Articles


Building Foundations for Lifelong Learning

Ruby Anne Chartrand and her students participate in the traditional Aboriginal custom of drumming

Ruby Anne Chartrand
Children of the Future Aboriginal Head Start Program
Swan River, Manitoba
Type of setting: Preschool program for Aboriginal children ages 3 to 5 years old

I am a strong believer in the lasting benefits of early learning programs. The learning experiences in these first years can influence the rest of a child's life. I choose to be an early childhood educator to be part of such a wonderful and exciting stage of development. I try my very best to make each child that attends the Aboriginal Head Start Program feel special by providing them with plenty of affection, giving them quality one-on-one time, and getting to know their families personally. Children need to feel secure in their environments and with their caregivers before any learning can take place. Building relationships and creating supportive environments provides children with the love, nurturance and security they need to begin growing socially and emotionally.

In order to build positive relationships with children, it is essential to gain a good understanding of their preferences, interests, background, and culture. As a Metis women myself, I feel a responsibility to be a positive role model to the children in my care and to make them feel proud of their Aboriginal heritage. I teach them basic Ojibaway and Saulteaux language and incorporate words in a variety of fun games we play and songs we sing. I introduce the children to traditional Aboriginal customs such as jigging, drumming, jingle dancing, and shawl dancing. A play-based curriculum like this helps develop children's self-confidence, imagination and social skills. I also try to invite elders from the community to entertain children with fascinating stories about their past. By exposing my children to different aspects of their culture, they begin to gain a better understanding of where they come from and start to feel a stronger sense of self-identity.

Ruby Anne Chartrand and one of her students play on a computer

Parent involvement is also very important to a child's development and early learning. Without parent support, a child is less likely to be successful and engaged in school. I make sure to communicate with my children's parents on a daily basis to build effective relationships and to keep them informed about what their children are learning and how they are progressing. I involve parents and families as much as possible by inviting them to different activities throughout the year. The Aboriginal Head Start Program holds an annual Bike-a-thon, Barbecue, and family camping retreats to provide opportunities for families to spend quality time together and for parents to socialize with one another.

To be an early childhood educator, it is important to be patient, caring, understanding and have a love for children. We must strive to build positive relationships with our children and their parents in order to make a difference in a child's lifelong learning and to build a strong foundation for their future educational achievement.


top of page

Team Work Makes the Dream Work

Angela Daniels-Drummond and her students holding signs 'Team Work makes the DreamWork'

Angela Daniels-Drummond
Dartmouth Day Care Centre

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Type of setting: Childcare centre for children ages 12 months to 5 years old

Whether you are a seasoned worker or someone new to the field of Early Childhood Education; whether you have walked through the doors of your centre for the very first time or have been there twenty years, we all have dreams, goals and aspirations. We have big hopes that everything we desire for each individual child will one day come to fruition.

I have the pleasure and privilege of working with children with special needs. My work consists of integrating children into the daycare setting and designing plans and routines that complement their level of development. I encourage parents to fully understand and take advantage of all the benefits of being in an inclusive early learning environment. Over the years, I have learned that each child is so very unique. Their parents, their community, and their culture all help define who they are. I have learned to take each stage of their development one beautiful step at a time. I have learned that building relationships is the key to any new and successful beginning.

Being an Inclusion Coordinator, I understand that children with special needs and their parents are faced with many challenges. It is my goal to assist them with these challenges and modify learning programs, classrooms, toys, and play environments to make each learning experience a successful one. It is very important to understand that each child is so very unique and should be treated as such. My daily work demonstrates that we are far from round pegs but that we can be any shape or size. We may never fit perfectly in the eyes of many but we fit perfectly in the eyes of those who love us and care.

I absolutely love the word inclusion. I love living it and making it work for my children each and every day. This one word, put in practice, has changed the lives of so many children. The children and parents who attend Dartmouth Day Care centre have the assurance of knowing we are in a fully inclusive environment. The unique needs of their child will be assessed and a wonderfully designed learning program will be tailored for them.

Angela Daniels-Drummond and one of her students play a game together

At the end of the day when all adjustments have been made, when routine-based plans are polished full of wonderful and unique goals, and when classrooms and teachers have been prepped, it all boils down to the relationships that we build. How can I get a child and their parents to trust me so we can move forward with all the hard work that needs to be done?

