Language selection

Search

Permitting the use of standards and apparatus past their recertification date

COVID-19 public health measures have impacted Measurement Canada's (MC) ability to provide calibration services. To support authorized service providers (ASPs) and allow them to continue delivering examination and verification services, MC will permit certain local standards and apparatus that have passed their recertification date to continue to be used for examinations and verifications under certain circumstances.

Weights greater than 5 kg calibrated in MC district offices

These weights may be used for examinations up to 2 months past their recertification date, with the permission from the signatory of their certificate of designation. ASPs must contact the signatory to receive this permission before the weights' recertification date and prior to using them past their recertification date.

Local standards of volume

Volumetric provers calibrated in MC district offices

These standards may be used for examinations up to 3 months past their recertification date, with permission from the signatory of their certificate of designation. ASPs must contact the signatory to receive this permission prior to using these standards past their recertification date and for any other questions concerning the use of these volumetric provers.

Measuring apparatus located in meter shops

For measuring apparatus such as test consoles and gas measuring equipment located in ASP meter testing facilities, requests for extensions of certificates of calibration will be considered on a case-by-case basis taking into account previous years' calibration data and other technical information on the apparatus, historical performance of the apparatus, etc. ASPs should contact their MC designated auditor for further information and guidance.

ASPs should also contact their MC designated auditor in cases where there is a need to:

All other standards

ASPs must complete the Request to Use Standards Past Their Recertification Date and submit it to MC's Engineering and Laboratory Services Directorate (ic.mcacsl-mclsae.ic@canada.ca) to receive permission to use the following gas mixtures, standards and apparatus past their recertification date:

MC must have carried out a minimum of 2 calibration cycles of the following standards for them to be considered:

MC will determine on a case-by-case basis, taking into account previous years' calibration data and other technical information on the standard or apparatus, whether to allow the standards or apparatus to be used for examinations or verifications past their recertification date and for how long.

Conditions of use

Local standards and apparatus that meet the above criteria (types of standards, number of calibration cycles) may only be used for an examination or a verification under the following conditions:

MC may request photographs of standards or apparatus used past their recertification date to confirm their condition and the integrity of their seals.

Upon receipt of standards and apparatus for recalibration, a verification of all seals and the "as-found" values may be completed. Should a standard or apparatus be outside the applicable limits of error or have broken seals, this must be reported to the ASP's MC contact. Devices examined or verified with those standards may require recertification or re-examination. Further review of the examinations or verifications performed with standards or apparatus past their certification date could be undertaken.

MC will re-evaluate the above measures should it be unable to provide calibrations services for a significant period.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Permettre l'utilisation des étalons et des appareils après leur date de recertification

Les mesures de santé publique liées à la COVID-19 ont eu un effet sur la capacité de Mesures Canada (MC) à fournir des services d'étalonnage. Pour soutenir les fournisseurs de services autorisés (FSA) et leur permettre de continuer à fournir des services d'examen et de vérification, MC permettra à certains étalons et appareils locaux dont la date de recertification est passée de continuer à être utilisés dans certaines circonstances.

Poids de plus de 5 kg étalonnés dans les bureaux de district de MC

Ces poids peuvent être utilisés pour les examens jusqu'à 2 mois après leur date de recertification, avec l'autorisation du signataire de leur certificat de désignation. Les FSA doivent communiquer avec le signataire pour obtenir cette autorisation avant d'utiliser ces poids après leur date de recertification

Étalons de volume locaux

Étalons volumétriques étalonnés dans les bureaux de district de MC

Ces étalons peuvent être utilisés pour les examens jusqu'à 3 mois après leur date de recertification, avec l'autorisation du signataire de leur certificat de désignation. Les FSA doivent communiquer avec le signataire pour obtenir cette autorisation avant d'utiliser ces étalons après leur date de recertification et s'ils ont d'autres questions sur l'utilisation de ces étalons volumétriques.

Appareils de mesure situés dans les ateliers de compteurs

Pour les appareils de mesure tels que les consoles d'essai et l'équipement de mesure du gaz situés dans les installations d'essai des compteurs des FSA, les demandes de prolongation des certificats d'étalonnage seront examinées au cas par cas en tenant compte des données d'étalonnage des années précédentes et d'autres informations techniques sur l'appareil, du rendement historique de l'appareil, etc. Les FSA devraient communiquer avec leur auditeur de MC désigné pour obtenir de plus amples informations et des conseils.

Les FSA devraient également communiquer avec l'auditeur de MC désigné dans les cas où il est nécessaire :

Tous les autres étalons

Les FSA doivent remplir le formulaire Demande d'utilisation des étalons et des appareils après leur date de recertification Demande d'utilisation des étalons et des appareils après leur date de recertification et le soumettre à la Direction des services d'ingénierie et de laboratoire de MC (ic.mcacsl-mclsae.ic@canada.ca) pour recevoir l'autorisation d'utiliser les mélanges de gaz, étalons et appareils suivants après leur date de recertification :

Pour être pris en considération, MC doit avoir effectué au moins 2 cycles d'étalonnage des étalons suivants :

MC déterminera au cas par cas, en tenant compte des données d'étalonnage des années précédentes et d'autres informations techniques sur l'étalon ou l'appareil, s'il convient d'autoriser leur utilisation pour des examens ou des vérifications après leur date de recertification et pour combien de temps.

Conditions d'utilisation

Les étalons et appareils locaux qui répondent aux critères ci-dessus (types d'étalons, nombre de cycles d'étalonnage) ne peuvent être utilisés pour un examen ou une vérification que dans les conditions suivantes :

MC peut demander des photographies des étalons ou appareils utilisés après leur date de recertification pour confirmer leur état et l'intégrité de leurs sceaux.

À la réception des étalons et des appareils pour le réétalonnage, une vérification de tous les sceaux et des valeurs « tel que trouvé » peut être effectuée. Si un étalon ou un appareil se trouve en dehors des marges de tolérance applicables ou si les sceaux sont brisés, le FSA doit le signaler à sa personne-ressource à MC. Les appareils examinés ou vérifiés à l'aide de ces étalons peuvent nécessiter une nouvelle certification ou un nouvel examen. Un contrôle plus approfondi des examens ou vérifications effectués avec les étalons ou appareils après leur date de certification pourrait être entrepris.

MC réévaluera les mesures ci-dessus s'il ne peut pas fournir de services d'étalonnage pendant une période significative.

Date de modification :