Lisa McClory

Year: 2017 — Province: Manitoba

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Lisa McClory

St. Germain Daycare Centre
79 John Forsythe Road
Winnipeg, Manitoba R2N 1R3

Telephone: 204-256-4757
Email: stgermaindcc@mts.net

Type of setting: Child care setting, children aged 5 years

A beekeeper in a hive of busy bees, Lisa McClory creatively makes use of natural and open-ended materials like leaves, branches, rocks or gems to stimulate interest, encourage play, and allow children to discover the answers to their questions.

Philosophy of care

Lisa McClory is interested in observing what children know, what they are curious about, and what challenges them. From there, she records observations that will inform the child's next academic and social steps, and focuses on windows of opportunity for learning.

Support of child development

  • Developed a six-week project in language and literacy at a centre with predominantly First Nations children and families and created storyboards to communicate with the parents about what their children were doing and learning.
  • Collaborates with Kindergarten teachers from the adjoining elementary school to develop math activities for their students.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Uses portfolios to keep parents informed and to capture observation and feedback about each of her students.
  • Regularly communicates with parents through articles in the centre's newsletter — offering them insight into her approach and practice.

Rave reviews

"If one were to ask any of Lisa's students what makes Lisa so great, they would quickly explain that it is her amazing activities. Little do they know that every activity is organized to optimize and encourage each student's unique development and interest."

Parent

"Over the years, Lisa has shown again and again that she truly adores the children she works with and is very passionate about the career that she has chosen."

Parents
Date modified:

Lisa McClory

Année : 2017 — Province : Manitoba

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Lisa McClory

St. Germain Daycare Centre
79, chemin John Forsythe
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R2N 1R3

Téléphone : 204-256-4757
Courriel : stgermaindcc@mts.net

Type d'établissement : Service de garde, enfants de plus de 5 ans

Une reine dans une ruche d'abeilles occupées, Lisa McClory utilise de manière créative des matériaux naturels et à caractère évolutif comme des feuilles, des branches, des roches ou des pierres afin de susciter l'intérêt, d'encourager le jeu et de permettre aux enfants de trouver des réponses à leurs questions.

Philosophie de la garde

Lisa McClory aime observer le savoir des enfants, leurs intérêts et leurs défis. Elle consigne ses observations afin d'orienter les prochaines étapes du développement scolaire et social de l'enfant. Elle met en outre l'accent sur les occasions d'apprentissage.

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • A mis au point un projet de six semaines ayant trait à la langue et à l'alphabétisation dans un centre comptant principalement des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations, et a créé des scénarimages en vue de renseigner les parents sur les expériences et les apprentissages de leurs enfants.
  • Collabore avec des enseignants de maternelle de l'école primaire attenante pour l'élaboration d'activités de mathématiques à l'intention des élèves.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Utilise des portfolios pour garder les parents informés et consigner les observations et les commentaires relatifs à chacun de ses élèves.
  • Communique régulièrement avec les parents par l'intermédiaire d'articles publiés dans le bulletin d'information du service de garde, leur donnant des renseignements au sujet de sa méthode et de ses pratiques.

Commentaires élogieux

« Demandez à n'importe lequel des élèves de Lisa ce qui la rend si spéciale et ils vous diront tous rapidement que ce sont ses activités géniales. Ils ne savent pas que chacune des activités est conçue pour mettre à contribution et stimuler le développement et les intérêts uniques de chaque enfant. »

Parent

« Au fil des ans, Lisa a montré à maintes reprises qu'elle adore réellement les enfants qu'elle côtoie et qu'elle se passionne pour la carrière qu'elle a choisie. »

Parents
Date de modification :