This is when team work is crucial. The staff I work with, thankfully, has the same mindset as I do. We work very closely every day to reach goals for our children. They also see the value in teamwork and it shows in their commitment daily. I have the pleasure of working with many other professionals who visit the children at our centre. They present fresh ideas that are geared to each individual child. I am thankful for every collaborative and professional experience.

I believe the future of daycare is bright and hopeful. I believe that, as Early Childhood Educators, we need to stay committed to our children, our parents, and our communities. We need to remain diligent in our never-ending quest to demonstrate that we are competent Early Childhood Educators who make a difference every day in the lives of children and play en essential role in society.


top of page

Fostering the Wonder of a Child; Inspiring Learning through Emergent Curriculum

Julie Kamiya and two of her students play outside

Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya and Cristina Primerano
Brentwood Nursery School Society

Burnaby, British Columbia
Type of setting: Preschool for children ages 3 and 4 years old

We believe in learning as a life-long process that happens through interactions with one another, materials and the environment. Author and education activist Ken Robinson said, "We need to recognize that most great learning happens in groups. The collaboration is the stuff of growth." Our learning community is comprised of children, families and teachers. With relationships at the core, our philosophy is based on acknowledging the questions of our community and using these questions and curiosities to develop an emergent inquiry based curriculum. Emergent—it is flexible, and emerges within the interests of the children and the classroom community. Inquiry-based—we listen and watch closely to what the children are saying, how they are using materials and what concepts they are exploring. We believe curriculum is a living process that is organic and always changing and growing.

Marina Giovinazzo engaging with her students

The cycle of inquiry is a reflective tool that we use to facilitate the planning process. It can begin with a provocation and then we observe; actively listening to children during their exploration, even when they are silent. We are inspired by the pedagogy of listening from Reggio Emilia which asks us to listen to what the children are doing, why they are doing it, and why is it important to them. We reflect. We look for patterns and connections, and ask questions as the children represent their ideas and build theories to make their own meaning. In order to make the learning and thinking of our community visible, we document our reflections. Lastly, we provoke. Based on our reflections we create provocations that allow the children to further explore their theories, leading us to co-construct meaning as a group. We encourage collaborative learning as it helps the children to identify gaps in their theories, create new knowledge and build a shared understanding.

Using the cycle of inquiry in our curriculum planning, we value:

  • Listening to the children's theories and questions to guide the process of learning;
  • The importance of all of our classes coming together to collaborate in thinking and to also inspire one another;
  • The necessity of providing children with materials to test out their theories;
  • The richness and excitement of being in our neighborhood as an inspiration for learning; and
  • Creating a learning environment where it is essential to think critically and intentionally, and to challenge one another.
Cristina Primerano and a student play with soapy bubbles

Some people may say that a comfort zone is a beautiful place, but the truth is nothing will ever grow there. We believe the cycle of inquiry is mysterious and exciting due to a feeling of unpreparedness, of unpredictability, and for the mystery of the unknown. Like any adventure, it involves risk—a risk of not knowing what is to come. But this way of thinking allows us to discover rich places, rich questions, and rich ideas with the children. As David Jardine says, "We have to risk being transformed, risk changing, risk learning more than we might have originally anticipated or hoped or desired."


top of page

Building Foundations for Lifelong Learning

Mona Khan with two of her students

Mona Khan
Little Scholars Montessori Academy

Ottawa, Ontario
Type of setting: Licensed childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 6 years old

The first six years of life are truly miracle years. Development through these critical years sets the stage for the rest of a child's life. This simple but profound truth has inspired my education, research and work in the field of early childhood development.

Dr. Maria Montessori has said that, during these miracle years, children have a remarkable and innate ability to learn and absorb the world around them. As educators we can cultivate this ability and help each child build a foundation for lifelong learning. I have discovered that this is best done with a harmonized approach of following the child, sustaining their natural love of learning and empowering them as leaders and advocates. This approach has enabled me to shape my programs into a model early learning and care institute and a buzzing hub for families in the community.

I encourage my team of educators to observe and follow each child to the place they show us they need to be for their optimum development. The objective of my follow the child principle is to listen and observe what is individually appropriate, discover what is culturally important and then help each child meet challenging, yet achievable learning goals.

In order to sustain the child's natural love of learning, the environment, the educator and experiences must work together to inspire freedom and independence. In our programs, children are encouraged to seek out activities that spark their own interest. We enable children to control their own choices, movements, and activities; the educator gradually steps back from the child's active learning as children grow and become increasingly capable of managing their own activities. As children arrive at a stage of self-directed autonomy, the educator and child partner with each other so that children can learn the skills that they will eventually handle on their own. Learning to recognize and follow their own interests from an early age allows children to retain the curiosity, creativity, and innate love of learning with which they were born.

Mona Khan and her students play with a world globe

Dr. Montessori put it well when she said "free the child's potential and you will transform him into the world." Each child has unique potentials. Empowering them as leaders and advocates allows them to develop those fundamental foundations that form the basis of personal fulfillment and social responsibility. In our classrooms, students participate as members of a real, functioning community. They partner with The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) and The Red Cross to raise funds for international disaster relief, join hands to clean up their neighbourhood on Earth Day and resolve conflicts using the class peace table―learning from an early age that they can make a difference in their world!

Children are our future and, as early childhood educators, we are privileged with an opportunity to shape the future. By following their interests, nurturing their innate abilities, and empowering them with responsibility, we can inspire children to become lifelong learners—the best possible preparation for meeting the challenges of a constantly changing world.


top of page

A Watchful Approach

Arnold Laplante with the children in his care

Arnold Laplante
Centre de la petite enfance La Goélette enchantée

Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec
Type of setting: Daycare centre for children 4 and 5 years old

I strive to take a watchful approach in my work with children aged four and five. Throughout my 34 years of experience at the daycare, I have drawn inspiration from my colleagues and artists and based my practices on data from recognized educators and psychologists.

My approach with the children essentially relies on respect for each child's personal development. I make sure that I am particularly attentive the first time I meet parents and their child so that they feel expected and welcome. For me, it is very important to greet the parents and put myself in their shoes as people entrusting their child to an adult who is essentially a stranger. When they are reassured, parents are much more receptive to prompting their child to trust me and create new ties that will lead to new experiences. This way, frank and open relationships are created over time.

Also, working together toward a child's development requires acknowledgement on all sides of the specific roles played by each person, roles that must complement one another. This joint endeavour is realized through the watchful communication I establish with the children and their parents. My daily encouragement and positive comments regarding the children's "exploits" help bolster parents in the role they play. These moments are meant to be a time of sharing with parents, where our mutual observations work to broaden and enhance how we see each child.

Arnold Laplante with the children in his care

With the children, I create a relationship that will help them see me as a partner and make them more inclined to work with me and participate fully in the experience. This bond of trust forms the basis of the basic skills and knowledge they acquire through play. Because symbolic play is prevalent among children at that age, I plan my work with them accordingly and give them free rein with their imagination. Slowly but surely, the children develop the way they create, invent, and formulate their play. I also fuel the children's imagination by telling stories and playing all kinds of wacky characters. It is a wondrous thing to open yourself up to the children's delight. Attentive to the children's games and stories, I observe, I ask questions and they ask me questions. I give them "keys" to help them make connections, find solutions, and feel ever more capable.

Thanks to my watchful attitude, the children take risks, engage in new games with their peers, and know that no matter what, I will watch over them. In short, being watchful is important to sow pride and hope, hope for a happy life and being a better person.

Date modified:

Articles


Établir le fondement de l'apprentissage continu

Ruby Anne Chartrand et ses élèves participent à la coutume autochtone traditionnelle de tambour

Ruby Anne Chartrand
Children of the Future Aboriginal Head Start Program

Swan River (Manitoba)
Type d'établissement : Programme préscolaire pour enfants autochtones âgés de 3 à 5 ans

Je crois fermement aux bienfaits durables des programmes d'éducation préscolaire. Les expériences d'apprentissage au cours de ces premières années peuvent influer sur le reste de la vie d'une enfant. J'ai choisi de devenir une éducatrice de la petite enfance pour participer à ce stade merveilleux et passionnant du développement. Je fais tout en mon pouvoir pour que chaque enfant qui participe au Programme d'aide préscolaire aux Autochtones se sente spécial en lui prodiguant beaucoup d'affection, en lui accordant du temps en tête à tête de qualité et en apprenant à connaître personnellement sa famille. Les enfants doivent se sentir en sécurité dans leurs milieux et avec leurs éducateurs pour être en mesure d'apprendre. La création de liens et d'environnements favorables assurent aux enfants l'amour, le réconfort et la sécurité dont ils ont besoin pour grandir socialement et émotionnellement.

