Recommended certification frequencies for devices

Regular inspections of devices improve measurement accuracy and help ensure compliance with the Weights and Measures Act and Regulations.

Mandatory inspection frequencies only apply to some sectors. The following inspection frequencies are recommended for all other sectors in which weighing and measuring devices are used in trade measurement.

Recommended inspection frequencies for devices
Trade sector Device type Recommended inspection frequency
Livestock and poultry All weighing and measuring devices used for trade, with the exception of devices used exclusively for formulating, testing and batching, and for packaging standard-sized packages or containers, which are excluded. 1 year
Food and beverages All weighing and measuring devices used for trade, with the exception of devices used exclusively for formulating, testing and batching, and for packaging standard-sized packages or containers, which are excluded. 2 years
Chemical products All weighing devices used for trade, and all meters used to measure alcohols, fertilizers and solvents. Devices used for cryogenic products and de-icing fluids and devices used exclusively for formulating, testing and batching, and for packaging standard-sized packages or containers are not included. 1 year
Textiles All weighing and measuring devices used for trade, with the exception of devices used exclusively for formulating, testing and batching, and for packaging standard-sized packages or containers, which are excluded. 1 year
Fruits and vegetables All weighing and measuring devices used for trade, with the exception of devices used exclusively for formulating, testing and batching, and for packaging standard-sized packages or containers, which are excluded. 2 years
Metal scrap Railway scales and all other weighing and measuring devices, with the exception of static linear devices, which are excluded. 2 years
Transportation Railway scales. 2 years
Other devices used in trade. 1 year
Waste collection and disposal Railway scales 2 years
All other weighing and measuring devices, with the exception of static linear devices, which are excluded. 1 year
Date modified:

Fréquences de certification recommandées des instruments

Les inspections régulières des appareils permettent d'assurer l'exactitude de la mesure et de vérifier la conformité à la Loi et au Règlement sur les poids et mesures.

Les fréquences d'inspection obligatoires sont seulement exigées dans certains secteurs. On recommande les fréquences d'inspection suivantes dans tous les autres secteurs dans lesquels des appareils de pesage et de mesure sont utilisés pour des transactions commerciales fondées sur la mesure.

Fréquences d'inspection recommandées des appareils
Secteur commercial Type d'appareil Fréquence d'inspection recommandée
Élevage du bétail et de la volaille Tous les appareils de pesage et de mesure commerciaux, à l'exception des appareils utilisés exclusivement pour la formulation, les essais et le dosage, et pour l'emballage de conditionnements ou de contenants de format standard, qui sont exclus. 1 an
Produits alimentaires et boissons Tous les appareils de pesage et de mesure commerciaux, à l'exception des appareils utilisés exclusivement pour la formulation, les essais et le dosage, et pour l'emballage de conditionnements ou de contenants de format standard, qui sont exclus. 2 ans
Produits chimiques Tous les appareils de pesage commerciaux et tous les compteurs servant au mesurage des alcools, des engrais et des solvants. Les appareils de mesures utilisés pour les produits cryogéniques et les liquides de dégivrage, et ceux qui sont utilisés exclusivement pour la formulation, les essais et le dosage, et pour l'emballage de conditionnements ou de contenants de format standard ne sont pas inclus. 1 an
Textiles Tous les appareils de pesage et de mesure commerciaux, à l'exception des appareils utilisés exclusivement pour la formulation, les essais et le dosage, et pour l'emballage de conditionnements ou de contenants de format standard, qui sont exclus. 1 an
Fruits et légumes Tous les appareils de pesage et de mesure commerciaux, à l'exception des appareils utilisés exclusivement pour la formulation, les essais et le dosage, et pour l'emballage de conditionnements ou de contenants de format standard, qui sont exclus. 2 ans
Ferraille Ponts-bascules ferroviaires et tous les autres appareils de pesage et de mesure, à l’exception des appareils de mesure linéaire statiques, qui sont exclus. 2 ans
Transport Ponts-bascules ferroviaires. 2 ans
Autres appareils commerciaux. 1 an
Collecte et élimination des déchets Ponts-bascules ferroviaires 2 ans
Tous les autres appareils de pesage et de mesure, à l’exception des appareils de mesure linéaire statiques, qui sont exclus. 1 an
Date de modification :