Erin Pauls - Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre

Year: 2017 – Province: Yukon Territory

Transcript—Erin Pauls Video

[Erin Pauls speaks to camera, with the Parliament buildings as a backdrop behind her]

[Photos of Erin and her students are displayed on screen throughout her interview]

[Upbeat music plays softly in the background]

My name is Kotheti (ph), and my English name is Erin Pauls,

[Text on screen: Erin Pauls, Yukon]

and I am from the Chioni (ph) Clan, which is the Wolf Clan. And I'm from the Tahltan and Tlingit nations, and I'm a member of the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations.

Winning the award makes me feel really amazing. I think I've worked really hard in my life to get to where I am. And I know teaching is not a easy profession, and there's lots of days that are really hard, but winning something like this makes it all worthwhile.

I was working in child care, and then I went to university to become a teacher. I love how it's exciting. I really like how personal it – it is, and how you can really connect with your students.

My presentation today was about infusing First Nations culture and language revitalization within the classroom. We have come up like a phoenix as First Nations people. We are reclaiming our languages, we're reclaiming our songs, we're reclaiming our dances. We are here, we are strong, and we are proud of who we are. And that is what I want every First Nations child to feel that comes through our school.

And if I had one piece of advice for people who want to be educators, I would say go for your dreams. I would tell you that it is not an easy profession. Just keep going and trying your best and – and coming in every day with optimism and happiness to share with your children.

I wanted to give a big shout-out to all the kids that I work with. You are our greatest teachers, our children. And the lens that you see life through is truly the way I think all adults should remember the world.

[Text on screen: Teacher Erin Pauls:"I sing and dance with Erin. I like wearing my vest when I sing with Erin. I have fun singing and dancing." Kanon, student at Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre]

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Erin Pauls

Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre
47 McIntyre Drive
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5A5

Telephone: 867-633-7816
Email: N/A
Website: www.kwanlindun.com

Type of setting: Family Learning Centre, children aged 18 months to 5 years

A hunter and fisher, Erin Pauls is from the Wolf Clan and identifies and Tahlltan and Tlingit and is a member of the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations. She demonstrates leadership in cultural excellence and encourages cultural opportunities through rich reciprocal relationships with Elders and the community.

Philosophy of care

Pauls believes that children learn through rich hands-on experiences and play – especially in outdoor environments. Passionate for her culture, she strives to incorporate Indigenous culture in every aspect of her teaching.

Support of child development

  • Supports her staff in taking children on field trips to the fire department, parks and swimming pools, the Yukon Wildlife Preserve and the Salmon Fish Ladder.
  • Partners with the local schools to allow her students to visit and experience kindergarten classroom environments before moving on.
  • Personally facilitated traditional dancing, drum making, rattle making, regalia making, elders program, family luncheons, and "handle with care", which is a parenting program that promotes children’s mental health.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Pauls maintains strong relationships with community providers to ensure that children with special needs receive the required support.
  • Committed to the revitalization of the Southern Tutchone language, Pauls hosts language lunches with special guest speakers. She also works to provide her students with exposure to the language through visits with Elders, books and tapes.
  • Opens up the centre’s fire pit to families every Friday morning to tell traditional First Nation stories and enjoy bannock on a stick.

Rave reviews

"It takes a community to raise a child, and Erin Pauls has dedicated her life to the health, education and wellbeing of all of the children she meets. She isn’t someone who just talks about how things can or should be better, she is a catalyst for positive improvements and change within the Yukon and across Canada."

Nominator

"Erin’s focus and enthusiasm drives her ability to bring First Nations culture and language to the children at Dusk’a Head Start."

Parent
Date modified:

Erin Pauls - Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre

Année : 2017 – Province : Territoire du Yukon

Transcription—Erin Pauls - Vidéo

[Erin Pauls parle, face à la caméra; en arrière-plan : les édifices du Parlement.]

[Photos d' Erin et de ses étudiants apparaissent à l'écran tout au long de l'entrevue.]

[Fond de musique entraînante en sourdines.]

Je m'appelle Kotheti, et mon nom occidental est Erin Pauls. Je fais partie du Clan Chioni, c'est-à-dire le Clan du Loup. Je suis également membre des Premières Nations de Tahlltan, de Tlingit, de Champagne et d'Aishihik.

