2018 Recipients – Excellence in Early Childhood Education

Certificate of Excellence

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

Alberta

Ashwak Bawa-morad

Ashwak Bawa-morad

Nurturing the young children at the centre as a mother cares for her family, this educator creates a stimulating and engaging learning environment, while acting as a strong ally, support and guide for parents.

British Columbia

Maria Cortese

Maria Cortese

Educator transformed parish school's Junior Kindergarten program to reflect current educational techniques; in class, she builds a bond with each child, engaging them in purposeful activities and fostering values such as integrity.


Pam Moore

Pam Moore

Veteran educator promotes Aboriginal culture through kits containing toys, books, felt stories and activities on Aboriginal themes; works tirelessly to respond to community needs for quality care for First Nations children.

Manitoba

Yvette Sorin

Yvette Sorin

Skateboard ramp building and custom long boards: in a classroom filled with the sounds of humming machines, active minds and hands at work, this teacher shows students what a career in trades could look like, as well as how to be a better citizen.

Nova Scotia

Matthew Sampson

Matthew Sampson

Proponent of emergent curriculum and Reggio Emilia approach gives children room to challenge themselves, take risks and follow their interests, even when those interests include zombies.

View all recipients

Certificate of Achievement

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

Alberta

Tadelech Midaksa

Tadelech Midaksa

A strong and smiling presence for the children in her daily care and in the lives of their parents, this educator gives children the chance to make choices, express their ideas and participate in their learning.

British Columbia

Gina Gallagher

Gina Gallagher

With a unique curriculum every year, this educator gives children agency over their own learning, co-creating opportunities for them to deepen their thinking, represent their understandings and encounter new perspectives.

Manitoba

Terri Lamy

Terri Lamy

Trusted educator exposes children to the wider world of school via activities at the co-located elementary school and shares her positive attitudes about school, thus breeding in them a strong and enduring love of learning.

Nova Scotia

Jillian Farris

Jillian Farris

Centre founder emphasizes neighbourhood connections and family support, while teaching skills and knowledge that will lead to autonomy for children as they grow; centre has minimal environmental footprint in inner-city location.

Ontario

Kayleigh McEwen

Kayleigh McEwen

Founding a child care centre in a retirement home means this educator can organize intergenerational activities, while her Montessori approach sees children learning with traditional materials and caregivers focusing on creating relationships.


Daniela Moore

Daniela Moore

With infectious enthusiasm, this teacher transformed school's Kindergarten program, while striving to meet individual student needs through evidenced-based strategies integrating technology, cooperative learning and music.


Isabelle Wong

Isabelle Wong

Inspiring young children to explore the world—both local and global—through mindful play, innovation, and care for others and the environment, this educator also enriches student lives by focusing on moral character development.

Quebec

Louise Demers

Louise Demers

This educator allows children to drive their own development, creating stimulating activities that help them to excel, to better communicate their needs and emotions, and to assume age-appropriate responsibilities.


Royal Gauthier

Royal Gauthier

This one-of-a-kind educator transports children to creative, imaginary worlds and often takes them on neighbourhood strolls so they can discover local shops and learn about their community.


Gabrielle Patry

Gabrielle Patry

This charismatic and respectful educator has made her school's daycare a welcoming and highly stimulating environment where students can learn while feeling supported and appreciated.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2018 – Excellence en éducation de la petite enfance

Certificat d'excellence

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Alberta

Ashwak Bawa-Morad

Ashwak Bawa-Morad

En prenant soin des jeunes enfants du centre comme le ferait une mère pour sa famille, cette éducatrice crée un milieu d'apprentissage stimulant et attrayant tout en faisant figure d'alliée indéfectible, de soutien et de guide pour les parents.

Colombie-Britannique

Maria Cortese

Maria Cortese

Cette éducatrice a transformé le programme de la maternelle de l'école paroissiale en fonction des techniques éducatives actuelles. En classe, elle crée un lien avec chaque enfant, propose des activités pertinentes et favorise des valeurs comme l'intégrité.


