Exemplary Practices 2014

Exemplary Practices 2014

Welcome
Banner of various images of children and excellence winners

One of the most enjoyable parts of the four days national Prime Minister's Award (PMA) recipients spend in Ottawa is Teachers' Talk. The sharing that takes place during this best practices session is motivating and memorable for both the participants and those in the audience privileged to hear these extraordinary educators speak first hand. Sometimes funny, often moving, and always inspirational, the unique ideas and innovative solutions these top teachers have found to common challenges will be of service to anyone interested in excellence in education and early childhood education. Teachers' Talk Moderator Dr. Joel Westheimer opened the event by saying,

"Some people think of teaching as a way of pouring information into children who are empty vessels. Paulo Freire talks about this as the 'banking method' of education, where the teacher deposits information into the child and then makes a withdrawal during examinations… I think that education, and teaching in particular, is about creating a space in the classroom where children's imagination and abilities can flourish. And that's hard work on the part of teachers. When I read through the projects that we will be celebrating today, and the work that you're all doing, it really reminded me that the role of the teacher is a challenging and an ambitious one."

Dr. Westheimer is the University Research Chair in Democracy and Education at the University of Ottawa and an Education Columnist for CBC Radio.

Topics for discussion at Teachers' Talk are drawn from recipient's nomination packages and are based on what they feel are their best and most transferable teaching practices. Reflecting the growing trend in Canada toward integration, recipients of both the PMA for Teaching Excellence and for Excellence in Early Childhood Education take part in the same forum. Topics for 2014 were: "Fostering the Wonder of a Child" — Inspiring Learning Through Emergent Curriculum; « Une démarche bienveillante » — Building Foundations for Lifelong Learning; "No Child Left Behind" — Ensuring Success for All Students; "Learning in Common" — Collaboration to Support Student Achievement; "If you Build it…" — Using STEM to Inspire and Engage;  and finally, "Child-Lived Experience" — Challenging Students in Learning for Life. Summaries of these best practices, as well as links for the resources these educators use regularly in their classrooms and childcare centres can be found in this publication.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence honour outstanding and innovative elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines who instill in their students a love of learning and who utilize information and communications technologies to better equip them with the knowledge and skills needed to excel in a 21st century society and economy. The Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education honour exceptional ECEs who excel at fostering the early development and socialization of the children in their care, and at helping build the foundation young children need to make the best possible start in life. Each recipient's biography highlights the teaching philosophies and best practices of some of Canada's most inspirational educators.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and Excellence in Early Childhood Education are administered by Industry Canada in partnership with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Employment and Social Development Canada, Health Canada, the Public Health Agency of Canada, and with the generous support of the RBC Foundation. For information about this program, its partners and recipients, please contact the program office.

Information, views or comments offered in this publication have been submitted by the 2014 Prime Minister's Award recipients and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Prime Minister, Minister of Industry or the federal government departments involved in this program. Provision of links from this Internet site to sites located outside of the Prime Minister's Awards program domain does not imply endorsement or credibility of the service, information, or product offered through the linked sites.

Articles Ruby Anne Chartrand

Ruby Anne Chartrand

Building Foundations for Lifelong Learning
I am a strong believer in the lasting benefits of early learning programs. The learning experiences in these first years can influence the rest of a child's life. I choose to be an early childhood educator to be part of such a wonderful and exciting stage of development. I try my very best to make each child that attends the Aboriginal Head Start Program feel special by providing them with plenty of affection, giving them quality one-on-one time, and getting to know their families personally. Children need to feel secure in their environments and with their caregivers before any learning can take place. Building relationships and creating supportive environments provides children with the love, nurturance and security they need to begin growing socially and emotionally. (Continue reading…)


Angela Daniels-Drummond

Angela Daniels-Drummond

Team Work Makes the Dream Work
Whether you are a seasoned worker or someone new to the field of Early Childhood Education; whether you have walked through the doors of your center for the very first time or have been there twenty years, we all have dreams, goals and aspirations. We have big hopes that everything we desire for each individual child will one day come to fruition. (Continue reading…)


Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya and Cristina Primerano

Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya and Cristina Primerano

Fostering the Wonder of a Child; Inspiring Learning through Emergent Curriculum
We believe in learning as a life-long process that happens through interactions with one another, materials and the environment. Author and education activist Ken Robinson said, "We need to recognize that most great learning happens in groups. The collaboration is the stuff of growth." Our learning community is comprised of children, families and teachers. With relationships at the core, our philosophy is based on acknowledging the questions of our community and using these questions and curiosities to develop an emergent inquiry based curriculum. Emergent—it is flexible, and emerges within the interests of the children and the classroom community. Inquiry-based—we listen and watch closely to what the children are saying, how they are using materials and what concepts they are exploring. We believe curriculum is a living process that is organic and always changing and growing. (Continue reading…)


