Language selection

Search

Consultation on the oversight of Level 1 and Level 2 electric vehicle charging devices already in service

Current status: Closed

This consultation was closed on .

Purpose

We are looking for input into our strategy for allowing the continued use and oversight of Level 1 and Level 2 electric vehicle (EV) charging devices already deployed in the Canadian marketplace.

Background

In parallel with other jurisdictions across the world and in consultation with international metrological organizations, industry, associations and other stakeholders, Measurement Canada is establishing specifications for the design, manufacture, performance and use of EV charging devices in the Canadian marketplace, and is preparing to make these specifications available in the very near future.

The Electricity and Gas Inspection Act requires that when electricity is sold based on a measured quantity (e.g. kilowatt hour or kWh), the measurement device must be type-approved by us for use in Canada. Consequently, EV charging devices that include a metering function used to establish a bill for the energy consumed by an EV during a recharging event will soon be required to be approved for use.

Even though devices already deployed across Canada and used for commercial transactions at EV charging stations are designed and built according to various international specifications and best practices, they have not yet been approved by Measurement Canada for use in Canada. As of January 2022, there are over 6,690 EV charging sites across Canada (with over 15,560 EV charging ports). In addition, the Government of Canada committed $300 million over four years for a zero-emission vehicle infrastructure (Budget 2019/Fall Economic Statement 2020), which is fueling growth in this marketplace sector and continued expansion of the EV charging network across Canada.

Scope

The proposed policy options in this document apply to Level 1 and Level 2 commercial EV charging stations used for the purpose of delivering or receiving electricity.

This consultation does not apply to devices used primarily for the purpose of charging electric vehicles in a residential setting, such as:

Policy considerations

To assist early adopters of EV technology, foster continued growth in the clean fuel sector, and support government-wide clean fuel initiatives, Measurement Canada must establish an oversight policy to allow the continued use of the large population of EV charging devices already in use, until such a time as charging station operators in the Canadian marketplace are able to update and submit their existing EV charging devices for type-approval and verification, or replace them with type-approved devices.

Once EV charging device specifications are established, EV charging station operators will be required to sell electricity on the basis of a measured quantity (kWh), and not on the basis of time as they do today. However, given the large number of EV chargers already in the Canadian marketplace, we are seeking a solution to allow for the continued use in the marketplace of these devices without imposing an immediate pressure on businesses and consumers to meet the new specifications. Additionally, we must manage the approval and verification of this large population of devices using a measured, risk based approach in order to address future resource demands on our own organization. One way to facilitate this transition is through the use of a temporary dispensation issued in accordance with the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, which would ensure a defined and gradual implementation roadmap to full compliance. Or alternatively, EV charging station operators may choose to fully conform to the new EV charging device specifications, therefore avoiding participation in any temporary dispensation program. Any EV charging devices not subject to the temporary dispensation or the type approval process will be considered not legal for trade after policy implementation.

In considering various options concerning the continued use of currently deployed EV charging devices, we must ensure that the approach is fair, transparent and workable for all stakeholders. In particular, the chosen approach must consider:

Proposed options

Option 1 – Temporary dispensation for Level 1 & Level 2 electric vehicle charging devices put into service prior to January 1, 2023

  • Any EV charging device in service prior to January 1, 2023 is eligible for a temporary dispensation under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, subject to terms and conditions that will remain in effect until, no later than December 31, 2029, the device is verified as fully conforming to the EV charging device specifications or removed from service.
  • EV charging devices put into service on or after January 1, 2023 must comply with all applicable Measurement Canada requirements for EV charging devices and are not eligible for a temporary dispensation from the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.
  • Starting on January 1, 2030, all EV charging devices are required to be verified as fully conforming to EV charging device specifications.