[Texte à l'écran : Erin Pauls, Yukon]

Gagner ce prix est incroyable pour moi. Je crois avoir travaillé très fort pour me rendre à ce stade-ci. Et je sais que l'enseignement n'est pas une carrière facile, et que certaines périodes sont très difficiles, mais ça en vaut la peine lorsqu'on gagne un tel prix.

J'ai travaillé en garderie, puis je me suis inscrite en enseignement à l'université. J'adore à quel point c'est stimulant. J'aime les relations interpersonnelles que l'on tisse avec les élèves.

Ma présentation aujourd'hui a porté sur l'intégration de la culture et de la langue des Premières Nations en classe. Les Premières Nations renaissent de leurs cendres, comme un phénix. Nous réapprenons nos langues et nos danses. Nous sommes ici, nous sommes forts et nous sommes fiers de notre culture. C'est le sentiment que chaque enfant des Premières Nations qui vient à notre école devrait avoir.

[Séquence vidéo entrecoupée : Erin recevant son prix des mains de Justin Trudeau.]

Un conseil que je peux donner aux futurs enseignants est de tenter de réaliser leurs rêves. Ce n'est pas une carrière facile, mais il faut persévérer et faire de son mieux. Venez travailler tous les jours avec optimisme et partagez votre joie avec les écoliers.

Je remercie sincèrement tous les enfants à qui j'enseigne. Les enfants sont nos meilleurs formateurs. Je crois que les adultes devraient adopter leurs façons de voir la vie.

Texte à l'écran : Erin Pauls, enseignante :

« Je chante et danse avec Erin. J'aime porter ma veste quand je chante avec Erin. Je m'amuse en chantant et en dansant. » Kanon, élève au centre d'éducation de la petite enfance Dusk'a

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Lauréat d’un Certificat d’excellence

Erin Pauls

Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre
47, chemin McIntyre
Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 5A5

Téléphone : 867-633-7816
Courriel : s. o.
Site Web : www.kwanlindun.com (en anglais seulement)

Type d’établissement : Centre d’apprentissage de la famille pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 5 ans

Chasseuse et pêcheuse, Erin Pauls est du clan du Loup et s’identifie aux Tahltan et Tlingit et est membre des Premières Nations Champagne et Aishihik. Elle fait preuve de leadership en excellence culturelle et suscite des occasions culturelles au moyen de riches relations réciproques avec les Aînés et la collectivité.

Philosophie de la garde

Mme Pauls pense que les enfants apprennent au moyen de riches expériences pratiques et du jeu, dans des milieux extérieurs en particulier. Passionnée par sa culture, elle tente d’incorporer la culture autochtone à tous les aspects de son enseignement.

L’appui au développement de l’enfant

  • Elle encourage son personnel à amener les enfants dans des excursions scolaires à la caserne des pompiers, dans des parcs et des piscines, dans la Réserve faunique du Yukon et à l’échelle à saumons.
  • Elle organise des partenariats avec les écoles locales pour permettre à ses élèves de visiter et de vivre l’expérience d’une classe de maternelle avant d’y aller.
  • Danse traditionnelle, fabrication de tambours, de hochets et d’habits d’apparat, le programme des Aînés, les dîners en famille et « Manipuler avec précaution », un programme de formation au rôle de parent qui favorise la santé mentale des enfants.

L’engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Pauls maintient de solides relations avec les fournisseurs de la collectivité pour assurer que les enfants ayant des besoins particuliers reçoivent le soutien nécessaire.
  • Ayant à cœur de revitaliser la langue tutchone du sud, Mme Pauls organise des dîners linguistiques avec des conférenciers. Elle travaille également à exposer ses élèves à cette langue grâce à des visites aux Aînés, des livres et des enregistrements.
  • Elle ouvre le foyer du Centre aux familles tous les vendredis matin pour conter les histoires traditionnelles des Premières Nations et déguster de la bannique sur un bâton.

Commentaires élogieux

« Il faut une collectivité pour élever un enfant et Erin Pauls a consacré sa vie à la santé, à l’éducation et au bien-être de tous les enfants qu’elle rencontre. Soucieuse de la façon d’améliorer les choses, elle est un catalyseur d’améliorations favorables et du changement au Yukon et à travers le Canada. »

Personne qui a proposé la candidate

« La concentration et l’enthousiasme d’Erin stimulent sa capacité d’amener la culture et la langue des Premières Nations aux enfants du Centre Dusk’a Head Start. »

Un parent
Date de modification :