Pour créer des liens positifs avec les enfants, il est essentiel de bien comprendre leurs préférences, leurs champs d'intérêt, leurs antécédents et leur culture. Étant moi-même métis, je me dois d'être un modèle positif pour les enfants qui me sont confiés et de les rendre fiers de leur héritage autochtone. Je leur enseigne les rudiments des langues ojibway et saulteux et j'incorpore des mots dans une panoplie de jeux amusants et de chansons. J'initie les enfants aux coutumes autochtones traditionnelles comme le battement de pieds, le tambour, la danse des clochettes et la danse du châle. Un tel curriculum axé sur le jeu contribue à développer la confiance en soi, l'imagination et la sociabilité des enfants. J'invite également les aînés de la collectivité à venir divertir les enfants en leur racontant des histoires fascinantes au sujet de leur passé. En exposant mes enfants à différents aspects de leur culture, je leur donne la possibilité de mieux comprendre d'où ils viennent et de renforcer leur sentiment d'appartenance.

Ruby Anne Chartrand et un de ses élèves jouent sur un ordinateur

La participation des parents est également essentielle au développement et à l'apprentissage des jeunes enfants. Sans le soutien de ses parents, un enfant est moins susceptible de réussir et de s'engager à l'école. Je veille à communiquer chaque jour avec les parents de mes enfants pour entretenir des relations positives et pour les tenir au courant des leçons et des progrès de leurs enfants. Je mobilise autant que possible les parents et les familles en les invitant à différentes activités tout au long de l'année. Le Programme d'aide préscolaire aux Autochtones (anglais seulement) organise chaque année un cyclothon ainsi que des retraites de camping familiales pour permettre aux parents de passer du temps de qualité avec leurs enfants et de socialiser avec les autres familles.

Un éducateur de la petite enfance se doit d'être patient, bienveillant, compréhensif et d'aimer les enfants. Nous devons nous efforcer de créer des liens positifs avec nos enfants et leur famille pour faire une différence dans l'apprentissage continu des enfants et pour établir de solides assises pour leur future réussite scolaire.


haut de la page

Travail d'équipe, travail de rêve

Angela Daniels-Drummond et ses élèves tiennent des enseignes « Team Work makes the DreamWork »

Angela Daniels-Drummond
Dartmouth Day Care Centre

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 12 mois à 5 ans

Qu'on soit travailleur chevronné ou nouveau venu dans le domaine de l'éducation de la petite enfance, qu'on franchisse les portes de son centre pour la première fois ou qu'on y travaille depuis vingt ans, on a tous des rêves, des buts et des aspirations. On espère que tout ce qu'on désire pour chaque enfant deviendra un jour réalité.

J'ai le plaisir et le privilège de travailler avec des enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux. Mon travail consiste à intégrer des enfants à la garderie et à concevoir des plans et des routines qui complètent leur niveau de développement. Je veille à ce que les parents comprennent parfaitement tous les bienfaits d'un milieu d'apprentissage préscolaire inclusif et qu'ils en tirent pleinement parti. J'ai découvert au fil des ans que chaque enfant est tout à fait unique. Ce sont ses parents, sa collectivité et sa culture qui l'aident à le définir en tant que personne. J'ai appris à prendre une étape à la fois chacun des merveilleux stades de son développement. J'ai appris que la création de liens est essentielle à tout nouveau et fructueux début.

En tant que coordonnatrice à l'inclusion, je comprends que les enfants qui ont des besoins spéciaux, ainsi que leurs parents, se heurtent à de nombreux obstacles. Je me suis fixé comme objectif de les aider à surmonter ces obstacles et de modifier les programmes d'apprentissage, les salles de classe, les jouets et les environnements de jeu afin que chaque expérience d'apprentissage soit fructueuse. Il est essentiel de comprendre que chaque enfant est tout à fait unique et qu'il doit être traité comme tel. Mon travail quotidien est la preuve que nous ne sommes pas tous coulés dans le même moule, mais que nous pouvons prendre toutes sortes de formes et de tailles. Nous ne correspondrons peut-être jamais au cadre convenu, mais en réalité nous correspondons parfaitement au cadre de ceux qui nous aiment et se soucient de nous.

