Sabrina Rehman - Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori

Year: 2017 – Province: Ontario

Transcript—Sabrina Rehman Video

[Sabrina Rehman speaks to camera, with the Parliament buildings as a backdrop behind her]

[Photos of Sabrina and her students are displayed on screen throughout her interview]
[Upbeat music plays softly in the background]

My name is Sabrina, and I am the Director at Little Scholars Montessori in Barrhaven, Ottawa. And we have five sites and 200 families.

[Text on screen: Sabrina Rehman, Ontario]
I had graduated as an electrical engineer from Carleton University, and as an engineer I was involved in a research and design project for an NGO that was related to improving children's access to early education in developing countries. And as part of my experience with that, that's where I realized that I was really passionate about early childhood education.

Being recognized for something that you're so passionate about is such a great honour. And just even this best practice session that we were part of, just meeting so many educators that are – you know, that have similar goals for children has been exceptional.

The highlight of my presentation was talking about STEM, which is science, technology, engineering, and math based experiences in early childhood education.

[Video footage of Sabrina receiving her award from Justin Trudeau is intercut]

And those are a lot of inquiry-based, hands-on experiences where children learn to collaborate, problem solve, and really be change agents within their community and world right from preschool.

Never underestimate the potential of children. We end up doing that sometimes subconsciously. And children at this age, we now know through research, are not blank vessels. They're born with innate learning abilities, and we need to capitalize on that as ECEs. And we know that 80 percent of brain development is complete by age three, so we should be able to use those years to really provide meaningful experiences.

Knowing that the impact that I have on a child's life now is lifelong is – is amazing. And I just want to thank them for allowing me to be there in their lives at this time that is so critical and so everlasting.

Teacher: Give a shout-out to Miss Sabrina.

Student: Woohoo!

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Sabrina Rehman

Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori
Unit 116, 4100 Strandherd Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K2J 0V2

Telephone: 613-277-6866

Type of setting: Child care centre, children aged 12 months to 6 years

Award-winning engineer turned educator, Sabrina Rehman pioneers an innovative and holistic STEM-based program and inspires children to see and explore even the most abstract concepts.

Philosophy of care

Rehman believes that children are the future and invites them to celebrate their uniqueness. She sees the environment as their third teacher and organizes it with open-ended materials that her students can explore and use to communicate their ideas.

Support of child development

  • Rehman's I am a Star initiative allows each child to build a star-shaped display of their likes, dreams, fears, etc. and displays the stars on a Stars of Fame wall. This knowledge is used to craft individualized activities and learning.
  • Rehman's STEM program has students classifying gems and rocks, preserving leaves and racing marbles. In her Makerspace, students have designed and engineered creations like Rob the recycling robot, who cares for the environment.
  • Rehman teaches ASL (American Sign Language) from toddler age, which offers children with developmental delays a bridge to communication.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Developed an Observe-Engage-Reflect documentation and observation tool that enables her to extend learning boundaries and provide feedback to parents.
  • Partnered with families and the community to redesign a more nature-filled outdoor playground with pathways, art and slides that are accessible to all children. Students plant mini garden beds of herbs and vegetables where parents are free to pick from throughout the year.
  • A Parent-Child Art Auction has parents and their children creating a freeform art piece that is auctioned off to raise funds for a charitable organization chosen by the children.

Rave reviews

"Sabrina empowers children with age-appropriate experiences related to engineering, physics and applied mathematics, but more importantly inspires an attitude that is beneficial for a lifetime: respect for self, respect for each other and respect for the environment."


"Sabrina uses science, technology, engineering and math based experiences to involve community professionals such as local mechanics, biologists, environmental engineers or architects to share unique perspectives and participate in age-appropriate projects with the children."

Date modified:

Sabrina Rehman - Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori

Année : 2017 – Province : Ontario

Transcription—Sabrina Rehman - Vidéo

[Sabrina Rehman parle, face à la caméra; en arrière-plan : les édifices du Parlement.]

[Photos de Sabrina et de ses étudiants apparaissent à l'écran tout au long de l'entrevue.]
[Fond de musique entraînante en sourdines.]

Sabrina Rehman: Je m'appelle Sabrina, et je suis directrice de la garderie Little Scholars Montessori à Barrhaven, près d'Ottawa. Nous administrons cinq garderies, où nous offrons des services à 200 familles.

[Texte à l'écran : Sabrina Rehman, Ontario]

J'ai obtenu mon diplôme en génie électrique à l'Université Carleton. À titre d'ingénieure, j'ai participé à un projet de recherche et de conception pour un ONG, en vue d'améliorer l'accès des enfants à l'éducation précoce dans des pays en voie de développement. C'est cette expérience qui m'a fait réaliser que j'avais une passion pour l'éducation préscolaire.

