Caren Eigenmann - Child Garden Preschool

Year: 2017 – Province: British Columbia

Transcript—Caren Eigenmann Video

[Caren Eigenmann speaks to camera, withthe Parliament buildings as a backdrop behind her]

[Photos of Caren and her students are displayed on screen throughout herinterview]

[Upbeat music plays softly in the background]

I am Caren Eigenmann. I live in Coquitlam, British Columbia, and have apreschool in Port Moody, British Columbia.

[Text on screen: Caren Eigenmann, British Columbia]

Winning this Prime Minister's Award of Excellence, I feel very humbledby – and honoured by the family that nominated me and the people that supportedme to make this happen.

I wanted to become an early childhood educator because I've always lovedkids, and so I thought this would be a great way to turn my passion into acareer.

Today in my presentation I talked about learning about feelings andemotions, identifying how you're feeling, self-regulation at an early age. Andwe find that, by building a foundation of emotions and feelings early on, thatchildren are better able to resolve conflict, problem solving successfully andindependently.

I think as a team we're the most proud of working really close with ourcommunity, and so we have a garden at the front of our preschool. They plantthe vegetables, they harvest them, and then we bring them down to the ShareFood Bank at – as a – as a school, and it's much appreciated by the community.And we have a partnership with the seniors that access that service as well.

[Video footage of Caren receiving her award from Justin Trudeau isintercut]

If I was going to offer some advice to a fellow educator or somebodythat was an aspiring teacher, I think I would say to take the time to slowdown, listen, observe, don't move too quickly to the next step, and just be inthe moment. I think I would say to the kids that I work with, like, thank youfor teaching me so much about social-emotional wellbeing and resilience.

Teacher: A dance for Miss Caren's award?Nice.

Student: Gratulation [sic], Miss Caren.

Text on screen: Congratulations Miss Caren.

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Caren Eigenmann

Child Garden Preschool
2625 B Clarke Street
Port Moody, British Columbia V3H 1Z4

Telephone: 604-637-9705
Email: caren@childgarden.ca
Website: www.childgarden.ca

Type of setting: Preschool, children aged 30 months to 5 years

Caren Eigenmann infuses her classroom with lessons about social justice. When she started a garden to contribute to a local food bank, it taught children about those less fortunate and inspired a wonder of nature and a curiosity about differences between people and cultures.

Philosophy of care

Eigenmann is so wildly creative that all learning feels like play. Her curriculum emerges from what her students are curious about, and she uses their interests to create special activities and to build playscapes for exploration. Eigenman's students know that their ideas are important.

Support of child development

  • Regularly encourages empathy through art, play and books. Eigenmann created an "Agreement of Belonging" with her students and families asking them to create art to represent their ideas.
  • Embracing every opportunity to encourage curiosity and wonder, and to teach her students to find answers to their questions, Eigenmann works with students to research the answer online or in books.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • When her students were concerned about litter in the park, Eigenmann encouraged them to make a no littering sign and helped them write letters to the mayor.
  • Hosted a silent auction with her students to raise funds for a service dog for one of their peers. Through this her students learned about Autism, service animals and empathy toward others.
  • Students participated in the local Adopt-a-Senior program, sponsored a child in Cambodia, joined in a city clean-up initiative and built a free "little library".

Rave reviews

"Due to Caren's commitment to following the students as much as leading, the children have learned that their concerns are important. (…) Caren taught preschoolers that their worries could be translated into action, and that they can directly improve their community."

Parent

"Caren's keen interest in social justice in early childhood education is innovative, infectious and inspires her fellow educators to learn more about helping children advocate for themselves through emotional literacy and to explore new creative tools."

Business partner
Date modified:

Caren Eigenmann - Child Garden Preschool

Année : 2017 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Transcription—Caren Eigenmann - Vidéo

[Caren Eigenmann parle, face à la caméra; en arrière-plan : les édifices du Parlement.]

[Photos de Caren et de ses étudiants apparaissent à l'écran tout au long de l'entrevue.]
[Fond de musique entraînante en sourdines.]

Je m'appelle Caren Eigenmann et je vis à Coquitlam, en Colombie-Britannique. Je dirige un établissement préscolaire à Port Moody, en Colombie-Britannique.

[Texte à l'écran : Caren Eigenmann, Colombie-Britannique]

Je me sens à la fois très humble et honorée d'avoir gagné le Prix du premier ministre pour l'excellence et je remercie la famille qui m'a nommée et les gens qui m'ont appuyée.