Key points of option 1:

  • Phase 1 - Prior to January 1, 2023, EV charging station operators wishing to continue using non type-approved EV charging devices to sell electricity on the basis of kilowatt hours (kWh) must apply for a Certificate of Registration in accordance with requirements set out in Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations. They must also provide Measurement Canada with a list of both Canadian type-approved and non-type approved EV charging devices it currently has deployed in the Canadian marketplace.
  • Phase 2 – Prior to January 1, 2023, EV charging devices identified as previously deployed in the Canadian marketplace are subject to a temporary dispensation granting the EV charging station operator permission to use them without verification or sealing of the EV charging devices, under certain terms and conditions (see Appendix A for a list of proposed terms and conditions).
  • The temporary dispensation expires on January 1, 2030.
  • The temporary dispensation will be cancelled if, at any time during the dispensation:
    • an EV charging station operator fails to meet the terms and conditions set by Measurement Canada;
    • the EV charging device is removed from service; or
    • a new Certificate of Registration is issued, at which time the EV charging device must be verified in accordance with the EV charging device specifications.

Option 2 – Temporary dispensation for Level 1 & Level 2 electric vehicle charging devices put into service prior to January 1, 2025

  • Any EV charging device in service prior to January 1, 2025 is eligible for a temporary dispensation under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, subject to terms and conditions that will remain in effect until, no later than December 31, 2029, the device is verified as fully conforming to the EV charging device specifications or removed from service.
  • EV charging devices put into service on or after January 1, 2025 must comply with all applicable Measurement Canada requirements for EV charging devices and are not eligible for a temporary dispensation from the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.
  • Starting on January 1, 2030, all EV charging devices are required to be verified as fully conforming to EV charging device specifications.

Key points of option 2:

  • Phase 1 - Prior to January 1, 2025, EV charging station operators wishing to continue using non type-approved EV charging devices to sell electricity on the basis of kilowatt hours (kWh) must apply for a Certificate of Registration in accordance with requirements set out in Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations. They must also provide Measurement Canada with a list of both Canadian type-approved and non-type approved EV charging devices it currently has deployed in the Canadian marketplace.
  • Phase 2 - Prior to January 1, 2025, EV charging devices identified as previously deployed in the Canadian marketplace are subject to a temporary dispensation granting the EV charging station operator permission to use them without verification or sealing of the EV charging devices, under certain terms and conditions (see Appendix A for a list of proposed terms and conditions).
  • The temporary dispensation expires on January 1, 2030.
  • The temporary dispensation will be cancelled if, at any time during the dispensation:
    • an EV charging station operator fails to meet the terms and conditions set by Measurement Canada;
    • the EV charging device is removed from service; or
    • a new Certificate of Registration is issued, at which time the EV charging device must be verified in accordance with the EV charging device specifications.

Option 3 – Temporary dispensation for multi-phased implementation

  • Any EV charging device in service prior to January 1, 2030 is eligible for a temporary dispensation under the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act, subject to terms and conditions that will remain in effect until, no later than December 31, 2029, the device is verified as fully conforming to the EV charging device specifications or removed from service.
  • Starting on January 1, 2030, all EV charging devices are required to be verified as fully conforming to EV charging device specifications.

Key points of option 3:

  • EV charging station operators using the temporary dispensation for EV charging devices must meet the terms and conditions of the applicable phase described below, based on when the EV charging device is put into service.
  • Phase 1 - Prior to January 1, 2023, EV charging station operators wishing to continue using non type-approved EV charging devices to sell electricity on the basis of kilowatt hours (kWh) must apply for a Certificate of Registration in accordance with requirements set out in Electricity and Gas Inspection Regulations. They must also provide Measurement Canada with a list of both Canadian type-approved and non-type approved EV charging devices it currently has deployed in the Canadian marketplace.
  • Phase 2 – January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2025 (3 years) – Non type-approved EV charging devices are eligible for a temporary dispensation granting the EV charging station operator permission to put into service without verification and sealing these charging devices, if the operator demonstrates that they meet the terms and conditions of the temporary dispensation (see Appendix A for a list of proposed terms and conditions).
  • Phase 3 – January 1, 2026 to December 31, 2029 (4 years) – EV charging station operators using the temporary dispensation option can continue to put into service without verification and sealing these unapproved meters, if the operator:
    • completes the requirements of Phase 1 and, within 6 months of being issued a Certificate of Registration;
    • demonstrates that they meet or continue to meet the terms and conditions for phase 2; and
    • meets the additional terms and conditions of Phase 3 (see Appendix A for a list of proposed terms and conditions).
  • The temporary dispensation expires on January 1, 2030.
  • The temporary dispensation will be cancelled if, at any time during the dispensation:
    • an EV charging station operator fails to meet the terms and conditions set by Measurement Canada;
    • the EV charging device is removed from service; or
    • a new Certificate of Registration is issued, at which time the EV charging device must be verified in accordance with the EV charging device specifications.