Être reconnue pour l'une de mes passions est un grand honneur pour moi. Et même la séance sur les pratiques exemplaires à laquelle nous avons participé, qui m'a permis de rencontrer de nombreux éducateurs qui ont des objectifs semblables aux miens pour les enfants, a été une expérience exceptionnelle.

Le clou de ma présentation a été la partie sur les STIM, c'est-à-dire la science, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques, qui sont intégrés à l'éducation préscolaire. On donne ainsi aux enfants un enseignement pratique axé sur le questionnement, où ils apprennent à collaborer, à résoudre des problèmes et à devenir des vecteurs de changement au sein de leur communauté et du monde, dès l'âge préscolaire.

[Séquence vidéo entrecoupée : Sabrina recevant son prix des mains de Justin Trudeau.]

Il ne faut jamais sous-estimer le potentiel des enfants, ce que nous faisons parfois sans en être conscients. Nous savons que les jeunes enfants n'ont pas l'esprit vide. Ils ont des capacités d'apprentissage innées, que nous devons leur faire exploiter. Nous savons également que 80 pour cent du développement cérébral se fait avant l'âge de trois ans, alors nous devrions être en mesure d'offrir aux enfants des expériences raisonnées pendant ces années.

Le fait de connaître l'influence que j'ai sur la vie des enfants est incroyable. Je les remercie de me permettre de jouer un rôle à ce stade crucial de leur vie.

Enseignant : Vive Madame Sabrina!

Élève : Bravo!

Texte à l'écran : Bravo!

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Sabrina Rehman

Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori
Unit 116, 4100, avenue Strandherd
Ottawa (Ontario) K2J 0V2

Téléphone : 613-277-6866
Courriel : srehman@brightpathkids.com
Site Web : www.littlescholarsmontessori.com (en anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Programme de prématernelle pour enfants de 12 mois à 6 ans

Ingénieure lauréate devenue enseignante, Sabrina Rehman a conçu un programme innovant et holistique fondé sur les STIM et amène les enfants à voir et à explorer même les concepts les plus abstraits.

Philosophie de la garde

Mme Rehman pense que les enfants sont l'avenir et les invite à célébrer leur caractère unique. Elle perçoit l'environnement comme leur troisième enseignant et l'organise avec des matériaux ouverts que ses élèves peuvent explorer et exploiter pour communiquer leurs idées.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • L'initiative Je suis une étoile de Rehman permet à chaque enfant de monter un présentoir en étoile de ses goûts, de ses rêves et de ses peurs, et d'afficher ces étoiles sur le mur des Étoiles de la renommée. Ces connaissances servent à monter des activités et un apprentissage individualisés.
  • Le programme STIM de madame Rehman comporte des élèves qui classent les gemmes et les roches, qui préservent des feuilles et qui font des courses de billes. Dans son Makerspace, les élèves ont conçu et mis au point des créations comme Rob le robot recycleur qui prend soin de l'environnement.
  • Madame Rehman enseigne l'ASL (American Sign Language) dès la petite enfance, ce qui offre aux enfants ayant un retard du développement un pont pour la communication.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Elle a élaboré la documentation et un outil d'observation Observer-S'engager-Réfléchir qui lui permet d'élargir les frontières de l'enseignement et de formuler des commentaires à l'intention des parents.
  • De concert avec les familles et la collectivité, elle a réaménagé un terrain de jeu extérieur plus rempli de nature avec des sentiers, des œuvres d'art et des diapositives accessibles à tous les enfants. Les élèves ensemencent des mini planches de jardin d'herbes et de légumes que les parents peuvent récolter tout au long de l'année.
  • Un encan parent-enfant amène les parents et leurs enfants à créer une œuvre d'art libre qui est vendue à l'encan pour lever des fonds à l'intention d'une organisation caritative choisie par les enfants.

Commentaires élogieux

« Sabrina offre aux enfants des expériences adaptées à leur âge en matière d'ingénierie, de physique et de mathématiques appliquées, mais plus important encore, elle leur inculque une attitude qui leur profitera toute leur vie : le respect de soi, le respect mutuel et le respect de l'environnement. »

Des parents

« Sabrina exploite des expériences fondées sur la science, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques (STIM) pour mobiliser des professionnels locaux comme des mécaniciens, des biologistes, des ingénieurs ou des architectes en environnement pour partager leurs points de vue uniques et participer à des projets adaptés à l'âge des enfants. »

Un collègue
Date de modification :