Archived — Carol McPhee

Year: 2010–2011 – Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Carol McPhee

Gator Park Co-operative Childcare Centre
2941 Lakeview Avenue
Regina, SK S4S 1G8

Telephone: 306-584-2999
Email: Carol McPhee
Website: Gator Park Co-operative Childcare Centre

Video Profile

Type of setting: Childcare centre for children aged 18 months to school age

Some observe stars, but Carol McPhee is an excellent observer of the children in her care. Looking for a spark of interest, or listening for questions and curiosity, Ms. McPhee creates fascinating projects that captivate children for hours and even days.

Philosophy of care

A snowball effect best describes Ms. McPhee's programming. Observing the children's skills and abilities in one activity, she continuously builds learning based on their cues. On one occasion a poem about scarves led to dancing and children slinging their arms like pirates. And this prompted the "pirate project" which guided children in the creation of mini boats, a life-sized boat, pirate soup, games and songs.

Support of child development

  • Quick to recognize diversity amongst the children in her care, Ms. McPhee incorporates their experiences into the classroom and invites them to perform and share with the others. One child's attendance at a Pow Wow, resulted in a teepee, jingle dress and First Nation's stories. Another child taught Hungarian drumming skills to his peers.
  • Ms. McPhee works with the kindergarten teacher at the school to share information and make the transition for her children a lot easier. The daycare children have put on a performance for multiple audiences, including the kindergarten class, and the kindergarten class has asked the daycare to tend their garden over the summer months.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Ms. McPhee spends time getting to know each child's family, communicates with them daily and often invites them into the classroom. When the Play and Exploration Guide was published by the Ministry of Education, Ms. McPhee provided each family with a copy, pointing out best practices and how they're used in the centre.
  • When one mother wrote a thank you note in Japanese and the children were impressed with the new print, Ms. McPhee invited the mom to share books with them. She even read to the children in Chinese!

Rave reviews

"Everyone seems to know about "Carol at Gator Park" because she is so innovative and passionate in everything she does. (…) It has been an honour to have had Carol care for my children and to have worked with her in a professional capacity."

Parent

"Carol spends many hours at the centre. (…) [She] is one of the most knowledgeable people in the field of early childhood education. Educators who are experts in the field will often consult with Carol about best practices and ask for her input."

Colleague

Date modified:

Archivé — Carol McPhee

Année : 2010-2011 – Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Carol McPhee

Gator Park Co-operative Childcare Centre
2941, avenue Lakeview
Regina (Saskatchewan) S4S 1G8

Téléphone : 306-584-2999
Courriel : Carol McPhee
Site Web : Gator Park Co-operative Childcare Centre (anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants de 18 mois à l'âge scolaire

Certains observent les étoiles. Carol McPhee, elle, est une étoile de l'observation des enfants qu'elle garde. À la recherche de la moindre lueur d'intérêt ou à l'écoute des questions et interrogations, Madame McPhee crée des projets fascinants qui captivent les enfants des heures et des jours durant.

Démarche éducative

L'effet boule de neige décrit à merveille le programme de Madame McPhee. Elle fonde continuellement l'apprentissage sur les compétences et capacités des enfants observées dans le cadre d'une activité. À un moment donné, un poème sur les foulards a incité les enfants à danser et à porter un bras en écharpe comme des pirates. Ce qui a donné lieu au « projet pirate » et la création de mini-bateaux, d'un bateau grandeur nature, d'une soupe de pirate, de jeux et de chansons.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Prompte à reconnaître la diversité chez les enfants sous sa garde, Madame McPhee intègre leurs expériences à son programme et les invite à les partager avec les autres. La participation d'un enfant à un pow-wow a donné lieu à un tipi, à une robe à franges et à des contes autochtones. Un autre enfant a enseigné les rudiments des percussions hongroises à ses camarades.
  • Madame McPhee travaille en collaboration avec l'enseignante de la maternelle de l'école pour partager des informations et faciliter la transition de ses enfants. Les enfants de la garderie ont fait des spectacles pour la classe de maternelle, et la maternelle a demandé à la garderie d'entretenir son jardin pendant les mois d'été.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Madame McPhee se réserve du temps pour faire connaissance avec les familles de chaque enfant, communique avec elles et les invite souvent en classe. Lorsque le ministère de l'Éducation a publié le guide Jouer et explorer , Carol en a remis un exemplaire à chaque famille, en soulignant les bonnes pratiques et la manière dont le centre y recourt.
  • Comme les enfants avaient été impressionnés par la calligraphie d'une note de remerciements qu'une mère avait écrite en japonais, Madame McPhee a demandé à cette mère de lui prêter des livres. Cette dernière est même venue faire la lecture en chinois aux enfants!

Commentaires élogieux

« Tout le monde semble connaître Carol de Gator Park parce qu'elle est si innovatrice et passionnée dans tout ce qu'elle entreprend. […] Ce fut un honneur d'avoir Carol pour s'occuper de mes enfants et d'avoir travaillé avec elle dans un but professionnel. »

Un parent

« Carol passe beaucoup d'heures au centre. […] [Elle] est l'une des personnes les plus compétentes dans le domaine de l'éducation de la petite enfance. Des éducateurs, experts dans le domaine, consultent souvent Carol au sujet des meilleures pratiques et lui demande son avis. »

Un collègue

Date de modification :