Archived — Early Learning and Equality for All Children

Lucille Gilliland

Lucille Gilliland
Southwest Daycare and Learning Centre, Inc.
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan 
Type of setting: Childcare and Early Learning Centre for 18 months to 12 year

I am writing on a topic that is truly close to my heart: providing early learning and child care to children with special rights (special needs) and who are medically fragile. I've always been fascinated with children's development, especially how they think and learn. I have discovered that seeing life through a child's eyes is very fascinating and fun. Working in an early learning program gives me daily contact with some of the most interesting people on earth; our children.

To me, children are fascinating, wise, funny and extremely honest. Those qualities make my life's work very engaging, rewarding and challenging. Together with children, their families, and other early childhood educators we have been able to share and support one another in different ways to provide care for our children with special rights and who are medically fragile. This specialized care and early learning is often forgotten about in program planning and not provided due to fear of insufficient training or financial support coming into the early childhood education programs. We need to teach our communities about our children so that they can know when to get involved. It takes a village to raise a child.

Throughout my experience in working with children with special rights I have found that interaction with children without special needs can be mutually beneficial. For parents of children with complex medical needs, the challenge of finding quality child care and early learning programs can seem overwhelming. They don't want to limit their children to only being able to interact with children who have disabilities, but would still like to have their children cared for in an all-inclusive early learning environment. Children with disabilities, as well as those who are able-bodied, can enjoy learning and exploring alongside one another. It is important that an early childhood educator have opportunities in specialized training to assist with structuring a learning environment and facilitating social situations that maximize the physical and social inclusion. The programs that are developed for children with special needs should be tailored to each individual and closely monitored as the child grows, learns and gains new skills. This ensures that they are meeting the child's developmental needs and ever changing goals. Every child, regardless of ability, participates in all daily activities of the early learning environment.

As an early childhood educator, I would like to encourage all other early childhood educators to be strong advocates for the child care and early learning profession and find creative ways to promote inclusion. Parents should be supported in advocating for their medically fragile children and we can guide them through a network of resources to community organizations, occupational therapists, speech and language pathologists, physical therapists, medical social workers, early childhood psychologists and other professionals. I've even had these professionals or representatives from organizations come to visit the children at the centre, ensuring they receive necessary help in a timely and consistent manner. It is important to assist families by integrating family support services in ways that members of the community can also become educational partners. All children are our future regardless of their abilities and it is our responsibility to prepare them for it. I believe that Canada's natural resources are our children.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le droit à l'éducation préscolaire et à l'égalité pour tous les enfants

Lucille Gilliland

Lucille Gilliland
Southwest Daycare and Learning Centre, Inc.
Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan) 
Type d'établissement : Garderie et centre d'éducation préscolaire pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 12 ans

J'écris sur un sujet qui me tient à cœur : offrir une éducation préscolaire et des services de garde aux enfants ayant des droits (besoins) particuliers et une santé fragile. J'ai toujours été fascinée par le développement des enfants, en particulier par leur façon de penser et d'apprendre. J'ai découvert qu'il est très fascinant et amusant de voir la vie à travers les yeux d'un enfant. Travailler dans un programme d'éducation préscolaire me permet d'être quotidiennement en contact avec les personnes les plus intéressantes sur terre, nos enfants.

À mes yeux, les enfants sont fascinants, sages, amusants et extrêmement honnêtes. Ces qualités rendent l'œuvre de ma vie très intéressante, gratifiante et stimulante. Nous avons pu, avec l'aide des enfants, de leur famille et d'autres éducateurs de la petite enfance, partager et nous entraider de diverses façons afin de prendre soin de nos enfants ayant des droits particuliers et une santé fragile. On oublie souvent ces programmes de soins et d'éducation préscolaire spécialisés dans la planification et l'exécution de programmes par peur d'une insuffisance de formation et de soutien financier dans les programmes d'éducation destinés à la petite enfance. Nous devons éduquer nos collectivités au sujet de nos enfants afin qu'elles sachent à quel moment intervenir. Il faut tout un village pour élever un enfant.

Mon expérience auprès d'enfants aux droits particuliers m'a fait découvrir que l'interaction avec des enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux peut être mutuellement avantageuse. Pour les parents d'enfants ayant des besoins médicaux complexes, le défi de trouver des programmes de garderie et d'éducation préscolaire de qualité peut sembler accablant. Ils veulent que leurs enfants puissent évoluer dans un milieu de la petite enfance inclusif, et non seulement avec des enfants handicapés. Les enfants handicapés, de même que ceux non handicapés, peuvent apprendre et explorer avec plaisir les uns à côté des autres. Il est important qu'un éducateur de la petite enfance ait accès à des possibilités de formation spécialisée pour l'aider à structurer un milieu d'apprentissage et faciliter des situations sociales qui maximisent l'inclusion physique et sociale. Les programmes destinés aux enfants ayant des besoins particuliers devraient être adaptés individuellement et suivis de près au fur et à mesure que l'enfant grandit et acquiert de nouvelles compétences. On s'assure ainsi qu'ils répondent aux besoins des enfants en matière de développement et aux objectifs en perpétuel changement. Chaque enfant, peu importe ses habiletés, participe à toutes les activités quotidiennes du milieu d'éducation préscolaire.

En tant qu'éducatrice de la petite enfance, j'aimerais encourager tous les autres éducateurs de la petite enfance à défendre ardemment la profession d'éducation et de soins à la petite enfance et à trouver des façons créatives de favoriser l'inclusion. Les parents devraient être encouragés à plaider en faveur de leurs enfants à la santé fragile et nous pouvons les guider à travers un réseau de ressources vers des organismes communautaires, des ergothérapeutes, des orthophonistes, des auxiliaires médicaux sociaux, des psychologues auprès des jeunes enfants et d'autres professionnels. J'ai même invité de tels professionnels ou représentants d'organismes à venir rencontrer les enfants au centre pour m'assurer qu'ils reçoivent à temps et systématiquement l'aide dont ils ont besoin. Il est important d'aider les familles en intégrant des services d'appui communautaire afin que les membres de la communauté puissent également devenir des partenaires de l'éducation. Tous les enfants sont notre avenir, peu importe leurs habiletés, et il nous incombe de les préparer. Nos enfants sont les ressources naturelles du Canada.

Date de modification :