Pam Moore

Pam Moore

Cette éducatrice, qui compte de nombreuses années d'expérience, fait valoir la culture autochtone en utilisant des trousses qui contiennent des jouets, des livres, des histoires touchantes et des activités sur des thèmes autochtones. Elle travaille sans relâche pour répondre aux besoins de la collectivité en matière de soins de qualité aux enfants des Premières Nations.

Manitoba

Yvette Sorin

Yvette Sorin

Cette éducatrice fait équipe avec les parents pour assurer le développement de l'autonomie, de l'imagination et de la créativité des enfants et travaille à la transmission de la culture et de la langue en tissant des liens serrés dans la communauté francophone.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Matthew Sampson

Matthew Sampson

Défenseur du nouveau curriculum et de l'approche pédagogique de Reggio Emilia, cet éducateur permet aux enfants de se remettre en question, de prendre des risques et de faire des choix en fonction de leurs intérêts, même lorsqu'il est question de zombies.

Voir tous les lauréats

Certificat d'honneur

Lauréates d'un Certificat d'honneur

Alberta

Tadelech Midaksa

Tadelech Midaksa

Assurant une présence solide et souriante aux enfants dont elle s'occupe et dans la vie de leurs parents, cette éducatrice donne aux enfants la possibilité de faire des choix, d'exprimer leurs idées et de participer à leur apprentissage.

Colombie-Britannique

Gina Gallagher

Gina Gallagher

Grâce à un programme unique chaque année, cette éducatrice permet aux enfants d'agir sur leur propre apprentissage, crée avec eux des occasions d'approfondir leur réflexion, de démontrer leur compréhension et d'accueillir de nouvelles perspectives.

Manitoba

Terri Lamy

Terri Lamy

Éducatrice de confiance, elle révèle aux enfants l'univers de l'école en organisant des activités dans l'école primaire qui accueille le service de garde. Son attitude positive à l'égard de l'école lui permet d'inculquer aux enfants un amour intense et durable pour l'apprentissage.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Jillian Farris

Jillian Farris

La fondatrice de ce centre met l'accent sur les relations avec le voisinage et le soutien aux familles, en plus d'enseigner des compétences et des connaissances qui conduiront les enfants vers une plus grande autonomie en grandissant. Le centre a une empreinte écologique minimale au cœur de la ville.

Ontario

Kayleigh McEwen

Kayleigh McEwen

Son centre de la petite enfance étant situé dans une maison de retraite, cette éducatrice peut organiser des activités intergénérationnelles, alors que son approche Montessori préconise l'apprentissage des enfants au moyen d'outils traditionnels et la création de liens avec les éducateurs.


Daniela Moore

Daniela Moore

Grâce à son enthousiasme contagieux, cette éducatrice a transformé le programme de maternelle de l'école, tout en s'efforçant de répondre aux besoins propres à chaque enfant au moyen de stratégies fondées sur des données probantes faisant appel à la technologie, à l'apprentissage coopératif et à la musique.


Isabelle Wong

Isabelle Wong

En donnant aux enfants l'envie d'explorer le monde, tant localement qu'internationalement, en jouant, en innovant et en prenant soin des autres et de l'environnement, cette éducatrice enrichit également la vie des enfants en mettant l'accent sur le développement du caractère moral.

Québec

Louise Demers

Louise Demers

Cette éducatrice s'assure que l'enfant est au centre de son développement en le stimulant par l'entremise d'activités qui aident chacun à dépasser ses propres limites, à mieux communiquer ses besoins et ses émotions et à assumer des responsabilités adaptées à son âge.


Royal Gauthier

Royal Gauthier

Un éducateur hors du commun qui entraîne, jour après jour, les enfants dans des univers régis par l'imaginaire et la créativité et sillonne avec eux les rues du quartier afin de leur faire découvrir les commerces environnants et de leur inculquer un sens de la communauté.


Gabrielle Patry

Gabrielle Patry

Éducatrice charismatique et respectueuse, elle fait du service de garde de son école un lieu accueillant et hautement stimulant où les élèves poursuivent leur apprentissage en se sentant soutenus et appréciés.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :