Archived — Lucille Gilliland

Year: 2013 — Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Lucille Gilliland

Southwest Day Care and Early Learning Centre
504 4th Avenue Southwest
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 5V7

Contact Info:
Telephone: 306-693-6688
Email: Lucille Gilliland

Type of setting: Childcare and Early Learning Centre for 18 months to 12 years

Lucille Gilliland believes that "it takes a village to raise a child". Relying on a Reggio Emilia approach, where parents are the first teacher, the educator's the second, and the environment is the third, Gilliland makes sure that her students are actively engaged with all three.

Philosophy of care

Gilliland creatively adapts her classroom, her projects and technology to facilitate learning opportunities for her students. The learning environment is central to the way Gilliland plans her lessons and her students have no shortage of ways to express themselves. She is highly respected in her community and firmly believes and promotes that children are our future.

Support of child development

  • Gilliland has found several ways to use electronic tablets to help her students with special needs to communicate with others, and participate to the best of their abilities. She also incorporates the use of FM auditor trainers to facilitate communication with her students with special needs.
  • Continuously researching new developments in early childhood education and related fields, Gilliland works closely with medical professionals to set up the best possible programs for her students and their families.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Gilliland works with parents to ensure continuity in learning from the classroom to the home and beyond by calling on their customs and talents when organizing activities and projects.
  • Gilliland spends countless hours as a volunteer facilitator, teaching sign language in the early years to parents and community organizations.
  • Gilliland regularly integrates cultural activities into her programming. When some of her Aboriginal students were dancing in a community Pow Wow, Gilliland invited an Aboriginal dancer to her classroom to teach hoop dancing.

Rave reviews

Lucille really cared and went beyond the call of duty for me and my twins. (…) She is always on the search for something new and different to make things bright, exciting and novel for the children. Lucille's tireless efforts and research enriches the children's lives and creates memories they will have forever.

Parent

Lucille is remarkable in how she serves the children in the community. (…) She is always on the lookout for opportunities to improve the services she provides. She is a lifelong learner and the knowledge she acquires is applied to the betterment of the day care program and ultimately the children and their families.

Director

Date modified:

Archivé — Lucille Gilliland

Année : 2013 – Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un certificat d'excellence

Lucille Gilliland

Southwest Day Care and Early Learning Centre
504, 4e Avenue Sud-Ouest 
Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan) S6H 5V7

Coordonnées : 
Téléphone : 306-693-6688
Courriel : Lucille Gilliland

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance et d'éducation préscolaire pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 12 ans

Lucille Gilliland est d'avis qu'« il faut tout un village pour élever un enfant ». S'inspirant de la méthode Reggio Emilia, selon laquelle le parent est le premier enseignant, l'éducateur est le deuxième et le milieu, le troisième, Mme Gilliland veille à ce que les enfants soient soumis à l'influence des trois.

Démarche éducative

Mme Gilliland adapte avec créativité sa classe, ses projets et la technologie de manière à faciliter la création possibilités d'apprentissage pour les enfants. L'environnement d'apprentissage est au cœur de la planification des leçons de Mme Gilliland et ses enfants ne manquent pas de moyens pour s'exprimer. Elle est hautement respectée dans sa collectivité et elle croit fermement que les enfants sont notre avenir, ce qu'elle défend.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Mme Gilliland a trouvé plusieurs façons d'utiliser les tablettes électroniques pour aider les enfants qui ont des besoins spéciaux à communiquer avec les autres et à participer du mieux qu'ils peuvent. Elle intègre également l'utilisation d'appareils d'entraînement auditif (FM auditor trainers) pour faciliter la communication avec les enfants aux besoins spéciaux.
  • Continuellement à la recherche de nouveaux développements en éducation de la petite enfance et dans les domaines connexes, Mme Gilliland travaille en étroite collaboration avec des professionnels de la santé pour mettre en œuvre les meilleurs programmes possible pour les enfants et leur famille.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Gilliland travaille de concert avec les parents pour assurer la continuité de l'apprentissage entre la classe et la maison et au-delà en faisant appel à leurs coutumes et à leurs talents lorsqu'elle prépare des activités et des projets.
  • Mme Gilliland consacre d'innombrables heures à enseigner bénévolement aux parents et aux organismes communautaires le langage signé en bas âge.
  • Mme Gilliland intègre régulièrement des activités culturelles dans son programme. Elle a invité un danseur autochtone à venir enseigner la danse du cerceau à sa classe parce que des enfants autochtones de son centre dansaient lors d'un Pow Wow communautaire.

Commentaires élogieux

Lucille se souciait réellement des enfants et elle a largement dépassé le cadre de ses fonctions pour mes jumeaux et moi. […] Elle est toujours à la recherche de quelque chose de nouveau et de différent pour illuminer la vie des enfants et la rendre excitante. Grâce à ses efforts et à ses recherches inlassables, Lucille enrichit la vie des enfants et leur crée des souvenirs inoubliables.

Un parent

Lucille est remarquable dans sa manière de servir les enfants de la collectivité. […] Elle est toujours à l'affût d'occasions d'améliorer les services qu'elle donne. Elle ne cesse d'apprendre et utilise les connaissances qu'elle acquiert pour améliorer le programme de la garderie et, en fin de compte, la vie des enfants et de leur famille.

Le directeur

Date de modification :