Will the Next Revolution be 3D Printed?

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Will the Next Revolution be 3D Printed?—Transcript

(Video features: Dr. Woo Soo Kim; Philip Robbins; Graham Buksa; Eugene Suyu; Logan Mohr; Keith Doyle; Dr. Konrad Walus; Andrew Campbell; and Unnamed Speaker 1 and 2)

On screen text: Will the Next Revolution be 3D Printed?

(Music Up)

(Images of 3D printing throughout video)

Dr. Woo Soo Kim (Strechable Devices Laboratory, SFU) on screen: 3D printing is building up from the bottom, layer by layer, stacking our materials.

Images of 3D printing in action

Philip Robbins (Co-Director, Material Matters) on screen: It’s really a bottom-up and a left-to-right, and a forward-and-back kind of technology.

Unnamed speaker 1 on screen: It can make an experience happen; it can make something more than just an object.

Unnamed speaker 2 on screen: Our whole focus is on making 3D printing technology do what can’t be done.

Graham Buksa (CEO, Rayne Longboards): Build something small, build it really well and go put it out on the market. Go test it. Go ride it.

(Images of skateboarders)

Unnamed speaker 1 on screen: It can be education or it can be prototyping or it can be general exploration of ideas.

Philip Robbins (Co-Director, Material Matters) on screen: It’s not the technology, it’s the ideas that feed into them. That’s what matters.

On screen text (Multimaterials): What kind of materials can 3D printers extrude?

(Music Up)

Eugene Suyu (CEO, Tinkerine and Unnamed Speaker 1) on screen: We’re going to try and build multimaterials into the desktop 3D printing space. You know, the ability to explore carbon-fibre, metal, wood, and to start to get a sense for people what they can start to make for those particular applications.

(Images of 3D production)

Logan Mohr (Student, Emily Carr University): These are some of the earlier test prints that we did on the silicone printer and we are always looking into combinations of materials, really trying to find the right combination of fabric and silicone. So right of the bat, we had all this technical fabric, and we found that fabrics with national fibres in them, like hemp fabrics or something that’s a cotton blend really grabs the silicone because of the micro-porosity of the fibres that are inside of the fabric. So, I printed a channel of the silicone and then bent the copper wire into it and printed a final pass over it so there is all of this kind of hidden rigidity inside of the fabric that you can get out of it.

On screen text: Blue Marble Labs has combined a circuit board with a 3D printed shape to create an air quality measuring device.

Cliff Edwards (Co-founder, Blue Marble Labs) on screen with Keith Doyle:And we’re essentially developing a new wearable air quality monitor. What this will do is allow people to detect the levels of pollution that they are exposed to as they go about their day, wherever they are. And, then they can essentially change their activities and where they go and what they do with this additional data feed. And, this will be important for people with chronic lung disease, essentially.

(Images of air quality monitor)

Keith Doyle (Co-Director, Material Matters) on screen with Cliff Edwards: The freedom of complexity that additive manufacturing or 3D printing allows for iterative space or the iterative design process is really incredible. And, it’s well matched and is an appropriate technology for that space.

On screen text: Aspect Biosystems has developed a means of 3D printing human cells and tissues to test new pharmaceuticals eliminating the need for human and animal testing.

(Music up)

(Images of Aspect Biosystems facilities)

Dr. Konrad Walus (CEO, Aspect Biosystems): So what we are aiming to do is to allow our customers to de-risk their assets going into clinical trials. In other words, they feel more confident about the response of the drug. As well as, allow the customer to test drugs that they may not have otherwise been able to even test. So what we can do is use 3D printed human tissue models for developing new drugs and we’re trying to do is make more advanced models, that better replicate the human tissue physiology. Aspect Biosystems is unique from the technology perspective. So we’ve taken a combination of micro-fluidics technology and combined that with 3D printing technology to make a completely new type of 3D printer that we call lab on a printer. We can perform certain laboratory functions within the print-head itself before the bio-ink is extruded. As the technology advances further, we will get to the point where we can print off full organs. I think within 10-15 years, maybe even less, we’ll be seeing that kind of thing come out.

Andrew Campbell (Industrial Designer): I’m excited about when home printers get robust enough to print a usable part. Something I can put into my ski bindings to replace something or try something new, and go ski in.

On screen logo: Emily Carr University of Art + Design

(Canada wordmark)

End of transcript

Date modified:

La prochaine révolution sera-t-elle en 3D?

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

La prochaine révolution sera-t-elle en 3D? — Transcription

(La vidéo présente : Dr. Woo Soo Kim; Philip Robbins; Graham Buksa; Eugene Suyu; Logan Mohr; Keith Doyle ; Dr. Konrad Walus; Andrew Campbell; and Unnamed Speaker 1 and 2)

Texte à l'écran : La prochaine révolution sera-t-elle en 3D?

(Augmentation du volume de la musique)

(Images d'impression 3D tout au long de la vidéo)

Dr. Woo Soo Kim (Strechable Devices Laboratory, SFU) à l’écra : L’impression 3D consiste à superposer des couches de matériaux et à les façonner en partant du bas.