Temporary dispensation notes

  • A temporary dispensation is a regulatory instrument authorized by Section 9.2 of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act. It is used to grant permission to charging station operators to put into service, without verification and sealing or without sealing, of any meter or any class, type or design of meter on a temporary basis. Temporary dispensations are subject to the terms and conditions specified by the President of Measurement Canada and in force for a specified period of time.
  • At any point, an EV charging station operator may have their unapproved EV charging devices verified as fully conforming to the EV charging device specifications, therefore ending their participation in the temporary dispensation program.

Appendix A – Proposed terms and conditions

  1. Proposed terms and conditions of a temporary dispensation described in Option 1, Option 2 and Phase 2 of Option 3 shall include but are not limited to the following:
    1. EV charging station operators ensure that, for the duration of the temporary dispensation, eligible EV charging devices, at a minimum:
      1. Supply electricity to the purchaser within an acceptable limit of error of ±3% and provide evidence (as requested by us) that the EV charging device has been tested using an acceptable method and standard as defined by Measurement Canada;
      2. Use the watt hour, or any multiple or submultiple of the watt hour, as the unit of measurement for the sale of electricity;
      3. Are equipped with a means to display legally-relevant information that is either connected to an integral, remote and/or non-connected system (i.e. remote register), or an information storage system such as the Cloud network;
      4. Provide receipts and keep records of transactions for a period of time that is no less than 24 months; and
      5. Display placards stating that the EV charging device does not meet the full requirements of the Measurement Canada approved specifications.
    2. EV charging station operators put in place a process for dealing with customer complaints that at a minimum:
      1. Records complaints from purchasers;
      2. Makes inquiries of the purchaser who made the complaint and of any person who could reasonably be expected to have knowledge relevant to the matter;
      3. Examines any records related to the EV charging device that is the subject of the complaint;
      4. Tests the EV charging device that is the subject of the complaint;
      5. Documents the results of the test and provides a copy of the results to the purchaser who made the complaint;
      6. Keeps records of all complaints, investigation summaries and test results until January 1, 2030;
      7. Makes records available to Measurement Canada upon request; and
      8. Institutes corrective measures to address a failure to meet the terms and conditions of the temporary dispensation, discovered as a result of the complaint investigation process.
    3. Upon agreeing to the terms and conditions of the temporary dispensation and every 12 months subsequently, EV charging station operators must test a minimum of 10% of their devices to verify that they are supplying electricity within the prescribed limit of error. Year-over-year sample batches must be comprised of devices not tested previously. EV station operators must also maintain records including the results of these tests, and provide those records to Measurement Canada when requested.
  2. Proposed terms and conditions of a dispensation described in Phase 3 of Option 3 shall include but not be limited to the following:
    1. EV station operators ensure that, in addition to continue meeting the terms and conditions of Phase 2, EV charging devices at a minimum:
      1. Display increments of significant figures;
      2. Include a billing and display structure which outlines the unit price of electricity sold or billed, with separate categories of billing type. Where the EV charging device display is not capable of presenting this information, a placard showing this data shall be posted in a visible location on the device;
      3. Provide a means for legally relevant software and firmware verification; and
      4. Include digital sealing and event logging provisions as stipulated in S-EG-05 and S-EG-06, as well as non-digital sealing provisions.

Providing feedback

Comments and details of any proposed changes to the policy options described above must be sent to mcfeedback-retroactionmc@ised-isde.gc.ca

This consultation will close on June 22, 2022.