J'adore la notion d'inclusion. J'aime la vivre et l'adapter à mes enfants au quotidien. Cette simple notion, une fois admise, a changé la vie de tellement d'enfants. Les enfants et parents qui fréquentent le centre de la petite enfance de Dartmouth ont la certitude d'être dans un environnement totalement inclusif. On évalue les besoins uniques de leur enfant, puis on lui conçoit un programme d'apprentissage parfaitement adapté.

Angela Daniels-Drummond et un élève jouent un jeu ensemble

À la fin de la journée, lorsque tous les ajustements nécessaires ont été faits, que les plans et leurs objectifs ont été peaufinés et que les classes et les éducateurs ont été préparés, tout ne tient qu'aux liens qu'on a tissés. Comment puis-je amener un enfant et ses parents à me faire suffisamment confiance pour que nous réussissions à atteindre les objectifs fixés?

C'est là qu'entre en jeu le travail d'équipe. Le personnel a, heureusement, la même mentalité que moi. Nous travaillons tous chaque jour en étroite collaboration à l'atteinte d'objectifs pour nos enfants. Tous perçoivent la valeur du travail d'équipe et leur engagement quotidien en témoigne. J'ai le plaisir de travailler avec de nombreux autres professionnels qui visitent les enfants de notre garderie. Ils proposent de nouvelles idées adaptées à chaque enfant. Je suis heureuse de chacune de ces expériences de collaboration professionnelle.

Je crois que l'avenir de la garderie est brillant et prometteur. Je crois que, en tant qu'éducateurs de la petite enfance, nous devons rester engagés envers nos enfants, nos parents et nos collectivités. Nous devons continuer à faire preuve de diligence dans notre quête afin de démontrer que nous sommes des éducateurs de la petite enfance compétents qui font une différence quotidienne dans la vie des enfants et qui jouent un rôle primordial dans notre société.


haut de la page

Favoriser l'émerveillement des enfants; inspirer l'apprentissage grâce à un curriculum émergent

Julie Kamiya et deux de ses élèves jouent dehors

Marina Giovinazzo, Julie Kamiya et Cristina Primerano
Brentwood Nursery School Society

Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique)
Type d'établissement : Prématernelle pour enfants âgés de 3 et 4 ans

Nous croyons que l'apprentissage est un processus qui dure toute la vie grâce aux interactions avec les pairs, le matériel et l'environnement. L'auteur et pédagogue Ken Robinson a déclaré : « nous devons reconnaître que la plupart des acquisitions de base se font en groupe et que la coopération alimente le développement ». Notre communauté d'apprentissage est composée d'enfants, de familles et d'éducateurs. Notre philosophie, s'articulant autour des relations, se base sur la reconnaissance des questions de notre communauté et sur l'utilisation de ce questionnement et de cette remise en question pour développer un curriculum émergent axé sur l'observation. « Émergent », en ce sens qu'il est souple et qu'il est issu des intérêts portés par les enfants et la communauté d'apprenants et « axé sur l'observation » en ce sens que nous écoutons attentivement ce que disent les enfants et surveillons de près la façon dont ils utilisent le matériel et les concepts qu'ils explorent. Nous croyons qu'un curriculum est un processus vivant et organique qui ne cesse de changer et d'évoluer.

Marina Giovinazzo avec ses élèves

Le cycle d'enquête est un outil de réflexion qui nous permet de faciliter le processus de planification. Il peut dans un premier temps prendre la forme d'une provocation que nous observons; l'écoute active des enfants pendant leur exploration, même lorsqu'ils ne disent rien. Nous sommes inspirées par la pédagogie de l'écoute de Reggio Emilia qui nous invite à être attentifs à ce que font les enfants, aux raisons pour lesquelles ils le font et l'importance qu'ils y accordent. Nous réfléchissons. Nous cherchons à établir des modèles et des liens, et nous nous interrogeons lorsque les enfants expriment leurs idées et formulent des théories pour forger leur propre explication. Afin de rendre l'apprentissage et la réflexion de notre communauté visible, nous documentons nos réflexions. Enfin, nous provoquons. Nos réflexions sont à l'origine de provocations qui permettent aux enfants d'explorer davantage leurs théories, ce qui nous amène à construire unee explication de groupe. Nous encourageons l'apprentissage coopératif qui permet aux enfants de cerner les lacunes de leurs théories, de créer de nouvelles connaissances et de parvenir à une compréhension commune.

En recourant au cycle d'observation dans notre planification curriculaire, nous valorisons :

  • l'écoute des théories et le questionnement des enfants pour orienter le processus d'apprentissage;
  • l'importance de réunir toutes nos classes pour collaborer à la réflexion et pour s'inspirer mutuellement; 
  • la nécessité d'offrir aux enfants le matériel nécessaire pour tester leurs théories;  
  • la richesse et l'enthousiasme de faire partie de la communauté et de s'en inspirer pour apprendre; 
  • la création d'un milieu d'apprentissage où il est indispensable de faire preuve de pensée critique et intentionnelle et de se lancer mutuellement des défis.
Cristina Primerano et un élève jouent avec des bulles savonneuses

Pour certains, la zone de confort est un bel endroit, mais en réalité, on ne pourra jamais rien en tirer. Nous croyons que c'est l'imprévu, l'imprévisibilité et le mystère de l'inconnu qui rendent le cycle d'observation si mystérieux et passionnant. Comme dans toute aventure, il y a un risque — le risque de ne pas savoir ce qu'il adviendra. Mais cette approche nous permet de découvrir de riches lieux, de riches questions et de riches idées avec les enfants. Comme le dit David Jardine, « on doit courir le risque d'être transformé, le risque de changer, le risque d'en apprendre plus que ce quon aurait prévu, espéré ou souhaité ».


haut de la page

Établir le fondement de l'apprentissage continu

Mona Khan avec deux de ses élèves

Mona Khan
Little Scholars Montessori Academy

Ottawa (Ontario)
Type d'établissement : Garderie agrée pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 6 ans

Les six premières années de la vie sont véritablement miraculeuses. Le développement au cours de cette période critique prépare le reste de la vie d'un enfant. Ce constat simple mais profond a inspiré ma formation, ma recherche et mon travail dans le domaine du développement de la petite enfance.

Selon Dre Maria Montessori, les enfants ont, au cours de ces années miraculeuses, la faculté remarquable et innée d'apprendre et d'absorber le monde qui les entoure. En tant qu'éducateurs, nous pouvons cultiver cette faculté et aider chaque enfant à jeter les fondements de l'apprentissage continu. J'ai découvert qu'une approche harmonisée qui permet de suivre l'enfant, de préserver son amour naturel de l'apprentissage et de l'aider à devenir un dirigeant et un intervenant, est le meilleur moyen d'y parvenir. Cette approche m'a permis de transformer mes programmes en un modèle d'apprentissage et de soins de la petite enfance et en une ruche d'activités pour les familles de la collectivité.

J'encourage mon équipe d'éducatrices et d'éducateurs à observer chaque enfant pour lui faire suivre la voie que nous suggère son comportement pour favoriser son plein développement. L'objectif de mon principe de suivi de l'enfant consiste à écouter et à observer ce qui lui convient le mieux sur son plan personnel, à découvrir ce qui est culturellement important, puis à aider chaque enfant à atteindre des objectifs d'apprentissage ambitieux mais réalisables.

Afin d'aider l'enfant à conserver son amour naturel de l'apprentissage, de l'environnement, de l'éducateur et de ses expériences, nous devons tous nous employer à inspirer la liberté et l'indépendance. Nos programmes incitent les enfants à rechercher des activités qui suscitent leurs propres intérêts. Nous permettons aux enfants de faire leurs propres choix, de contrôler leurs mouvements et leurs activités. L'éducateur se retire graduellement de l'apprentissage actif de l'enfant à mesure qu'il grandit et qu'il devient capable de gérer ses propres activités. Lorsque l'enfant arrive à un stade d'autonomie, l'éducateur collabore avec lui pour lui enseigner les compétences qu'il perfectionnera plus tard de son propre chef. Apprendre à reconnaître et à respecter ses propres intérêts en bas âge permet à l'enfant de conserver sa curiosité, sa créativité et son amour de l'apprentissage qu'il possède depuis sa naissance.

