Application of PS-G-04—Provisional Specifications for the Verification and Reverification of Turbine Gas Meters With High-Pressure Test Certificates

Purpose

This information bulletin is intended to communicate Measurement Canada's policy on the application of PS-G-04—Provisional Specifications for the Verification and Reverification of Turbine Gas Meters With High-Pressure Test Certificates until such time as it is revoked.

Background

PS-G-04 requires that turbine meters with a high-pressure test certificate from a recognized test facility be tested with air at atmospheric pressure where the capabilities of local test facilities permit. However, where such test facilities are not locally available, PS-G-04 permits them to be verified or reverified on the basis of their high-pressure test results alone.

Some meter owners and authorized service providers have expressed concern that the availability of local test facilities with atmospheric pressure testing capabilities dictates whether or not atmospheric pressure testing is required. They would prefer that turbine meters with high-pressure test certificates from a recognized test facility be verified or reverified on the basis of their high-pressure test results alone, regardless of the availability of local test facilities with atmospheric pressure testing capabilities. They see no reason for atmospheric pressure testing of turbine meters that have been adjusted and tested at high pressure and are intended for use in service at high pressure. Other meter owners choose to have their turbine meters verified or reverified on the basis of their high pressure and atmospheric pressure test results and prefer to continue this practice.

Application of PS-G-04

Measurement Canada has established a project for the development of new specifications for the verification and reverification of turbine meters. This project is to be undertaken by a joint working group comprising industry stakeholders and representatives of the Agency, and is expected to address existing concerns with PS-G-04. These new specifications will supersede all current specifications for the verification and reverification of turbine gas meters, including PS-G-04.

Until such time as PS-G-04 is revoked and superseded by these new specifications, it is to be applied as follows:

For additional information concerning this information bulletin, please contact the undersigned.

Steve Clyens
Senior Program Office, Program Development Directorate
Measurement Canada

Date modified:

Application de PS-G-04 — Norme provisoire pour la vérification initiale ou subséquente des compteurs volumétriques de gaz à turbine avec certificats d’essai à haute pression

Objectif

Le présent bulletin d'information a pour but de communiquer la politique de Mesures Canada concernant l'application de PS-G-04 — Norme provisoire pour la vérification initiale ou subséquente des compteurs volumétriques de gaz à turbine avec certificats d'essai à haute pression jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit révoquée.

Contexte

La norme PS-G-04 stipule que tout compteur de gaz à turbine accompagné d'un certificat d'essai à haute pression délivré par une installation d'essai reconnue doit être testé avec de l'air à la pression atmosphérique lorsque les capacités d'une installation d'essai locale le permettent. Toutefois, en l'absence d'une telle installation d'essai locale, la norme PS-G-04 autorise la vérification ou revérification desdits compteurs en fonction des résultats de leur essai sous haute pression seulement.

Certains propriétaires de compteurs et fournisseurs de services autorisés se disent préoccupés par le fait que la disponibilité des installations d'essai locales capables de mener des essais à la pression atmosphérique dicte la nécessité d'un essai à l'air à la pression atmosphérique. Ils aimeraient mieux que les compteurs de gaz à turbine accompagnés d'un certificat d'essai à haute pression délivré par une installation d'essai reconnue soient vérifiés ou revérifiés uniquement en fonction des résultats de leurs essais sous haute pression, peu importe qu'une installation d'essai locale à l'air à la pression atmosphérique soit disponible ou non. Ils estiment qu'il n'y a aucune raison de régler et de tester les compteurs de gaz à turbine à l'air à la pression atmosphérique qui ont subi un essai sous haute pression et qui doivent être utilisés sur un système sous haute pression. D'autres propriétaires de compteurs qui font vérifier ou revérifier leurs compteurs de gaz à turbine à la fois d'après les résultats d'essai à la pression atmosphérique et sous haute pression préfèrent continuer cette pratique.

Application de la norme PS-G-04

Mesures Canada a lancé un projet pour l'élaboration d'une nouvelle norme en matière de vérification et de revérification des compteurs de gaz à turbine. Le projet sera mené par un groupe de travail mixte qui regroupe des intervenants de l'industrie et des représentants de l'Organisme. Son but est de résoudre les préoccupations suscitées par la norme PS-G-04. Cette nouvelle norme remplacera toutes celles actuellement en vigueur sur la vérification et la revérification des compteurs de gaz à turbine, y compris la norme PS-G-04.

Entre-temps, la norme PS-G-04 doit être appliquée de la façon suivante :

Pour plus de détails concernant le présent bulletin d'information, veuillez communiquer avec le soussigné.

Steve Clyens
Agent principal des programmes, Direction du développement des programmes
Mesures Canada

Date de modification :