2017 Recipients

Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education 2016-17 Recipients
Certificate Community Name of Setting Name of Educator Type of Setting Highlights
British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence Port Moody Childgarden Preschool Caren Eigenmann Preschool, children aged 30 months to 5 years This educator started a garden to contribute to a local foodbank and to teach her children about those less fortunate, while inspiring a wonder of nature and a curiosity about differences between people and cultures.
Certificate of Achievement Burnaby SFU Childcare Society Nita Pedersen Group  child care centre, children aged 0 to 3 years Veteran educator understands each family's diverse needs and sees each child as a competent and unique individual, capable of things he or she has yet to even imagine.
Certificate of Achievement Port Alberni Mini Miracles Preschool Carrie Nahorney Child care centre-preschool; children aged 3 to 5 years Innovation is not costly, prescriptive or complicated for this educator who takes inspiration from the world around her – or an artist of the month – to create endless opportunities to learn through play.
Certificate of Achievement Vancouver Kittiwake Daycare Melanie Walters Mixed-age Child Care centre, children aged 1.5 to 5 years An advocate for nature-based risky play, and a naturalist at heart, this educator sees exploration as foundational in learning opportunities and self-expression.
Certificate of Achievement Halfmoon Bay Halfmoon Bay Child Care Centre Andrea Wilson Child care centre, children aged 2.5 to 5 years A new tree, a river full of salmon, or a bear cave – "queen of dress up" creates innovative spaces for exploration and intuitively supports the most vulnerable families in respectful ways.
Manitoba
Certificate of Excellence Winnipeg Robertson Early Enrichment Program Patricia Furman Child care setting, children aged 12 weeks to 12 years Love and passion fuel this educator who dedicated her career to working with children with special needs, and to build innovative and inclusive programs.
Certificate of Achievement Winnipeg St. Germain Daycare Centre Lisa McClory Child care setting, children aged 5 years A beekeeper in a hive of busy bees, this educator creatively makes use of natural and open-ended materials like leaves, branches, rocks or gems to stimulate interest and create learning opportunities for each individual child.
New Brunswick 
Certificate of Achievement Dieppe Safari Social Stéphanie Haché Daycare centre, children aged 4 years This educator turns her classroom into an Imaginarium – all ideas are possible. She makes the children travel by using their creativity and reveals the world to them.
Certificate of Achievement Moncton Centre de jour l'Éveil Julie Hachey Francophone child care, children aged 2 to 5 years This francophone educator in a minority setting encourages the children to develop a sense of belonging and to discover the possibilities open to them in French.
Nova Scotia
Certificate of Achievement Halifax Halifax Early Childhood School Sara Lordly Preschool, children aged 2.5 to 5 years From jungle safaris to firefighting missions, this educator believes in building from children's interests to provide a supportive environment that will promote future success.
Certificate of Excellence Kentville Kingstec Campus Learning Centre Sarah Marshall Community College with an ECE centre, children aged 0 to 5 years Have you ever thought of using your head to paint? This educator has. Every day is an exciting new journey as she guides her students to explore their creative sides.
Ontario
Certificate of Achievement North York Seneca College Early Childhood Education Lab School Tanya Farzaneh Child care centre, children aged 18 to 36 months It's more than just paint: for this Reggio-inspired educator, it's an opportunity to catch a glance of "the competent capable child" in a space with no limits – a space to feel free, express and explore.
Certificate of Excellence Ottawa Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori Sabrina Rehman Child care centre, children aged 12 months to 6 years Engineer turned educator pioneers innovative and holistic STEM-based program, inspiring children to see and explore even the most abstract concepts.
Saskatchewan
Certificate of Achievement Saskatoon Dee's Playhouse Denise Skuce Family child care, children aged 12 months to 12 years International mud day or camping excursions to the river bank, this educator lets children be children as they discover, question and wonder about the world around them.
Yukon
Certificate of Excellence Whitehorse Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre Erin Pauls Family Learning Centre, children aged 18 months to 5 years A hunter and fisher, this educator believes that children learn best in the outdoors and encourages cultural opportunities through rich reciprocal relationships with Elders and the community.
Date modified:

