Sarah Marshall - Kingstec Campus Learning Centre

Year: 2017 – Province: Nova Scotia

Transcript—Sarah Marshall Video

[Vicki Campbell speaks to camera, with the Parliament buildings as a backdrop behind her]

[Photos of Sarah Marshall and her students are displayed on screen throughout her interview]

[Upbeat music plays softly in the background]

My name's Vicki Campbell, and I'm here to receive the award for Sarah Marshall.

[Photo of Sarah Marshall]

[Text on screen: Sarah Marshall, Nova Scotia]

We work at the Kingstec Campus Learning Centre in Kentville, Nova Scotia. We're a non-profit child care centre, and we follow Reggio philosophy.

The presentation I gave today was about the teaching abilities and the exemplary ways that Sarah Marshall connects with her children in her preschool classroom, and just the ways that she creates wonder. With the environment we are in, Sarah uses a lot of repurposed materials because we're not a wealthy centre, and she is continually checking out websites and books to further her own ideas and her own education. So I would strongly recommend just continue being a learner along with your children.

She loves the nature that we live in, and wants to connect children to nature. She believes that we don't have enough opportunity, even though we live in a very beautiful part of the world, that children are outside enough, that they aren't understanding their world, and she likes to get them out and use the outside as their – as her classroom. She is a wonderful educator who mentors the rest of the staff, and it's just wonderful to – to accept it on her behalf, that she's getting the acknowledgment that she deserves.

In conversation with Sarah, I know that Sarah is very thankful to the families and the children that she works with daily at the Kingstec Campus Learning Centre. I know she's also thankful to her co-workers and the nominating group who nominated her. She has a great love for the students that we work with, the children, the families, and everyone is part of her working environment, and I know she'd want to thank them.

Teacher: If I told you that Teacher Sarah won a really cool award, what would you like to say to her?

Student: Yay Sarah!

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Sarah Marshall

Kingstec Campus Learning Centre
236 Belcher Street
Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 0A6

Telephone: 902-679-7384
Email: kellyann.hamshaw@nscc.ca
Website: http://kingsteccampuslc.com

Type of setting: Community College with Early Childhood Education program, children aged 0 to 5 years

Have you ever thought of using your head to paint? This educator has. Providing students with the materials they need for their wonderful ideas, every day is an exciting new journey as Sarah Marshall guides students to explore their creative sides.

Philosophy of care

A partner to children as they explore the world, Marshall draws inspiration from nature to develop engaging activities for her students. Embracing a Reggio-approach, she uses open-ended questions and collaborates with students on projects to make their visions come to life and allowing them to express themselves creatively.

Support of child development

  • From helmets equipped with a paint brush, to shipping tubes to make tunnels for their cars, Marshall takes everyday materials and turns them into engaging activities
  • Looking to repurpose shelving and cardboard, Marshall created an art studio in her classroom allowing for students to each have their own station.
  • Marshall played a leadership role in reconfiguring the preschool, creating an open learning environment for the children and facilitating shared learning among educators.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Marshall was part of an initiative to create relationships with other local Reggio-inspired centres within the community. She also facilitated joint workshops with other centres to share in learning about Forest and Nature Schools.
  • Marshall understands that parents want to feel part of their child's day and takes the time to write detailed stories to tell them about daily activities, what inspired the children and what kind of skills they learned or displayed.

Rave reviews

"The most important characteristic Sarah brings as an educator of early childhood development is an enthusiasm and passion for children. This goes well beyond enjoying being with children. It means wanting to make a difference to each and every child."

Executive director

"It is evident in the bonds and relationships between Sarah and the children that they have responded and accepted the support and feelings of safety that she has provided."

Nominator
Date modified:

Sarah Marshall - Kingstec Campus Learning Centre

Année : 2017 – Province : Nouvelle-Écosse

Transcription—Sarah Marshall - Vidéo

[Vicki Campbell parle, face à la caméra; en arrière-plan : les édifices du Parlement.]

[Photos de Sarah Marshall et de ses étudiants apparaissent à l'écran tout au long de l'entrevue.]

[Fond de musique entraînante en sourdines.]

Je m'appelle Vicki Campbell, et je suis ici pour recevoir le prix au nom de Sarah Marshall. Nous travaillons au Kingstec Campus Learning Centre à Kentville, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il s'agit d'une garderie sans but lucratif où nous utilisons l'approche pédagogique Reggio.

