Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers

Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers

The level of consumer complaints about movers has concerned all stakeholders in the Canadian moving and storage industry: reputable movers, consumer associations, trade associations and government.

To address these concerns and to act as a complement to legal protections already in place, the Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada formed a multi-stakeholder working group of moving-industry professionals, consumer group representatives and government officials to develop good practice guidelines for reputable movers, and an associated checklist for consumers. It is hoped that the existence of the Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers and the Consumer Checklist will assist movers in identifying and adhering to high standards and aid consumers in selecting reputable, ethical and professional movers.

The Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers could also be used as part of moving industry certification programs.

Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers

Canadian movers wishing to ensure continued good relations with their customers should follow these good practices:

  • Provide customers with a pamphlet that outlines customer and mover rights and responsibilities, mover liability for loss or damage, optional programs available, limitations on liability and additional costs associated with each level of liability. The pamphlet should be written in plain language and be easy to understand. Where local move customers request an estimate by telephone, movers should offer to provide the pamphlet by mail, fax, or e-mail.
  • Provide written estimates of costs that describe the shipment and the cost of all services requested by the customer. The estimate should be on company letterhead, and state the name, telephone number and address of the company, a full estimate of the number of boxes to be moved, the size and value of items, the cost per hour or flat rate, terms of payment, and timing of services to be provided. The estimate should be signed by both the company representative and the customer.
  • Abide by the terms of the estimate as provided to the customer, in compliance with all applicable laws.
  • For long distance moves, tag all goods and prepare, prior to the shipment leaving the residence, a descriptive inventory of the goods to be moved that should be signed by the customer or the authorized representative who is present at origin for loading and again at destination as the goods are unloaded. A copy of this descriptive inventory should be provided to the customer prior to shipment. Any existing damage to goods should be noted in the inventory.
  • Provide customers with a bill of lading at the time of pickup which clearly delineates critical customer service details such as the terms and amount of payment and the date of delivery.
  • When charges are based on weight, determine the weight of each shipment by the use of a certified scale at origin and if requested, provide evidence of that weight to the customer. When the actual weight exceeds the estimated weight by more than 10 percent, the mover upon request will perform a "re-weigh" of the shipment and provide evidence of the re-weigh to the customer.
  • Make reasonable efforts to fulfill the arrangements made for servicing a shipment, including the performance of pickup and delivery as agreed upon. Keep customers advised of any service delays and provide them with information as to when service may be expected to be performed. This should include providing the customer with the company contact name and telephone number.
  • Ensure the customer receives a copy of the bill of lading or invoice on delivery, with a clear description of charges and services provided.
  • Acknowledge, in writing, within 30 days of the receipt of a written loss or damage claim or delay claim, to pay, decline, make a firm compromise offer or advise the claimant of the status of the claim. Movers should also provide any reason for a delay in making a final disposition within 120 days of receipt of any documented claim for loss or damage, or for any documented claim for delay in delivery beyond the dates shown on the bill of lading, when the claim is filed by the customer within 60 days (long distance moves) or 30 days (local moves) after delivery.
  • Promptly and fairly attempt to resolve disputes concerning loss or damage claims to household goods, through in-house complaints-handling and external dispute resolution processes as appropriate and available. In terms of guidance on what constitutes a fair dispute resolution process, movers should draw on the federal-provincial-territorial Consumer Complaints Management: A Guide for Canadian Business (PDF, 349 KB).
  • Communicate with the public through fair and accurate advertisements, estimates and sales literature regarding the services that may be performed.
  • If working in conjunction with other agents, ensure that these agents also comply with the above commitments.
  • Maintain and regularly clean facilities and equipment in accordance with good industry practices.

Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers

The Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers and the associated Consumer Checklist for Choosing a Moving Company were prepared by a multi-stakeholder working group consisting of government, business, and consumer group representatives, under the leadership of the Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada (for a listing of working group participants, see the Acknowledgements section).

The Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers and the Consumer Checklist were developed to complement legal protections already in place. It is hoped that the existence of the guidelines and the checklist will assist movers in identifying and adhering to high standards and will aid consumers in selecting reputable, ethical and professional movers. The guidelines can also be used as part of moving industry certification programs.