Images d'impression 3D

Philip Robbins (Co-Directeur, Material Matters) à l’écran : C’est une technologie basée sur des mouvements allant de haut en bas, de gauche à droite et d’avant en arrière.

Parleur sans nom 1 à l’écran : C’est vraiment une expérience en soi. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de créer un objet.

Parleur sans nom 2 à l’écran : Nous concentrons tous nos efforts pour que l’impression 3D permette de faire ce qui n’a jamais été fait.

Graham Buksa (Chef de la direction générale, Rayne Longboards) à l’écran : Il s’agit de créer un objet à petite échelle, de le construire vraiment bien et de le lancer sur le marché, l’essayer, l’utiliser.

(Images de la planche à roulettes)

Parleur sans nom 1 à l’écran : Ca peut être utilisé à des fins éducatives, pour créer des prototypes, ou simplement pour explorer de nouvelles idées.

Philip Robbins (Co-Directeur, Material Matters) à l’écran : Ce qui est important, ce n’est pas la technologie en soi, ce sont les idées qui alimentent cette technologie.

Texte à l'écran (Multilatéraux) : Quelle sorte de matériaux les imprimantes 3D peuvent-elles découper?

(Augmentation du volume de la musique)

Eugene Suyu (Chef de la direction générale, Tinkerine parleur sans nom 1) à l’écran : On va essayer d’introduire les multi matériaux dans l’environnement de l’impression 3D de bureau. On va étudier les possibilités offertes par la fibre de carbone, le métal, le bois pour que les gens découvrent ce qu’ils peuvent créer à partir de ces différents matériaux.

(Images de la production 3D)

Logan Mohr (Étudiant, Emily Carr University) à l’écran : Voici quelques essais que nous avons fait avec l’imprimante au silicone. On utilise différents matériaux pour trouver la meilleure façon de combiner tissu et silicone. Au début, on avait toutes sortes de tissus techniques et on a découvert que ceux en fibres naturelles, comme le chanvre ou en mélange de coton, retenaient mieux le silicone en raison de la microporosité des fibres du tissu. J’ai imprimé un motif en silicone et ensuite j’ai introduit un filament en cuivre, puis j’ai rajouté une couche finale de silicone. On obtient ainsi un tissu qui offre une rigidité cachée qu’on peut utiliser comme on veut.

Texte à l'écran : Blue Marble Labs a combiné une carte de circuits imprimés avec une forme imprimée en 3D pour créer un dispositif permettant de mesurer la qualité de l’air.

Cliff Edwards (Co-fondateur, Blue Marble Labs) à l’écran avec Keith Doyle : Nous avons élaboré un nouveau dispositif portable de mesure de la qualité de l’air. Cela permet aux gens de savoir à quels niveaux de pollution ils sont exposés durant la journée, où qu’ils soient, en fonction de ces données, ils peuvent modifier leurs activités et les endroits où ils vont. Ce sera un outil important pour les personnes atteintes de maladies pulmonaires chroniques.

(Images de surveillance de la qualité de l'air)

Keith Doyle (Co-Directeur, Material Matters) à l’écran avec Cliff Edwards : Le niveau de complexité que permet la fabrication additive ou l’impression 3D dans le processus itératif de conception est vraiment incroyable. C’est une technologie qui convient parfaitement à ce domaine.

Texte à l'écran : Aspect Biosystems a trouvé le moyen d’imprimer en 3D des cellules et tissus humains pour tester de nouveaux produits pharmaceutiques et éliminer ainsi le besoin de faire des essais sur l’homme et l’animal.

(Augmentation du volume de la musique)

(Images des installations Aspect Biosystems)

Dr. Konrad Walus (Chef de la direction générale, Aspect Biosystems and Parleur sans nom 2) à l’écran : Ce que nous essayons de faire, c’est de permettre à nos clients de minimiser les risques encourus durant les essais cliniques. Cela permet de les rassurer par rapport aux effets possibles d’un médicament et leur donne la possibilité de tester des médicaments qu’ils n’auraient pas pu tester autrement. Nous pouvons modéliser des tissus humains imprimés en 3D pour permettre au point de nouveaux médicaments et nous essayons de créer des modèles plus élaborés qui reproduisent mieux la physiologie des tissus humains. D’un point de vue technologique, Aspect Biosystems est unique en son genre. On a combiné la technologie micro fluidique avec l’impression 3D pour créer un type d’imprimante 3D entièrement nouveau, appelé Lab-on-a-Printer. En l’occurrence, on utilise la tête d’imprimante pour réaliser certaines fonctions de laboratoire, avant même que l’encre biologique ne soit extrudée. Au fur et à mesure des progrès technologiques, nous serons capables d’imprimer des organes entiers. Je pense que d’ici 10 ou 15 ans, ou plus tôt, nous verrons ce genre de choses se concrétiser.

Andrew Campbell (Designer Industriel) à l’écran : Un jour, les gens pourront imprimer chez eux des pièces qu’ils pourront utiliser, comme par exemple des fixations pour réparer leurs skis et ensuite les essayer.

Logo à l’écran :Emily Carr University of Art + Design

(Mot –symbole Canada)

Fin de la transcription

Date de modification :