Mona Khan

Mona Khan

Building Foundations for Lifelong Learning
The first six years of life are truly miracle years. Development through these critical years sets the stage for the rest of a child's life. This simple but profound truth has inspired my education, research and work in the field of early childhood development. (Continue reading…)


Arnold Laplante

Arnold Laplante

A watchful approach
I strive to take a watchful approach in my work with children aged four and five. Throughout my 34 years of experience at the daycare, I have drawn inspiration from my colleagues and artists and based my practices on data from recognized educators and psychologists. (Continue reading…)

Resources

Online tools/communities

Organizations

Partners
Date modified:

Pratiques exemplaires 2014

Pratiques exemplaires 2014

Bienvenue Bannière avec diverses images d'enfants et des lauréats

La tribune Parole d'enseignants est l'un des volets les plus agréables du séjour de quatre jours à Ottawa offert aux lauréats d'un Prix du premier ministre (PPM). Ce partage de pratiques exemplaires est motivant et mémorable à la fois pour les participants et pour les membres du public qui ont le privilège d'entendre ces éducateurs extraordinaires parler en toute connaissance de cause. Parfois amusantes, souvent émouvantes et toujours inspirantes, ces idées uniques et ces solutions novatrices que ces enseignants les plus compétents ont trouvées pour résoudre des difficultés communes s'avéreront utiles pour quiconque s'intéresse à l'excellence dans l'enseignement et à l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance. Le modérateur, M. Joel Westheimer, a lancé l'événement en affirmant :

« Certaines personnes croient que l'enseignement n'est que du bourrage de crâne pour les enfants. Paulo Freire croit pour sa part que l'enseignement est un genre de « transaction bancaire », dans laquelle l'enseignant dépose de l'information devant les élèves et fait un retrait pendant les examens. Je crois que l'éducation, et l'enseignement en particulier, crée un espace dans la classe où l'imagination et les aptitudes peuvent s'épanouir. C'est un travail très exigeant pour les professeurs. Quand je lis la liste des projets que nous allons célébrer aujourd'hui et que je pense au travail que vous accomplissez tous, ça me rappelle à quel point le rôle de l'enseignement est difficile et ambitieux. »

M. Westheimer est président de la Chaire de recherche en démocratie et en éducation à l'Université d'Ottawa, et chroniqueur en Éducation pour Radio-Canada.

Les sujets de discussion de la tribune Parole d'enseignants sont tirés de la trousse de mise en candidature des lauréats et s'inspirent de ce qu'ils estiment leurs meilleures et plus pertinentes pratiques d'enseignement. Cette année encore, pour suivre la tendance croissante de la notion d'intégration au Canada, les lauréats des PPM pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement et pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance ont participé à la même tribune. En 2014, les sujets de discussion étaient les suivants : « Favoriser l'émerveillement des enfants » — inspirer l'apprentissage grâce à un curriculum émergent, « Une démarche bienveillante » — établir le fondement de l'apprentissage continu, « Aucun enfant oublié » — assurer la réussite de tous les élèves, « L'apprentissage en commun » — collaborer pour favoriser la réussite scolaire de tous les élèves, « Si tu le construis… » — inspirer les jeunes et les inciter à participer aux domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) et enfin, « L'expérience vécue par l'enfant » — encourager les élèves à apprendre pour la vie. Vous trouverez dans la présente publication un résumé des pratiques exemplaires, ainsi que des liens vers les ressources qu'utilisent régulièrement les éducateurs dans leur classe et dans leur centre de la petite enfance.

Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement rendent hommage à des enseignants exceptionnels et innovateurs de toutes les disciplines, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, qui insufflent à leurs élèves le goût d'apprendre et qui utilisent les technologies de l'information et des communications pour mieux les préparer en les aidant à acquérir les compétences dont ils auront besoin pour exceller dans une société et une économie du XXIe siècle. Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance rendent hommage aux éducateurs exceptionnels de la petite enfance qui excellent dans l'art de favoriser le développement et la socialisation des jeunes enfants qui leur sont confiés et dans l'art d'aider les enfants à acquérir les connaissances de base dont ils auront besoin au cours de leur vie. La biographie des lauréats décrit les activités novatrices de certains des éducateurs les plus inspirants du Canada.

Les Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement et pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance sont administrés par Industrie Canada en partenariat avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Santé Canada, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, et grâce au généreux soutien de la Fondation RBC. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce programme, ses partenaires et les lauréats, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du programme.

Les renseignements, les opinions et les commentaires présentés dans cette publication sont ceux des lauréats de 2014 des Prix du Premier ministre et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions du Premier ministre, du ministre de l'Industrie ou des ministères du gouvernement fédéral qui participent à ce programme. Ce site Internet contient des liens vers des sites externes au domaine du programme des Prix du Premier ministre, mais nous ne sommes pas responsables du service, des renseignements ou des produits figurant sur ces sites ni de la crédibilité de ceux-ci.

Articles Ruby Anne Chartrand

Ruby Anne Chartrand

Établir le fondement de l'apprentissage continu
Je crois fermement aux bienfaits durables des programmes d'éducation préscolaire. Les expériences d'apprentissage au cours de ces premières années peuvent influer sur le reste de la vie d'une enfant. J'ai choisi de devenir une éducatrice de la petite enfance pour participer à ce stade merveilleux et passionnant du développement. Je fais tout en mon pouvoir pour que chaque enfant qui participe au Programme d'aide préscolaire aux Autochtones se sente spécial en lui prodiguant beaucoup d'affection, en lui accordant du temps en tête à tête de qualité et en apprenant à connaître personnellement sa famille. Les enfants doivent se sentir en sécurité dans leurs milieux et avec leurs éducateurs pour être en mesure d'apprendre. La création de liens et d'environnements favorables assurent aux enfants l'amour, le réconfort et la sécurité dont ils ont besoin pour grandir socialement et émotionnellement. (Continuez la lecture…)


Angela Daniels-Drummond

Angela Daniels-Drummond

Travail d'équipe, travail de rêve
Qu'on soit travailleur saisonnier ou nouveau venu dans le domaine de l'éducation de la petite enfance, qu'on franchisse les portes de son centre pour la première fois ou qu'on y travaille depuis vingt ans, on a tous des rêves, des buts et des aspirations. On espère que tout ce qu'on désire pour chaque enfant deviendra un jour réalité. (Continuez la lecture…)


Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya and Cristina Primerano

Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya and Cristina Primerano

Favoriser l'émerveillement des enfants; inspirer l'apprentissage grâce à un curriculum émergent
Nous croyons que l'apprentissage est un processus qui dure toute la vie grâce aux interactions avec les pairs, le matériel et l'environnement. L'auteur et pédagogue Ken Robinson a déclaré : « nous devons reconnaître que la plupart des acquisitions de base se font en groupe et que la coopération alimente le développement ». Notre communauté d'apprentissage est composée d'enfants, de familles et d'éducateurs. Notre philosophie, s'articulant autour des relations, se base sur la reconnaissance des questions de notre communauté et sur l'utilisation de ce questionnement et de cette remise en question pour développer un curriculum émergent axé sur l'observation. « Émergent », en ce sens qu'il est souple et qu'il est issu des intérêts portés par les enfants et la communauté d'apprenants et « axé sur l'observation » en ce sens que nous écoutons attentivement ce que disent les enfants et surveillons de près la façon dont ils utilisent le matériel et les concepts qu'ils explorent. Nous croyons qu'un curriculum est un processus vivant et organique qui ne cesse de changer et d'évoluer. (Continuez la lecture…)


Mona Khan

Mona Khan

Établir le fondement de l'apprentissage continu
Les six premières années de la vie sont véritablement miraculeuses. Le développement au cours de cette période critique prépare le reste de la vie d'un enfant. Ce constat simple mais profond a inspiré ma formation, ma recherche et mon travail dans le domaine du développement de la petite enfance. (Continuez la lecture…)


Arnold Laplante

Arnold Laplante

Une démarche bienveillante
Empreint de bienveillance, c'est ainsi que je tente d'exercer mon travail auprès des enfants âgés de quatre et cinq ans. Tout au long de mes trente-quatre années d'expérience au Centre de la petite enfance, j'ai puisé mon inspiration aux côtés de collègues et d'artistes, soutenu aussi ma pratique par des données venant de pédagogues et psychologues reconnus. (Continuez la lecture…)

Ressources

Outils en ligne/communautés

Organismes

Partenaires
Date de modification :