Acknowledgements

The Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada, would like to express its appreciation to the multi-stakeholder working group that assisted in the preparation of these consumer guidelines and the associated checklist. The working group consisted of the following members:

  • Graham Acreman, Vice President, Boyd Moving and Storage, and Chairman, Canadian Association of Movers
  • Marcel Boucher, L'Union des consommateurs
  • Sheila Charneski, President, Better Business Bureau of Mainland British Columbia
  • Rob Dowler, Director of Marketplace Standards, Ontario Ministry of Consumer and Business Services
  • Joan Huzar, Consumers Council of Canada
  • Jay Jackson, Senior Policy Officer, Competition Bureau
  • John Levi, President, Canadian Association of Movers, 1-866-860-0065, Web: www.mover.net
  • Rob Phillips, Director of Consumer Affairs, Consumer Services Division, Government of Alberta
  • Susan Ramsay, Chief Executive Officer, The Moving Store
  • Marielle Sauvé, Executive Assistant, Consumer Services, Office de la protection du consommateur, Government of Quebec
  • Jim Savary, Department of Economics, York University
  • Kernaghan Webb, Chief of Research and Senior Legal Policy Advisor, Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada (Chair of Working Group)
  • Bob Whitelaw, President and CEO, Canadian Council of Better Business Bureaus (until April 2004)

This publication is available upon request in multiple formats. Contact the Information Distribution Centre at the numbers listed below.

For a print copy of this publication, please contact:

Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada  
235 Queen Street, 2nd Floor, West Tower 
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0H5

Tel: (613) 946-2576 
Fax: (613) 952-6927

Email: Ask us

Permission to Reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from Industry Canada, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that Industry Canada is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, Industry Canada.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial redistribution, please e-mail: droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

Cat. No. Iu4-64/2004E-HTML
ISBN 0-662-38204-8
54198E

Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens

Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens

Le nombre de plaintes formulées par les consommateurs relativement aux déménageurs a été un sujet de préoccupation pour tous les intervenants de l'industrie canadienne du déménagement et de l'entreposage : déménageurs honnêtes, groupes de consommateurs, associations professionnelles et gouvernements.

Pour répondre à ces préoccupations, le Bureau de la consommation d'Industrie Canada a formé un groupe de travail multilatéral composé de spécialistes de l'industrie du déménagement, de représentants de groupes de consommateurs et de fonctionnaires des gouvernements et lui a confié la mission d'élaborer des lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs honnêtes ainsi qu'une liste de vérification pour les consommateurs, ces documents devant s'ajouter aux protections légales déjà en place.

Il est à souhaiter que les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens et la Liste de vérification des consommateurs aideront les déménageurs à définir et à respecter des normes élevées et aideront les consommateurs à choisir des déménageurs honnêtes, fiables et professionnels. Les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens peuvent également être utilisées comme élément des programmes d'accréditation de l'industrie du déménagement.

Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens

Les déménageurs canadiens qui souhaitent entretenir de bonnes relations avec leurs clients devraient suivre les bonnes pratiques suivantes :

  • Remettre aux clients une brochure énonçant les droits et les responsabilités du consommateur et du déménageur ainsi que de la documentation sur la responsabilité du déménageur pour les pertes ou les dommages, les divers programmes offerts, les limites de responsabilité et les coûts additionnels liés à chaque niveau de responsabilité. Le texte de la brochure doit être écrit dans un langage simple et facile à lire. Si le client demande un devis par téléphone pour un déménagement local, le déménageur lui offrira de lui faire parvenir la brochure par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel.
  • Remettre des devis écrits des coûts; les devis décriront les coûts du transport et de tous les services demandés par le client. Le devis doit être présenté sur le papier à en-tête de l'entreprise. Il doit mentionner son nom, son numéro de téléphone et son adresse, et comporter une estimation complète du nombre de boîtes à déménager, de la taille et de la valeur des articles, le tarif horaire ou le montant forfaitaire pour le déménagement ainsi que les modalités de paiement et les dates des services à fournir. Le devis doit être signé par le représentant de l'entreprise de déménagement et par le client.
  • Respecter les modalités inscrites au devis remis au client, conformément aux lois applicables.
  • Pour un déménagement long-courrier, étiqueter tous les articles et dresser, avant de quitter la résidence, un inventaire descriptif des biens à déménager; l'inventaire doit être soumis pour signature au client ou à son représentant autorisé présent au lieu d'origine lors du chargement et également au lieu de destination une fois les biens déchargés. Une copie de l'inventaire descriptif doit être remise au client avant l'expédition. L'inventaire doit mentionner tous les dommages existants.
  • Remettre au client, au moment du chargement, un connaissement qui énonce en détail les services à rendre au client ainsi que le montant et les modalités des paiements et la date de livraison.
  • Si les frais sont calculés en fonction du poids, déterminer, au lieu d'origine, le poids des biens transportés à l'aide d'une balance homologuée; sur demande, remettre au client une preuve du poids. Si le poids réel dépasse de plus de 10 p. 100 le poids estimé, le déménageur procède, sur demande, à une nouvelle pesée des biens transportés et en fournit la preuve au client.
  • Faire des efforts raisonnables afin de respecter les dispositions prises pour l'expédition, notamment effectuer le ramassage et la livraison de la manière convenue. Aviser le client des retards de service et le tenir informé du moment où le travail sera exécuté. Cet avis doit donner au client le nom et le numéro de téléphone de la personne-ressource de l'entreprise de déménagement.
  • S'assurer que le client reçoit une copie du connaissement ou de la facture au moment de la livraison; ce document doit donner une description claire des services fournis et des frais.
  • Accuser réception, par écrit, d'une réclamation pour perte, pour dommages ou pour retard dans les 30 jours, et par la suite payer, refuser de payer, faire une offre juste ou informer le réclamant de l'état de sa réclamation et de tous les motifs du délai pour en disposer dans les 120 jours de la réception d'une réclamation documentée pour perte ou dommages, ou d'une réclamation documentée pour un retard de livraison après les dates indiquées sur le connaissement, si la plainte est soumise par le client dans les 60 jours suivant la livraison pour un déménagement long-courrier ou dans les 30 jours suivant la livraison pour un déménagement local.
  • Tenter de régler rapidement et équitablement les différends relatifs aux réclamations pour perte ou dommages aux articles de ménage, soit par le truchement d'un service interne de traitement des plaintes ou par un processus externe de règlement des différends, selon ce qui est approprié ou possible. Il est recommandé aux entreprises de déménagement de s'inspirer du document rédigé au nom des ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux intitulé Gestion des plaintes des consommateurs : guide à l'intention des entreprises canadiennes (PDF, 437 Ko), pour savoir ce qui constitue un processus équitable de résolution des différends.
  • Communiquer avec le public au moyen d'annonces, de devis et de documents promotionnels justes et véridiques sur les services offerts.
  • Si l'entreprise travaille en collaboration avec d'autres agents, s'assurer que ces derniers respectent aussi les engagements ci-dessus.
  • Procéder régulièrement à l'entretien et au nettoyage des installations et de l'équipement, conformément aux bonnes pratiques de l'industrie.

Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens

Les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens et la Liste de vérification des consommateurs pour choisir une entreprise de déménagement ont été préparées par un groupe de travail multilatéral composé de représentants de gouvernements, du monde des affaires et de groupes de consommateurs sous la direction du Bureau de la consommation d'Industrie Canada (voir la section Remerciements pour obtenir la liste des membres du groupe de travail).

Les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens et la Liste de vérification des consommateurs ont été conçues comme complément aux protections légales déjà en place. Il est à souhaiter que les lignes directrices et la liste de vérification aideront les déménageurs à définir et à respecter des normes élevées et aideront les consommateurs à choisir des déménageurs honnêtes, fiables et professionnels. Les lignes directrices peuvent également être utilisées comme élément des programmes d'accréditation de l'industrie du déménagement.

Remerciements

Le Bureau de la consommation d'Industrie Canada tient à remercier le groupe de travail multilatéral qui a participé à la préparation des lignes directrices et de la liste de vérification. Le groupe de travail se composait des membres suivants :

  • Graham Acreman, vice-président, Boyd Moving and Storage, et président du conseil, Association canadienne des déménageurs
  • Marcel Boucher, L'Union des consommateurs
  • Sheila Charneski, présidente, Better Business Bureau of Mainland British Columbia
  • Rob Dowler, directeur, Direction des affaires commerciales, ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises, Ontario
  • Joan Huzar, Conseil des consommateurs du Canada
  • Jay Jackson, agent principal de la politique, Bureau de la concurrence
  • John Levi, président, Association canadienne des déménageurs, Web : www.mover.net
  • Rob Phillips, directeur, Consumer Affairs, Consumer Services Division, gouvernement de l'Alberta
  • Susan Ramsay, chef de la direction, The Moving Store
  • Marielle Sauvé, adjointe à la direction, Services aux consommateurs, Office de la protection du consommateur, gouvernement du Québec
  • Jim Savary, département d'économie, Université York
  • Kernaghan Webb, chef de la recherche et conseiller principal en matière de politiques juridiques, Bureau de la consommation, Industrie Canada (président du groupe de travail)
  • Bob Whitelaw, président et chef de la direction, Conseil canadien des bureaux d'éthique commerciale (jusqu'en avril 2004)

On peut obtenir cette publication sur supports multiples, sur demande. Communiquer avec le Centre de diffusion de l'information dont les coordonnées suivent.

Pour obtenir une version imprimée de cette publication, s'adresser également au :

Bureau de la consommation, Industrie Canada 
235, rue Queen, 2e étage, tour Ouest 
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0H5

Tél. : (613) 946-2576 
Téléc : (613) 952-6927

Courriel : Posez-nous une question

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission d'Industrie Canada, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, qu'Industrie Canada soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec Industrie Canada ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, faire parvenir un courriel à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

No de catalogue Iu4-64/2004F-HTML
ISBN 0-662-77915-0
54198F