[Photos de Sarah Marshall]

[Texte à l'écran : Sarah Marshall, Novelle-Écosse]

La présentation que j'ai faite aujourd'hui a porté sur les compétences en enseignement et les pratiques exemplaires de Sarah Marshall, ainsi que les liens qu'elle tisse avec les enfants émerveillés dans ses classes préscolaires. Étant donné que nous ne disposons pas de beaucoup de ressources, Sarah recycle beaucoup de matériel didactique, et elle consulte continuellement des sites Web et des livres pour se perfectionner. C'est pourquoi je vous recommande à tous de continuer d'apprendre avec vos enfants.

Elle aime la nature qui nous entoure et souhaite que les enfants s'en rapprochent. Elle croit que, même si nous vivons dans une très belle région du monde, les enfants n'ont pas suffisamment l'occasion d'explorer leur environnement extérieur pour mieux le comprendre. C'est pourquoi elle aime enseigner aux enfants à l'air libre. C'est une éducatrice merveilleuse qui encadre les autres employés. Je suis très heureuse d'accepter le prix en son nom, car c'est un prix qu'elle mérite.

J'ai parlé avec Sarah et je sais qu'elle est très reconnaissante aux familles et aux enfants de ses classes au Kingstec Campus Learning Centre. Je sais qu'elle est aussi reconnaissante envers ses collègues et le groupe qui l'a nommée. Elle adore ses élèves et leurs familles, ainsi que tout le monde qui fait partie de son milieu professionnel. Je sais qu'elle tient à les remercier.

Enseignant : Si je vous disais que votre éducatrice Sarah avait gagné un prix vraiment impressionnant, que lui diriez-vous?

Élève : Vive Sarah!

[Texte à l'écran : Vive Sarah!]

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Sarah Marshall

Kingstec Campus Learning Centre
236, rue Belcher
Kentville (Nouvelle-Écosse) B4N 0A6

Téléphone : 902-679-7384
Courriel : kellyann.hamshaw@nscc.ca
Site Web : http://kingsteccampuslc.com (en anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Collège communautaire avec programme d'éducation de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans

Avez-vous déjà pensé à utiliser votre tête pour peindre? Cette enseignante, oui. En fournissant aux élèves les matériaux dont ils ont besoin pour leurs merveilleuses idées, chaque jour est un nouveau voyage stimulant alors que Sarah Marshall les guide dans l'exploration de leur côté créatif.

Philosophie de la garde

Partenaire des enfants qui explorent le monde, Mme Marshall s'inspire de la nature pour élaborer des activités intéressantes pour eux. Adepte de la démarche Reggio, elle exploite les questions ouvertes et collabore avec eux aux projets des élèves pour réaliser leurs visions et leur permettre de s'exprimer de façon créative.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Des casques munis d'un pinceau aux tubes d'expédition pour faire des tunnels pour leurs voitures, Madame Marshall prend des matériaux banals pour les transformer en activités intéressantes.
  • Cherchant à donner une nouvelle vie à des tablettes et du carton, elle a créé un studio d'art dans sa classe pour permettre aux élèves d'avoir chacun son propre poste.
  • Mme Marshal a joué un rôle de chef de file dans la reconfiguration de la prématernelle en créant un milieu d'apprentissage ouvert pour les enfants et en facilitant l'apprentissage partagé entre les enseignants.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Marshal a fait partie d'une initiative pour forger des relations avec les autres centres locaux inspirés de la démarche Reggio au sein de la collectivité. Elle a également animé des ateliers communs avec d'autres centres pour partager l'apprentissage dans les écoles des forêts et de la nature.
  • Mme Marshall comprend que les parents veulent partager une partie de la journée de leurs enfants et prendre le temps d'écrire des histoires détaillées pour leur parler des activités quotidiennes, de ce qui a inspiré les enfants et du genre d'habiletés qu'ils ont acquises ou dont ils ont fait preuve.

Commentaires élogieux

« La caractéristique la plus importante que Sarah possède à titre d'éducatrice dans le développement du jeune enfant est l'enthousiasme et la passion des enfants. Cela va bien au-delà du plaisir d'être avec les enfants. Cela signifie changer le monde pour chaque enfant. »

Directeur général

« Les liens et les relations entre Sarah et les enfants témoignent qu'ils ont répondu et accepté le soutien et le sentiment de sécurité qu'elle leur offre. »

Personne qui a proposé la candidate
Date de modification :