Je voulais devenir une éducatrice de la petite enfance, car j'ai toujours aimé les enfants et c'était pour moi une excellente façon de transformer ma passion en carrière.

Aujourd'hui dans ma présentation, j'ai parlé de la prise de connaissance des sentiments et des émotions, de la façon dont on se sent et de la maîtrise de soi en bas âge. Nous avons constaté que si les enfants commencent par cet apprentissage, ils seront plus aptes à résoudre avec succès les conflits et les problèmes plus tard.

Je crois que tous les membres de notre équipe sont très fiers de collaborer étroitement avec la communauté. Nous avons un jardin devant l'école. Nous y plantons et récoltons des légumes, puis nous les donnons à la banque alimentaire locale, une activité qui est très appréciée par la communauté. Nous avons également formé un partenariat avec des personnes âgées qui utilisent ce service.

[Séquence vidéo entrecoupée : Caren recevant son prix des mains de Justin Trudeau.]

Si je peux donner un conseil aux éducateurs ou à ceux qui souhaitent faire carrière dans l'enseignement, c'est de prendre le temps d'écouter et d'observer, de ne pas passer trop rapidement à l'étape suivante et de vivre le moment présent. Et je remercie les enfants de m'apprendre tellement de choses au sujet du bien-être socioémotif et de la résilience.

Enseignant : Une danse pour le prix de Madame Caren? Très bien.

Élève : Félicitations, Madame Caren.

Texte à l'écran : Félicitations, Madame Caren.

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Caren Eigenmann

Child Garden Preschool
2625 B, rue Clarke
Port Moody (Colombie-Britannique) V3H 1Z4

Téléphone : 604-637-9705
Courriel : caren@childgarden.ca
Site Web : www.childgarden.ca (en anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Maternelle pour enfants âgés de 30 mois à 5 ans

Caren Eigenmann imprègne sa classe de leçons sur la justice sociale. Lorsqu'elle a créé un jardin pour contribuer à la banque d'alimentation locale, elle a sensibilisé les enfants aux personnes moins fortunées et leur a inspiré l'émerveillement face à la nature et la curiosité pour les différences entre les personnes et les cultures.

Philosophie de la garde

Mme Eigenmann est d'une extravagance si créative que tout apprentissage à l'air d'un jeu. Son programme s'inspire de ce qui pique la curiosité des élèves et elle exploite leurs intérêts pour créer des activités spéciales et pour construire des terrains de jeux pour l'exploration. Les élèves de Mme Eigenmann savent que leurs idées sont importantes.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Elle encourage l'empathie au moyen de l'art, du jeu et des livres. Mme Eigenmann a élaboré un « accord d'appartenance » avec ses élèves et les familles et leur a demandé de créer une œuvre d'art pour illustrer leurs idées.
  • Profitant de toutes les occasions pour encourager la curiosité et l'émerveillement et pour enseigner à ses élèves à trouver des réponses à leurs questions, Mme Eigenmann travaille avec eux pour chercher les réponses en ligne ou dans les livres.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Lorsque ses élèves se sont inquiétés des ordures dans le parc, Mme Eigenmann les a encouragés à faire une affiche « Interdit de jeter des ordures » et les a aidés à écrire une lettre au maire.
  • Elle a organisé un encan silencieux avec ses élèves pour réunir des fonds pour un chien d'assistance pour un camarade. C'est ainsi que ses élèves ont été sensibilisés à l'autisme, aux chiens d'assistance et à l'empathie envers les autres.
  • Les élèves ont participé au programme local d'adoption d'une personne âgée, commandité un enfant au Cambodge, participé à une initiative de nettoyage de la ville et construit une petite bibliothèque gratuite.

Commentaires élogieux

« L'engagement de Caren à suivre les élèves autant qu'à les diriger a fait que les enfants ont appris que leurs inquiétudes sont importantes. […] Caren a enseigné à des élèves d'âge préscolaire que leurs inquiétudes peuvent être traduites en gestes et qu'ils peuvent améliorer directement leur collectivité ».

Un parent

« L'intérêt enthousiaste de Caren pour la justice sociale en éducation des jeunes enfants est innovante et contagieuse et inspire ses collègues enseignants à mieux aider les enfants à se défendre eux-mêmes grâce à l'aptitude émotionnelle et à explorer de nouveaux outils de création. »

Entrepreneure partenaire
Date de modification :