Archived — Melanie Castro Shibaoka, Rachel Rosen

  • Melanie Castro Shibaoka, Rachel Rosen Video Profile
    [ Flash, 12.3 MB ]

Year: 2009 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Rachel Rosen, Melanie Castro Shibaoka

Brentwood Nursery School
1455A Delta Avenue
Burnaby BC V5B 3G4

Telephone: 604-291-7203
Email: teachers123@telus.net

Type of setting: Preschool for children ages 3 to 5

Melanie and Rachel graduated from the early childhood education program at Capilano University in North Vancouver. As students, Melanie spent six months at early childhood education settings in Beijing, and Rachel received a prestigious university award. They both now give back to the university by actively mentoring students (Brentwood is an exemplary practicum placement), and, after receiving her Master of Arts in Early Childhood Studies, Rachel is now on the faculty.

Philosophy of care

Rachel joined the Brentwood Nursery School teaching team in 2002 and Melanie in 2004. The two educators and their colleagues offer experiences that allow children to explore theories they have about things, engage with each other's ideas, and build relationships and a sense of belonging. Melanie and Rachel are not afraid to take on long-term projects in response to questions and ideas from children, teachers and families.

Support of child development

  • Melanie and Rachel carefully plan and provide meaningful experiences to give the children the opportunity to play and learn in a stimulating environment. At the science table, for example, the children experiment, learn how to record their discoveries and compare their results with their peers'. The children work in teams to solve problems, and the educators encourage the children to use all types of materials to achieve their results.
  • The educators break complex ideas down and help the children to closely observe and understand new concepts, and to carry out complex projects. For example, in order to build a bench for their family members to use at the preschool, the children looked at various examples in the community, drew plans for their own, built a prototype out of interlocking wood blocks, shopped for the wood and used the skills they learned at the woodworking table to build the bench.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Parents remark on the depth of Melanie and Rachel's involvement with them. Several times a year, for example, the team facilitates workshops specifically for parents to give them a chance to see and discuss the children's thinking and learning at school.
  • The educators prepare a portfolio on each child that goes home several times a year so the child can share preschool experiences with his or her family. Melanie and Rachel also document group projects to share their observations and collaboratively reflect on the learning process with families.

Rave reviews

"I will always remember my first participation day in Melanie and Rachel's class. … [T]hese women could not possibly be this engaging, respectful, well prepared and professional all the time. … After three years … I found my experience on that first day to be routine." Nominator and parent

"[Rachel and Melanie's] commitment and professional ethics are paramount in their teaching with young children. They encourage each and every child to participate and learn in a multitude of ways. They provide an engaging and challenging learning environment for the children and their families. Their intelligence and curiosity are integral components of the preschool curriculum they provide." Coordinator, Early Childhood Care and Education Program, Capilano University

Date modified:

Archivé — Melanie Castro Shibaoka, Rachel Rosen

Année : 2009 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréates d'un Certificat d'excellence

Rachel Rosen, Melanie Castro Shibaoka

Brentwood Nursery School
1455A, avenue Delta
Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique) V5B 3G4

Téléphone : 604-291-7203
Télécopieur : 604-291-7203
Courriel : teachers123@telus.net

Type d'établissement : Préscolaire pour enfants de 3 à 5 ans

Melanie et Rachel sont diplômées du programme d'éducation de la petite enfance à l'Université Capilano à Vancouver Nord. Durant leurs études, Melanie a passé six mois dans des établissements d'éducation de la petite enfance à Beijing et Rachel a reçu une récompense universitaire prestigieuse. Maintenant, toutes les deux redonnent à leur université ce qu'elles en ont reçu en faisant du mentorat auprès des étudiants (Brentwood est un lieu de stage exemplaire) et Rachel, après reçu sa maîtrise en éducation de la petite enfance, fait maintenant partie du corps professoral.

Démarche éducative

Rachel s'est jointe à l'équipe d'enseignement de Brentwood Nursery School en 2002 et Melanie, en 2004. Les deux éducatrices et leurs collègues proposent des activités qui permettent aux enfants d'explorer des théories qu'ils ont au sujet de ce qui les entoure, de partager les idées de tout en chacun, et de bâtir des relations et un sentiment d'appartenance. Melanie et Rachel ne craignent pas de mettre en chantier des projets à long terme pour répondre aux questions et aux idées des enfants, des enseignants et des familles.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Melanie et Rachel organisent soigneusement des expériences intéressantes afin de donner aux enfants l'occasion de jouer et d'apprendre dans un environnement stimulant. À la table de science, par exemple, l'enfant expérimente, apprend à noter ses découvertes et compare ses résultats avec ceux de ses pairs. Les enfants travaillent en équipe pour résoudre des problèmes et les éducateurs les encouragent à utiliser toutes sortes de matériaux pour obtenir des résultats.
  • Les éducatrices simplifient des idées complexes et aident les enfants à observer de près et à comprendre de nouveaux concepts, et à accomplir des projets complexes. Par exemple, pour construire un banc dont se serviraient les membres de la famille à l'école, les enfants ont observé divers exemples dans la collectivité, ont fait eux-mêmes des plans, ont bâti un prototype en assemblant des blocs de bois, ont magasiné pour se procurer le bois et ont utilisé les compétences acquises à la table de travail du bois pour bâtir le banc.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Les parents remarquent le degré d'implication de Melanie et de Rachel auprès des enfants. Plusieurs fois par an, l'équipe dirige des ateliers mis sur pied pour les parents pour leur donner la chance de voir et de discuter ce que leurs enfants apprennent et assimilent à l'école.
  • Les éducatrices préparent un portfolio sur chaque enfant qui est apporté à la maison plusieurs fois dans l'année, afin que l'enfant puisse partager son expérience préscolaire avec sa famille. Melanie et Rachel rédigent également un compte rendu des projets de groupe afin de faire part de leurs observations et de réfléchir conjointement sur le processus d'apprentissage avec les familles.

Commentaires élogieux

« Je me souviendrai toujours de ma première journée de participation à la classe de Melanie et de Rachel…Comment ces femmes pouvaient-elles être si engageantes, respectueuses, bien préparées et professionnelles tout le temps… Après trois ans… J'ai trouvé que mon expérience de cette première journée était de la routine. » Proposant et parent

« L'implication et l'éthique professionnelle de Rachel et Melanie sont primordiales dans leur enseignement auprès des petits enfants. Elles encouragent chacun des enfants à participer et à apprendre de multiples façons. Elles offrent un environnement d'apprentissage encourageant et stimulant pour les enfants et leurs familles. Leur intelligence et leur curiosité sont des composantes intégrales du programme préscolaire qu'elles appliquent. » Coordonnateur, Programme de soins et d'éducation de la petite enfance, Université Capilano.

Date de modification :