Contact us

If you have any questions regarding this consultation, please contact us at:

mcfeedback-retroactionmc@ised-isde.gc.ca

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultation sur la surveillance des bornes de recharge de niveaux 1 et 2 pour les véhicules électriques déjà mises en service

État actuel : Fermé

Cette consultation a été fermée le .

Objectif

Nous souhaitons obtenir des commentaires concernant notre stratégie visant à permettre l'utilisation continue et la surveillance des bornes de recharge de niveaux 1 et 2 déjà présentes sur le marché canadien pour les véhicules électriques (VE).

Contexte

Mesures Canada, en collaboration avec d'autres administrations à l'échelle mondiale ainsi qu'avec des organismes internationaux de métrologie, l'industrie, les associations et d'autres intervenants, élabore des normes concernant la conception, la fabrication, le rendement et l'utilisation des bornes de recharge pour VE sur le marché canadien, et s'apprête à rendre ces normes accessibles dans un avenir immédiat.

Aux termes de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz, les dispositifs de mesure de l'électricité vendue selon une mesure de la quantité (p. ex. en kilowattheures [kWh]) doivent faire l'objet d'une approbation par Mesures Canada pour être utilisés au pays. Par conséquent, les bornes de recharge pour VE équipées d'une fonction de comptage pour déterminer le prix facturé en fonction de la quantité d'énergie nécessaire à la recharge d'un VE devront bientôt être approuvées avant leur utilisation.

Les bornes de recharge pour VE déjà utilisées pour les transactions commerciales au Canada respectent des normes et des pratiques exemplaires établies à l'international en matière de conception et de fabrication, mais Mesures Canada n'a pas encore approuvé leur utilisation au pays. En janvier 2022, plus de 6 690 sites de recharge pour VE étaient en place au Canada (plus de 15 560 prises de recharge). De plus, le gouvernement du Canada a engagé 300 millions de dollars sur quatre ans dans la construction d'une infrastructure de véhicules à émission zéro (Budget de 2019, Énoncé économique de l'automne 2020). Cet investissement stimule la croissance du marché et l'expansion en continu du réseau de recharge des VE au Canada.

Portée

Les options stratégiques proposées dans le présent document s'appliquent aux bornes de recharge pour VE de niveaux 1 et 2 qui servent à transférer ou à emmagasiner de l'électricité.

La consultation ne concerne pas les dispositifs destinés à recharger les VE en milieu résidentiel, par exemple :

Considérations stratégiques

Afin d'appuyer les utilisateurs pionniers de la technologie des VE, de promouvoir la croissance soutenue du secteur des combustibles propres et de soutenir les initiatives pangouvernementales liées aux combustibles propres, Mesures Canada doit mettre en place une politique de surveillance qui permette de continuer à utiliser la quantité considérable de bornes de recharge pour VE déjà en service jusqu'à ce que les exploitants de ces bornes sur le marché canadien soient en mesure de les actualiser et de les soumettre à une approbation de type et à une vérification, ou de les remplacer par des bornes de recharge approuvées.

Une fois les normes pour les bornes de recharge établies, les exploitants devront vendre l'électricité en fonction de la quantité mesurée (en kWh) et non plus en fonction du temps requis pour la recharge, comme c'est le cas actuellement. Toutefois, étant donné le grand nombre de bornes de recharge pour VE déjà en service au Canada, nous tentons de trouver une solution qui permette de continuer à utiliser ces bornes afin d'éviter que la nécessité de respecter les nouvelles normes n'exerce une pression immédiate sur les entreprises et les clients. De plus, nous devons procéder à l'approbation et à la vérification de toutes ces bornes existantes au moyen d'une approche réfléchie fondée sur une analyse des risques afin d'évaluer les futurs besoins en ressources de notre propre organisation. Pour faciliter la transition, une stratégie consiste à recourir à une dispense temporaire accordée conformément à la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Cette solution permettrait d'assurer l'adoption d'une feuille de route définie et graduelle vers la conformité totale. Les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE pourraient également décider de se conformer immédiatement aux nouvelles normes, de sorte qu'ils n'aient pas à participer à la dispense temporaire. À compter de la date de mise en œuvre de la politique, toute borne de recharge pour VE qui ne fait pas l'objet d'une dispense temporaire et qui n'a pas été soumise au processus d'approbation de type sera jugée non légale pour le commerce.

