Device inspections in remote locations

Measurement Canada (MC) ensures equity and accuracy where goods and services are bought and sold on the basis of measurement and contributes to a fair and competitive marketplace for Canadians.

MC is engaging with approximately 7,900 businesses in remote locations that use scales, gas pumps and other measuring devices to sell products on the basis of measure as well as non-government authorized service providers recognized by MC to offer inspection services.

The purpose of this consultation is to ask them to share their views, concerns, ideas and proposals on the specific and real challenges faced in rural communities and on how to improve oversight of remotely located measuring devices (options for gaining compliance, enforcement alternatives when inaccurate measurement is found, etc.).

These businesses have rural postal codes, have measuring devices previously inspected by an MC inspector or an MC authorized service provider, and operate in one of eight sectors with mandatory device recertification frequencies (retail food, retail petroleum, forestry, mining, dairy, fishing, wholesale petroleum, and grain and field crops sectors).

Businesses selected to participate in this consultation will receive an email from MC with the email address measurement.canada.mc.mesures.canada.mc@notification.alpha.canada.ca. Information and data resulting from this consultation will be analyzed and inform further consultations and engagement with businesses.

Have questions? Please send an email to mailto:ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Inspections des appareils dans les régions éloignées

Mesures Canada (MC) veille à l'équité et à l'exactitude lorsque des biens et des services sont achetés et vendus en fonction de la mesure et contribue à un marché équitable et concurrentiel pour les Canadiennes et Canadiens.

MC collabore avec environ 7 900 entreprises situées dans des régions éloignées qui utilisent des balances, des pompes à essence et d'autres appareils de mesure pour vendre des produits en fonction de la mesure, ainsi qu'avec des fournisseurs de services autorisés non gouvernementaux qui sont reconnus par MC pour offrir des services d'inspection.

L'objectif de cette consultation est de leur demander de partager leurs points de vue, préoccupations, idées et propositions sur les défis particuliers et réels auxquels sont confrontées les communautés rurales et sur la manière d'améliorer la surveillance (options pour obtenir la conformité, alternatives d'application lorsque des mesures inexactes sont trouvées, etc.).

Ces entreprises ont des codes postaux ruraux, disposent d'appareils de mesure préalablement inspectés par un inspecteur ou un fournisseur de services autorisé de MC, et opèrent dans l'un des huit secteurs soumis à des fréquences de recertification obligatoires des appareils (secteurs de l'alimentation au détail, du pétrole au détail, de la foresterie, de l'exploitation minière, des produits laitiers, de la pêche, du pétrole en gros et des grains et grandes cultures).

Les entreprises choisies pour participer à cette consultation recevront un courriel de MC avec l'adresse measurement.canada.mc.mesures.canada.mc@notification.alpha.canada.ca. Les informations et les données résultant de cette consultation seront analysées et serviront de base à d'autres consultations et engagements avec les entreprises.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez envoyer un courriel à ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :