2019 Recipients: Excellence in Early Childhood Education

Certificate of Excellence

Certificates of Excellence in Early Childhood Education

British Columbia

Lexie Biegun

Lexie Biegun

Children explore, learn and play on a four-acre, forested property and in art studios, uncovering what really matters to them—and even having nap time outdoors—nurtured by this experienced educator and her trained staff.

New Brunswick

Heather Hamilton

Heather Hamilton

This fourth-generation educator ensures children grow to appreciate the history and nature around them; young learners explore child-size models of local and world-famous structures, and a real-life, heritage schoolhouse.

Northwest Territories

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

The Great Canadian North has no more secrets for this Frenchwoman who has made Yellowknife her new playground and enables the young children in her care to develop their confidence, motor skills and their respect for others and nature.

Ontario

Pauline McKay

Pauline McKay

Modelling positive cultural practices and healthy living, this educator help students and families connect to their Indigenous heritage—through dance, for example—while supporting children's cognitive and personal development.

Quebec

Nadia Chicoine

Nadia Chicoine

An educator with boundless energy and enthusiasm, even after 20 years in the profession, who knows how to use her vast experience to serve the children, their parents, the Centre and the community while remaining up-to-date with the latest trends and endlessly meeting new challenges.

Certificate of Achievement

Certificate of Achievement Recipients

Alberta

Jennifer Beaman

Jennifer-Jill Beaman

This scientist-turned-educator asks "what if" questions and explores the answers with the children, organizing hands-on activities so they can delve into their interests, while meeting learning objectives and developing new skills.

Tonya Lee Byrne

Tonya Lee Byrne

Believing that every child is a capable learner, this educator combines curriculum with children's interests; they learned about Africa by coding a BeeBot map, studying the animals there and playing in an African mud hut in the classroom.

Erin M. Pampu
Morgan Elizabeth Nadeau

Erin M. Pampu and Morgan Elizabeth Nadeau

Children, teachers and families learn from each other in the circle of education; teaching team embraces risky play and its benefits, while fostering children's skills, and emotional and social development.

British Columbia

Ruth Bancroft

Ruth Bancroft

A pioneer of inclusion in early childhood education, this veteran educator welcomes children with all types of special needs and opened her centre to a wider age group, all while providing countless opportunities for play-based learning.

Saaiqa Bhanji

Saaiqa Bhanji

Pushing past preconceived notions about what children can do, this educator engages in research projects and builds relationships with staff on campus so children have familiar, safe and interesting places to learn and play.

Nova Scotia

Jessica Rose Landry

Jessica Rose Landry

This facilitator of excellence ensures programming is inclusive, co-created with the children and gets them out into the world: learning about bridges led to a walk to see a local one, a unit on the environment took children to a farm.

Ontario

Kim Bradley

Kim Bradley

Land-based learning introduces children to traditional Indigenous produce and sacred medicinal plants, while they also participate in ceremonies conducted by elders and help in the local community, including cleaning up local trails.

Kevin Fowlow

Kevin Fowlow

This young educator creates emotional space for every child, while nurturing and nourishing young minds through open ended, play-based learning—sometimes on a pirate ship or at the Tim Hortons' drive-through he has created.

Quebec

Marie-Pier Leduc

Marie-Pier Leduc

A devoted and tuned-in educator, she is endlessly looking for new knowledge and skills to share, always enabling her children and colleagues to go further and develop their full potential.

Martine Rodrigue
Yvonne Lacoursière

Martine Rodrigue et Yvonne Lacoursière

A winning duo that thanks to their intimate knowledge of Indigenous culture, engagement and great caring, supports the children in their social, motor and psychological development while helping them and their parents create pride in their identity.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Lauréats de 2019 : Excellence en éducation de la petite enfance

Certificat d'excellence

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Colombie-Britannique

Lexie Biegun

Lexie Biegun

Les enfants explorent, apprennent et jouent sur une propriété boisée de quatre acres et dans des studios d'art, découvrant ce qui compte réellement pour eux — même faire la sieste à l'extérieur — sous les soins de cette éducatrice expérimentée et de son équipe qualifiée.

New Brunswick

Heather Hamilton

Heather Hamilton

Cette éducatrice de quatrième génération veille à ce que les enfants en viennent à aimer l'histoire et la nature qui les entoure; les jeunes apprenants étudient des modèles miniatures de constructions locales et de réputation mondiale, ainsi qu'une véritable école patrimoniale.

Territoires du nord-ouest

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

Le Grand Nord canadien n'a plus de secrets pour cette Française qui a fait de Yellowknife son nouveau terrain de jeux et permet aux tout-petits sous sa garde d'y développer leur confiance, leurs habiletés motrices et leur respect des autres et de la nature.

Ontario

Pauline McKay

Pauline McKay

Adoptant des pratiques culturelles positives et un mode de vie sain, cette éducatrice aide les enfants et leur famille à se rapprocher de leur patrimoine autochtone — par la danse, p. ex. — tout en appuyant le développement cognitif et personnel des enfants.

Québec

Nadia Chicoine

Nadia Chicoine

Une éducatrice dont le dynamisme et l'enthousiasme sont intarissables, même après 20 ans de métier, et qui sait mettre sa vaste expérience au service des enfants, de leurs parents, de son Centre et de la communauté tout en restant à l'affût des nouvelles tendances et en relevant sans cesse de nouveaux défis.

Certificat d'honneur

Lauréates d'un Certificat d'honneur

Alberta

Jennifer Beaman

Jennifer-Jill Beaman

Cette scientifique devenue éducatrice pose des questions hypothétiques et explore les réponses avec les enfants, organise des activités pratiques pour leur permettre d'approfondir leurs propres domaines d'intérêt tout en atteignant les objectifs d'apprentissage et en développant de nouvelles compétences

Tonya Lee Byrne

Tonya Lee Byrne

Croyant que chaque enfant est un apprenant compétent, cette éducatrice adapte le programme aux domaines d'intérêt des enfants; ils étudient l'Afrique en codant une carte BeeBot, en découvrant les animaux qui s'y trouvent et en jouant dans une hutte de terre africaine dans la classe.

Erin M. Pampu
Morgan Elizabeth Nadeau

Erin M. Pampu et Morgan Elizabeth Nadeau

Les enfants, les éducateurs et les familles apprennent les uns des autres dans le cercle de l'enseignement; l'équipe d'éducateurs prône le jeu risqué et ses avantages, tout en favorisant l'acquisition de compétences et le développement affectif et social chez les enfants.

Ruth Bancroft

Ruth Bancroft

Pionnière de l'inclusion en éducation de la petite enfance, cette éducatrice chevronnée accueille les enfants ayant différents types de besoins spéciaux et a ouvert son centre à un groupe d'âge plus vaste, tout en offrant d'innombrables possibilités d'apprentissage par le jeu.

Saaiqa Bhanji

Saaiqa Bhanji

Faisant fi des anciennes idées préconçues à l'égard de ce que peuvent faire les enfants, cette éducatrice participe à des projets de recherche et tisse des liens avec le personnel sur le campus pour faire en sorte que les enfants aient accès à des lieux familiers, sûrs et intéressants pour apprendre et jouer.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Jessica Rose Landry

Jessica Rose Landry

Cette animatrice d'excellence fait en sorte que le programme soit inclusif, créé en collaboration avec les enfants et les fasse s'ouvrir au monde : l'apprentissage sur les ponts aboutit à une marche vers un pont local, un volet sur l'environnement a mené à une visite dans une ferme.

Ontario

Kim Bradley

Kim Bradley

L'apprentissage axé sur la terre initie les enfants aux produits autochtones traditionnels et aux plantes médicinales sacrées; ils participent également à des cérémonies animées par des aînés et apportent leur contribution à la collectivité locale, en nettoyant des sentiers locaux, p. ex.

Kevin Fowlow

Kevin Fowlow

Ce jeune éducateur crée un cadre émotionnel pour chaque enfant, tout en nourrissant et en éduquant les jeunes esprits par l'apprentissage ouvert par le jeu — parfois sur un bateau de pirate ou au service au volant de Tim Horton qu'il a créé.

Québec

Marie-Pier Leduc

Marie-Pier Leduc

Éducatrice dévouée et à l'écoute, elle cherche sans cesse à acquérir et partager de nouvelles connaissances et compétences qui permettent aux enfants et à ses collègues d'aller toujours plus loin et de développer leur plein potentiel.

Martine Rodrigue
Yvonne Lacoursière

Martine Rodrigue et Yvonne Lacoursière

Un duo gagnant qui, grâce à sa connaissance intime de la culture autochtone, à son engagement et à son grand cœur, soutient les enfants dans leur développement social, moteur et psychologique, tout en les aidant, ainsi que leurs parents, à bâtir leur fierté identitaire.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :