Archived — Transcripts - 2009 Recipient Video Profiles

Suzanne Belanger cares for young First Nations children in north-western New Brunswick. Every day, she emphasizes the dignity, worth and uniqueness of each child. She is dedicated to working with families to instil pride in their heritage and excitement about education. She regularly invites First Nations elders to share their stories with the children. Suzanne is also a caregiver for adults with mental disabilities.


Gisèle Faucher has been an educator for 30 years. No birthday goes unnoticed in her group. Even snack time is magical. This educator has spent a night in the outdoors with her little charges. She has introduced them to making costumes for the Christmas performance. Ms. Faucher places no limits on the learning of children.


Gitanne Pigeon helped found the Idée Fixe early childhood centre 30 years ago. She believes that it takes a village to raise a child - a village where all cultures are respected. This educator is loved by her colleagues and the student teachers she coaches. She gives selflessly. The enriching activities she offers children nourish their imaginations.


Sherry Lalonde built the junior and senior kindergarten programs at the St. Thomas-Elgin Y from the ground up. Her classroom is filled with features that encourage children to develop all five senses. "Scary Sherry" the mad scientist gets children excited about science. Her program contains activities that focus on many areas of child development. She respects children's individual needs and fosters a warm and caring learning environment.


Susan Watson welcomes all children to her program. She works with respect and love to ensure they can all participate in activities to the same level. Susan is a keen observer of each child in her care, paying particular attention to the challenges they face. She emphasizes the importance of manners and social skills, which she believes will help all children reach their highest potential.


Most children in Jackie Sturton's care make the transition to nursery school very easily. Parents say this is because their little ones have known Jackie since birth. Jackie helps parents develop the knowledge, skills and confidence they need to meet the challenges of children's early years. Jackie recognizes the creativity and individualism of each child in her care, and tailors her programs to meet the needs of each little boy or girl.


J. Puddleduck Preschool is Vancouver Island's first parent participation daycare. Linda Foster helped set it up in the late 1970s. The children at the preschool come from families from various backgrounds and income levels. Linda makes sure all children have equal access to play and learning opportunities. In her programming, she keeps her focus solidly on the children and providing the best possible opportunities for their optimum development.


The children in Rachel Rosen and Melanie Castro Shibaoka's care play and learn in a stimulating environment every day. At the science table, the children experiment, learn how to record their discoveries and compare their results with others. The educators break complex ideas down and help children understand new concepts. Rachel and Melanie regularly take on major projects with the children. Together, they even built a wooden bench for the nursery school.


Patt Uren began working with 2- to 12-year-olds at her church in 1963 and has been involved with children ever since. She is extremely knowledgeable about the needs and developmental stages of preschoolers. Her love of these children shows through in the warm, nurturing, stimulating and enriching environment she creates. She always makes sure that children feel supported and valued, so that they can thrive and grow.


The children in Linda Bonnefoy and Susan Herbrick's care play and work in the garden every day. They look after flowers, and grow vegetables and herbs for the preschool's fresh-cooked lunches. The curriculum includes indoor and outdoor exercise and mixed media art. Through these activities, Linda and Sue teach children about sustainability and healthy living. They also encourage children to make decisions, talk about consequences and learn about cause and effect.

Date modified:

Archivé — Transcription - profils vidéo des récipiendaires 2009

Suzanne Belanger s'occupe de jeunes enfants des Premières nations dans le nord-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick. Chaque jour, elle met à l'honneur la dignité, le mérite et l'unicité de chaque enfant. Elle travaille avec leurs familles pour qu'elles soient fières de leur patrimoine et pour stimuler leur intérêt dans l'éducation. Elle invite régulièrement des aînés des Premières nations afin qu'ils puissent partager leurs histoires avec les enfants. Suzanne procure également des soins à des adultes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale.


Gisèle Faucher est éducatrice depuis 30 ans. Dans son groupe, aucun anniversaire ne passe inaperçu. Même l'heure de la collation est une fête magique. L'éducatrice a passé une nuit en nature avec les petits. Elle les a initiés à la confection de costumes pour le spectacle de Noël. Madame Faucher n'impose aucune limite à l'apprentissage des tout-petits.


Gitanne Pigeon a aidé à fonder le Centre de la petite enfance Idée Fixe il y a 30 ans. Elle croit qu'il faut un village pour élever un enfant. Un village où toutes les cultures sont à l'honneur. L'éducatrice est aimée de ses collègues et des stagiaires qu'elle encadre. Elle donne sans compter. Les activités enrichissantes qu'elle propose aux tout-petits nourrissent leur imaginaire.


Sherry Lalonde a monté de toutes pièces des programmes de prématernelle et de maternelle au Y de St. Thomas-Elgin. Sa classe est ornée d'éléments qui encouragent les enfants à développer les cinq sens. « Scary Sherry » la savante folle fait aimer les sciences aux enfants. Son programme contient des activités qui portent sur de nombreux aspects du développement de l'enfant. Elle respecte les besoins de chaque enfant et crée un environnement d'apprentissage chaleureux et respectueux.


Susan Watson est heureuse d'accueillir tous les enfants dans son programme. Elle travaille avec respect et amour afin que tous puissent participer aux activités sur le même pied d'égalité. Susan observe attentivement chaque enfant à sa garde, accordant une attention particulière aux difficultés auxquels ils font face. Elle met l'accent sur l'importance des bonnes manières et des compétences sociales, ce qui, selon elle, permettra aux enfants d'atteindre leur plein potentiel.


La plupart des enfants sous la garde de Jackie Sturton réussissent facilement à passer à la prématernelle. Les parents affirment qu'il en est ainsi parce que leurs tout-petits connaissent Jackie depuis leur naissance. Jackie aide les parents à acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et la confiance dont ils besoin pour relever les défis de la petite enfance. Jackie reconnaît la créativité et l'individualisme de chaque enfant sous sa garde, et personnalise ses programmes pour répondre aux besoins de chaque petite fille ou petit garçon.


J. Puddleduck Preschool est la première garderie à participation parentale de l'île de Vancouver. C'est Linda Foster qui a aidé à mettre sur pied la garderie à la fin des années 1970. Les enfants du préscolaire proviennent de familles ayant différents bagages culturels et niveaux de revenu. Linda s'assure que tous les enfants ont l'égalité d'accès aux occasions de jeu et d'apprentissage. Dans sa programmation, elle met l'accent sur les enfants et tente de leur offrir les meilleures possibilités pour leur développement optimal.


Chaque jour, les enfants entre les mains de Rachel Rosen et de Melanie Castro Shibaoka jouent et apprennent dans un environnement stimulant. À la table des sciences, les enfants expérimentent, ouvertes et comparent leurs résultats avec les autres. Les éducatrices communiquent des idées complexes en termes simples et aident les enfants à comprendre de nouveaux concepts. Rachel et Melanie entreprennent régulièrement de grands projets avec les enfants. Ensemble, ils ont même bâti un banc en bois pour la prématernelle.


C'est en 1963 que Patt Uren a commencé à travailler avec les enfants de 2 à 12 ans à son église et elle n'a pas cessé depuis. Les besoins et les stades de développement des préscolaires n'ont aucun mystère pour elle. Son amour pour ces enfants s'exprime par un environnement chaleureux, réconfortant, stimulant et enrichissant. Elle s'assure que les enfants se sentent appuyés et valorisés, afin qu'ils puissent s'épanouir et grandir.


Les enfants sous les soins de Linda Bonnefoy et Susan Herbrick jouent et travaillent chaque jour dans le jardin. Ils s'occupent des fleurs et font pousser des légumes et des herbes pour les repas frais du jour de la prématernelle. Le programme d'études comprend des exercices à l'intérieur comme à l'extérieur et des techniques d'art mixtes. Par ces activités, Linda et Sue enseignent aux enfants les principes de la durabilité et d'une vie saine. Elles encouragent également les enfants à prendre des décisions, à parler des conséquences et à apprendre sur la relation de cause à effet.

Date de modification :