Archived — Shyrose Nurmohamed

Year: 2013 — Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Shyrose Nurmohamed

Rise and Shine Montessori
3440 Moresby Drive
Richmond, British Columbia V7C 4G5

Contact Info:
Telephone: 604-275-7655
Email: Shyrose Nurmohamed
Website: Rise and Shine Montessori

Type of setting: Group Child Care Center for 30 months to 5 Years

Shyrose Nurmohamed makes sure that each and every one of her students knows three things about themselves: "I am kind, I am smart, and I am lovable." Shyrose puts her favourite motto into action each and every day, helping her students understand that, "if you can dream it, you can do it".

Philosophy of care

Through careful observation Shyrose tailors activities that suit each child, as an individual. She doesn't adhere to the framework of any specific approach, but rather combines a variety of teaching philosophies that best suit her students.

Support of child development

  • As each child begins their journey with Shyrose, parents are provided with a booklet that outlines the education plan and philosophy of the centre. She also interviews parents to better understand the child's personality, likes and dislikes.
  • Shyrose develops a "Program of Study" chart for all of her students, which identifies goals and milestones. As each goal is completed, it is documented in a binder that the child can share with his or her family.
  • Shyrose calls on the help of her Puff the Giraffe hand puppet to help her talk to her students about their feelings and how to deal with them.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Shyrose is inspired by the cultural holiday specific to each student, and brings in costumes and snacks for her students to wear. This encourages students to discover the similarities and differences between cultures.
  • Regularly organizing projects to raise funds for local charities, Shyrose ensures that her students understand the issues behind these fundraising efforts.
  • Shyrose was instrumental in the development of a website for the Richmond Childcare Alliance, which allows each childcare centre in the area to have a webpage. The site helps parents find childcare and to be aware of ongoing activities. Parents can even participate in a group Retirement Savings Plan through the group.
  • In May 2012, Shyrose was honoured with an award from the British Columbia Ministry of Children & Families for Excellence in Teaching Innovation for Rise & Shine's unique programming, environment and "contributions to quality child care for the children and families of British Columbia."

Rave reviews

Once when we were driving around on an autumn day, my son told me about how chlorophyll keeps the leaves green and how the leaves change colour when the chlorophyll dies. It may not be a normal topic for a three-year-old to discuss, but it shows that Ms. Rose understands the innate curiosity of children and exposes them to many subjects.

Parent

Not only does Shyrose care for children, she cares about children. She is dedicated to the childcare field and volunteers in many capacities that support quality childcare in Richmond.

Manager, Richmond Child Care Resource and Referral Centre

Date modified:

Archivé — Shyrose Nurmohamed

Année : 2013 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Shyrose Nurmohamed

Rise and Shine Montessori
3440, Moresby Drive
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique) V7C 4G5

Coordonnées : 
Téléphone : 604-275-7655
Courriel : Shyrose Nurmohamed
Site Web : Rise and Shine Montessori (anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 30 mois à 5 ans

Shyrose Nurmohamed s'assure que chacun de ses enfants connaît trois choses à son sujet : « Je suis gentil, je suis intelligent et je suis aimable ». Jour après jour, Mme Nurmohamed met en pratique sa devise préférée, en aidant les enfants à comprendre que « si tu peux y rêver, tu peux y arriver ».

Démarche éducative

Grâce à une observation attentive, Mme Nurmohamed peut concevoir des activités qui conviennent à chaque enfant, personnellement. Elle n'adhère pas au cadre d'une méthode en particulier, mais combine plutôt une variété de démarches éducatives qui conviennent le mieux à ses enfants.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Lorsque les enfants commencent leur périple avec Mme Nurmohamed, les parents reçoivent une brochure qui souligne le plan d'éducation et la philosophie du centre. Elle s'entretient également avec les parents afin de mieux comprendre la personnalité de chaque enfant, de même que ses goûts et préférences.
  • Mme Nurmohamed élabore pour tous les enfants un graphique de « programme d'études » qui précise les buts et les points de repère. Chaque fois qu'un but est atteint, il est noté dans un cahier que l'enfant peut montrer à sa famille.
  • Mme Nurmohamed fait appel à sa marionnette à gaine Puff la girafe pour amener les enfants à lui parler de leurs émotions, pour ensuite leur apprendre à les gérer.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Nurmohamed s'inspire des fêtes culturelles de chacun de ses enfants pour apporter des déguisements et des collations qui s'y rapportent et pour donner à tous l'occasion de découvrir les similitudes et les différences entre les cultures.
  • En organisant régulièrement des activités de financement pour les organisations caritatives locales, Mme Nurmohamed s'assure que les enfants comprennent les enjeux derrière ces collectes de fonds.
  • Mme Nurmohamed a contribué au développement d'un site Web pour la Richmond Childcare Alliance, qui permet à chaque centre de la petite enfance de la région d'avoir une page Web. Le site aide les parents à trouver un centre de la petite enfance qui leur convient. Les parents peuvent même participer à un régime d'épargne-retraite par l'entremise du groupe.
  • En mai 2012, Mme Nurmohamed a reçu du ministère des Enfants et de la Famille de la Colombie-Britannique un prix d'excellence en innovation technologique pour le programme et l'environnement uniques du centre Rise & Shine et pour ses contributions à des services de garde de qualité pour les enfants et les familles de la Colombie-Britannique.

Commentaires élogieux

Un jour d'automne pendant une ballade en auto, mon fils m'a expliqué comment la chlorophylle gardait les feuilles vertes et comment les feuilles changeaient de couleur lorsque la chlorophylle meurt. Ce n'est peut-être pas un discours normal pour un enfant de trois ans, mais cela démontre que Mme Rose comprend la curiosité innée des enfants et qu'elle les expose à de nombreux sujets.

Un parent

Non seulement Mme Shyrose prend soin des enfants, elle se soucie des enfants. Elle est dévouée à la cause des enfants et participe comme bénévole à de nombreuses fonctions qui favorisent des services de garde de qualité à Richmond.

Gestionnaire, Centre de ressources et d'orientation pour la garde des enfants de Richmond

Date de modification :