Language selection

Search

What we heard: Consultation on device inspections in remote locations

About Measurement Canada

We ensure equity and accuracy where goods and services are bought and sold on the basis of measurement in Canada. We are active across Canada, from major metropolitan areas to the most remote locations in the country. This contributes to a fair and competitive marketplace for all Canadians, regardless of where in Canada they reside.

About the consultation

Between July 16 and August 7, 2020, we reached out to 7,870 businesses operating in remote locations that use scales, gas pumps and other measuring devices to sell products based on measurement, as well as authorized service providers (ASPs) who inspect and certify these devices. We invited businesses meeting all of the following criteria to participate in the consultation:

The purpose of the consultation was to gather specific information about device owners and ASPs in remote locations as it relates to complying with our existing program requirements.

Consultation results

Of the 7,870 businesses that we reached out to, 1,729 businesses (22%) responded to the consultation questions we sent to them by email. Of those that responded, 908 (53%) indicated that they met our definition of a remote location.

Of the respondents operating businesses in remote locations, 89% indicated that they are in compliance with the government requirement to have their measuring devices recertified. The vast majority of respondents indicated that they operated businesses in the retail petroleum and retail food sectors. Many respondents also noted that they have multiple measuring devices such as gas pumps and retail food scales that they operate simultaneously, as their businesses are often multi-faceted due to their remote location.

Respondents also addressed questions of frequency in their responses, with 389 (44%) of respondents in remote locations reporting that they use their scale, gas pump or other measuring device less than 25 times per day, with 311 (35%) indicating that they have no competitors in the area. This highlights two main factors regarding businesses in remote locations and trade measurement in Canada. First, the data appears to show a low number of daily transactions, which may suggest that recertification requirements for measuring devices have a greater impact on operating costs for these remote businesses. Second, the data appears to show how crucial these businesses are to their communities, where there is often no other place to purchase essentials such as food and gasoline.

Due to the remote location of many respondents, a significant number (74%) reported facing difficulties obtaining qualified ASPs to inspect and recertify their measurement devices. A total of 29% of respondents stated that cost was the biggest barrier in obtaining service. It is much more expensive to obtain service in remote regions where our inspectors are not available, and ASP inspections are more expensive due to the difficulties in reaching the inspection sites. A further 32% of respondents reported a lack of access to ASPs altogether, due to their unwillingness or unavailability to travel to the location, or due to another obstacle.

A total of 158 ASPs responded to this consultation, with 130 reporting that they conduct less than 25% of their business in remote locations. Additionally, 16% of ASPs indicated that they had refused or were unable to perform work in remote locations. Although this is a small sample size compared to the total number of ASPs operating in Canada, these results are consistent with what businesses in remote locations reported about a lack of access to ASPs due to their location. ASPs indicated that scheduling, cost, weather and the transportation of equipment were the main challenges they faced in providing service to remote locations. A total of 50% of ASPs indicated that they would like further cooperation from both businesses in remote locations and us in order to facilitate inspections.

Next steps

Over the coming months, we will continue to analyze the data and responses collected in order to identify trends and come up with solutions to measurement and recertification issues faced by businesses in remote locations. We are committed to:

We are also committed to improving our education and compliance promotion efforts by:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Ce que nous avons entendu : inspections des appareils dans les régions éloignées

Au sujet de Mesures Canada

Nous veillons à l'équité et à l'exactitude lorsque des biens et des services sont achetés et vendus en fonction de la mesure au Canada. Nous sommes actifs dans l'ensemble du Canada, des régions métropolitaines importantes aux régions les plus éloignées du pays. Cela contribue à un marché juste et concurrentiel pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, peu importe où ils habitent au Canada.

Au sujet de la consultation

Entre le 16 juillet et le 7 août 2020, nous sommes entrés en contact avec 7 870 entreprises en région éloignée qui utilisent des balances, des pompes à essence et d'autres appareils de mesure pour vendre des produits en fonction de la mesure, ainsi que des fournisseurs de services autorisés (FSA) qui inspectent et certifient ces appareils. Nous avons invité les entreprises qui répondent à tous les critères suivants à participer à la consultation :

L'objectif de la consultation était de recueillir des informations précises sur les propriétaires d'appareils et les FSA en région éloignée en ce qui concerne le respect de nos exigences de programme existantes.

