alike can make measurement- based transactions with confidence. These services include:

Calibration of Measurement Standards

Measurement Canada calibrates and certifies standards of mass, length, volume, pressure, temperature and various electrical quantities, so that measurement in domestic and international trade will be uniform. These standards form the basis of all trade measurement in Canada.

Approval of Measuring Instruments

Measurement Canada tests prototype measuring instruments (scales, electricity and natural gas meters, gasoline pumps) for compliance with legislated requirements to ensure that they are capable of measuring accurately under normal conditions of use and throughout their service lifetime, and approves them for retail and commercial use.

Inspection and Certification

Measurement Canada inspectors and Authorized Service Providers inspect and certify thousands of weighing and measuring devices, and verify millions of electricity and gas meters to ensure that they maintain their accuracy and are not used fraudulently. In addition, inspectors check goods and services that are traded on the basis of measurement to ensure that they are accurately measured.

Dispute and Complaint Investigation

Measurement Canada investigates complaints from those who suspect they have received inaccurate measurement or are dissatisfied with the results of their measurement transaction.

Fair Measure: It's Your Responsibility Too

We all play a part in ensuring fair measure in the marketplace. Measurement Canada contributes to a fair and efficient marketplace by monitoring and regulating trade on the basis of measurement. Businesses and consumers contribute to this work by reporting any suspicions of inaccurate measurement. These efforts, combined with the honesty and integrity of vendors and retailers, instill confidence in Canadians that they are receiving the goods and services for which they have paid.

For More Information

For more information, please contact the Measurement Canada office nearest you. We are listed in the blue pages of your telephone directory.

  • Email
  • Share
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

La mesure juste pour tous

Qu'il achète de l'électricité pour s'éclairer ou du gaz pour se chauffer, de l'essence pour son auto ou encore de la viande ou des fruits et légumes, chaque Canadien ou presque est un consommateur. Lorsqu'on fait un achat ou qu'on paie sa facture de services publics, on peut être sûr d'en avoir eu pour son argent parce que les entreprises et les détaillants sont obligés de mesurer leurs produits et services avec exactitude.

Mission de Mesures Canada

Mesures Canada veille à l'équité et à l'exactitude des mesures quand il y a commerce de biens et services fondé sur les unités de mesure, afin de contribuer à un marché juste et compétitif pour tous les Canadiens.

Mesures Canada est l'organisme responsable de la gestion et de l'application de la Loi sur les poids et mesures et de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Dans le cadre de l'administration de ces lois, il fournit une large gamme de services destinés à assurer le fonctionnement équitable du marché.

Des mesures essentielles à la société

Au cours de l'histoire, les gouvernements ont adopté des lois exigeant qu'on fasse preuve de véracité et d'exactitude dans les poids et mesures employés dans le commerce des biens. De nos jours, tous les pays industrialisés ont un organisme gouvernemental chargé de surveiller l'exactitude des mesures, ce qui montre l'importance de l'intégrité des mesures dans la santé économique et la prospérité d'un pays.

Le Canada ne fait pas exception. En effet, depuis plus de 120 ans, le gouvernement du Canada s'assure que les mesures ayant cours sur le marché sont justes. Avant la Confédération, chaque province gérait son propre système de poids et mesures.

À la Confédération, cette tâche importante est devenue la compétence exclusive du nouveau gouvernement du Canada. La première Loi sur les poids et mesures a été adoptée en 1872. Elle a été suivie de la Loi sur l'inspection du gaz en 1873 et de la Loi sur l'inspection de la lumière électrique en 1894. Ces trois lois ont jeté les fondements de la mesure juste et exacte des biens et services au Canada.

Mesures Canada veille à l'équité et à l'exactitude des mesures quand il y a commerce de biens et services fondé sur les unités de mesure.

Soutenir le rythme de l'innovation

Pendant tout le XXe siècle, la science des mesures (métrologie) ainsi que les lois et règlements qui la régissent (métrologie légale) ont évolué. Il en a été de même pour Mesures Canada, qui est devenu un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada en 1999. Ce statut lui procure une plus grande souplesse dans la gestion de ses activités et lui permet également d'atteindre son objectif : offrir des programmes axés sur la clientèle qui mettent l'accent sur le service, la qualité et la responsabilisation.

De même, Mesures Canada fait maintenant appel aux fournisseurs de services autorisés pour fournir un bon nombre des services d'inspection et de certification en son nom. Il assure aussi la surveillance de ces organismes pour veiller à ce que les normes du gouvernement soient respectées.

Le champ d'activités de Mesures Canada : la métrologie commerciale

Mesures Canada, organisme réparti dans des bureaux régionaux, des bureaux de district et des laboratoires d'essais à l'administration centrale à Ottawa, assure des services qui permettent aux consommateurs et aux entreprises d'effectuer en toute confiance des transactions fondées sur les unités de mesure. Il offre, entre autres, les services décrits ci-après.

Étalonnage des étalons de mesure

Mesures Canada étalonne et certifie les étalons de masse, de longueur, de volume, de pression et de température ainsi que différentes grandeurs électriques, afin que les mesures soient uniformes dans le commerce intérieur et extérieur. Au Canada, toutes les mesures commerciales reposent sur ces étalons.

Approbation des appareils de mesure

Mesures Canada met à l'essai les prototypes d'appareils de mesure (balances, compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel, pompes à essence) afin de s'assurer qu'ils respectent les exigences de la loi et qu'ils peuvent donner des mesures exactes dans des conditions normales d'utilisation pendant leur durée de vie. En outre, Mesures Canada donne son approbation pour l'utilisation commerciale de ces appareils de mesure dans le commerce de gros et de détail.

Inspection et certification

Les inspecteurs de Mesures Canada et les fournisseurs de services autorisés procèdent à l'inspection et à la certification de milliers d'appareils de pesage et de mesure et vérifient des millions de compteurs d'électricité et de gaz afin d'assurer leur constante précision et de prévenir la fraude. Les inspecteurs vérifient également si les biens et les services vendus sur la base d'unités de mesure sont mesurés avec exactitude.

Enquêtes sur les contestations et les plaintes

Mesures Canada fait enquête sur les plaintes de quiconque s'estime lésé à cause de mesures inexactes et des personnes insatisfaites des résultats d'une transaction fondée sur des unités de mesure.

La mesure juste, c'est aussi votre responsabilité

Chacun a un rôle à jouer pour veiller à ce que le marché emploie la mesure juste. Mesures Canada contribue au maintien d'un marché juste et compétitif en surveillant et en réglementant le commerce fondé sur les unités de mesure. Les entreprises et les consommateurs participent à son action en signalant toute mesure présumée inexacte. Ces efforts, combinés à l'honnêteté et à l'intégrité des fournisseurs et des détaillants, font que les Canadiens ont confiance d'obtenir les biens et services qu'ils ont payés.

Renseignements complémentaires

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Mesures Canada le plus proche. Vous trouverez les coordonnées dans les pages bleues de l'annuaire téléphonique.

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Date de modification :