Archived — Angelique Sanders

Year: 2013 — Province: Ontario

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Angelique Sanders

Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, Ontario M5B 2K3

Contact Info:
Telephone: 416-979-5338
Email: Angelique Sanders
Website: Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre

Type of setting: Laboratory childcare centre for 1.5 to 6 years

With an ear for languages, Angelique Sanders has built a classroom where all languages are welcome, where children discover, understand and accept the different ways people talk, live, sing, eat, pray, cook and count. Language and literacy skills are not just respected, but they both encouraged and embraced.

Philosophy of care

Drawing from her own experience and interest in languages, Sanders enthusiastically implements, studies and contributes to a Linguistically Appropriate Practice or LAP (Chumak-Horbatsch, 2012). LAP is an inclusive classroom practice developed to assist early childhood educators, teachers and other professionals in working with children from different cultures. Sanders is committed to using language to highlight similarities and differences.

Support of child development

  • Sanders invents a variety of activities to incorporate and discuss multiple languages into the daily routine of her classroom. Students create bilingual name cards and learn how to sing, count and identify colours and shapes in different languages. She also displays and discusses various writing systems with her students.
  • On a daily basis, Sanders prepares sign-in books, where parents and children write their names in their preferred language.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Sanders works with children and their families to ensure inclusion and linguistic diversity in her classroom. She also invites parents to share books and stories in their home languages with the other students in her classroom.
  • Since 2011, Sanders has been implementing LAP into her classroom through creative activities, meetings with parents, and workshop presentations. She has been documenting her experience and has co-authored a journal article with a professor from Ryerson University.

Rave reviews

My son is a special-needs child, whose complex medical and developmental history makes it very challenging to accommodate and to help flourish; it takes a special teacher to take on such a task and to do it well. Ms. Sanders stood up to the challenge.

Parent

Angelique's work with newcomer children and families is exceptional. In her kindergarten and preschool classrooms linguistic diversity is not simply acknowledged—it is practiced daily. (…) Her work is inquiry-driven where children engage in numerous language and literacy activities, pose questions, seek and share answers, demonstrate a strong interest in outcomes, and discuss their ideas with each other, with family members and with visitors.

Associate Professor, School of Early Childhood Studies, Ryerson University.

Date modified:

Archivé — Angelique Sanders

Année : 2013 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Angelique Sanders

Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre
350, rue Victoria
Toronto (Ontario) M5B 2K3

Coordonnées : 
Téléphone : 416-979-5338
Courriel : Angelique Sanders
Site Web : Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre (anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance psychosocial pour enfants âgés de 1½ à 6 ans

Douée pour les langues, Angelique Sanders a bâti une classe où toutes les langues sont bienvenues, où les enfants comprennent et acceptent que les gens parlent, vivent, chantent, mangent, prient, cuisinent et comptent de différentes manières. Les aptitudes en langage et en littératie ne sont pas uniquement respectées, elles sont à la fois encouragées et valorisées.

Démarche éducative

Forte de sa propre expérience et de son intérêt pour les langues, c'est avec enthousiasme que Mme Sanders applique et étudie une méthode pédagogique adaptée aux spécificités linguistiques, Linguistically Appropriate Practice (LAP), à laquelle elle contribue également. Il s'agit d'une méthode d'intégration en classe pour aider les éducateurs de la petite enfance à travailler avec des enfants de différentes cultures. Mme Sanders utilise le langage pour mettre en lumière les similitudes et les différences.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Mme Sanders invente diverses activités visant à introduire différentes langues dans les activités quotidiennes de la classe et à s'y attarder. Les enfants créent des porte-nom bilingues et apprennent à chanter, à compter et à identifier les couleurs et les formes dans différentes langues. Elle montre également aux enfants différents systèmes d'écriture.
  • Chaque jour, Mme Sanders prépare des livres d'invités dans lesquels les parents et les enfants écrivent leur nom dans la langue de leur choix.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Sanders, de concert avec les enfants et leur famille, veille à l'inclusion et à la diversité linguistique dans sa classe. Elle invite aussi les parents à partager des livres et des histoires dans la langue parlée à la maison.
  • Depuis 2011, Mme Sanders applique dans sa classe la méthode LAP dans le cadre d'activités créatives, de rencontres avec les parents et d'ateliers. Elle documente son expérience et a cosigné la rédaction d'un article de journal avec un professeur de l'Université Ryerson.

Commentaires élogieux

Mon fils a des besoins spéciaux et, en raison de son historique médical et de développement complexe, il est très difficile de s'en occuper et de l'aider à s'épanouir; il faut une éducatrice spéciale pour entreprendre une telle tâche et réussir. Mme Sanders a relevé le défi.

Un parent

Le travail d'Angelique auprès des enfants et des familles nouvellement arrivés au pays est exceptionnel. Dans ses classes de maternelle et de prématernelle, la diversité linguistique n'est pas simplement reconnue, elle est vécue au quotidien. […] Son travail est axé sur l'enquête en ce sens que les enfants participent à plusieurs activités langagières et de littératie, posent des questions, cherchent et partagent des réponses, manifestent un vif intérêt pour les résultats et discutent de leur point de vue avec les autres enfants, des membres de leur famille et des visiteurs.

Un professeur agrégé, School of Early Childhood Studies, Université Ryerson.

Date de modification :