Andrea Wilson

Year: 2017 — Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Andrea Wilson

Halfmoon Bay Child Care Centre
8090 Northwood Road
Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y1

Telephone: 604-885-3739
Email: hmbchildcarecentre@gmail.com
Website: N/A

Type of setting: Child care centre, children aged 2.5 to 5 years

A new tree, a river full of salmon, or a bear cave — Andrea Wilson or "the queen of dress up" creates innovative spaces for exploration and intuitively supports the most vulnerable families in respectful ways.

Philosophy of care

Wilson brings the outdoors inside to study mushrooms, or bring frozen water into the classroom to see what happens to it at room temperature. Learning is project-based and happens through play time and connectedness.

Support of child development

  • Encourages parents to use the Ages and Stages questionnaire and comes up with a plan to suit each individual child.
  • Led the planning of the early years Winter Celebration and had local grocery stores donate blocks of ice for ice building and painting activities with the centre's families.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Connected with the SPARK10 program, hosting both the Grade 10 and Kindergarten classrooms over several years to join their Strong Start program, a parent-child drop in program that works to teach empathy and compassion for little onesPromotes international, national and local events such as Chinese New Year, integrates games and puzzles that celebrate various cultures and incorporates Aboriginal content into classroom activities.

Rave reviews

"Ms. Wilson is extremely dedicated to going above and beyond to support the parents, families and community members of our youngest learners. I have personally witnessed the difference that she has made in our community through connections with families."

Colleague

"Andrea was so caring and attentive toward my son. She truly understood the energy of boys and embraced this. She had such a kind, gentle, and genuine way about her and worked with all of the children to make them feel comfortable and to bring out their best."

Parent
Date modified:

Andrea Wilson

Année : 2017 — Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Andrea Wilson

Halfmoon Bay Child Care Centre
8090, chemin Northwood
Halfmoon Bay (Colombie-Britannique) V0N 1Y1

Téléphone : 604-885-3739
Courriel : hmbchildcarecentre@gmail.com
Site Web : S.O.

Type d'établissement : Programme de prématernelle pour enfants de 2,5 mois à 5 ans

Un nouvel arbre, une rivière pleine de saumons ou la caverne d'un ours, Andrea Wilson ou la « Reine du déguisement » crée des espaces innovants pour l'exploration et soutient intuitivement les familles les plus vulnérables de façon respectueuse.

Philosophie de la garde

Mme Wilson fait entrer l'extérieur à l'intérieur pour étudier les champignons ou amener de l'eau gelée dans la classe pour voir ce qui lui arrive à la température de la pièce. L'apprentissage est fondé sur des projets et se produit grâce au temps de jeu et à l'interconnexion.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Elle encourage les parents à utiliser le questionnaire Âge et étapes et monte un plan adapté à chaque enfant.
  • Elle a dirigé la planification des célébrations d'hiver des premières années et obtenu que les épiceries fassent don de blocs de glace pour les activités de construction et de peinture avec les familles du Centre.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • En rapport avec le programme ÉCLATS 10, elle a accueilli les classes de 10e année et de maternelle pendant plusieurs années pour se joindre à leur programme Solide départ, un programme d'accueil parents-enfants qui enseigne l'empathie et la compassion pour les petits. Elle fait la promotion d'événements internationaux, nationaux et locaux comme le Nouvel An chinois, intègre des jeux et des casse-têtes qui célèbrent diverses cultures et incorpore un contenu autochtone aux activités de sa classe.

Commentaires élogieux

« Mme Wilson est extrêmement dévouée et fait tout ce qu'elle peut pour soutenir les parents, les familles et les membres de la collectivité de nos plus jeunes apprenants. J'ai pu constater tout ce qu'elle a changé dans notre collectivité grâce aux connexions avec les familles. »

Un collègue

« Andrea était si dévouée et attentive à l'égard de mon fils. Elle a vraiment compris l'énergie des garçons et l'a acceptée. Elle est si gentille, douce et authentique, et travaille avec tous les enfants pour qu'ils se sentent à l'aise et donnent le meilleur d'eux-mêmes. »

Un parent
Date de modification :