Carrie Nahorney

Year: 2017 — Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Carrie Nahorney

Mini Miracles Pre-school
4006 8th Avenue
Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 4S4

Telephone: 250-723-0637
Email: jp2@cisdv.bc.ca
Website: www.jp2nd.ca

Type of setting: Child care centre-preschool; children aged 3 to 5 years

Innovation is not costly, prescriptive or complicated for this educator who takes inspiration from the world around her — or an artist of the month — to create endless opportunities to learn through play.

Philosophy of care

Inspired by accessible objects from the world around her and through extensive collaboration with community partners, Nahorney ensures that families from diverse economic, cultural and linguistic perspectives can participate equally.

Support of child development

  • Selects a different artist each month and integrates their work into the classroom. When studying Picasso's Blue Nude, children determined that the subject had her back turned because she had had her feelings hurt and was feeling vulnerable. From here, students shared their own strategies for dealing with these complex feelings.
  • Nahorney gets students outside to explore the local forest, the animals, how trees grow and the importance of caring for the environment.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Nahorney works with families, support workers and others to meet each student's special needs, where needed, ensuring everyone feels equally welcome within her classroom.
  • To celebrate International Day of the Child, Nahorney's students worked with their grade 6 peers to create tracings of their bodies to tell the story of each article. The artwork was later displayed in schools, the public library and a First Nations band office.

Rave reviews

"Nahorney gets excited for the children when they discover something new. She shares this joy with the parents through her miracle blog, through photos, and talking one to one with families."

Parent and colleague

"Carrie is constantly seeking new and innovative ways to expose her young students to a myriad of creative and intriguing experiences that allow them to construct meaning while exploring their own interests and talents."

Principal
Date modified:

Carrie Nahorney

Année : 2017 — Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Carrie Nahorney

Mini Miracles Pre-school
4006, 8e Avenue
Port Alberni (Colombie-Britannique) V9Y 4S4

Téléphone : 250-723-0637
Courriel : jp2@cisdv.bc.ca
Site Web : www.jp2nd.ca (en anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Programme de prématernelle pour enfants de 3 à 5 ans

L'innovation est peu coûteuse, souple et simple pour cette éducatrice qui s'inspire du monde qui l'entoure, ou d'un artiste du mois, pour créer de multiples occasions d'apprendre par le jeu.

Philosophie de la garde

Inspirée par les objets accessibles du monde qui l'entoure et par une collaboration étendue avec des partenaires de la collectivité, Mme Nahorney s'assure que les familles de divers horizons économiques, culturels et linguistiques participent également.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Elle choisit un artiste différent chaque mois et intègre son œuvre dans la classe. Pendant l'étude de Nu bleu de Picasso, les enfants ont déterminé que le sujet avait le dos tourné parce qu'elle avait été blessée et se sentait vulnérable. À partir de là, les élèves ont partagé leur propre stratégie pour vivre ces sentiments complexes.
  • Mme Nahorney fait sortir les élèves de la classe pour explorer la forêt et les animaux locaux, comment les arbres poussent et l'importance de prendre soin de l'environnement.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Mme Nahorney travaille avec les familles, les services de soutien et d'autres pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de chaque élève tout en s'assurant que chacun se sent accueilli au sein de la classe.
  • Pour célébrer la journée internationale de l'enfant, les élèves de Mme Nahorney ont travaillé avec leurs pairs de 6e année à créer le tracé de leur corps pour raconter l'histoire de chaque article. Cette œuvre d'art a ensuite été affichée dans les écoles, la bibliothèque publique et le bureau du conseil de bande des Premières Nations.

Commentaires élogieux

« Mme Nahorney est stimulée par toute nouvelle découverte des enfants. Elle partage leur joie avec leurs parents grâce à son blogue des miracles, à des photos et en parlant avec chaque famille individuelle. »

Un parent et collègue

« Carrie cherche constamment des moyens nouveaux et innovants d'exposer les jeunes élèves à une myriade d'expériences créatives et intrigantes qui leur permettent de conceptualiser tout en explorant leurs propres intérêts et talents. »

Le directeur
Date de modification :