Lauréats 2017

Prix du Premier ministre pour l’excellence en éducation de la petite enfance Lauréats 2016 2017
Certificat Collectivité Nom de l'école Nom de l'enseignant/ enseignante Années et matières Points saillants
Colombie-Britannique
Certificat d'excellence Port Moody Childgarden Preschool Caren Eigenmann Prématernelle pour enfants âgés de 30 mois à 5 ans Cette éducatrice a créé un jardin pour aider une banque alimentaire de sa communauté et pour sensibiliser les enfants à la réalité des plus démunis, tout en suscitant l'émerveillement pour la nature et la curiosité vis-à-vis des différences entre les gens et les cultures.
Certificat d'honneur Port Alberni Mini Miracles Preschool Carrie Nahorney Centre de la petite enfance (prématernelle) agréé pour enfants âgés de 3 à 5 ans L'innovation n'est pas coûteuse, prescriptive ou compliquée pour cette éducatrice qui s'inspire du monde qui l'entoure – ou d'un artiste du jour – pour créer d'innombrables possibilités grâce au jeu.
Certificat d'honneur Burnaby SFU Childcare Society Nita Pedersen Centre de la petite enfance agréé pour enfants âgés de 0 à 3 ans Cette éducatrice, qui compte de nombreuses années d'expérience, comprend les besoins variés de chaque famille et voit chacun des enfants comme une personne compétente et unique, capable d'accomplir des choses qu'elle n'a pas encore pu imaginer.
Certificat d'honneur Vancouver Kittiwake Daycare Melanie Walters Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 1½ à 5 ans L'exploration est, pour cette éducatrice qui est une défenseure du jeu de risques axés sur la nature et une naturaliste à la base, un pilier des occasions d'apprentissage et de l'expression de soi. 
Certificat d'honneur Halfmoon Bay Halfmoon Bay Child Care Centre Andrea Wilson Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 2½ à 5 ans Un nouvel arbre, une rivière remplie de saumons ou une grotte d'ours – la « reine des déguisements » crée des espaces novateurs pour l'exploration et soutient de manière intuitive les familles les plus vulnérables des manières les plus respectueuses.
Manitoba
Certificat d'excellence Winnipeg Robertson Early Enrichment Program Patricia Furman Service de garde, enfants âgés de 12 semaines à 12 ans  L'amour et la passion inspirent cette éducatrice qui a consacré sa carrière aux enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux et à la mise sur pied de programmes novateurs et inclusifs.
Certificat d'honneur Winnipeg St. Germain Daycare Centre Lisa McClory Service de garde pour enfants âgés de 5 ans Une reine dans une ruche d'abeilles occupées, cette éducatrice utilise de manière créative des matériaux naturels et à caractère évolutif comme des feuilles, des branches, des roches ou des pierres afin de susciter l'intérêt et de créer des occasions d'apprentissage pour tous les enfants.
Nouveau-Brunswick 
Certificat d'honneur Dieppe Safari Social Stéphanie Haché Garderie pour enfants âgés de 4 ans Cette éducatrice utilise sa classe comme un Imaginarium – toute idée est possible. Elle fait voyager les enfants à travers leur créativité et leur dévoile le monde.
Certificat d'honneur Moncton Centre de jour l'Éveil Julie Hachey Centre de la petite enfance francophone pour enfants âgés de 2 à 5 ans Cette éducatrice francophone en milieu minoritaire encourage les enfants à développer un sentiment d'appartenance et leur fait découvrir les possibilités qui s'offrent à eux en français.
Nouvelle-Écosse
Certificat d'honneur Halifax Halifax Early Childhood School Sara Lordly Prématernelle pour enfants âgés de 2½ à 5 ans Qu'il s'agisse de safaris dans la jungle ou de missions de lutte contre les incendies, cette éducatrice estime important de tirer parti des intérêts des enfants pour leur offrir un milieu propice à leur réussite.
Certificat d'excellence Kentville Kingstec Campus Learning Centre Sarah Marshall Centre de la petite enfance et ECE College, enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans Avez-vous déjà pensé à utiliser votre tête pour peindre? Cette éducatrice y a pensé. Chaque jour amène son lot d'aventures excitantes alors qu'elle aide les jeunes à explorer leur côté créatif.  
Ontario
Certificat d'excellence Ottawa Little Scholars Strandherd Montessori Sabrina Rehman Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 12 mois à 6 ans Une ingénieure devenue éducatrice met sur pied un programme novateur et holistique ayant trait aux sciences, à la technologie, au génie et aux mathématiques, inspirant du coup les enfants à voir et à explorer des concepts, même les plus abstraits.  
Certificat d'honneur North York Seneca College Early Childhood Education Lab School Tanya Farzaneh Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 18 à 36 mois C'est plus que de la peinture : pour cette éducatrice qui s'inspire de Reggio, il s'agit d'une occasion d'entrevoir un « enfant capable et compétent » dans un espace sans limites – un espace pour être libre, s'exprimer et explorer.
Saskatchewan
Certificat d'honneur Saskatoon Dee's Playhouse Denise Skuce Service de garde en milieu familial pour enfants âgés de 12 mois à 12 ans Grâce à la journée internationale de la boue ou des excursions de camping au bord de la rivière, cette éducatrice laisse les enfants être des enfants alors qu'ils découvrent, posent des questions et s'interrogent sur le monde qui les entoure.
Yukon
Certificat d'excellence Whitehorse Dusk'a Head Start Family Learning Centre Erin Pauls Centre d'apprentissage en milieu familial pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 5 ans Cette éducatrice, qui s'adonne à la chasse et à la pêche, croit que les enfants apprennent mieux à l'extérieur et privilégie les occasions d'apprentissage culturel en établissant des liens riches avec les Aînés et les gens de sa communauté.
Date de modification :