Archived — Justin West

Year: 2013 — Province: Nova Scotia

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Justin West

Peter Green Hall Children's Centre
1094 Wellington Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2Z9

Contact Info:
Telephone: 902-494-1747
Email: Justin West
Website: Peter Green Hall Children's Centre

Type of setting: Licensed full time childcare centre for 3.5 to 5 years

The sky's the limit when it comes to Justin West's classroom. Whether it comes from drawing self-portraits and organizing an exhibition of their work, being an elevator man, or making a scary movie, West's students explore their interests with curious enthusiasm.

Philosophy of care

West encourages a natural curiosity in an approach that focuses on supporting children's interests—especially through art. He holds mature conversations with his students and his classroom quickly becomes an incubator for confident children who expect to be heard and respected.

Support of child development

  • West created and developed a partnership with the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD). Through this partnership, the college became a resource centre for his students. The children in his care were encouraged to explore the properties of different art mediums, and engaged the college art students in a dialogue about their art work.
  • Working closely with his students, West developed a business plan for a community-based recycling centre, which introduced them to re-using materials and turning them into innovative creations that they could sell.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • For the centre's 45th anniversary celebration, West created an exhibit called The Seeds of Learning, to honour both the children, and their families. The exhibit showcased children's work over the past 20 years and also engaged current students and teachers, who designed the interactive displays. The exhibit was unveiled at a gala event and was attended by over 400 guests.
  • West spearheaded the creation of the Emergent Curriculum Study Group that meets on a monthly basis and encourages educators to share their experiences, children's work and their own uncertainties.
  • West is also a founding member of the Emergent Curriculum Professional Community group, which facilitates monthly gatherings of four local childcare centres.

Rave reviews

I feel very lucky to have had a teacher like Justin in my son's life. He understands children and sees them for the person they are and will become. To have a teacher see your son the way you do and value all of the wonderful, unique and special things about them means everything to a parent, as well as a child.

Parent

Justin has a natural teaching ability; he is passionate about the children in his care and strives to provide authentic meaningful relationships with those children. Justin has a gift for recognizing the uniqueness and individuality of each child and is mindful of this when providing experiences in the learning environment.

Assistant Director, Peter Green Hall Children's Centre
Date modified:

Archivé — Justin West

Année : 2013 – Province : Nouvelle-Écosse

Lauréat d'un certificat d'excellence

Justin West

Peter Green Hall Children's Centre
1094, rue Wellington
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) B3H 2Z9

Coordonnées : 
Téléphone : 902-494-1747
Courriel : Justin West
Site Web : Peter Green Hall Children's Centre (anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance agréé à temps plein pour enfants âgés de 3½ à 5 ans

La classe de Justin West ne connaît pas de limites. Que ce soit en dessinant des autoportraits ou en organisant une exposition de leurs œuvres, en se transformant en garçon d'ascenseur ou en tournant un fil d'horreur, les enfants de M. West explorent leurs centres d'intérêt avec un enthousiasme curieux.

Démarche éducative

M. West encourage la curiosité naturelle en utilisant une démarche axée sur le maintien des intérêts des enfants — en particulier par le biais de l'art. Il a des conversations matures avec ses enfants et sa classe devient rapidement un incubateur d'enfants confiants qui s'attendent à être entendus et respectés.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • M. West a créé et développé un partenariat avec le Collège d'art et de design de la Nouvelle-Écosse (NSCAD). Grâce à ce partenariat, le collège est devenu un centre de ressources pour ses élèves. Les enfants dont il a la garde sont encouragés à explorer les propriétés des différentes techniques et les étudiants du collège peuvent leur faire découvrir leurs œuvres d'art.
  • En étroite collaboration avec ses élèves, M. West a développé un plan d'affaires pour un centre de recyclage communautaire qui les initient à la réutilisation des matériaux afin de les transformer en créations innovantes pouvant être vendues.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Pour la célébration du 45e anniversaire du centre, M. West a mis sur pied une exposition intitulée The Seeds of Learning (les semences de l'apprentissage) qui rend hommage aux enfants et à leurs familles. L'exposition présentait des travaux d'enfants des 20 dernières années, en plus de mobiliser les enfants et les éducateurs actuels qui ont conçu les affichages interactifs. L'exposition a été dévoilée dans le cadre d'un gala réunissant plus de 400 invités.
  • M. West est le fer de lance de la création du Emergent Curriculum Study Group, un groupe qui se réunit tous les mois et qui encourage les éducateurs à partager leurs expériences, les travaux des enfants et leurs propres incertitudes.
  • M. West est également un membre fondateur du Emergent Curriculum Professional Community, un groupe qui organise les rencontres mensuelles de quatre centres locaux de la petite enfance.

Commentaires élogieux

Je me considère très chanceuse d'avoir eu un éducateur comme Justin dans la vie de mon fils. Il comprend les enfants et voit en chacun d'eux la personne qu'elle est véritablement et qu'elle deviendra. Avoir un éducateur qui voit votre fis tel que vous le voyez et qui valorise toutes les choses merveilleuses, uniques et spéciales à son sujet est inestimable pour un parent, de même que pour un enfant.

Un parent

Justin a un talent naturel pour l'enseignement; il se passionne pour les enfants dont il a la garde et s'efforce d'établir avec eux des liens significatifs authentiques. Justin a un don pour déceler l'unicité et l'individualité de chaque enfant et il est très attentif à cela lorsqu'il leur propose des expériences dans le milieu d'apprentissage.

Le directeur adjoint, Peter Green Hall Children's Centre
Date de modification :