Archived — Janet Towers

Year: 2012 — Province: New Brunswick

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Saint John Y Early Learning Centre
223 St. James Street
Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1W3

Contact Info:
Phone: 506-634-2908
Email: Janet Towers
Website: Saint John YMCA-YWCA Child Care

Type of setting: Childcare program for children aged 2 years

Philosophy of care

With pages of qualifications, experience and workshops under her belt, Janet Towers constantly strives to find new ideas and new ways of providing hands-on and innovative childcare. She may be busy, but Towers always has time to keep up on what's happening in a child's world – who just got a puppy, and who else has something to tell her about their new baby sister.

Support of child development

  • Towers encourages her team to work with each child as an individual to optimize their development at their own pace and promotes play as the way to keep children interested and learning new things.
  • Towers ensures that her team has all the resources necessary to be creative, think outside the box and remain up-to-date on emerging curriculum and fresh ideas.
  • With children from many different countries, Towers ensures that her team respects and follows the guidelines set forth by parents and encourages that food from the different countries be provided in the centre and discussed with other children.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Parents are welcome in the centre at any time as volunteers or as presenters at show and tell, teaching the children how to knit and bake cookies.
  • Children participate actively in community events. They watch the hockey team practice, collect and distribute mittens, and visit the city market each week.
  • Towers develops partnerships in the community to enhance the programming. Children get ready for kindergarten through kindergarten readiness classes and have access to speech and hearing clinics when necessary.

Rave reviews

Janet's commitment and skill have enriched the learning environment for many of our youngest learners. (…) She is a wonderful role model and I have learned so much about early childhood education from her.

Developmental Paediatrician

Janet's ability to work together with individuals who represent the non-profit, business and government sectors of our community has made it possible to successfully establish the development of the first Saint John Early Learning Centre.

Co-chair, Saint John Early Childhood Development Coalition

Date modified:

Archivé — Janet Towers

Année : 2012 — Province : Nouveau-Brunswick

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Saint John Y Early Learning Centre
223, rue St. James
Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) E2L 1W3

Coordonnées :
Téléphone : 506-634-2908
Courriel : Janet Towers
Site Web : Saint John YMCA-YWCA Child Care (anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Programme de service de garde pour les enfants âgés de 2 ans

Démarche éducative

Comptant à son actif des pages de qualifications, d'expérience et d'ateliers, Janet Towers cherche constamment de nouvelles idées et de nouvelles manières d'offrir des services de garde innovateurs et pratiques. Même si elle est occupée, elle a toujours le temps de rester au fait de ce qui se passe dans le monde d'un enfant, qu'il vienne tout juste d'avoir un chiot ou qu'il souhaite lui parler de sa nouvelle petite sœur.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Madame Towers encourage son équipe à travailler avec chaque enfant comme un individu pour optimiser son développement à son propre rythme et elle préconise le jeu pour garder l'intérêt des enfants et les aider à apprendre de nouvelles choses.
  • Madame Towers veille à ce que son équipe ait toutes les ressources nécessaires pour faire preuve de créativité, sortir des sentiers battus et être au courant du programme d'études à venir et des idées nouvelles.
  • Parce que les enfants viennent de nombreux pays, Madame Towers fait en sorte que les membres de son équipe respectent et suivent les lignes directrices fixées par les parents et elle veille à ce que des aliments de différents pays soient servis dans le centre et que les enfants en discutent.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Les parents sont les bienvenus dans le centre en tout temps, à titre de bénévoles ou de présentateurs à l'occasion de démonstrations, pour enseigner aux enfants à tricoter et à faire des biscuits.
  • Les enfants prennent une part active aux événements communautaires. Ils regardent la pratique de l'équipe de hockey, ils recueillent et distribuent des mitaines, et ils se rendent au marché de la ville une fois par semaine.
  • Madame Towers favorise les partenariats dans la collectivité afin d'améliorer le programme. Les enfants se préparent à la classe maternelle au moyen de cours de préparation et ils ont accès à des séances d'orthophonie et d'audiologie, au besoin.

Commentaires élogieux

L'engagement et les compétences de Janet ont enrichi le milieu d'apprentissage pour bon nombre de nos plus jeunes apprenants. (…) Elle est un excellent modèle et j'ai appris beaucoup de choses d'elle à propos de l'éducation de la petite enfance.

Un pédiatre du développement

Grâce à la capacité de Janet à collaborer avec les représentants des secteurs gouvernementaux, sans but lucratif et des affaires dans notre collectivité, nous avons réussi à créer le premier centre de la petite enfance de Saint John.

Le coprésident, Saint John Early Childhood Development Coalition

Date de modification :