Mona Khan et ses élèves jouent avec un globe terrestre

Dre Montessori l'a parfaitement exprimé en disant : « Libérez le potentiel de l'enfant et vous transformerez le monde avec lui ». Tous les enfants ont un potentiel unique. En les aidant à devenir des dirigeants et des intervenants, vous leur permettez de développer les fondements de l'épanouissement personnel et de la responsabilité sociale. Dans nos classes, les enfants participent en tant que membres d'une véritable collectivité fonctionnelle. Ils collaborent avec l'Hôpital pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (HEEO) et la Croix-Rouge pour recueillir des fonds pour secourir des sinistrés, unissent leurs efforts pour nettoyer leur voisinage dans le cadre du Jour de la Terre et règlent des conflits autour de la table de la paix en classe. Ils apprennent dès un très jeune âge qu'ils peuvent faire une différence dans leur monde!

Les enfants sont notre avenir et, en tant qu'éducateurs de la petite enfance, nous avons la chance de pouvoir modeler l'avenir. En respectant leurs champs d'intérêt, en favorisant leurs aptitudes innées et en les responsabilisant, nous pouvons encourager les enfants à devenir des apprenants tout au long de leur vie — la meilleure préparation qui soit pour relever les défis d'un monde en constante évolution.


haut de la page

Une démarche bienveillante

Arnold Laplante avec les enfants sous sa garde

Arnold Laplante
Centre de la petite enfance La Goélette enchantée

Baie-Saint-Paul (Québec)
Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 4 et 5 ans

Empreint de bienveillance, c'est ainsi que je tente d'exercer mon travail auprès des enfants âgés de quatre et cinq ans. Tout au long de mes trente-quatre années d'expérience au Centre de la petite enfance, j'ai puisé mon inspiration aux côtés de collègues et d'artistes, soutenu aussi ma pratique par des données venant de pédagogues et psychologues reconnus.

Essentiellement, ma démarche avec les enfants s'inscrit dans le respect du développement de chacun d'entre eux. Dès le premier jour où j'accueille les parents et leur enfant, je porte une attention toute particulière à ce moment afin qu'ils se sentent attendus. Pour moi, il est très important d'accueillir les parents, se mettre à leur place, eux qui confient leur enfant à un autre adulte peu familier. Sécurisés, les parents sont davantage réceptifs à disposer leur enfant à me faire confiance et à créer de nouveaux liens porteurs de nouvelles expériences. C'est ainsi qu'une relation d'ouverture et d'authenticité se tisse au fil des jours.

De plus, contribuer ensemble au développement de l'enfant nécessite de part et d'autre la reconnaissance du rôle de chacun, rôle spécifique et complémentaire. Ce projet commun se réalise à travers la communication bienveillante que j'établis avec l'enfant et ses parents. Au quotidien, mes encouragements et les commentaires positifs valorisent les « exploits » de leur enfant et confortent le parent dans son rôle. Ces moments se veulent un temps de partage avec les parents où le regard que l'on porte à l'enfant s'enrichit de nos observations mutuelles.

Arnold Laplante avec les enfants sous sa garde

Du côté de l'enfant, le lien que je crée avec lui l'amène à devenir complice et plus enclin à collaborer et s'investir. Ce lien de confiance sert d'assise aux apprentissages fondamentaux que l'enfant réalise à travers ses jeux. Puisqu'à cet âge, le jeu symbolique caractérise les activités de l'enfant, je situe mes actions dans ce jeu même, laissant libre cours à ses propositions. Peu à peu, l'enfant progresse dans sa manière de créer, d'inventer et de construire son jeu. Je nourris aussi l'imaginaire de l'enfant en lui racontant des histoires, en jouant des personnages plus farfelus les uns que les autres. Le merveilleux est là sensible au plaisir de l'enfant. Attentif au jeu et au récit de l'enfant, j'observe, je questionne et il me questionne aussi. Je lui fournis « des clés » pour qu'il puisse faire des liens, trouver des solutions et se sentir toujours plus compétent.

Grâce à mon attitude bienveillante, l'enfant prend des risques, s'engage dans de nouveaux jeux avec ses pairs et sait que quoiqu'il arrive, je veillerai sur lui. En somme, l'importance de la bienveillance pour semer de la fierté et de l'espoir, l'espoir de vivre heureux et d'être meilleur.

Date de modification :