Résultats de la consultation

Parmi les 7 870 entreprises avec qui nous sommes entrés en contact, 1 729 (22 %) ont répondu aux questions de consultation que nous leur avons envoyées par courriel. Parmi celles qui ont répondu, 908 (53 %) ont dit répondre à notre définition de région éloignée.

Parmi les répondants qui exploitent des entreprises dans des régions éloignées, 89 % ont indiqué qu'ils se conformaient à l'exigence du gouvernement de faire recertifier leurs appareils de mesure. La grande majorité des répondants ont dit qu'ils exploitaient des entreprises dans les secteurs du pétrole et de l'alimentation au détail. De nombreux répondants ont également dit qu'ils utilisent plusieurs types d'appareils de mesure, comme des pompes à essence et des balances pour les aliments vendus au détail, car leurs entreprises sont souvent multidimensionnelles puisqu'elles sont situées dans une région éloignée.

Les répondants ont également répondu aux questions sur la fréquence : 389 (44 %) des répondants en région éloignée ont dit utiliser leur appareil de mesure moins de 25 fois par jour et 311 (35 %) ont dit qu'ils n'ont pas de concurrents dans leur région. Ces données soulignent deux principaux facteurs concernant les entreprises en région éloignée et la mesure commerciale au Canada. Premièrement, les données semblent indiquer un faible nombre de transactions quotidiennes, ce qui pourrait suggérer que les exigences relatives à la recertification des appareils de mesure ont une incidence plus grande sur les coûts d'exploitation pour ces entreprises rurales. Deuxièmement, les données semblent montrer la place centrale de ces entreprises dans leur collectivité, où il n'y a souvent pas d'autre endroit pour acheter des produits essentiels comme de la nourriture ou de l'essence.

Puisque de nombreux répondants sont situés dans des régions éloignées, un nombre important (74 %) d'entre eux ont signalé avoir de la difficulté à trouver des FSA qualifiés pour inspecter et recertifier leurs appareils de mesure. On compte 29 % des répondants ayant dit que les coûts étaient la première limitation dans l'obtention de services. Il est beaucoup plus dispendieux d'obtenir des services dans des régions éloignées où il n'y a pas de membres de notre personnel d'inspection et où les inspections des FSA sont plus dispendieuses en raison de la difficulté à se rendre aux sites d'inspection. En outre, 32 % des répondants ont signalé ne pas avoir accès aux FSA, soit parce qu'ils refusent de se rendre sur place, soit en raison d'un autre obstacle.

On compte 158 FSA ayant répondu à la consultation, dont 130 ont dit réaliser moins de 25 % de leurs activités dans les régions éloignées. De plus, 16 % des FSA ayant répondu ont indiqué qu'ils avaient refusé d'effectuer du travail dans des régions éloignées ou qu'ils n'étaient pas en mesure de la faire. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un petit échantillon comparativement au nombre total de FSA qui exercent leurs activités au Canada, ces résultats correspondent à ce que les entreprises en région éloignée signalent sur le manque d'accès aux FSA en raison de leur emplacement. Les FSA ont dit que la planification, les coûts, la météo et le transport d'équipement représentaient les principaux enjeux à affronter pour fournir des services dans les régions éloignées. Parmi les FSA ayant répondu à la consultation, 50 % ont indiqué qu'ils aimeraient une coopération accrue de la part des entreprises en région éloignée et de nous dans le but de simplifier les inspections.

Prochaines étapes

Au cours des mois à venir, nous continuerons notre analyse des données et des réponses recueillies pour déterminer les tendances et trouver des solutions aux problèmes de mesure et de recertification auxquels font face les entreprises en région éloignée. Nous nous engageons à :

Nous nous engageons également à améliorer nos efforts en matière de sensibilisation et de promotion de la conformité en :

Date de modification :