Archived — Supporting the Language Lives of Young Children and Families in Our Early Childhood Classrooms

Angelique Sanders

Angelique Sanders
Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre
Toronto, Ontario 
Type of setting: Laboratory childcare centre for 1.5 to 6 years


"Our classroom door is open to all languages. Knowing how important languages are, we support and promote bilingualism."

– Chumak-Horbatsch (2012, p.91)

In my experience in working with young children (four months to six years), families and student teachers, I interact with many people who are immigrants to Canada and who have language lives beyond our classrooms. I strive for a classroom that is inclusive for all, where my colleagues and I establish a warm and welcoming environment where everyone comes to play, learn, care and have mutual respect. We work with the families to understand their children's language and literacy needs in order to help them feel included and supported in our early childhood classrooms.

I can relate as I am an immigrant to Canada and a bilingual speaker of Dutch and English. At the beginning of my early childhood career, I used to interact mainly in English and then I began including different languages in my classroom practice starting with my heritage language of Dutch. I noticed the children were fascinated with hearing another language spoken or signed, and having stories read or signed in a different language. We started having fun with languages as we promoted multilingualism.

Each day, I communicate with the children and families as they arrive in and depart from our centre, often trying to say hello and goodbye in their home language and English. As I continue to explore how to use different languages in my classroom practice over many years, I seek fun and creative ways throughout the day to include the children's home languages, such as singing songs, counting, making up word games and reading stories in different languages, often in partnership with the children's families.

I have always had a curiosity for languages and with the help of a new approach called LAP (Linguistically Appropriate Practice) it continues to shift my practice from a monolingual approach to a multilingual approach. In 2011, I was introduced to LAP through a study conducted in our laboratory child care centre. LAP not only provides an overview of the language and literacy needs of young immigrant children, it also provides a new classroom practice for how to support these needs through a series of language activities. My colleagues and I have been including many of the LAP activities in our classrooms and our centre.

The children are excited to participate in the different LAP activities as they learn new ways to express themselves while having fun with languages. All children "will affirm their language identities, discover new worlds, and perhaps express an interest in learning a new language" (Chumak-Horbatsch, 2012, 100) while engaging in the LAP activities. They are showing a sense of confidence and pride when they share or when they hear and see their languages represented in their classrooms. Often we hear, "That's me. That's my language." Or "My daddy speaks that." Other times it is the smile on a child's face when a story is read in their home language that speaks volumes.

Our centre and my classroom is a place where languages are celebrated whether it is English, French, Sign or other home languages that the children, families, teachers and student teachers bring into the centre and classroom. Another example is our hallway Home Language Tree which celebrates each season with our community adding leaves with the word of the season in their home language. I am enthusiastic in continuing this linguistic journey together with our community to support our language lives as we strive for a multilingual, multi-literate and multicultural environment.

Resource:

Chumak-Horbatsch, R. (2012) Linguistically Appropriate Practice: A Guide for Working with Young Immigrant Children

Date modified:

Archivé — Favoriser la perpétuité de la langue des jeunes enfants et de leur famille dans nos classes de niveau préscolaire

Angelique Sanders

Angelique Sanders
Ryerson University School of Early Childhood Studies Early Learning Centre
Toronto (Ontario) 
Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance psychosocial pour enfants âgés de 1½ à 6 ans


« Notre classe est ouverte à toutes les langues. Conscients de l'importance des langues, nous appuyons et favorisons le bilinguisme. »

Chumak-Horbatsch (2012, p. 91)

Dans le cadre de mon travail avec de jeunes enfants (âgés de 4 mois à 6 ans), des familles et des éducateurs, j'interagis avec de nombreux immigrants au Canada qui utilisent leur langue dans leur vie de tous les jours. Je m'efforce de créer une classe inclusive pour tous, où mes collègues et moi-même établissons un milieu chaleureux et accueillant où chacun peut jouer et apprendre dans un cadre empreint de respect et d'attention mutuels. Nous aidons les familles à comprendre les besoins de leurs enfants sur les plans du langage et de la littéracie afin de les aider à se sentir inclus et appuyés dans nos classes de la petite enfance.

Étant moi-même immigrante au Canada et parlant le hollandais et l'anglais, je peux comprendre. Au début de ma carrière en éducation de la petite enfance, je parlais principalement en anglais, puis petit à petit je me suis mise à intégrer différentes langues dans l'enseignement en classe en commençant par ma langue d'origine, le hollandais. J'ai constaté que les enfants étaient fascinés lorsqu'ils étaient en contact avec une autre langue parlée ou signée ou qu'on leur racontait des histoires dans une langue différente. Nous avons commencé à nous amuser avec les langues en préconisant le multilinguisme.

Chaque jour, j'échange avec les enfants et les familles qui passent par notre centre et tente de les saluer dans la langue qu'ils parlent à la maison et en anglais. Je cherche constamment des façons d'intégrer différentes langues dans mon enseignement et des moyens amusants et créatifs d'inclure pendant la journée des activités dans les langues que les enfants parlent à la maison. Nous chantons, comptons, jouons avec les mots et lisons des histoires dans différentes langues, souvent avec la collaboration des familles des enfants.

J'ai toujours eu une curiosité pour les langues et grâce à une nouvelle méthode pédagogique adaptée aux spécificités linguistiques, Linguistically Appropriate Practice (LAP), je peux passer d'une approche monolingue à une approche multilingue. J'ai découvert en 2011 la méthode LAP par le biais d'une étude menée dans notre centre de la petite enfance psychosocial. Cette méthode présente non seulement un aperçu des besoins des jeunes enfants immigrants en matière linguistique et de littéracie, elle propose une nouvelle stratégie d'enseignement pour répondre à ces besoins au moyen d'une série d'activités linguistiques. Mes collègues et moi-même avons intégré plusieurs activités LAP dans nos classes et dans le centre.

Les enfants participent avec enthousiasme aux différentes activités LAP qui leur permettent d'apprendre de nouvelles façons de s'exprimer tout en s'amusant avec les langues. Tous les enfants « affirmeront leur identité linguistique, découvriront de nouveaux mondes et peut-être manifesteront-ils un intérêt pour l'apprentissage d'une nouvelle langue » (Chumak-Horbatsch, 2012, 100) en participant à des activités LAP. Ils démontrent un sentiment de confiance et de fierté lorsqu'ils partagent ou qu'ils entendent et voient leurs langues représentées dans leurs salles de classe. On entend souvent « c'est moi », « c'est ma langue » ou encore « mon père parle comme ça ». D'autres fois, c'est le sourire qui apparaît dans le visage d'un enfant lorsqu'une histoire est lue dans la langue parlée à la maison qui en dit long.

Notre centre et ma salle de classe célèbrent les langues, qu'il s'agisse de l'anglais, du français, du langage signé ou de toute autre langue parlée à la maison que les enfants, les familles, les éducateurs et les stagiaires apportent au centre et en classe. Notre arbre des langues parlées à la maison est un autre exemple d'activité qui célèbre chaque saison par l'ajout de feuilles portant le mot de la saison en cours dans chacune des langues parlées à la maison. Je suis enthousiaste à l'idée de poursuivre ce périple linguistique avec notre collectivité en vue de créer un milieu multilingue, multilittéracie et multiculturel.

Ressource :

Chumak-Horbatsch, R. (2012) Linguistically Appropriate Practice: A Guide for Working with Young Immigrant Children

Date de modification :