Durant notre examen des différentes options pour le maintien de l'utilisation des bornes de recharge actuellement en service, nous devons nous assurer que l'approche retenue est équitable, transparente et réalisable pour tous les intervenants. Plus précisément, l'approche doit prendre en considération :

Options proposées

Option 1 – Dispense temporaire pour les bornes de recharge de niveaux 1 et 2 pour VE mises en service avant le 1er janvier 2023

  • Toute borne de recharge pour VE mise en service avant le 1er janvier 2023 est admissible à une dispense temporaire en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Cette dispense est assujettie à des modalités qui demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'une vérification détermine que la borne est conforme aux normes ou qu'elle soit mise hors service, au plus tard le 31 décembre 2029.
  • Les bornes de recharge pour VE mises en service le 1er janvier 2023 ou après doivent être conformes à toutes les exigences de Mesures Canada et ne sont pas admissibles à une dispense temporaire en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.
  • À compter du 1er janvier 2030, toutes les bornes doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification et être jugées pleinement conformes aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Points saillants de l'option 1 :

  • Étape 1 – Avant le 1er janvier 2023, les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE qui souhaitent continuer à utiliser des bornes de recharge n'ayant pas reçu d'approbation de type pour vendre de l'électricité selon une mesure en kWh doivent présenter une demande de certificat d'enregistrement, conformément aux exigences définies dans le Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Ils doivent également fournir à Mesures Canada une liste de leurs bornes de recharge approuvées et non approuvées actuellement en service au Canada.
  • Étape 2 – Une dispense temporaire est accordée aux exploitants afin de leur permettre d'utiliser les bornes de recharge pour VE reconnues comme ayant été mises en service au Canada avant le 1er janvier 2023 sans qu'elles soient vérifiées ou scellées, à condition que certaines modalités soient respectées (une liste des modalités proposées figure à l'annexe A).
  • La dispense temporaire prend fin le 1er janvier 2030.
  • La dispense temporaire sera annulée si, à tout moment au cours de la période de dispense, l'une des situations suivantes survient :
    • L'exploitant de bornes de recharge pour VE cesse de respecter les modalités établies par Mesures Canada;
    • La borne de recharge pour VE est mise hors service;
    • Un nouveau certificat d'enregistrement est émis, auquel cas la borne de recharge doit faire l'objet d'une vérification, conformément aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Option 2 – Dispense temporaire pour les bornes de recharge de niveaux 1 et 2 pour VE mises en service avant le 1er janvier 2025

  • Toute borne de recharge pour VE mise en service avant le 1er janvier 2025 est admissible à une dispense temporaire en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Cette dispense est assujettie à des modalités qui demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'une vérification détermine que la borne est conforme aux normes ou qu'elle soit mise hors service, au plus tard le 31 décembre 2029.†
  • Les bornes de recharge pour VE mises en service le 1er janvier 2025 ou après doivent être conformes à toutes les exigences de Mesures Canada et ne sont pas admissibles à une dispense temporaire en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.
  • À compter du 1er janvier 2030, toutes les bornes de recharge doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification et être jugées pleinement conformes aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Points saillants de l'option 2 :

