Archived — Ingrid Keen

Year: 2012 — Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Lilliput at University of British Columbia (UBC) Childcare Services
2881 Acadis Road
Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1S1

Contact Info:
Phone: 604-822-6151
Email: Ingrid Keen
Website: UBC Child Care Services

Type of setting: Childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 3 years

Philosophy of care

What goes in the wagon first, and how many weeds should we pull from the garden today? These are important decisions for children, and Ingrid Keen makes sure she knows the answer. Kind and caring, Keen slows down and takes the time to pay attention to the smallest of details, getting to know each child, their interests and their dreams.

Support of child development

  • Keen incorporates national and global issues into her programming. She tells her students about local kitten rescues, sporting events or national celebrations. They discuss the stories, play with props to act out the stories and track the stories over time.
  • Keen leaves no child behind, consistently adapting her program and providing additional support when needed. In one such example, she set up a special reading corner for children to speak English as a second language, providing props that can be used to better explain the story.
  • Keen makes sure that schedules are individualized based on the needs and interests of the children rather than a rigid schedule. She will organize a spontaneous field trip, vary play times or hold a random picnic; anything to keep children interested and happy.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Keen listens to families for cues on how to make each child feel comfortable. She provides books, images, and foods that promote a child's home language or culture.
  • Keen is always keen to provide support and resources to families and shows an understanding of the diversity of families in her care.
  • Keen regularly organizes potlucks where cultural practices and languages are included as a matter of course. She also incorporates local community events and activities into her learning environment.

Rave reviews

What stands out is Ingrid's deep connection to each individual child. She is like a grounding rod, bringing everything to the level of the child before her. (…) To see this is simply incredible.

Colleague

Although my child has sadly aged out of Lillliput now, she still talks of Ingrid often and visits whenever she can. (…) My daughter blossomed in her care and became a confident, loving, independent and intelligent child as a result.

Parent

Date modified:

Archivé — Ingrid Keen

Année : 2012 — Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Lilliput at University of British Columbia (UBC) Childcare Services
2881, chemin Acadis
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6T 1S1

Coordonnées :
Téléphone : 604-822-6151
Courriel : Ingrid Keen
Site Web : UBC Child Care Services (anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour les enfants âgés de 18 mois à 3 ans

Démarche éducative

Qu'est ce qu'on met d'abord dans le chariot et combien de mauvaises herbes faudrait il enlever du jardin d'aujourd'hui? Voilà des décisions importantes pour les enfants et Ingrid Keen veille à en connaître la réponse. Gentille et attentionnée, elle ralentit et prend le temps de s'arrêter aux plus petits détails, de connaître chaque enfant, ses intérêts et ses rêves.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Madame Keen intègre des questions nationales et mondiales dans son programme. Elle parle à ses élèves des chatons qui ont été sauvés, des événements sportifs ou des célébrations nationales. Ils discutent des nouvelles, se servent d'accessoires pour jouer la scène et suivent l'avancement de la situation.
  • Madame Keen ne néglige aucun enfant, elle adapte constamment son programme et apporte une aide supplémentaire, au besoin. Par exemple, elle a créé un coin spécial de lecture pour les enfants dont l'anglais est la langue seconde, où ils trouvent des accessoires qui les aident à mieux comprendre l'histoire.
  • Madame Keen veille à personnaliser l'horaire en fonction des besoins et des intérêts des enfants plutôt que de suivre un horaire strict. Elle organise spontanément une sortie éducative, change l'heure du jeu et prépare un pique nique à brûle-pourpoint, tout pour garder l'intérêt des enfants et pour qu'ils soient heureux.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Madame Keen écoute les indices que lui donnent les familles pour que chaque enfant se sente à l'aise. Elle fournit des livres, des images et des aliments qui mettent en valeur la langue ou la culture utilisée à la maison.
  • Madame Keen est toujours prête à apporter de l'aide et des ressources aux familles et comprend bien la diversité des familles dont elle s'occupe.
  • Madame Keen organise régulièrement des repas partage où les pratiques culturelles et les différentes langues sont incluses de manière tout à fait naturelle. Elle intègre aussi des activités et événements communautaires locaux dans son milieu d'apprentissage.

Commentaires élogieux

Ce qui ressort, c'est le lien profond qui existe entre Ingrid et chaque enfant. Elle est comme une tige de mise à la terre parce qu'elle met tout au niveau de l'enfant avant le sien. (…) C'est simplement incroyable à voir.

Un collègue

Même si mon enfant est maintenant trop vieille pour fréquenter le centre Lillliput, elle parle encore souvent d'Ingrid et lui rend visite toutes les fois qu'elle le peut. (…) Ma fille s'est épanouie grâce à ses soins et elle est devenue une enfant sûre d'elle, affectueuse et intelligente.

Un parent

Date de modification :