  • PÉtape 1 – Avant le 1er janvier 2025, les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE qui souhaitent continuer à utiliser des bornes de recharge n'ayant pas reçu d'approbation de type pour vendre de l'électricité selon une mesure en kWh doivent présenter une demande de certificat d'enregistrement, conformément aux exigences définies dans le Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Ils doivent également fournir à Mesures Canada une liste de leurs bornes de recharge approuvées et non approuvées actuellement en service au Canada.
  • Étape 2 – Une dispense temporaire est accordée aux exploitants afin de leur permettre d'utiliser les bornes de recharge pour VE reconnues comme ayant été mises en service au Canada avant le 1er janvier 2025 sans qu'elles soient vérifiées ou scellées, à condition que certaines modalités soient respectées (une liste des modalités proposées figure à l'annexe A).
  • La dispense temporaire prend fin le 1er janvier 2030.
  • La dispense temporaire sera annulée si, à tout moment au cours de la période de dispense, l'une des situations suivantes survient :
    • L'exploitant de bornes de recharge pour VE cesse de respecter les modalités établies par Mesures Canada;
    • La borne de recharge pour VE est mise hors service;
    • Un nouveau certificat d'enregistrement est émis, auquel cas la borne de recharge doit faire l'objet d'une vérification, conformément aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Option 3 – Dispense temporaire en vue d'une mise en œuvre par étapes

  • Toute borne de recharge pour VE mise en service avant le 1er janvier 2030 est admissible à une dispense temporaire en vertu de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Cette dispense est assujettie à des modalités qui demeureront en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'une vérification détermine que la borne est conforme aux normes ou qu'elle soit mise hors service, au plus tard le 31 décembre 2029.
  • À compter du 1er janvier 2030, toutes les bornes de recharge doivent faire l'objet d'une vérification et être jugées pleinement conformes aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Points saillants de l'option 3 :

  • Les exploitants de bornes de recharge qui ont recours à la dispense temporaire doivent respecter les modalités de l'étape applicable (les étapes sont décrites ci-dessous) selon la date à laquelle la borne de recharge pour VE a été mise en service.
  • Étape 1 – Avant le 1er janvier 2023, les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE qui souhaitent continuer à utiliser des bornes de recharge n'ayant pas reçu d'approbation de type pour vendre de l'électricité selon une mesure en kWh doivent présenter une demande de certificat d'enregistrement, conformément aux exigences définies dans le Règlement sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Ils doivent également fournir à Mesures Canada une liste de leurs bornes de recharge approuvées et non approuvées actuellement en service au Canada.
  • Étape 2 – Du 1er janvier 2023 au 31 décembre 2025 (3 ans), les exploitants sont admissibles à une dispense temporaire afin de leur permettre d'utiliser les bornes de recharge pour VE dont le type n'a pas été approuvé sans qu'elles soient vérifiées ou scellées, moyennant une preuve de leur respect des modalités de la dispense temporaire (une liste des modalités proposées figure à l'annexe A).
  • Étape 3 – Du 1er janvier 2026 au 31 décembre 2029 (4 ans), un exploitant de bornes de recharge qui a recours à la dispense temporaire peut continuer à exploiter les compteurs non approuvés déjà en service sans qu'ils soient vérifiés ou scellés, à condition que l'exploitant remplisse les exigences de l'étape 1 et que, dans les six mois suivant l'émission du certificat d'enregistrement, il :
    • démontre qu'il respecte ou continue de respecter les modalités de l'étape 2;
    • se conforme aux modalités supplémentaires de l'étape 3 (une liste des modalités proposées figure à l'annexe A).
  • La dispense temporaire prend fin le 1er janvier 2030.
  • La dispense temporaire sera annulée si, à tout moment au cours de la période de dispense, l'une des situations suivantes survient :
    • L'exploitant de bornes de recharge pour VE cesse de respecter les modalités établies par Mesures Canada;
    • La borne de recharge pour VE est mise hors service;
    • Un nouveau certificat d'enregistrement est émis, auquel cas la borne de recharge doit faire l'objet d'une vérification, conformément aux normes pour les bornes de recharge pour VE.

Remarques de dispense temporaires

  • Une dispense temporaire est un instrument réglementaire prévu au paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz. Elle permet d'accorder aux exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE une permission pour la mise en service, sans vérification ni scellage ou sans scellage, de tout compteur ou de toute catégorie, de tout type ou de tout modèle de compteur. Les dispenses temporaires sont assujetties à des modalités précisées par la direction de Mesures Canada et sont en vigueur pendant une durée déterminée.
  • À tout moment, les bornes de recharge pour VE non approuvées d'un exploitant peuvent faire l'objet d'une vérification qui confirme leur conformité aux normes, ce qui mettrait fin à la participation de l'exploitant au programme de dispense temporaire.

Annexe A – Modalités proposées

  1. Les modalités proposées pour la dispense temporaire décrite à l'option 1, à l'option 2 et à l'étape 2 de l'option 3 comprennent ce qui suit, sans toutefois s'y limiter.
    1. Pendant toute la durée de la dispense temporaire, les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE s'assurent, à tout le moins, que leurs bornes :
      1. fournissent de l'électricité au client en respectant une marge de tolérance de ±3 % et soient testés (preuve à l'appui à la demande de Mesures Canada) au moyen d'une méthode et de normes de mesure acceptables, telles qu'elles sont définies par Mesures Canada;
      2. utilisent les wattheures, ou tout multiple ou sous-multiple des wattheures, comme unité de mesure pour la vente d'électricité;
      3. disposent d'un moyen d'afficher les renseignements d'ordre juridique pertinents, lequel est relié à un système intégré, à distance ou non connecté (c.-à-d. un registre à distance), ou à un système de stockage de l'information, comme un réseau infonuagique;
      4. remettent des reçus et tiennent des registres de transactions pendant au moins 24 mois;
      5. contiennent une affiche indiquant que la borne de recharge ne respecte pas toutes les exigences des normes approuvées par Mesures Canada.
    2. Les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE instaurent une méthode pour traiter les plaintes des clients qui, à tout le moins, rend possible :
      1. la consignation des plaintes des clients;
      2. les demandes de renseignements aux clients qui ont déposé la plainte ainsi qu'à toute personne qui pourrait vraisemblablement posséder des renseignements utiles sur l'affaire;
      3. l'examen de tous les registres de la borne de recharge visée par la plainte;
      4. la vérification de la borne de recharge visée par la plainte;
      5. la documentation des résultats de la vérification, lesquels doivent également être envoyés au client qui a déposé la plainte;
      6. la consignation, jusqu'au 1er janvier 2030, de l'ensemble des plaintes, des résumés d'enquête et des résultats des vérifications;
      7. la présentation des dossiers à Mesures Canada, à sa demande;
      8. la mise en place de mesures correctives visant à pallier les manquements aux modalités de la dispense temporaire qui ont été constatés à la suite du processus d'enquête résultant de la plainte.
    3. Au moment de l'acceptation des modalités de la dispense temporaire et à tous les 12 mois par la suite, les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE doivent vérifier au moins 10 % de leurs bornes pour s'assurer qu'elles fournissent de l'électricité sans dépasser les marges de tolérance. D'une année à l'autre, les échantillons testés doivent être composés de bornes n'ayant pas fait l'objet d'une vérification auparavant. Les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE doivent également consigner les résultats à ces vérifications et les fournir à Mesures Canada, à sa demande.
  2. Les modalités proposées pour la dispense décrite à l'étape 3 de l'option 3 comprennent ce qui suit, sans toutefois s'y limiter.
    1. Les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour VE s'assurent, à tout le moins, qu'en plus de continuer à respecter les modalités de l'étape 2, les bornes de recharge :
      1. affichent la valeur de graduation des nombres importants;
      2. comprennent une structure de facturation affichée qui précise le prix unitaire de l'électricité vendue ou facturée et qui comprend des catégories séparées de types de facturation. Si l'indicateur de la borne ne peut pas afficher ces renseignements, une affiche qui les contient doit être apposée à un endroit visible de la borne;
      3. offrent un moyen légal de vérifier les logiciels et les micrologiciels;
      4. comprennent un sceau numérique et un consignateur d'événements, conformément aux normes S-EG-05 et S-EG-06, de même qu'un sceau matériel.

Rétroaction

Les commentaires et les détails de toute modification proposée aux options stratégiques susmentionnées doivent être envoyés à l'adresse mcfeedback-retroactionmc@ised-isde.gc.ca.

Cette consultation prendra fin le 22 juin 2022.

Pour nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la consultation, veuillez communiquer avec nous au :

mcfeedback-retroactionmc@ised-isde.gc.ca

Date de modification :